Usually no need to VC till your head gaskets leaked..Then might as well do a VC and change timing chain as the top block needs to be removed. I did for my 05 R6 and Super 4 Ver S.....Cost not more than $300 for both bikes.....

The valve clearance can be totally off but the head gasket can still be in a perfect condition, and vice-versa is also true.

On most bikes, you do not need to open the top block to gain access to the valves as there is an opening, commonly known as valve inspection cover.

• Replies 36

The valve clearance can be totally off but the head gasket can still be in a perfect condition, and vice-versa is also true.

On most bikes, you do not need to open the top block to gain access to the valves as there is an opening, commonly known as valve inspection cover.

Well said bro :) ... Bottomline is check ur bike manual, under e peeiodic maintainence, refuse to oblige then its own fault... Those who dunno, pls get advise from good mech.. Dun only hear from 1 opinion but then if know nuts bout bike, how to anal-yse e feedback given, will only make urself conpused further lolz...

Valve clearance, tensioner, timing chain, rectifier, coil etc all got lifespan, dun service/change then good luck... Alamak i type alot lah, sorry to e pros who disagree to wat i just stated but who cares lolz...

"Shut Up n Ride"

different bikes got different valve clearance, need to check in the service manual.

Owner's manual n service manual aka workshop manual r 2 diff thingy.. Dun even try to do it on ur big cc bike if dun have e fundamental knowledge..

"Shut Up n Ride"

Great already done valve clearance and replaced shims.

everything runs great now

Edited by Dino Bravo

Mind sharin è recomended wkshops to adjust valve clearance for class 2 bikes

********************************************************************************

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Pizzaboy_Siggy.jpg

__________________________________________________________________________________________

www.pizzahut.com.sg

Did mine valve clearance at sporting when reached 45000km, workmanship charged was $150, bring my own rubber gasket & tensioner. It's good to check to ensure. Mine FZ1.

Nick Peh

My Spec 3 is 9.5 years old, 77k mileage. Need to do valve clearance anot?

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b7/ki113r/Mobile%20Uploads/20150407_203245_zpsvojubra6.jpg

2004 - 2005 FR1284A ~ NSR150SP (FILA Paintwork)

2012 - 2013 FS7810L ~ NSR150SP (Pure White)

2013 - 2015 FBE9955K ~ Spec 3 (Pearl White)

2015 - ???? Quit riding

Some mechs i spoke to said VC to be done at 100k km else dun waste time & moolah$ on it.

********************************************************************************

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Pizzaboy_Siggy.jpg

__________________________________________________________________________________________

www.pizzahut.com.sg

I've read many post on foreign web giving feedback on valve clearance check esp those americans, some claimed that gap was out mostly on intake side and some said none need adjustment at 30k km. It's up to individual who deem the need to ensure it's health. At 100k, actually suppose to replace timing chain, tension and guides as a set. Inspect the cam spocket for wear and replace if necessary.

Nick Peh