Hi I'm a student currently taking my 2B license. I read a few threads but they don't really answer my questions. I'm looking at TZM, KRR, SP and CBR. Most of the bros here recommended CBR because it's a 4-stroke bike. What's the difference between a 4-stroke and 2-stroke? The only thing I know about 4-stroke is that it has lesser fuel consumption. Also I would like to know which bike is quite powerful and easiest to maintain don't need spend too much money. I'm just getting the 2B license for transportation most probably not going to take 2A. Thanks bros.

• Replies 84

Hi there. I'm taking my 2B as well. Like you, I'm having trouble finding out information as a newbie. It would be great if SBF could add in a NEWBIE/2B forum for newbies like us to read up on. =)

From my limited knowledge reading around here, cc for cc, 2 stroke bikes are generally much more powerful than the 4 stroke bikes. However, 2 stroke bikes do have their drawbacks. More frequent maintenance intervals, having to top up more oil (2T), lousier fuel consumption, and much higher pollution.

Personally I have my eyes set on 4stroke bikes once I pass, due to the easier maintenance and environmental friendliness. Don't really need that much power in SG I guess. We do not get much chances to hit top speeds. I have been driving for about 4 years, and never once have I pushed my car anywhere near it's limit, except for the occasional drives up to Malaysia.

If you are quite certain you do not want to upgrade in the future, and are set on getting a sportbike, might I suggest the Aprilia RS4 125? I just saw it today at the SBF Anniversary event, and it's simply stunning!

Actually doesn't really save much if you compare a 4 stroke to a 2 stroke bike.

I ride a 125z 2 stroker kup kia, I think my 2T can last 2-3 mths, my FC about 30km/litre

What really matters is do you like the bike?

Hi I'm a student currently taking my 2B license. I read a few threads but they don't really answer my questions. I'm looking at TZM, KRR, SP and CBR. Most of the bros here recommended CBR because it's a 4-stroke bike. What's the difference between a 4-stroke and 2-stroke? The only thing I know about 4-stroke is that it has lesser fuel consumption. Also I would like to know which bike is quite powerful and easiest to maintain don't need spend too much money. I'm just getting the 2B license for transportation most probably not going to take 2A. Thanks bros.

this is going to be controversial , i am a kiasi tortoise that will have go into hiding after saying my piece as i think i will sure kanna flamed, hatam left right centre for heresy. i will stick out of my shell & say it...

with the possible exception of girls or lady riders...

if you buy a 4 stroke bike, you will probably very high chance of going for 2a very soon. however, if you are not the siao bike type ( only want to use it as transport ) & get a 2 stroke bike, you might not even to bother to go for 2a. you will either stick to 2 stroke, change to 4 stroke later or go 2a when you get interested with bikes.

don't ask me why, as you are still new i lazy to explain. you can disregard my opinion of course...take it that i am just bluffing, i won't mind.

in my many years of riding, i come across many riders with no 2a. most of these riders have started with a 2 stroke bike & ride them for years, not interested in getting 2a. of course, i am not saying get 2 stroke sure no go 2a, please no misunderstand. i say most no 2a male riders start with 2 stroke. of course got many 2 stroke riders move up to 2a.

however, most 4 stroke male beginners will very urgent kan cheong go for 2a, almost immediately after the 1 year period is up. If you go see see look look 2a lesson, most will be young men one ( 2 or 4 stroke ) but if you see old or middle age man taking 2a, they probably ride 2 stroke for long time but changed to 4 stroke bike recently, then suddenly feel like taking up 2a after so many years. of course you have to exclude those 'forced' to retake one.

this applies to those not interested or "passion" about bikes guys / girls. those guys / girls crazy bikes type will still asap go take 2a.

20 years ago, 2 stroke bikes very popular. got many 30+/40+ guys got no 2a! but now 2 strokes are being phased out, most 20+ youths start with 4 stroke or 2 stroke SP, you will see them very fast go take 2a. school very happy!

why? "what do you think? " lol! you will understand later...

PS Edit: hahaha, after reading your reply below, i "dunno what to say? ("KRR got many problem"??? really??? ) hehehe...

GOOD LUCK! :)

Edited by bruce71
english

Raptor: ( quote )

"As one gains more experience on a bike... one's perceptions and views on how a bike should be ridden will change over time.. just live and let live for now." :thumb:

Yeah true that SBF should have a newbie corner. Anyways I'm still studying and don't really have a part time job. At most I'll be doing some event jobs for 1-2days to earn some quick bucks. Overall I have about 4k and also I have to pay for the insurance so I don't think I can get an Aprilla. I just want something that looks nice and a good form of transportation. so far I've heard complains about KRR so I'm not really sure. I still have a couple of months to consider the bikes so bros with KRR, SP or TZM please advice! Thanks!

