Just a follow up post; not all bike shops will agree to put these stuff on paper. For me very easy; dun write I dun buy lor. Go other bike shops.

And even when verbally asking for quotes ask all the questions that you can think of. I.E. insurance costs, loading costs, will it be inside the price etc. etc. Prepare youself first before going to shop and ask prices. Dun go in there blindly and buy blindly, later say 'this bike shop chop me' when in the first place u dun really know the full costs. Dun be paiseh about asking costs right down to the smallest details. Better than asking: How powerful is this bike? Got free helmet?

IMO shops will only chop if there is an opportunity to. Dun give them this opportunity.

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e250/cbr17/kiss.jpg
  • Replies 61

Originally posted by friedfishz@February 15, 2007 01:34 am

Yeah agree. Looi's and Mah's price are final. eg they quote 13k for a bike means 13k... everything included OTR (i.e. insurance, rd tax, IU etc etc)....

I bought my bike from Mah and they can straight away print out the invoice which breaks down the costs clearly and also show what's the monthly instalment etc... In this manner, you know exactly what you are paying for.

Its unlike some bike shop that don't like to break down the costs to show you. I hate this hidden costs crap from some bike shops... I still remember I was scouting for my S4 that time and went to a bike shop in the west side... tell me 12k OTR... when I almost gonna sign the paper, I mouth itchy, ask about the IU...

Me: OTR include IU and installation right?

Chopper: Huh? No lah, IU is not included. Need to pay extra $160. Give you free bracket and install for you.

Me: Huh? No IU how to OTR?

Chopper: No lah, some pple only ride their bike at night, or don't go through ERP, so don't need IU mah. So we never include lor. If you want then we fix for u for $160 lor.

This is only part of the story... still got the admin fee and GST part which I am too lazy to type... That's my definition of hidden costs...

Bottomline is... go to a shop which is transparent about the costs. Its you hard earned money and you deserve to know what you are paying for. Why try to save a few hundred dollars at first, then end up feeling cheated, unhappy and angry, then come forum and whine/cry/complain... Prevention is better than cure. :thumb:

refer to my upper post

Originally posted by wX@February 16, 2007 01:24 am

refer to my upper post

Yeah I read about your post. Agree that it is subjective. Which is why it is reasonable for me to show support for my view. :smile:

In any case, if the Chopper bike shop really sells a bike at 2k cheaper (like in your example), then I might consider going in to let them chop... end up still save 1k, bleed abit, not shiok a bit, but still worth it right?

I chose Mah or Looi's because the price difference, compared to the chopper bike shops during my purchase, was only a few hundred dollars. A few hundred dollars for a peace of mind for my 13k purchase, and the satisfying customer service... I think I still can afford. :thumb:

Originally posted by friedfishz@February 16, 2007 02:36 am

Yeah I read about your post. Agree that it is subjective. Which is why it is reasonable for me to show support for my view. :smile:

In any case, if the Chopper bike shop really sells a bike at 2k cheaper (like in your example), then I might consider going in to let them chop... end up still save 1k, bleed abit, not shiok a bit, but still worth it right?

I chose Mah or Looi's because the price difference, compared to the chopper bike shops during my purchase, was only a few hundred dollars. A few hundred dollars for a peace of mind for my 13k purchase, and the satisfying customer service... I think I still can afford. :thumb:

the pricing was just an example. what i was trying to say is, you might prefer to pay a higher price, and get credibility from the shop. some others might prefer going for a lower price, rather than having the credibility.

just like how someone else here said, one man's meat might be another's poison.

I wouldn't mind getting a bike from Mah when I was out shopping for an 06 GSX R1000 then even when the interest per year is 5%. However, they did not want to take in my GSXR400R as a trade-in so didn't buy the bike from them.

With Loois, the trade in price was too low. Offered me only $500 for my FN Gixxer so didn't buy from them also.

Ended up buying an R1 instead... :cheeky:

Originally posted by Aie@February 16, 2007 09:34 pm

I wouldn't mind getting a bike from Mah when I was out shopping for an 06 GSX R1000 then even when the interest per year is 5%. However, they did not want to take in my GSXR400R as a trade-in so didn't buy the bike from them.

With Loois, the trade in price was too low. Offered me only $500 for my FN Gixxer so didn't buy from them also.

Ended up buying an R1 instead... :cheeky:

R1 is a good bike too... :smile:

Too bad Mah don't bring in Yamaha Bike...

Any idea if Looi's bring in Yamaha bikes?

