Originally posted by viking78@Oct 27 2006, 10:41 AM

Hi Everyone....

I'm getting an NSR SP soon and need your advise on several things:

1) The Fuel consumption? How many km/litre?

2) What type of insurance is better for this bike? Comprehensive/2nd party?

3) What should I check first when I get bike...?

4) Any long term issues/problems that I should be wary about?

5) Any shop to recommend, which is highly skilled in servicing/repairing NSR SP bikes?

Thanks for your help, bros and sistas...

1) Average SP FC is about 20-25km/l.. if u wan better FC, tune ur SP to lean settings but it might give u problems... if ur considering to buy sp, u shudnt be tinking too much about the FC cos sp is a 2stroke and sports bike... if u wan good FC, just get kup kia

2)3rd party like congx recommend...

3)get someone who have ride sp and knowledgeable on bikes, to follow u to check on the condition... anyway, prepare an additional $400+ just in case anything happens... dun be in the situation where u can afford to buy the bike but cannot afford to repair when u crash *touch wood la* :smile:

4) basic wear and tear like chain, sprocket, tyres and much more others... maintain ur bike like ur wife and it will love u back :)

5) i rather go jb to service my bike cos the mindset of singapore motordiams is to chop u... or if ur frens know any of the bike shop owner, u can oso go there to do...

anyway, enjoy ur ride when u bought it :) remember to join us for outings when u gotten ur bike :cheeky: :smile:

:goodluck: on hunting ur wife :smile:

• Replies 140.5k

• wait4me

• lwfc

• MC28

• garfieldrox

Originally posted by nGuOrEn@Oct 27 2006, 11:32 AM

1) for me.. the FC is 30.1 km/litre.. dunno how the previous owner tune one.. quite fuel economical..

2) i got 3rd party + fire & theft from NTUC.. but if u buy comprehensive.. u can claim if there are any accidents n u can't find the culprit.. eg. for me is my bike got sabo.. den gotta pay the damages myself..

3) i got my neighbour to check for me.. but if u get pple like Samuel or ravenSP to help u.. i think u can get a good deal.. they are the pros.. haha..

4) if u plan to ride the bike for long, like me.. den juz maintain it well.. be willing to spend money to keep ur bike in the best form.. loving ur bike is like loving urself.. haha..

5) i did my research online in SBF.. the recommended shops in SG will b PlanetMotors, BikeWerks.. these are the 2 motordiams tat are super duper highly recommended by SBF forum pple.. or u can go JB with the SP riders.. i will go n try.. for 2B bikes.. going JB will b saving half the money.. but the parts used mayb inferior to SG..

i dunno.. juz i hav learnt these past 1 mth.. correct me anyone.. i'm newbie.. hohoho..

nguoren,

1) what figures did u use to derive this number? avg is 20 -25, my ex-sp was so called very fuel saving liao also running at 27km/L only. how did u get 30.1km?

2) sp u can't get comprehensive insurance i think. it's a old and crap enough bike that no one really want to steal to sell across the border (although pple will steal more for nuisance). anyway TPFT is enough, nugoren if u claim against your own policy your next premium will have 30% loading and u lose the NCD.

3) agreed. get someone who really knows the bike well to go see for u. that means getting a knowledgeable sp rider and not a knowledgeable krr rider. also as per death7878 yes pls standby cash on hand for repairs cos unless u very heng i think u going to get a sp which was once a heap of junk now back on road.

4) u can't be riding the sp for long. how long u want to ride? 10years? most pple throw the sp away after getting 2A. some hold on until class 2. but if u are seeking a transport bike for daily usage, then sp is not really that suitable. get a rxz or a 4-stroke (recommended) if u are using it for transport only. all 2-strokes break down after some time even with your tender loving care. why? becos they are 2-strokes!

5) just follow the others and go JB to service can liao.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v56/flykite/futurerp.jpg

flykite: this is how i calculate the fuel consumption; after pumping full tank for my bike.. i take down the mileage.. den i juz ride my normal lor.. so the next time i wanna pump again.. i take down the mileage again.. from there i can know how many km i hav travelled den with the refilling.. i know how many litres i needa top up my take.. with the 2 figures.. i'm able to roughly know the FC per litres.. is it right? hehe..

http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u142/nGuOrEn/renssig.jpg

My RiDeS

HONDA NSR 150 (FS 336K): 23/09/06 tO 17/08/07

WAVE-I (FY 5801U): 17/08/07 tO 13/12/07

HONDA CBR400RR (FM 1463B): 13/12/07 tO 20/09/08

WAVE-R (FZ 2846E): 20/09/08 tO 17/04/09

WAVE-S (FV 7293M): 03/10/09 tO 14/08/10

CB400 BOLD'OR (FZ 7896G): 16/08/10

Originally posted by ChEnZ@Oct 27 2006, 09:33 AM

it's normal to think that you have 5 gears, because you count the number of times you kicked up from gear 1 to gear 6, which is 5. initially i thought my bike had 5 gears too, lol.

gear 1-kick-2

2-kick-3

3-kick-4

4-kick-5

5-kick-6.

there you go.

btw is there anyone here with the number plate FU86? saw him yesterday at bukit batok, haha.

so is there any outing or no outing? I wanna play abit more before i change bikes, haha. I think i'll miss riding SP, but right now i'm actually abit sick of it. the noise it produces! sigh.

eh lacer....dun always say wan come out in e end nv leh....lol...btw the FU86 is white/blue one issit? last time e previous owner stay my hse here de...bt he sold it off....