Thought of working despatch job? use your bike to work for u

it really depends on yr personal preferences.

although i m not the ultimate guide for bikes.

but i can give u my opinion.

I have not much age experience cos I'm only 22.

But i had a kr150, wave for my 2b

rvf for my 2a

and currently riding an r1.

feel free to drop me a pm.

i was once like that as well, jus trying to help.

Hello, i'm also a new rider, been riding SP about 5months now, used to have same questions as you, so let me try and answer you with what i have learnt from talking to others and research.

2 and 4 stroke difference is in the way the engine works. for more information on that, pls wiki cos it's kinda hard and lengthy to explain for the theory. In practical, just know that 2 stroke engines are lighter, work harder, and are generally more powerful than 4 strokes (arguably).

Fuel consumption petrol wise is debatable. On my SP, i actually get a decent 19-23km/litre depending on how i ride. it is comparable with fuel economy of 4-strokes. Of course, need to maintain properly.

4-strokes are somewhat easier to maintain. 2-strokes are older and parts are more likely to be worn or near end of life than 4-strokes, and also, 2-strokes need 2T oil. Depending on what 2T oil u use, the cost increases. I use Maxima Castor 927, which is about $25 per 1litre bottle (love the smell).

Between those bikes you have listed, TZM is probably the most powerful, but to maintain it, replace parts, you may have to go to JB. KRR and SP are more common in SG and parts are still readily available. What i heard is that KRR is easy to maintain and cheaper than SP, but then again, i'm happy with my SP and i absolutely love my SP.

If budget is a concern, then perhaps you may want to consider the older cbr150r model if you're looking at sportsbike. Otherwise, kup chai will be the best money saver.

Hope this info helped.

Edit: forgot to add. All 2 strokes emit white smoke cos of 2T. so see heng suay, you may need to pay $70 fines a couple times if your ride 2stroke for a year. Personally, i heng, haven't kena yet *touch wood*

RIDE.

2012 - 2015: Honda NSR150SP

2015 - current : Honda CBR600RR

Hi there. I'm taking my 2B as well. Like you, I'm having trouble finding out information as a newbie. It would be great if SBF could add in a NEWBIE/2B forum for newbies like us to read up on. =)

From my limited knowledge reading around here, cc for cc, 2 stroke bikes are generally much more powerful than the 4 stroke bikes. However, 2 stroke bikes do have their drawbacks. More frequent maintenance intervals, having to top up more oil (2T), lousier fuel consumption, and much higher pollution.

Personally I have my eyes set on 4stroke bikes once I pass, due to the easier maintenance and environmental friendliness. Don't really need that much power in SG I guess. We do not get much chances to hit top speeds. I have been driving for about 4 years, and never once have I pushed my car anywhere near it's limit, except for the occasional drives up to Malaysia.

If you are quite certain you do not want to upgrade in the future, and are set on getting a sportbike, might I suggest the Aprilia RS4 125? I just saw it today at the SBF Anniversary event, and it's simply stunning!

Hi New Bikers!

I have been ridding for 2B for 5~6 years for now, I'm riding a KRR kips.

I'll break down your questions for you so that it's easier to explain and read.. :)

Jere51:

1) What's the difference between a 4-stroke and 2-stroke?

Ans: benefits of both machine

2 stroke = more powerful, uses 2T and going to be removed from SGP soon..

4 stroke = more fuel economic, no 2T required, will last you good for sometime.

2) which bike is quite powerful and easiest to maintain don't need spend too much money

Ans: With power comes responsibilities & $$$.. :p

So choose one wisely.. haha.. there's no free power without $$$.. :)

3) getting the 2B license for transportation most probably not going to take 2A

Ans: If going to remain at 2B, strongly advise.. 2-stroke.. If going 2A or 2, pls just buy 4 stroke.. :)

Reason? Alot of people who remain at 2B like me stays at 2 stroke because it has the "just nice" power to get away from crapper drivers and etc.

4 stroke.. hard cuz you dun have the "excess" power to stay out from dangerous drivers.. - most 4 strokes use drum brake which is less effective on E-Brake.

Leroyishere:

1) 2 stroke bikes do have their drawbacks. More frequent maintenance intervals, having to top up more oil (2T), lousier fuel consumption, and much higher pollution.

Ans: Indeed but with those "problems", you get the extra power.. :)

2) Don't really need that much power in SG I guess

Ans: See those innocent riders who got into accident? *without power if you get what I mean.

2B 2 stroke top speed will be estimated 170km~200km/h (analog). Digital around 130~160 (acceptable while overseas).

3) Driving for about 4 years

Ans: I have been driving for estimated 6 years before changing to rider.. Based on my understanding, driver doesn't understand rider until they become rider.