Originally posted by friedfishz@February 17, 2007 02:32 am

I don't recall seeing any brand new R1 bike at Looi's when I was out recceing for a bike. The showroom there has a GSXR1000 and a ZX10R though... :smile:

they typically deal in hondas (their mainstay and also their best prices) and suzukis (not so competitive priceS)

so anyway, i'm looking for a bike right now.

either

a) x-1

b) cbr150

c) sonic

d) honda dash.

where to get it? i dont want to pay moreeeeeeee

im sucha newbie. its so disgusting. bleargh.

i got alot to learn mannn. :giddy:

Originally posted by Slowpoke34@February 15, 2007 08:48 am

How powerful is this bike? Got free helmet?

IMO shops will only chop if there is an opportunity to. Dun give them this opportunity.

hey! so what else must we be alert for? besides asking whether got helmet? free box?

or road tax?

or insurance?

wah seyy.

you know, there's so many tinks.. :( and for someone totaly new, can give a bit of face or not?

explain abit ley.. :cheeky:

Originally posted by limpeiwah@February 12, 2007 12:54 am

well their prices are not the worst. and if u want to pay off your bike before the tenure of your loan they will rebate you the interest based on MAS standards.

well... u mind to share how is it calculated?

say now I still have balance of S$6,840 to be settle over 18mthly payment of S$380, my hire purchase loan amount was S$19,000 over a period of 5yrs repayment, they add in a flat rate of 4% interest per year.

how much the rebate I am allowed base on MAS standard..?

Simon Soh

It's not the destination we conquered but ourselves.

Chiang Saen, Land of Golden Triangle

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5254/5500744953_52f8f8de37.jpg

26th Dec 05' - 9th Jan 06' Northern Thailand Trip

Originally posted by anayil@February 22, 2007 12:56 am

hey! so what else must we be alert for? besides asking whether got helmet? free box?

or road tax?

or insurance?

wah seyy.

you know, there's so many tinks.. :( and for someone totaly new, can give a bit of face or not?

explain abit ley.. :cheeky:

liyana ..

easy step: get an experienced fren to scout/bargain/buy the bike together with ya ..

:cool: rempiticon #76

http://www.motorcycle-usa.com/photos/LG8O8616.jpg

Originally posted by friedfishz@February 17, 2007 02:32 am

mah does bring in yamaha ..saw a R6 there new unit machine

Originally posted by limpeiwah@February 11, 2007 09:14 am

Their price is what u see is what u get. No such thing as hidden fees lah, different interest lah, blah blah blah. Basically if u are cynical they are too big to bother about chopping you $200. If u want to look at it thru rose coloured glasses, they are fundamentally moral and honest shops.

The draw back is they are not that prone to bargaining, freebies.

interesting topic ..are they the 2 biggest in the spore bike industry ??

thought ASphoon is also big ??

:cheeky: ...uppZZZzz

Just saw this thread.

Anyway, I think the reason why Mah's is offering good prices for selling bikes, yet not so keen to buy your old bikes is because they have loads of used bikes in their premises, all waiting to be sold! I think they will buy from you bikes that they think they can sell back lah. For example, from a business point of view, not so good to buy a RXZ from you if they got 10 in stock right? Even if it is trade-in...

My previous bike, a 125Z, was sitting in their lot for like 15 months before I saw it disappear. Hopefully someone bought it, otherwise probably it was exported.

They do have sooo many models of different bikes of all engine capacities to choose from. Sometimes variety can kill lah, too many to choose, in the end dunno what to choose and never buy :cheeky:

I've been a regular customer there because of the good service I receive (also because I don't trust any other mechanic with my engine hehehhe)

  maitokiha said:
where r these shop located...??

Looi's is located a Kaki Bukit, exact address I don't know. Mah's is located along Serangoon road, opposite the old Bendemeer Fire Station.

Got my SW from Loois, got it at a lower COE cost. Boss Mr Lee is nice, no hidden cost. After service is not bad and their mechanics knows their stuff.

Have scout for SW from Mah and ASPhoon, price at 13K and 14K respectively. Didn't get from them as quotation was too exp.

Bike production do quote me the lowest price. But read from forum about other bikers with problems on installment issue, so end up not getting from them.

So end of the day, its the best to spend time reading the forum and do some home work and scouting around bike shops before bike purchase decision.

