• Replies 1.8k

Hi Dragstar-ers

The Dragstar over the years have had changes cosmetically and engine(?) so does anybody know of any sites that documents this singapore specific? eg digital speedo recently, etc

hard to find info regarding the dragstar 400 actually because it's only made for the asian market. some japanese websites might have info la... maybe u wanna try searching for the dragstar650... almost everything is the same only the engine is different.

It's your damn bike, wash it yourself! You rinse your own mouth after you eat, don't you?

Originally posted by shortie@Oct 14 2005, 12:36 PM

Hi Dragstar-ers

The Dragstar over the years have had changes cosmetically and engine(?) so does anybody know of any sites that documents this singapore specific? eg digital speedo recently, etc

Here is the Jap Website for Dragstar from the Year of Birth 1996 till 2004.

http://www.yamaha-motor.jp/mc/world/archive/ds/index.html

Totoro a.k.a E.D.E.N

http://www.catwelfare.org/image/adopt.jpg

The Cat Welfare Society (Singapore)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-403.jpg

Originally posted by xanc@Oct 15 2005, 12:04 PM

tot u shld be at the royal star page??

Where got RoyalStar page??? :confused

Anyway all in the Star family mah!!!: :cheeky:

Totoro a.k.a E.D.E.N

hi..

where can i get reasonable passenger floorboards.. those sites that sells floorboards were mainly 650's and it cost at least 400 per pair..

worried my pipes will get scratches.. got any suggestions/advise/lobang..

Originally posted by gearbox@Oct 18 2005, 02:55 PM

hi..

where can i get reasonable passenger floorboards.. those sites that sells floorboards were mainly 650's and it cost at least 400 per pair..

worried my pipes will get scratches.. got any suggestions/advise/lobang..

All 650cc parts are able to fit into a 400cc.

If U wan economical pricing, it can only b from LAB/Rigina or Auntie shop...

Those u saw on the web r made in the States and the quality r better thus the pricing...

Totoro a.k.a E.D.E.N

kinda miss my draggie..

but no regrets on my current ride..

Originally posted by BluEGaZeR@Oct 18 2005, 04:37 PM

All 650cc parts are able to fit into a 400cc.

If U wan economical pricing, it can only b from LAB/Rigina or Auntie shop...

Those u saw on the web r made in the States and the quality r better thus the pricing...

thanks for the input..

i guess they produce better quality.. will try to scout around..

Dragstar items added!!!

Yo! Brothers and Sisters of the STAR Family.

Have some items for sale.

1) Windshield with Hardwares for Dragstar 400, 650 & 1100

Windshield

2) Seng Kwang Crash Bar.

Seng Kwang Crash Bar

3) Dragstar Classic Front Fender Tip (Brand New) @ S$50

http://www.rermotorcity.net/images/ec0268/STR-5KS26-90-00.jpg

The most bottom one. It is sold at USD$49.95 excluding shippment from the State!!

http://www.rermotorcity.net/eshopprod_cat_...FENDER_TIPS.htm

4) Brand New PASSENGER BACKREST SIDEARMS for Dragstar 400/650. Genuine Yamaha Part# STR-4TR41-10-00. Highly Polished and Brilliant Chrome Finish on these Side Arms, which attach to your bike to support a Backrest Upright (Part# STR-5BN41-30-01 not included).

Not compatible with Givi Backrest. This is install at the sides of the pillion seat to mount the backrest. Backrest not included.

Going for $50

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=2304587/c9_1_b.jpg

Contact me at 98462469 for more info!!! :)

Eden

Totoro a.k.a E.D.E.N

Bro,izzit classic version? can pm me the price and where u get it? thankz

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y117/nebulaz/KTM-Pink-1.jpg

HUA Hua hua....WADEVER..AR you STOOPID OR WAD? HUA hua hua version 2.....

i have a question.. might be silly but hope u guys can give me some advise..

izit ex at 110 for changing of spokes inclusive of labour charges on the front wheel.. :confused:

nope i don't think it's ex la heard 1 spoke costs somewhere arnd $5 leh.. and i cannot find this kinda spokes anywhere in sg! hmmm maybe u can tell me where u found them from bro..

