• Replies 62

i vote for a smaller parrot sitting on my handlebars. preferably cardsized but then again, who are we trying to kid? as long as it doesn't involve making hugeloads of money without hassle for the gahment, there is no chance in hell that they will put in any effort to make that change. fastforward to 2020, hybrid cars and electric cars might grace our heavily packed roads but we will all be crawling through an islandwide 24/7 jam with the trademarked singapore ERP gantries and the same old damned grey coloured parrots.

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

ST March 31, 2008

LAND TRANSPORT MASTERPLAN

Forgot this? Soon, you can use this

New service will soon allow drivers to settle ERP charges through their credit card bills

By Christopher Tan

MOTORISTS will soon not have to worry about that dreaded beeping sound which indicates low or insufficient funds in their CashCard.

In fact, they will no longer even need a CashCard in their car to make ERP payments.

By around mid-year, a new service will allow drivers to pay electronic road pricing (ERP) charges when they settle their monthly credit card bill.

This development was part of the Land Transport Masterplan, which Transport Minister Raymond Lim launched yesterday.

'For motorists who wish to do away with the need to carry and top up stored-value cards, the ERP payment system will be further enhanced to allow alternative payment modes, such as credit card payment which will be implemented by mid-2008,' read the blueprint for commuter-friendly transport till 2020.

The Land Transport Authority did not have any details on the plan.

However, it is hoped the new system will reduce the 30,000 or so violations chalked up each month by motorists who pass gantries without enough funds.

Banks interviewed said they are ready to jump in to provide this new credit card service. Maybank head of corporate communications Ms Priscilla Loke said the bank is keen to offer the service.

United Overseas Bank's head of cards and payment products Ms Gan Ai Im said: 'Card members will find it very convenient for payment of their ERP charges to be made via their credit card.'

Motorists also look forward to this.

Many have been fined for running too low in CashCard funds, while some have even had near accidents fumbling to put a CashCard into the reader at the last minute.

Dentist Andre Lam, 50, said it is an excellent move.

'I carry three CashCards with me now, just in case I forget one,' he said.

School principal Charles Surin, 46, said it will be convenient.

'More important, it will reduce global warming, as less non-biodegradable plastics will be used to make CashCards,' he added.

Others pointed out that not having to keep a CashCard in the car will deter smash-and-grab thefts in cars.

The only hindrance to cardless motoring is in carparks. Industry sources said those which employ ERP payment technology may still require drivers to insert a CashCard.

He who hesitates is lost!

But did they say the IU won't be needed in this new implementation?

How are the gantries going to "read" the identities of vehicles going through them? :confused:

To all riders, have you guys left you cash card on your IU, and then realise that your cash card is stolen? Or when your approaching a ERP gantry then the car infront suddenly slowdown. Did he forgot to slot in

I would suggest that scrap the cash card system on the IU, maybe pay by giro.

Theres are website which you can cast your votes and nominate suggestion to better living and better design..

good suggestiobn but nobody will care: not unless u prime minster got power lah.. u think so easy to change a policy in sg?? yr grandfather's rd ah hehe

then u oso can suggest scarp parking coupon, rd tax, erp, fine all pay by giro hehe ??

I think Palmer has made the accurate analysis. The IU is tagged to the vehicle, and if teh ERP is charged to the IU, then there will be more IU theft and fraud.

End up must report IU theft instantly. I think motorcyclists should think twice before linking their credit card account to their IU.

Don't mind paying 50 cents or even 1 dollar but please get rid of that fking ugly piece of grey plastic on my beautiful handlebar!!!! :angry: :angry: :angry:

c26492.jpg

I think congestion charge is inevitable in any country. The issue really is how it's implemented. All said, the ERP system can be improved.

Don't think you can blame the system when you say that the reason ERP is crap is because your cashcard has been stolen from your bike a lot of times. Or that people break into your car just to steal the cashcard. If they've broken into your car, most likely other stuff would be stolen as well. It's really human error that you forget to remove your cashcard in the first place. How is it the fault of the system? About gahmen making huge sums of money, well you've been paying them taxes, road tax and other taxes anyway.

A dedicated card with your vehicle number is more troublesome in my opinion because it limits the usefulness of the card. What if you lost the card? With cashcard, you can use it for gantry parking, ERP and other stuff.

I think manageable changes at the moment could be significantly reducing the size of the I.U unit. It's ugly and takes too much space. Alternative paying methods like billing to your credit card or bank account would be great but would like to see how this method will be implemented.

Current Rides:

FEB 07 -> NOV 08 [CBR 150]

AUG 08 -> AUG 12 [XJR400]

AUG 12 -> ??? [DUCATI MONSTER 696]