July 2004 to Nov 2006 X9 amalfi

Dec 2006 to Jan 2010 Honda SilverWing 400

Feb 2010 to Nov 2015 Honda Fit

Dec 2015 to Oct 2017 Toyota ISIS

Feb 2017 to May 2017 Honda ST1300

Jun 2017 onwards Honda Silverwing 400

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/6333/image00076ka5.jpg

  wX said:
this statement of "don't chop" is quite subjective really.

bike shop A: quote is 20k everything in. on the day get bike still 20k.

bike shop B: quote u 18k everything in. on the day get bike add in 1k, become 19k.

shop A didn't chop on the above scenario right? but they still earn more. in comparison, shop B still provided a lower price, although they added in something at the last minute.

end of the day, in my opinon, it's really a matter of where u r happy buying your stuff.

I agree its subjective.

However,if a shop adds changes last minute increasing the price, to my view it has already loss its credibility.

If bikeshops can be dishonest with you and alter the price last minute,they could also be doing some other nasty things to your bike before releasing to you (especially 2nd hand bikes).

Although you might earn abit in terms of price differences like the above quote, usually it wouldn't be that great of a difference unless you haven't been scouting around before the deal and don't know the average.

Usually these 'chop' bikeshop would give lower price as compared to others so as to lure u to sign the papers then adds up last minute.

The determining factor would be your downpayment and how long your loan would be with them.

If they think they haven't chop u enuf after dealing...then they would tell you the price has been increased due to some factors.

Just abt a year ago when I was scouting to buy my R1, a shop in bkt merah told me after calculating my insurance OTR price $22.7K.

As soon as I told them I was going to settle cash...they immediately say cash price is $24.7K.

I left the shop n purchase it at AS Phoon who sold it to me $24.2K be it I pay cash or instalment with no hidden charges OTR.

As for Looi's Motor,most of my gixxer,honda n kawa frens always had a pleasant time and problem free transaction with no last minute price alteration when buying bikes from them.I agree they pay abit more mebi ard $500-$800 more but its worth it.

Not only Looi's have good businees ethics when it comes to selling bikes, I can say they even have one of the most competent if not the best big bike mechanic in Singapore to my point of view.My R1 issues have never been a challenge to tough for him to rectify.

  wX said:
this statement of "don't chop" is quite subjective really.

bike shop A: quote is 20k everything in. on the day get bike still 20k.

bike shop B: quote u 18k everything in. on the day get bike add in 1k, become 19k.

shop A didn't chop on the above scenario right? but they still earn more. in comparison, shop B still provided a lower price, although they added in something at the last minute.

end of the day, in my opinon, it's really a matter of where u r happy buying your stuff.

I agree its subjective.

However,if a shop adds changes last minute increasing the price, to my view it has already loss its credibility.

If bikeshops can be dishonest with you and alter the price last minute,they could also be doing some other nasty things to your bike before releasing to you (especially 2nd hand bikes).

Although you might earn abit in terms of price differences like the above quote, usually it wouldn't be that great of a difference unless you haven't been scouting around before the deal and don't know the average.

Usually these 'chop' bikeshop would give lower price as compared to others so as to lure u to sign the papers then adds up last minute.

The determining factor would be your downpayment and how long your loan would be with them.

If they think they haven't chop u enuf after dealing...then they would tell you the price has been increased due to some factors.

Just abt a year ago when I was scouting to buy my R1, a shop in bkt merah told me after calculating my insurance OTR price $22.7K.

As soon as I told them I was going to settle cash...they immediately say cash price is $24.7K.

I left the shop n purchase it at AS Phoon who sold it to me $24.2K be it I pay cash or instalment with no hidden charges OTR with sum freebies.

As for Looi's Motor,most of my gixxer,honda n kawa frens always had a pleasant time and problem free transaction with no last minute price alteration when buying bikes from them.I agree they pay abit more mebi ard $500-$800 more but its worth it.

Not only Looi's have good business ethics when it comes to selling bikes, I can say they even have one of the most competent if not the best big bike mechanic in Singapore to my point of view.My R1 issues have never been a challenge to tough for him to rectify.

Happy Trying!

:cheeky: :cry:

Arwan said:
I agree its subjective.

I left the shop n purchase it at AS Phoon who sold it to me $24.2K be it I pay cash or instalment with no hidden charges OTR with sum freebies.

Not only Looi's have good business ethics when it comes to selling bikes, I can say they even have one of the most competent if not the best big bike mechanic in Singapore to my point of view.My R1 issues have never been a challenge to tough for him to rectify.

Happy Trying!

These 2 shops can bargain or not?

  ET said:
loois has a firm price...but no hidden cost..~hidden cost are add ons after you have discussed the final price...~not when you are discussing it...make sure everything is written and at least you know what are the cost going to..~

how is the very firm ? cannot bargain ?

Buy at the stated price or go else where kind ?