Whats the diff between normal and full servicing ar ?

I also thought of DIY =P

Isit hard ?

Winner dont quit.!

Quitter wont WIN

Year 2009 March - Honda NSR 150 SP (FT606*S)

Year 2010 Feb - Honda FireBlade CBR400 (FN640*S)

Year 2010 April - Honda RVF NC35 (FP 156*S)

Year 2010 July - Honda RVF NC35 (FR*75*L) - CURRENT

• Replies 140.5k

• wait4me

• lwfc

• MC28

• garfieldrox

important thing is u nd to haf someone who noes their stuff. in my case its my dad ah. he open up so many engines oready since his riding days. bt thing is he ony noe 2 stroke bike. secondly nd to get hold of service manual. This one impt coz each make is unique in its layout of stuff so the manual is an important guide.

so yeah if u got these 2 then shud b no prob. frm here u can learn slowly so one day u can do urself. BUT of course, u dun noe anyth abt engine then anyhw open, that one looking for trouble ah.

i dun noe abt u guys lah but to me, part n parcel of riding 2 strokers is getting yer hands dirty as well. if nt might as well ride maintainence free bike. like my gf ah cannot tahan sia. Chg engine oil oso must bring go shop. EVEN top up 2t oso bring shop. bt that one extreme ah.

anyway, like someone mentioned, piston n ring cost 50-70. plus EO 16bucks. still wayyy cheaper than shop charge 220 tio bo?. so in this case worth it lah if its reali 50-70. so juz wana find out the price of the parts.

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/mesab0ogie/162924_10150098222388659_776873658_7311881_1249924_n-1-3.jpghttp://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/mesab0ogie/184825_10150138083343659_776873658_7941714_3856564_n.jpg

teach me? ~~

but dun need to run in after that right?

cause didnt change anything and etc. :cheeky:

maybe if i cnfm doing top overhaul myself u can come down n look see? bt i warn u its gona be boring.

dun nd to run in ah. but iirc must retune the carb abit.

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/mesab0ogie/162924_10150098222388659_776873658_7311881_1249924_n-1-3.jpghttp://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/mesab0ogie/184825_10150138083343659_776873658_7941714_3856564_n.jpg

important thing is u nd to haf someone who noes their stuff. in my case its my dad ah. he open up so many engines oready since his riding days. bt thing is he ony noe 2 stroke bike. secondly nd to get hold of service manual. This one impt coz each make is unique in its layout of stuff so the manual is an important guide.

so yeah if u got these 2 then shud b no prob. frm here u can learn slowly so one day u can do urself. BUT of course, u dun noe anyth abt engine then anyhw open, that one looking for trouble ah.

i dun noe abt u guys lah but to me, part n parcel of riding 2 strokers is getting yer hands dirty as well. if nt might as well ride maintainence free bike. like my gf ah cannot tahan sia. Chg engine oil oso must bring go shop. EVEN top up 2t oso bring shop. bt that one extreme ah.

anyway, like someone mentioned, piston n ring cost 50-70. plus EO 16bucks. still wayyy cheaper than shop charge 220 tio bo?. so in this case worth it lah if its reali 50-70. so juz wana find out the price of the parts.

-.-

u haven include eo , coolant flushing, sparkplug changing, gasket, n the rest...

if u toking about replacing piston n ring ONLY..,

sg shops some do for only 100-120 ( include eo change, gasket)

maybe if i cnfm doing top overhaul myself u can come down n look see? bt i warn u its gona be boring.

dun nd to run in ah. but iirc must retune the carb abit.

hmzz.. u know how to tune ur carb???

pro.....

i noob.. can teach me?

where to tune ah?

i need to tune idling also..

=x

Suck it n ride!

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn224/ervinchua_wl/633520157058579273-SignatureCelebra.jpg

You dont run in the new piston???

w0w...

last time i tune is use trial n error one. turn d air screw then feel hw many turns the nicest when u ride. but nw got secret weapon :D u read back a few pages i got talk abt this tool i use to tune.

btw tuning air fuel ratio jz a matter of turning a screw wat nt so hard. bt if wan to chg d jetting then diff story ah.

If you are planning to open up the engine just to change to a new piston but yet neglect the rest like gasket, coolant, polishing etc etc..Save ur time...Seriously..

And speaking about ur gf, minus the top up 2T part

1stly: She's not a guy(Guys are typically more technical incline)

2ndly: Being a gal, do you think she wana get her smooth hand all oil up just to change EO or even sit down, use diesel and brush to wash the chain??

