wanna upgrade 2A bike....give some opinion on s4 n drz..

• Replies 31

DRZ. If i got money i would buy a DRZ and put a box. Yes, it is that good until i am willing to put a box behind it.

both are good bikes, depending on the type of bikes you are going for.

DRZ has pick up, cruising speed 100 - 110? top speed 130 - 150? low maintenance costs for EO/plug, except tyres which is slightly more expensive, exhaust sound is subjective. no comfort for your backside for long rides.

Super4 has pick up too but needs to be rev to mid range, cruising speed 120 - 130? top speed 180 - 200? slightly higher maintenance costs, tyres is abit cheaper than DRZ. exhaust sound is orgasmic with an aftermarket exhaust when VTEC is on. much morecomfortable than DRZ.

kifakw

Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car

and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car.

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall,

torque is how far you take the wall with you.

super better ba. more smooth because inline 4 engine plus Vtec!

Current Ride:

W650 Cafe Racer

FXSTC Softail Custom

TW200 Tracker

Zephyr ZII Custom

CB750K

CB400four

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n166/sgstreetbiker/IMG_0627_zps0816850b.jpg

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n166/sgstreetbiker/EBC0B2D1-5DB8-412B-BE85-D4E7DE4F0247-9859-000001DA1BB41B2E.jpg

actually it depends on what you wanna have? Just a sole transport or fun ride :) hate to say these two are far most successful model in SG

S4 will outperform the DRZ as a general.. definitely.

In singapore traffic and non graceful drivers, your double disc and 4 brakepad front will come in handy.

With that comes higher maintenance cost.

Of course DRZ looks a tad cooler.

I say drz

Not coz of maintenance as maintenance is plus minus. 4 cylinders bike takes longer mileage to change oil while the single takes a shorter one

Y i say drz as nowday gentry are made almost everywhere. A "off rode" bike is good to siam all this. If u r adventures enough

Azmil Sempit

Y i say drz as nowday gentry are made almost everywhere. A "off rode" bike is good to siam all this. If u r adventures enough

Azmil Sempit

Haha u meant ERP gantry? Siam gantry kena caught big offense LOL?

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b7/ki113r/Mobile%20Uploads/20150407_203245_zpsvojubra6.jpg

2004 - 2005 FR1284A ~ NSR150SP (FILA Paintwork)

2012 - 2013 FS7810L ~ NSR150SP (Pure White)

2013 - 2015 FBE9955K ~ Spec 3 (Pearl White)

2015 - ???? Quit riding

More to parking gentry.

Ppl has this thinking where maintenance cost for smaller bike is cheaper then big bike.

Usually they will say like "my small bike 1l engine oil." Usually the interval for changing engine oil for small bike is 2000km.

How bout multipy it by 3. That's 6000km. That's usually the interval when i change my big bike engine oil. Is it the same?

Azmil Sempit

More to parking gentry.

Ppl has this thinking where maintenance cost for smaller bike is cheaper then big bike.

Usually they will say like "my small bike 1l engine oil." Usually the interval for changing engine oil for small bike is 2000km.

How bout multipy it by 3. That's 6000km. That's usually the interval when i change my big bike engine oil. Is it the same?

Azmil Sempit

1) regarding the oil change issue, you are right. it is the same...but...there are other factors to consider...

2) big bikes have more costly consumables ( ie. tyres, sprockets, brake pads, oil filter, spark plugs, fork oil change, bearings etc. the list goes on...)

3) big bikes usually have higher repair costs from the smallest to biggest items / parts etc

4) big bikes will also cost more to mod / customise accessories if you are the type of biker that likes to so ( i usually don't )

5) insurance for bigger bikes are also usually higher with rider's age & risk group kept a constant

6) fuel consumption is another obvious factor...

so all these little extra costs will add up to a lot in the long run ( remembered an old malay saying ).....which is the price you have to pay if you want to enjoy the joy of a faster bike. of course i don't want to be a killjoy in fact go ahead if you can afford it! but for those with different financial situation or priorities, they have to consider carefully.

7) as for drz or s4, in the end, it is just a simple matter of your own personal preference as these 2 are very different bikes. it is like some folks prefer sportsbikes while others prefer scooters. Thread starter should just follow his own personal taste, his question has no conclusive answer as everyone will give him a different answer. just go for whatever you fancy.

Edited by bruce71

Raptor: ( quote )

"As one gains more experience on a bike... one's perceptions and views on how a bike should be ridden will change over time.. just live and let live for now." :thumb:

Actually "sikit2 lama2 jadi bukit" its actually referred to a small cc or single cylinder too.

Since its small, stressing n high reving the bike is all too often. With that wear n tear will come much2 earlier. Although when replacing the parts are cheaper. They usually wont last that long.