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/21/51/3081512/33359748462070s.jpgRacing kills...pls ride safely...

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/21/51/3081512/2795975379583l.jpgMy Bro's Former Bike

Originally posted by bluelabel@Oct 27 2006, 02:42 AM

eh ya forgot to tell you guys ... two days ago i went to my carpark , then happen to see another sp rider , while warming up my bike , his no. plate fell off , found out someone stole his no. plate screws.

after warming up i rode off , skalli i heard , ta ta ta ta ta ta , I straight away ****kkkkkkkkkkk RIDE SLOW ALSO PISTON JAM AR , THEN i realise eh i nv clutch in still can move leh , and my bike nv feel like dying off leh , SKALLI I STOP and see , Knn My chain guard got 3 red screws , two kena stolen , left one then make my chain guard scrap against my chain , LUcky got cable tie , after closer inspection ! KNN 4 red screw missing , two on left side middle fairing , and another two on de other side of middle fairing ......... after that ride half way , eh why my left side pop racing foot rest feel like not in line ar , skalli notice 1 of the screw half way out , knn ****er comfirm wan steal den half way i dont know wat happen , cos that screw is ****ing tight , cant be easily become lose , when i tigten back i quite hard to screw in back .......

KNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN GOT MONEY BUY BIKE NO MONEY BUY SCREW .

!@$(&*)@#$*%^@# Somebody steal my licence plate screw and P-Plate too..... I somemore park in open carpark....WTF screws + P-Plate also not more than $20 bucks cannot afford ride wat bike.....:bouncefire:

2006 - Honda SP 150

2008 - Piaggio X8

2009 - Honda Silverwing 400???

2011 - Yamaha FJR 1300???

ai ya it goes in a circle . someone start it. nabei who stole my p-plate. zzz then he saw another bike eh got p-plate then steal . then the next bugger go to his bike and see WTF who stole my p-plate then go steal other. so if urs stolen? go steal someone else. hahaha.

Good and bad is just the difference between perceptions.

Originally posted by nGuOrEn@Oct 27 2006, 02:45 PM

flykite: this is how i calculate the fuel consumption; after pumping full tank for my bike.. i take down the mileage.. den i juz ride my normal lor.. so the next time i wanna pump again.. i take down the mileage again.. from there i can know how many km i hav travelled den with the refilling.. i know how many litres i needa top up my take.. with the 2 figures.. i'm able to roughly know the FC per litres.. is it right? hehe..

like that buay zhun one lah

how:

1. ride until dry

2. push bike to petrol station

3. set pump for 10 litres exactly

4. put fuel gauge to res

5. ride normally until dry again

6. note mileage and divide by 10 for FC

or (not so accurate)

1. pump full to brim

2. put fuel gauge to res

3. ride until dry

4. see mileage

5. push to petrol station to pump to brim

6. divide by number of litres pumped

if the tank u never use until dry u will never get an accurate figure.

u can standby one spare bottle of petrol so u dont need to push bike to petrol station.

Originally posted by flykite@Oct 27 2006, 04:11 PM

how:

1. ride until dry

4. put fuel gauge to res

or (not so accurate)

1. pump full to brim

2. put fuel gauge to res

3. ride until dry

4. see mileage

u can standby one spare bottle of petrol so u dont need to push bike to petrol station.

wahz.. i supposed tat's accurate.. for my method is more lazy lar.. dun needa push.. haha.. kk.. i will try when i'm free.. haha.. thanks flykite.. experienced better than act smart.. haha..

http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u142/nGuOrEn/renssig.jpg

My RiDeS

HONDA NSR 150 (FS 336K): 23/09/06 tO 17/08/07

WAVE-I (FY 5801U): 17/08/07 tO 13/12/07

HONDA CBR400RR (FM 1463B): 13/12/07 tO 20/09/08

WAVE-R (FZ 2846E): 20/09/08 tO 17/04/09

WAVE-S (FV 7293M): 03/10/09 tO 14/08/10

CB400 BOLD'OR (FZ 7896G): 16/08/10

Originally posted by flykite@Oct 27 2006, 02:06 PM

:sorry:

wrong person... cristiano83 (formerly clhh12) asked the same question on page 834... sorry wait4me... pls dont flame me :weep:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....0entry2809683

dunno la

hurt already la

tot u wanna aim me onli ....

haiz

4) u can't be riding the sp for long. how long u want to ride? 10years? most pple throw the sp away after getting 2A. some hold on until class 2. but if u are seeking a transport bike for daily usage, then sp is not really that suitable. get a rxz or a 4-stroke (recommended) if u are using it for transport only. all 2-strokes break down after some time even with your tender loving care. why? becos they are 2-strokes!

me lor... me going to ride it for 10 years

Originally posted by flykite@Oct 27 2006, 04:11 PM

how:

1. ride until dry

4. put fuel gauge to res

or (not so accurate)

1. pump full to brim

2. put fuel gauge to res

3. ride until dry

4. see mileage

wah... so fierce ah? i rather save the $1 worth of petrol so tat have enuff to go to petrol station to pump, then to waste my energy pushing to petrol station lol :giddy:

Originally posted by wait4me@Oct 27 2006, 05:02 PM

o, then keeping the sp and that '05 r6 ah?

