• Replies 22

Like the title stated, is it an offence? I lost mine after an accident.

only for singapore vehicle

Sent from my GT-P1000 using Tapatalk

No,

but u will be fined if u ride thru an ERP gantry.

and the fine is $70 per ride thru. if u ride thru 3 gantry in a day, so its $70 x 3.

unless u ride thru gantry most of the time, i advise u to put the IU.

When you have walked my path of pain and suffering

you will understand my need for revenge and to inflict pain on those who have betrayed me

As a scorpion bides its time to strike so shall I wait for that moment to obtain my vengeance

And my mocking laughter shall be the last thing they hear. In The End, We Remember Not The Words Of Our Enemies, But The Silence Of Friendships

To add, nowadays more and more ERP type of parking lots. No IU, will be a little inconvenience to you.

ref

Rules for purposes of this Part

34D. —(1) The Minister may make rules for the purposes of carrying this Part into effect and, in particular, may make rules —(a) specifying the roads in respect of which, and the days and hours during which, a road-user charge shall be levied;(b) prescribing the amount of road-user charge to be levied in respect of any specified road and for this purpose, road-user charges of different amounts may be prescribed in respect of —(i) different specified roads or parts thereof;(ii) different hours of the day or different days of the week; and(iii) different classes, categories or descriptions of vehicles;© prescribing the manner in which road-user charges shall be levied and collected, including the use of electronic or computerised or other facilities therefor, and for this purpose, the rules may —(i) require all vehicles (whether registered in Singapore or elsewhere) to be installed with such devices and appurtenances and in such manner as may be prescribed before they may be ridden, driven or moved on a specified road during the prescribed hours;(ii) Deleted by Act 1/2006, wef 23/06/2006.(iii) prohibit the sale, supply, installation, repair or maintenance of any device or appurtenance prescribed under sub-paragraph (i) by any person not authorised by the Registrar to do so;(iv) specify the conditions under which any device or appurtenance prescribed under sub-paragraph (i) may be removed from one vehicle and installed in another or transferred from one person to another; and(d) prescribing the records to be kept by the Registrar in connection with this Part and regulating the disclosure by the Registrar of any information in such records.[5/98]

(2) Where a person is convicted of an offence under the rules, the court before which such person is convicted may, in addition to the punishment prescribed for the offence, order him to pay the amount of road-user charge as may be certified by an officer appointed by the Authority in that behalf to be due from such person at the date of such conviction and such amount may be recovered according to the law for the time being in force for the recovery of fines.[5/98]

(3) Deleted by Act 1/2006, wef 23/06/2006.[5/98]

Registrar’s power of inspection and seizure, etc.

34E. —(1) The Registrar may, by notice in writing, require the owner of any vehicle in which any device or appurtenance has been installed for the purpose of this Part to produce the vehicle before the Registrar or an authorised officer at such time and place as the Registrar may appoint in order that the Registrar or authorised officer may inspect or test the device or appurtenance.[5/98]

(2) The Registrar or authorised officer may remove from a vehicle which has been produced before him pursuant to subsection (1) any device or appurtenance which has been installed therein for the purpose of this Part if the Registrar or authorised officer is of the opinion that the device or appurtenance cannot be properly inspected or tested without being so removed.[5/98]

(3) If, upon inspecting any such device or appurtenance, the Registrar or authorised officer is satisfied that there is or has been any contravention of any of the provisions of this Part or the rules made under section 34D concerning the device or appurtenance, the Registrar or authorised officer may remove the device or appurtenance from the vehicle and dispose of it in such manner as he thinks fit.[5/98]

(4) Any person who fails to comply with a notice issued under subsection (1) shall be guilty of an offence.[5/98]

(5) Where a person on whom a notice is served under subsection (1) fails to comply with the notice, the Registrar or an authorised officer may seize and detain the vehicle in order to carry out any inspection or test under subsection (1).[5/98]

(6) Where any vehicle is seized and detained under subsection (5), the Registrar or authorised officer shall immediately inform the owner of the vehicle in writing of the seizure and detention and if the vehicle is not claimed by its owner within 3 months of the date of its seizure —(a) the Registrar or authorised officer may, after giving one month"s notice in the Gazette, sell the vehicle by public auction or otherwise dispose of the vehicle in such manner as he thinks fit; and(b) the proceeds, if any, from the sale or disposal of the vehicle shall be applied in payment of any road-user charges which may be due in respect of the vehicle and of any charges incurred in carrying out the provisions of this section and the surplus, if any, shall be paid into the Consolidated Fund, if unclaimed by the owner within a period of 12 months.[5/98]

aiyo,put 1 la..

peace of mind after that,dun u think so ?

Haha yeah. Will get one, but just want to know if i will kena since idun have one.

Thanks for reply guys:P

onli if u are caught....

I dont think it is an offence as one have a choice not to have it when buying a new ride but

It is best that you make an official report to lta since the lost iu unit is registered under your ride,

as to avoid any further complications that may arise in the future be it from your negligence or other's mischief.