I own small bikes too. Spark and nxc 125. I found out that my smaller bike tend to need a lot more attention. Parts need to be replaced more times then the big bike.

Eg the sporkets and chain. In a year if i take care of it i would change it once a year. If not then twice a years. My bigger bike still have not change the chain n sporkets for close to 3.5 years. Still going strong. Sometimes i lube it sometimes i forgot.

I agree that with big bike every thing will be bigger. That also applies to the money. Xp but its just onces in a couple of years type of things.

Imo only. Can debate with me but if it turns out being personal till one gets piss off then should just rest the case ya.

Azmil Sempit

Actually "sikit2 lama2 jadi bukit" its actually referred to a small cc or single cylinder too.

Since its small, stressing n high reving the bike is all too often. With that wear n tear will come much2 earlier. Although when replacing the parts are cheaper. They usually wont last that long.

I own small bikes too. Spark and nxc 125. I found out that my smaller bike tend to need a lot more attention. Parts need to be replaced more times then the big bike.

Eg the sporkets and chain. In a year if i take care of it i would change it once a year. If not then twice a years. My bigger bike still have not change the chain n sporkets for close to 3.5 years. Still going strong. Sometimes i lube it sometimes i forgot.

I agree that with big bike every thing will be bigger. That also applies to the money. Xp but its just onces in a couple of years type of things.

Imo only. Can debate with me but if it turns out being personal till one gets piss off then should just rest the case ya.

Azmil Sempit

no problem, this is not a ego thing. i am here to discuss, not show off or make enemies. :)

i have a habit of keeping a record of all my expenditures on my bike & found that the total expenses involved are lesser compared to my friends who have big bikes.

perhaps it is due to my "ah-pek" style of riding, but i doubt i need to chan

ge parts / repair that more often ( i admit i am no racer but dispatch riders have very high mileage ). some examples are that i doubt class 2 tyres / brake pads will last that much longer? as for sprockets & chain, my previous bike lao K lasted about 3-4 years even though i have to travel a long distance to work but i was not a dispatch then.

even now, i only change annually & i seldom hear of people changing twice a year, unless you go KL or do touring to thailand / round malaysia frequently then of course different story.

my friend with a lao k never change his front brake pads for more than 3 years even when he ride every day to work.he told me his rear brake shoe last a year.

nowadays i change consumables more often of course but this is due to my increase in mileage & change in occupation.

tyres depend on mileage, but they seem to last as long as class 2/2a or are that special class 2 tyres that will last twice as long to make up for the difference in prices?

overhauls or major repairs for my previous bikes lao k, rxz or 125z seldom happen but i do go for a full service every year before annual inspection & they were cheap, no valve clearances, no coolant, no oil filter. things seldom go wrong & even then are usually cheap to repair.

then i have malaysian former colleagues that live in jb & ride sg f plate honda waves cross custom daily during peak hour where bigger bikes tend to overheat when the waiting is too long. they trust their wave & modenas cubs as they seldom break down even though long custom queues is a twice daily affair.

besides the savings in servicing & repairs, there are further savings in insurance & fuel economy. of course, some of my fuel savings are reduced slightly by my 2t spending ( which i include in my expenses book ) but a 40km/l 4-stroke 2b bike like fz150i or wave will mean your petrol bills are halved when compared to 20km/l class 2a/2 "economical" bikes, besides you must resist the temptation of unleashing the power of big bikes. what is the point & fun of riding a big bike so slowly?

all these things add up but there is a final often overlooked "cost". ie. the higher price of the bigger bike with age of bike / years of coe left a constant. the higher installments & interest over the installment multiplied over the entire loan period with the property "amortization" style of deducting principle when you sell ( there is really no such thing as 0 interest or 0 labour costs ( anyone who is in the bike sales / the parts accessories market before knows this, this is an old open secret ) plus the depreciation means that there is already a cost "handicap" right from the very beginning...:(

Edited by bruce71

Raptor: ( quote )

"As one gains more experience on a bike... one's perceptions and views on how a bike should be ridden will change over time.. just live and let live for now." :thumb:

DRZ - If u drop, slide, skid, it still runs well (except major collision). Its a dual sport motorcycle. Single cylinder (vibrator), Oversize brake disc (good stopping power, Endo...), Smaller gas tank (ride more than 160km a day?), accessories and aftermarket dept win hands down. High fun factor. Juz type supermoto on youtube n u get the drift..

S4 - Paint work...dont drop it or u scratch it, smooth ride (in-line 4), bigger gas tank (a reason to top up in JB), comfy seat, correct me if im wrong..a new out the door S4 cost abit more than the DRZ...Seat(ur pillion wont complain)..