'96 nsr250sp

'90 nsr250r

'18 yzf-r6

Originally posted by ravenSP@Oct 27 2006, 05:24 PM

o, then keeping the sp and that '05 r6 ah?

:smile: yes sir....

i like the sound of yr pipe man ....

Hi all SP rider old bird... Jus nw went to bukit merah thr to check out for SP price. Albert motor give mi the price of 2.8k OTR with new paintwork and bla bla... And a montly of installment for $112 for 2yrs... Do u all think is worth it? And nid a d/l payment of $700... Please help mi!! Btw is a FR plate...

Btw thank a million for those help mi.

Originally posted by Gallantine@Oct 27 2006, 04:39 PM

Hey Powieee,what a nice coincidence to see you OTR in tampines 2 times within an hour. lol

Anyway,nice bike :thumb:

Haha , i was in tamp for many times today , fetching and picking up my girlfriend to and fro home and sch . haha , pls at least smile or nod lah .. lol .. i stress my brain i still can't think of any stock SP paintwork i see sia ..

regarding the paintwork , i don't get what your "damage " means but it's 500,custom , 2 colour plus rims .

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v221/powieee/DSC00788.jpg

Riders are naturally more daring then Drivers , cause Riders are constantly facing danger on the road.

If u're enthusiast of a G4...$$$ is secondary....

Originally posted by Powieee@Oct 27 2006, 07:37 PM

Haha , i was in tamp for many times today , fetching and picking up my girlfriend to and fro home and sch . haha , pls at least smile or nod lah .. lol .. i stress my brain i still can't think of any stock SP paintwork i see sia ..

regarding the paintwork , i don't get what your "damage " means but it's 500,custom , 2 colour plus rims .

Next time I see you I wave at you k? But I ride kawa..Anyway your face very familiar..You ride something else besides SP? A two wheel bike with no engine maybe?

Originally posted by compfused@Oct 27 2006, 07:55 PM

Next time I see you I wave at you k? But I ride kawa..Anyway your face very familiar..You ride something else besides SP? A two wheel bike with no engine maybe?

he was a BMX rider before :smile: a pro to be more specific :smile:

Originally posted by wait4me@Oct 27 2006, 05:02 PM

dunno la

hurt already la

tot u wanna aim me onli ....

haiz

no lah not aim u lah... friendly discussion! :cheer:

Originally posted by garfieldrox@Oct 27 2006, 07:14 PM

Hi all SP rider old bird... Jus nw went to bukit merah thr to check out for SP price. Albert motor give mi the price of 2.8k OTR with new paintwork and bla bla... And a montly of installment for $112 for 2yrs... Do u all think is worth it? And nid a d/l payment of $700... Please help mi!! Btw is a FR plate...

Btw thank a million for those help mi.

LoLs ChOpPeD ChOppEd Chopped! i got my FU. 700 down payment. $123 per month for 2 years how u calculate 2.8k OTR? Where downpayment is already 700 and 112 *24 = 2.7k with $700 downpayment? total = 3.4k ?? FR plate? is already 7-8 yrs old? haha.. i rather u buy private for like $2k machine $400 insurance. $500 custom paint work from yeow motor ~$500 overhauling n servicing. which is much more more more better.

Good and bad is just the difference between perceptions.

Originally posted by death7878@Oct 27 2006, 07:58 PM

he was a BMX rider before :smile: a pro to be more specific :smile:

No wonder familiar..I also ride but not pro..You powieee's stalker or die hard fan?

Originally posted by flykite@Oct 27 2006, 08:05 PM

no lah not aim u lah... friendly discussion! :cheer:

its ok la

i tow what man

morning morning wkae up

kana shoot laio hahahh

hey bert ... ur r6 gOt kena recall or wad ? walao stupid hongleong recalled my

series back for rectification ... waste time waste $ :o

ma mee mOo

teEpe3 c@nt c@tCh m3 nAniNanipOopOo

yes..buy private.many of us bought from shop, >3k OTR still gotta fork out 1k more to overhaul,do up bike. lesson learnt,dun buy from bike shop unless ur father/uncle/relatives/frens is the boss.dun get licence only,take cab to ubi/bukit merah/serangoon to look for bikes.hang around sp thread,join us for meet-ups,ask in real person easier.staying in tamp?im willing to pillion u to simpang makan sessions.