The other day, I tried to enter a car park but the barrier won't allow me to enter. I parked on the pavement and was fined. Happened to anyone before?

• Replies 23

Couldn't detect your iu unit?

Yes, but there is no problem with erp deductions, so wondering if anyone else faces this situation.

The other day, I tried to enter a car park but the barrier won't allow me to enter. I parked on the pavement and was fined. Happened to anyone before?
i was hit on the helmet shield once by the barrier.nothing serious,but must be careful when using such barrier.

Same here. Some time hard to detect need to move bike forward backward to allow the sensor to sense it. Some time I open my IU cover thinking that the sensor can sense it better haha

Yes. Sometimes like that. Carpark lousy. Go appeal. Say you had to go toilet urgent or something. Like this park where?

This is the hdb carpark opposite NEX. I also tried the hdb carpark beside NEX on another occasion, and it was scary because it was on a slope and the barrier won't open. Nearly got into trouble because there was a long line of cars behind.

i've changed to a new IU..my experience of " not capture" in HDB carparks is becoz i did not update HDB my new IU unit no. my season parking was wif the "old" iu unit no.. just my 2 cents of "not capturing I.U."

:) cooling off day

EPS is a pain in the a55....

Yamaha SparkZ 110 (2004 to 2008)

Yamaha X1-R 135 (June 2008 to Feb 2009)

Gilera ST Runner 200 (Feb 2009 to I dun knw...:confused:)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=123504&d=1252221095

Cinta takkan datang, kalau tak dicari ... Cinta takkan dapat, kalau tak memberi ...

Go slowly when approaching the barrier, try and place your IU unit where a car's IU unit would be. Some bikes have their IUs modified all over the shop and can make detection a little trickier.

Learnt my lesson the hard way when trying to go into Vivo's basement carpark. Tailed car in front too closely and IU unit was not detected. Downslope with heavy bike is no fun, trying to reverse. Luckily kind driver behind came out to help pull my bike backwards. Who says all drivers are nasty people, heh heh. And Junction 8 HDB carpark IU scanner also problematic. In fact there are signs there warning you to stop behind the line for a bike. Position would place a normally mounted handlebar IU unit approximately where a car's IU unit is. If you went anymore forwards, will miss the sweet spot of around 1.5-2m behind the barrier.

And why the ERP gantry can detect haphazardly mounted units? Cuz the damned thing dishes out enough power to do so! In contrast, the carpark scanners are small......so the sweetspot is correspondingly smaller as well.

http://i884.photobucket.com/albums/ac46/Tachnicolour/Completed%20works/combination_2.jpg

Convert your backlight COLOURs at : <CMO> Speedo Backlight colour CONVERSION by Tachnicolour

normal. i kena a few times at my carpark too. bought season parking and the barrier refuses to lift up, denying me from leaving the carpark. end of the day, got to push my bike back and try to let the sensor sense again. never had this problem with my car.

u can write in to the town council, but their fav reply will be to recommend u to go to any inspection center to have your iu unit check. they wont be doing anything at all. total waste of time writing in to them.

in the beginning i am having the same problem.

don't follow the car in front of you too close. wait for the car to clear and barrier closed before moving off.

keep extreme right and approach very slow. intermittent movement will be better(stop and go movement).

so far i have never encounter anymore problem. if you still have problem, maybe the position of the IU on the bike is not suitable. if you do not want to fix it, consider tapping of inserting your Ezlink / cashcard on the machine while entering. most carparks ERP system should have this features.

ERP system is a serious pain.

For me, its the old EPS carparks no problem. Its the new carparks which give me alot of problem. I have to go back and fourth just for the sensor to work. The older EPS all deduct money damn easily. The newer ones always cannot detect IU one. But its always on entry. Exit is all okay. Dunno why.

This is the hdb carpark opposite NEX. I also tried the hdb carpark beside NEX on another occasion, and it was scary because it was on a slope and the barrier won't open. Nearly got into trouble because there was a long line of cars behind.

OMG!! And here I was thinking I was the only one! Yeah I also went to a friend's place once about 1 year ago. Blk 415, right beside NEX, got stuck at the HDB gantry for 10 minutes cause couldn't detect IU! And there were cars building up behind me...

Ride Free, Ride Hard, and Ride Safe.

Current ride:Hyundai i30 CW (Sept 2016 - Present)

Yamaha FZ1-S (Aug 2014 - Present)

Previous ride: Honda Tiger 200 (Oct 2009 - Jun 2012)

Suzuki GSR 600 (Jun 2012 - Sept 2013)

Hyundai Matrix (Jun 2013 - Aug 2016)

Always prepare a cash card... cannot detect use cash card.. always stay at the put cash card area or the thing that u press for intercom . Cause that is the best sensing area

Sent from my INO_ONE using Tapatalk 2

Class 3 - 29 May 2009

Class 2B -10 May 2010

Class 2A - 30 June 2011

2010-2011 Phantom 150

2011- Now GSR400

• 11 months later...

I know this is old thread liao but I had this happen many times at airport car park liao on entry as well as exit. Damn annoying. My method is to ride slowly towards the insert cash card machine then when it is registering "Please wait......" I move towards the sensor slowly. Doesn't work all the time but most times ok.

Worst experience - carpark barrier open for me but never register my IU. I don't even understand how that is possible. So when going out the barrier refuse to open. Have to tailgate to get out.

Should be able to insert cashcard and exit..

IG: @adrielwrites

the best thing to do if does not scan ur iu.

Selek.

Honda NSR150SP: 2012-2015

Honda RVF NC35: 2015

Triumph Daytona 675: 2015-present

SYM GTS 200: 2016-present

Conquered Places: Chiang Mai, MHS, Pai, Doi Inthanon, Bangkok, Hatyai, Danok, Genting, KL, Port Dickson, Seremban, Malacca, Kluang, Mersing, Desaru

the best thing to do if does not scan ur iu.

Selek.

Correction.

The best thing to do if you can't selek.

LLST scan your iu. :cool:

Correction.

The best thing to do if you can't selek.

LLST scan your iu. :cool:

haha oh wells :p

Honda NSR150SP: 2012-2015

Honda RVF NC35: 2015

Triumph Daytona 675: 2015-present

SYM GTS 200: 2016-present

Conquered Places: Chiang Mai, MHS, Pai, Doi Inthanon, Bangkok, Hatyai, Danok, Genting, KL, Port Dickson, Seremban, Malacca, Kluang, Mersing, Desaru

Probably it could be due to where you mount your IU. Most of these systems are on the right side. So, it is wiser to mount it on the right side of your bike. If not, try tilting the bike. Lol.