Bro, gals aint grease monkey..

eh but of course if u haf a mech who noes his **** n noes wat hes doing then its d best la. bcoz we all consider amatuer open up bike once in a while. bt frm experience wif shops in sg, i dun trust most the shops i went to ah. all half f**k work wan money ony. i rmb my gf bike got overheat problem. we bring the bike there total 6 times then problem solved. its a shop at upp seranggon rd. u imagine the frustration 5 times u bring the bike home hafway along PIE overheat. then wait at roadside for engine to cooldown the ride back to shop.

been trying to find a reliable mech to fix up my bike. still finding lol.

Which shop @ Upper Serangoon??

Just a hint of the name will do..

If you are planning to open up the engine just to change to a new piston but yet neglect the rest like gasket, coolant, polishing etc etc..Save ur time...Seriously..

2ndly: Being a gal, do you think she wana get her smooth hand all oil up just to change EO or even sit down, use diesel and brush to wash the chain??

exactly bro. so wat im just trying to find out is the cost effectiveness of doing the top overhaul on my own. thats all. and correct me if i am wrong, the most expensive part of top overhaul is the piston n rings rite? so by knowing the price of piston +/- i noe hw much it will roughly cost me to DIY. im nt saying im gona neglect the other parts.

yep they're nt grease monkeys. but dun u agree wif me that bikes are nt juz ride n go maintainence free machines like cars? all im saying is its part n parcel of riding to get yer hands dirty once in awhile...

Which shop @ Upper Serangoon??

Just a hint of the name will do..

G***N Enterp**** iirc.

Looking @ the name only...Can tell it's f up already... :lol: :lol:

believe me i will nvr step into that shop ever even if my bike break down in front of them and no other shop open n i haf to push my bike all the way to pasir ris.

There's a few shops there..Why choose that??? :lol:

insurance company choose. coz that time my gf accident. so all repairs done at that shop.

Since when is insurance company chooses the workshop, i tot only applicable to cars as partner workshop..

haha this one i not sure coz i din handle the insurance claim. or maybe its the guy who langga my gf that choose the shop.

Outing - Around singapore

All bikes is welcome

Date: 14/02/2009 Saturday

Meet up Time: 9pm

Rulez : Try to bring ur gf or a girl as ur pillion

pm me or msg me 94599330

FJT

15, Rowell Road,Singapore 207973

Tel: 6392 5928

dont ask too much and no buy, sorry if they ulu-ulu u:cheeky:

FAI(For All Information) FJT is a supplier of Honda OEM original motocycle parts.

You dont run in the new piston???

w0w...

o0 dun run in new piston??? hmm risking an issue to follow soon i guess...

Well said gals arent grease monkeys~~ erms well my gf doesnt i guess haha ^_^

eh but of course if u haf a mech who noes his **** n noes wat hes doing then its d best la. bcoz we all consider amatuer open up bike once in a while. bt frm experience wif shops in sg, i dun trust most the shops i went to ah. all half f**k work wan money ony. i rmb my gf bike got overheat problem. we bring the bike there total 6 times then problem solved. its a shop at upp seranggon rd. u imagine the frustration 5 times u bring the bike home hafway along PIE overheat. then wait at roadside for engine to cooldown the ride back to shop.

been trying to find a reliable mech to fix up my bike. still finding lol.

I think you need to let your fellow bikers here noe which shop you went to and what did you do there?? also if the shop can keep doing for you, at least tey din shrug the responsiblity and they did rectify ur issue. So cant really blame them for it as your issue might not be an easy one or an intermittent issue too.

My Friend you are in good hands as God knows whats best for you. 30/10/12 Dedication,love,arrogance,pain tolerance...these things WILL bring you lvl after lvl.Strength of mind. Strength of character.Drop your hero worship. Become the animal.U can do anything. Work. Practice. Crash. Improve. Crash. Win. Nv give up. Nv surrender. Crush them. Crush their spirit. Crush their dreams.Now Move.

Just a shoutout to fellow SP riders, becareful when parking at Sim Lim Square, some sob stole my pillion seat (Red/White jap sun design) and my black evo helmet.

Remember to double check your locks and bring your helmets along when shopping at Sim Lim Square, all the best ! =)

Ride safely.. :thumb:

long long time nv have outing le..

so me and ah han decided to organise one !!

haha ..

2007 - 2008 ~ NSR150SP - FT7599S

2008 - 2009 ~ CBR400RRL - FJ8299D

2009 - 2009 ~ NSR250SE - FP1208G

2009 - ???? ~ NSR150SP

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2441/3656308842_57f93b7ae4.jpg