Btw i have class 2 but never own 1litre bike b4, in the end I sticked to 250cc as it was so practical in SG congested road. How small, light the bike is, and 0-100m in secs from a traffic light to another plays apart in my daily commute. Thats my opinion. Thank you.

Hey bruce u are right.

But i see we have been way off topic as i suppose it to be like a class 2a bike to a class 2a bike. Drz to s4. Lets debate on this two bikes. As a class 2 to a class 2b. Of coz will lose out in terms of economical. Xp that's why i own a class 2b bike as a main bike xp

Drz to a s4

As i see it both will have about the same fuel mileage. Changing of oil n oil filter is also about the same. Parts too for both bike easy to find n both bike has lots of aftermarkets in the market.

So how does one still say a drz which is a single cylinder bike is more economical?

Oriax

Singapore road to be honest. A class 2b is enough. It's so stress free when im on my class 2b bike in peak hours.

A slightly modded class 2b would be enough for fun too

Imo

Azmil Sempit

Drz is a more economical bike rather den an S4. But if you wana do a resell. S4 costs more den drz. But the market is volatile. Alot of S4s oso will bring down the value in the future. You wan mid to top end, S4 is the one. For savings wise, drz seems a better choice for non-modified . Just do a bit more research and suited to your style. My 2 cents.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

I like drz.

As for singapore road, it can do wonders man. To escape all those parking fees.

And as one mention, drz u can even dont wash it and it will still look cool.

Drop? Well aint it juz part of a off road bike.

Azmil Sempit

hoosehhh ahhh...haha..wow...most of u choose drz.....coz i have a big body like brock lesnar...people say im fit for s4..drz also not bad for my opinion..coz only tis 2 bike are most of my choice so far....thanks for everyone for the 2 cent opinion...would make some research more as how i do research buying my 2b bike....

Drz is a more economical bike rather den an S4. But if you wana do a resell. S4 costs more den drz. But the market is volatile. Alot of S4s oso will bring down the value in the future. You wan mid to top end, S4 is the one. For savings wise, drz seems a better choice for non-modified . Just do a bit more research and suited to your style. My 2 cents.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

thanks bro..i will...so far yes s4 my choice coz most of my friend use it..but few of them rode drz...so y not,i just be someone with sporty bike..ahha

DRZ - If u drop, slide, skid, it still runs well (except major collision). Its a dual sport motorcycle. Single cylinder (vibrator), Oversize brake disc (good stopping power, Endo...), Smaller gas tank (ride more than 160km a day?), accessories and aftermarket dept win hands down. High fun factor. Juz type supermoto on youtube n u get the drift..

S4 - Paint work...dont drop it or u scratch it, smooth ride (in-line 4), bigger gas tank (a reason to top up in JB), comfy seat, correct me if im wrong..a new out the door S4 cost abit more than the DRZ...Seat(ur pillion wont complain)..

Btw i have class 2 but never own 1litre bike b4, in the end I sticked to 250cc as it was so practical in SG congested road. How small, light the bike is, and 0-100m in secs from a traffic light to another plays apart in my daily commute. Thats my opinion. Thank you.

wow it a tough choice huh...scared will choose the wrong bike sehh...but both bike look sachokk when riding it...

I say drz

Not coz of maintenance as maintenance is plus minus. 4 cylinders bike takes longer mileage to change oil while the single takes a shorter one

Azmil Sempit

the drz like very high siol....but i like the outlook of the bike same to s4..both sachok if ride on the road but drz with get the attention more..ahha

DRZ. If i got money i would buy a DRZ and put a box. Yes, it is that good until i am willing to put a box behind it.

i for sure gonna put box..ahaha..like how i do for my spark....

both are good bikes, depending on the type of bikes you are going for.

DRZ has pick up, cruising speed 100 - 110? top speed 130 - 150? low maintenance costs for EO/plug, except tyres which is slightly more expensive, exhaust sound is subjective. no comfort for your backside for long rides.

Super4 has pick up too but needs to be rev to mid range, cruising speed 120 - 130? top speed 180 - 200? slightly higher maintenance costs, tyres is abit cheaper than DRZ. exhaust sound is orgasmic with an aftermarket exhaust when VTEC is on. much morecomfortable than DRZ.

i like both of the outlook..but seem drz sound create more attraction.not bad also for s4....**** i hate tis part where to make choices.aah

actually it depends on what you wanna have? Just a sole transport or fun ride :) hate to say these two are far most successful model in SG

when ride 2a bike..need lil bit some attraction n i find drz is the most la...lesser abit for s4...for me is transport using...but in time when come for lepak2 of coz u wanna rev lil bit la show off...haha...