It's your damn bike, wash it yourself! You rinse your own mouth after you eat, don't you?

hi shiraz..

i tried my luck on the search.. he told me got stock but i have not patronize d shop before.. so workmanship wise i can't comment.. u can call him at 6294 1956.. btw it's not those shiny chrome type.. it's the stock version..

i have tried using turtlewax chrome polish on my spokes but no effect.. i have not tried autosol as yet coz heard from others it's abrasive.. :nono:

there are ppl on the net recommended S100 but dono whether can find it here.. or rather will those work on my spokes.. :confused:

i can't think of anymore economical methods to clean those blacken spokes.. :sian:

i tried autosol.. it does work but it's really very very hard work. in abt 10 mins i only managed to get 1 spoke clean.. and it's not even close to the stock look. just not black anymore. hmm autosol once in awhile should be ok. like once u autosol the blackened spokes then mantain it properly should not be a problem already for my case the previous owner didn't take care of the bike.

the spokes also criss cross each other thats why i damn lazy to clean everything. :p

oogah.. saw your bike at PS before :thumb:

well shiraz.. from your advise i think i better head down to d shop to get it changed.. it's a tough job bro using autosol as experience by yourself..

1 spoke = 10 mins.. at least 40 in it.. equals 400 mins.. i think by then my fingers are been autosol-ed.. :lol: :lol:

my hands are unlikely to reach the wheel hub as well.. u can only reach thru d opposite side of d brake rotors.. handle tends to sleep on d access side makes life harder.. all those twist n turn until my head also gets :giddy:

bo pian.. $$ fly liao.. hehe.. :lol: :lol:

Originally posted by gearbox@Nov 2 2005, 11:10 AM

hi shiraz..

i tried my luck on the search.. he told me got stock but i have not patronize d shop before.. so workmanship wise i can't comment.. u can call him at 6294 1956.. btw it's not those shiny chrome type.. it's the stock version..

i have tried using turtlewax chrome polish on my spokes but no effect.. i have not tried autosol as yet coz heard from others it's abrasive.. :nono:

there are ppl on the net recommended S100 but dono whether can find it here.. or rather will those work on my spokes.. :confused:

i can't think of anymore economical methods to clean those blacken spokes.. :sian:

May I suggest "Mothers Wheel Mist" ? This is a multi purpose wheel cleaner used to removes brake dust but I have used it previously for my Shadow spoke wheel and it worked perfectly. Available at D.I.Y shop for $16.90 a bottle.

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul.

Originally posted by oogah@Nov 2 2005, 12:48 PM

Hmm...someone called for dragstar riders?

What a savage and violent nature bike you have there! Thats what I called ferocious! :thumb:

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul.

Originally posted by gearbox@Nov 2 2005, 11:10 AM

just out of curosity, is there any rust removers are not abrasive? or some1 can confidently introduce a product that is not abrasive and work as good as autosol?

i always read pple saying autosol is abrasive so dont use and introduce another rust remover. but those products are not as effective or rather cant see the effect.

and pple start to say if use too much of autosol, u may rub a hole out of the chrome. i wonder has any1 actually rub a hole b4? the hole could be due to the rust has already eaten a hole into the metal, or made the rusty metal is too thin.

rust is iron oxide, it is chemical reaction of iron, oxygen and water. thus is inevitable that something strong is needed to react with iron oxide to remove rust from iron (chrome). autosol is marketed to remove rust (iron oxide). thus i doubt it has significant effect on iron, or in a very short period that u r rubbing it to the rust.

above is just my personal views, please feel free to correct me.

Originally posted by fantom@Nov 4 2005, 09:01 PM

just out of curosity, is there any rust removers are not abrasive? or some1 can confidently introduce a product that is not abrasive and work as good as autosol?

i always read pple saying autosol is abrasive so dont use and introduce another rust remover. but those products are not as effective or rather cant see the effect.

and pple start to say if use too much of autosol, u may rub a hole out of the chrome. i wonder has any1 actually rub a hole b4? the hole could be due to the rust has already eaten a hole into the metal, or made the rusty metal is too thin.

rust is iron oxide, it is chemical reaction of iron, oxygen and water. thus is inevitable that something strong is needed to react with iron oxide to remove rust from iron (chrome). autosol is marketed to remove rust (iron oxide). thus i doubt it has significant effect on iron, or in a very short period that u r rubbing it to the rust.

above is just my personal views, please feel free to correct me.

yo bro fantom..

thanks for sharing.. good to hear some review on autosol..

i have zero knowledge on rust remover.. still exploring coz i am very new to biking world.. hehe.. i did remove some rust using screwdrivers.. it just goes off by scrapping those rust.. gently so it won't scratch the metal chrome or use a soft cloth in between.. just sharing..

btw why are there 3 types of autosol.. normal tubes, spraying (stainless steel or aluminium cleaner) and metal tin (stainless steel or aluminium polish and cleaner).. :confused:

Originally posted by nights@Nov 4 2005, 07:55 PM

May I suggest "Mothers Wheel Mist" ? This is a multi purpose wheel cleaner used to removes brake dust but I have used it previously for my Shadow spoke wheel and it worked perfectly. Available at D.I.Y shop for $16.90 a bottle.

thanks nights.. u are a resourceful man.. :thumb:

i will give it a try..