That's true! Driving doesn't require power as mostly is 1600cc.. haha..

But with 149cc, that's a divided by 10! :(

So cc small, and you will need some power to "run away" from some weird drivers.

Driver can't bully drivers as they bang from the back, they pay..

But Driver bang a rider and drive away *if no one is around, the rider pay for his/her life..

So more power is always best to "standby".. :)

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

https://www.singaporebikes.com/topic/24127-most-of-the-technical-term-on-kr150-kawasaki-kips/#comments

Yeah that was what I was thinking off after I passed my 2b

I wouldn't advice you to get a sportbike for 2B.

I know people who spend $500+ to fix up their SP within 2 weeks of ownership.

I spent $1.2k so far over 5months. Might need to do some rewiring soon too... >.

Whoever is the next owner after i upgrade, sure tan dio one.

RIDE.

I spent $1.2k so far over 5months. Might need to do some rewiring soon too... >.

Owned my current bike about 14 mths.

spend around $500 or lesser. But i'm using it to help me earn $ now also

Just heard from my friend that his SP engine crack than need change. I need something that will last me for about 2-3 years because after studying than NS liao also not much time to ride. After NS than consider whether to continue riding anot. I don't want get higher than 2B cuz I feel that it's like driving a ferrari for show only haha (not to offend those with 2A and 2 bikes). want to buy one bike also so much headache

If on tight budget, then can consider CBR, low on maintenance cost, FC around 40km /l. Slim enu to squeeze through all traffic. My first cbr last 3 years with no issue. Only thing is very high on insurance consider new rider and its a sports bike.

Dont mind me asking how much did you pay for your insurance and which company?

Lol.. 1st question i have in mind.. got tio chop bo? :)

same question, got tio chop bo? :)

Wiring? why need to do? & how much are you being quote? Did you check the pricing with other shops and is it really a must?

Sky99 & Heathx-

Just to verify, did you check forum for the problems & the price you are being quoted?

Secondly, did you get another experienced rider who has the same bike as you to verify that problem?

thirdly, did you verify that the pricing the bike shop quoted you was reasonable?

Reason for asking all these.

I was being quoted S$500 (exactly) for full service because my valve jam which can be resolved with S$35. That bike shop told me has to remove block, change dunno what bearing which I haven't heard till this date and so on..

*I was a P-plate at that point of time, lucky I was smart to "siam" from this bike shop.

Indeed~~ :p

I tour with my KR.. I ridden up to Hatyai before and next destination is Laos. :)

Indeed~ :)

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

https://www.singaporebikes.com/topic/24127-most-of-the-technical-term-on-kr150-kawasaki-kips/#comments

Welcome to the bike community.

To begin, I would suggest that you should focus on the type of bikes you would prefer or suits you best such as sportsbike, road bike, kups, scooters, scramblers, etc. Upon shortlisting your preferred type of bike, it is easier to decide which are the models available to you. If speed is your priority, the sportsbike category is definitely your cup of tea. If you prefer to have a bike with low fuel consumption, the kup average about 50km/l. If you are a weekend offroader, go for a scrambler. For a massive storage space, go for a scooter which has enough room for 2 helmets, raincoats, bike cover, basic tools, books and the list goes on.

On your question regarding the type of engine, you may refer to HOWSTUFFWORKS for a better understanding on the difference between a two-stroke engine and a four-stroke engine. End of the day, alot depends on how the bike was maintained and used during its life cycle. You will have to find a balance between power, fuel consumption and maintenance as the equation is simple:

1. Good power = bad FC + high maintenance.

2. Good FC = Low/ Mod power + Low/ Mod Maintenance

Nonetheless, I would recommend that you go for a newer bike (and those with lower mileage) which will cost more initially but saves more in the long run. Replacing wear and tear parts can be a long, tiresome, costly and frustrating affair especially if you are not a technical-inclined person.

Have fun riding and ride safe!

get a cbf150 ,

good fuel consumption , no need worry always need to pump petrol , nd spend money ,

cna put box, go to school also easier.

if u dun need the cool factor can consider the cbf

Lol.. 1st question i have in mind.. got tio chop bo? :)

same question, got tio chop bo? :)

Wiring? why need to do? & how much are you being quote? Did you check the pricing with other shops and is it really a must?

Sky99 & Heathx-

Just to verify, did you check forum for the problems & the price you are being quoted?

Secondly, did you get another experienced rider who has the same bike as you to verify that problem?

thirdly, did you verify that the pricing the bike shop quoted you was reasonable?

Reason for asking all these.

I was being quoted S$500 (exactly) for full service because my valve jam which can be resolved with S$35. That bike shop told me has to remove block, change dunno what bearing which I haven't heard till this date and so on..