No,

but u will be fined if u ride thru an ERP gantry.

and the fine is $70 per ride thru. if u ride thru 3 gantry in a day, so its $70 x 3.

unless u ride thru gantry most of the time, i advise u to put the IU.

Correcto

To add, nowadays more and more ERP type of parking lots. No IU, will be a little inconvenience to you.

Correcto no.2

Haha yeah. Will get one, but just want to know if i will kena since idun have one.

Thanks for reply guys:P

Pls refer to reply no.1

ref

Rules for purposes of this Part

34D. —(1) The Minister may make rules for the purposes of carrying this Part into effect and, in particular, may make rules —(a) specifying the roads in respect of which, and the days and hours during which, a road-user charge shall be levied;(b) prescribing the amount of road-user charge to be levied in respect of any specified road and for this purpose, road-user charges of different amounts may be prescribed in respect of —(i) different specified roads or parts thereof;(ii) different hours of the day or different days of the week; and(iii) different classes, categories or descriptions of vehicles;© prescribing the manner in which road-user charges shall be levied and collected, including the use of electronic or computerised or other facilities therefor, and for this purpose, the rules may —(i) require all vehicles (whether registered in Singapore or elsewhere) to be installed with such devices and appurtenances and in such manner as may be prescribed before they may be ridden, driven or moved on a specified road during the prescribed hours;(ii) Deleted by Act 1/2006, wef 23/06/2006.(iii) prohibit the sale, supply, installation, repair or maintenance of any device or appurtenance prescribed under sub-paragraph (i) by any person not authorised by the Registrar to do so;(iv) specify the conditions under which any device or appurtenance prescribed under sub-paragraph (i) may be removed from one vehicle and installed in another or transferred from one person to another; and(d) prescribing the records to be kept by the Registrar in connection with this Part and regulating the disclosure by the Registrar of any information in such records.[5/98]

(2) Where a person is convicted of an offence under the rules, the court before which such person is convicted may, in addition to the punishment prescribed for the offence, order him to pay the amount of road-user charge as may be certified by an officer appointed by the Authority in that behalf to be due from such person at the date of such conviction and such amount may be recovered according to the law for the time being in force for the recovery of fines.[5/98]

(3) Deleted by Act 1/2006, wef 23/06/2006.[5/98]

Registrar’s power of inspection and seizure, etc.

34E. —(1) The Registrar may, by notice in writing, require the owner of any vehicle in which any device or appurtenance has been installed for the purpose of this Part to produce the vehicle before the Registrar or an authorised officer at such time and place as the Registrar may appoint in order that the Registrar or authorised officer may inspect or test the device or appurtenance.[5/98]

(2) The Registrar or authorised officer may remove from a vehicle which has been produced before him pursuant to subsection (1) any device or appurtenance which has been installed therein for the purpose of this Part if the Registrar or authorised officer is of the opinion that the device or appurtenance cannot be properly inspected or tested without being so removed.[5/98]

(3) If, upon inspecting any such device or appurtenance, the Registrar or authorised officer is satisfied that there is or has been any contravention of any of the provisions of this Part or the rules made under section 34D concerning the device or appurtenance, the Registrar or authorised officer may remove the device or appurtenance from the vehicle and dispose of it in such manner as he thinks fit.[5/98]

(4) Any person who fails to comply with a notice issued under subsection (1) shall be guilty of an offence.[5/98]

(5) Where a person on whom a notice is served under subsection (1) fails to comply with the notice, the Registrar or an authorised officer may seize and detain the vehicle in order to carry out any inspection or test under subsection (1).[5/98]

(6) Where any vehicle is seized and detained under subsection (5), the Registrar or authorised officer shall immediately inform the owner of the vehicle in writing of the seizure and detention and if the vehicle is not claimed by its owner within 3 months of the date of its seizure —(a) the Registrar or authorised officer may, after giving one month"s notice in the Gazette, sell the vehicle by public auction or otherwise dispose of the vehicle in such manner as he thinks fit; and(b) the proceeds, if any, from the sale or disposal of the vehicle shall be applied in payment of any road-user charges which may be due in respect of the vehicle and of any charges incurred in carrying out the provisions of this section and the surplus, if any, shall be paid into the Consolidated Fund, if unclaimed by the owner within a period of 12 months.[5/98]

Do you actually own a ride without an iu unit yourself or are you just guessing?

Any lawyer around here? I dont understand above, care to summarise in layman's term?

Japanese Standard "The Big Naked"

14019723412_fffe6b3e9c_n.jpg

SMS 8 1 6 9 2 6 9 6

Do you actually own a ride without an iu unit yourself or are you just guessing?

Any lawyer around here? I dont understand above, care to summarise in layman's term?

For many many years and up till now... none of my bikes have the IU unit nor do I display the road tax disc nor season parking coupon.

In layman terms.... do anything you want.. but don't get caught.

For many many years and up till now... none of my bikes have the IU unit nor do I display the road tax disc nor season parking coupon.

In layman terms.... do anything you want.. but don't get caught.

that also i know la.. sama sama here..

im asking the other chap if he know what he talking abt..

SMS 8 1 6 9 2 6 9 6

I dont think it is an offence as one have a choice not to have it when buying a new ride but

It is best that you make an official report to lta since the lost iu unit is registered under your ride,

as to avoid any further complications that may arise in the future be it from your negligence or other's mischief.

Correcto

Correcto no.2

Pls refer to reply no.1

sumary is exactly as what raptor has stated . don't get caught without one. read the specific segment 34d1ci above u dont need a lawyer to know singapore is a "fine" country

but

can u own and ride a bike without iu insurance , licence and road tax?

is it legal?

yes to all

can you ride on road?

without "special permit" no.

where can you ride?

use it elsewhere where there is no pubic road n no goverberment

forexample motorcross racing event in malaysia or tuas

finally it is still do anything u want at your own risk n dont get caught

if still don't understand then u need to pay n consult the lawer liao

cheers n good luck

sumary is exactly as what raptor has stated . don't get caught without one. read the specific segment 34d1ci above u dont need a lawyer to know singapore is a "fine" country

but

can u own and ride a bike without iu insurance , licence and road tax?

is it legal?

yes to all

can you ride on road?

without "special permit" no.

where can you ride?

use it elsewhere where there is no pubic road n no goverberment

forexample motorcross racing event in malaysia or tuas

finally it is still do anything u want at your own risk n dont get caught

if still don't understand then u need to pay n consult the lawer liao

cheers n good luck

haha.. ok i read & re read from the original clause u quoted 34di

"

(i) require all vehicles (whether registered in Singapore or elsewhere) to be installed with such devices and appurtenances and in such manner as may be prescribed before they may be ridden, driven or moved on a specified road during the prescribed hours;

(ii) Deleted by Act 1/2006, wef 23/06/2006."

it only stated "to be installed, before ridden, driven on a specified road during specified hours"

meaning it is not an offence not to have iu, just dont go to the restricted zones.. whats with dont get caught?

of course if you go into gantry during erp active hours with no iu hoping not to get caught is kind of stoopid right?

SMS 8 1 6 9 2 6 9 6

haha.. ok i read & re read from the original clause u quoted 34di

"

(i) require all vehicles (whether registered in Singapore or elsewhere) to be installed with such devices and appurtenances and in such manner as may be prescribed before they may be ridden, driven or moved on a specified road during the prescribed hours;

(ii) Deleted by Act 1/2006, wef 23/06/2006."

it only stated "to be installed, before ridden, driven on a specified road during specified hours"

meaning it is not an offence not to have iu, just dont go to the restricted zones.. whats with dont get caught?

of course if you go into gantry during erp active hours with no iu hoping not to get caught is kind of stoopid right?

cap on the word " BEFORE " before they may be ridden if like that also cannot see , then i "Tin Pei Lin" liao :faint:

but then this rule no one cares one....so don't be sway that's all and click on "How does the ERP's system works?"

but again don't be kia xi....sometime not so sway one

There is no law that states you must have an IU (eg: Malaysia bikes and cars when using Singapore roads but they are encourage to rent one). If one does not have one but enters a restricted area then please pay the fine, that's all.

autopass card?and fixed rate erp? but then no one really cares as they had earned some $$$ from them, and enforcement is an issue. even kenna fine they also can heck care.

it is the sillporean that is to be squeese,jalak jalak.

there is the law read up but no strictly enforce

see how simple stiffneck answer is.. simple faq & straight to the point

that is how we share info, correct & precise especially when it involves Legality & Regulations Related

nowadays we have to care, gone are the days do what you want & dont get caught no more.. its do it & pay! haha

SMS 8 1 6 9 2 6 9 6

autopass card?and fixed rate erp? but then no one really cares

Autopass is for paying the daily license (if used during changeable dates and hours) and parking. Fixed rate erp is also not not a must, the thousands of Malaysia motorbikes that come in daily do you think they are on fixed erp? Yes they need to pay with auto pass for using Singapore roads, how many of the thousands have installed IU?

As i said there is no regulation that we must install IU but if you want to use the bike/car on ERP regulated roads then pls install, if not pay fine.

that is how we share info, correct & precise especially when it involves Legality & Regulations Related

nowadays we have to care, gone are the days do what you want & dont get caught no more.. its do it & pay! haha

Thanks f/x for your kind words.

i like that " do it and pay!" that the statement of the new generation .

Thanks f/x for your kind words.

it should be the other way around, we should thank you for sharing the correct info.

we appreciate it, Im sure there are others who are more well informed but choose not to interfere..

which I think is ok, but to share the wrong info especially to the misinformed young riders here is not good la..

SMS 8 1 6 9 2 6 9 6

i like that " do it and pay!" that the statement of the new generation .

haha.. im old school..

i do i pay.. i dont do also i got to pay

SMS 8 1 6 9 2 6 9 6

haha.. im old school..

i do i pay.. i dont do also i got to pay

lol i belong to , why pay ? as long can get away so dont pay !