*I was a P-plate at that point of time, lucky I was smart to "siam" from this bike shop.

Indeed~~ :p

I tour with my KR.. I ridden up to Hatyai before and next destination is Laos. :)

Indeed~ :)

Well, let's see if i can remember what i did.

changed break pump (original from Thai) - $65

changed left fork due to dented and changed fork seal and oil- $300

Replaced spoilt magneto coil - $200

Top servicing and replacing piston ring - $150 roughly

changed sprockets and chain - $150 roughly

changed tires (battlax front and back) - $250

+ labour and misc around there liao. hahaha...

my friend told me, my bike throw temper, spoil dun spoil small parts, only spoil the tua zhong things...

anyways, my wiring seems to be a bit unstable also. sometimes the right front signal won't light up, sometimes light up... need to go check up...

RIDE.

Please, this is 2013, not 2003. The 2 stroke sport bikes era is outdated, even 4 stroke cubs. In fact, the market dun focus on class 2B anymore. Try something new, like Rieju, Royal Enfield, Triumph, etc. Just upgrade when u can :)

Class 2bHonda TA150, Yamaha RXZ135, SYM Magic110, Kawasaki KSR110, SYM GTS200, Paijifa F150, Yamaha Cygnus Z125

Class 2aHonda CB400 Project Big 1, Version S, Honda Shadow 400

Class 2Yamaha Vmax1200, Honda CBR1100XX, Honda Deauville650, Honda CB1300, Yamaha FZ6S, Honda Varadero1000, Suzuki Hayabusa GSX1300R

Well, let's see if i can remember what i did.

changed break pump (original from Thai) - $65

changed left fork due to dented and changed fork seal and oil- $300

Replaced spoilt magneto coil - $200

Top servicing and replacing piston ring - $150 roughly

changed sprockets and chain - $150 roughly

changed tires (battlax front and back) - $250

+ labour and misc around there liao. hahaha...

my friend told me, my bike throw temper, spoil dun spoil small parts, only spoil the tua zhong things...

anyways, my wiring seems to be a bit unstable also. sometimes the right front signal won't light up, sometimes light up... need to go check up...

wow.. this one really jia lat..

Personally.. bike with me for 6 years.

Break pump - Nv change before.

Fork - Change twice because I'm a perfectionist.. :p

first is previous owner accident.. 2nd is because tio scratch.. old one not bend but I'm not happy.. give old one free to my mech so that he can change his.. =)

magneto coil - nv change before.

top servicing and piston ring.. - I do this every 12 to 24 months.. =)

Chain - every 12-18 months.

tires - every 9months for back and 18 months for front.. =)

right signal wun light up.. try grounding it and change light bulbs.. if still cannot.. check/spray some WD40 into your "signal box".

main wiring system is not required to change one..

& if any mech say do what, I'll stay on the spot and ask them to do with me around.. I wun leave the bike shop other den toilet and I even tabao and eat infront of them.. :)

Reason for that, they can't cheat me + habit when I'm in JB.. I can wait for 18hours if require.. haha...

wow.. this one really jia lat..

Personally.. bike with me for 6 years.

Break pump - Nv change before.

Fork - Change twice because I'm a perfectionist.. :p

first is previous owner accident.. 2nd is because tio scratch.. old one not bend but I'm not happy.. give old one free to my mech so that he can change his.. =)

magneto coil - nv change before.

top servicing and piston ring.. - I do this every 12 to 24 months.. =)

Chain - every 12-18 months.

tires - every 9months for back and 18 months for front.. =)

right signal wun light up.. try grounding it and change light bulbs.. if still cannot.. check/spray some WD40 into your "signal box".

main wiring system is not required to change one..

& if any mech say do what, I'll stay on the spot and ask them to do with me around.. I wun leave the bike shop other den toilet and I even tabao and eat infront of them.. :)

Reason for that, they can't cheat me + habit when I'm in JB.. I can wait for 18hours if require.. haha...

Hahaha! Truth be told, i kena tok by the motordiam i bought from arh. They promised to deliver a roadworthy bike after delaying my collection for a week and a half, then did a half fudged job... Ride for a week problems start coming. First, the break pump, then the leaky carb (oh yah, replaced carb rubber seal cos worn out), then i got fedup and went to another shop my friend recommended. Over there, they found the rest of the problems lor... I forgot to add, replaced steering cone bearings also, cos chuied...

I always stay with my bike whenever i sent for servicing cos i want to learn more about them. It has been a very rewarding 5months of knowledge thanks to the servicing. If i had no problems, i prolly wont know much either, just change engine oil etc. lolol!

Anyway, now my bike running very smoothly, i think it's money well-spent for the knowledge and experience gained. Heh... Optimistic lah!

RIDE.