Hi, is me again. 

Im still at lesson 3, far from going to the next lesson. 2 lessons but no improvement for figure 8 and i have yet to proceed to crank course. 

No progress for figure 8 bcos i keep turning off my throttle. Or maybe i tried to turn on abit but off it again. So im also at gear 2 with speed 9km/h. And always ended up 14secs to complete my figure 8. 

When inside figure 8, if my throttle is off. Is it ok to on again. Or i must always open and maintain before i enter the course. (Which i always 'out of control' and turn it off).

And also i think when im inside the course im  afraid to on it as i worried it would surge forward and fall.

• Administrators
56 minutes ago, Limbi said:

Hi, is me again. 

Im still at lesson 3, far from going to the next lesson. 2 lessons but no improvement for figure 8 and i have yet to proceed to crank course. 

No progress for figure 8 bcos i keep turning off my throttle. Or maybe i tried to turn on abit but off it again. So im also at gear 2 with speed 9km/h. And always ended up 14secs to complete my figure 8. 

When inside figure 8, if my throttle is off. Is it ok to on again. Or i must always open and maintain before i enter the course. (Which i always 'out of control' and turn it off).

And also i think when im inside the course im  afraid to on it as i worried it would surge forward and fall.

@Limbi Keep the throttle mildy open and constant. Use your rear brakes to modulate your speed. Step on the rear brakes harder/softer to manage your speed.

If you throttle on off on off it will be too jerky and you will be slow/out of control.

Constant throttle, modulate the rear brakes, and you'll make it through.

Good luck!

You are losing a lot of time here. The throttle should be open all the way. You might think you're going too fast because your entry angle is wrong. If you're pointed in the right angle/direction, keep the throttle open going into the Figure 8 and use the steps above to modulate your rear brakes/speed.

10 hours ago, Limbi said:

Hi, is me again. 

Like SBF’s advise you need to maintain constant throttle and use the rear brakes for this. No other way. Do no try to use your throttle to regulate your speed. 

My advise is this. DON’T worry about saving the brake pads for the school!!!! It’s meant to wear and they will replace it when it’s worn. They check it regularly and it’s safe. It’s a circuit bike and it’s meant to be used this way.

Try doing this. Enter the 8, throttle maintain and Step on your rear brake ALL the way. Maintain pressure enough to regulate the speed. This will give you more confidence to do the release and step again. Just try out first. Once you are used to stepping on the rear brake while doing the 8 then work on increasing the speed each time you enter it. The only time you release throttle to breathe is when you switch from the right 8 to the left 8. Off throttle to help you change direction if it’s comfortable. 

• Like 3

Some small tips:

1. Maintain throttle constant throughout

2. Regulate speed using your foot brake; try testing how much u need to depress your foot brake to feel the minimal effect and that's the position you wanna play around to regulate your speed

3. Grip the tank with your knee hard and loosen (not lock) your arms

4. Row the handlebar along with the curve

5. Look far (the instructors will highlight where your eyepoint should be)

Before you enter the S-course, go in with confident.. although may not be advisable, I would always accelerate fast, kick to gear 2 and clutch in fully when entering the S-course. Once you're approaching the bend, release clutch slowly while opening throttle gently. After which is whatever the rest has advised. Once you get the feel of the bends, you will have more confident.

Edited by yao91
  • Like 1
On 2/25/2022 at 11:07 PM, Limbi said:

Hi, is me again. 

pass already right? ;)

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

@adesmond2 lesson4 passed already but lucky one ar. Right now is doing CR, tmr has 1. 

So hope everything ok especially crank course. 🙂

• Like 1
1 minute ago, Lbq said:

@adesmond2 lesson4 passed already but lucky one ar. Right now is doing CR, tmr has 1. 

So hope everything ok especially crank course. 🙂

can one la.. dun worry too much about it. before you know it.. you already passed and owned a bike.. 😛

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

I found eyepoint to be most important. Look at least 45 degrees into the corner as far as you're comfortable when doing the course. Allow yourself to roll into the turn like a fighter jet and be one with the bike.

Don't resist the movement. On high speed runs naturally you will adopt a posture where your bike is turning and you are sitting straight up pushing it down. 

This is a "lean against" technique which is useful for slow speed maneuvers. I find lean against safer because it's easier to recover from. 

Maybe this video can help understand the theory part how the motorcycle doesn't fall over when pushed hard, in fact it will feel like the bike is steering itself if your posture and eyepoint correct. 

https://youtu.be/U1mSavQ_DXs

When in the middle transition, if you need help rolling over fast, apply more brake and you will snap roll the other side like a fighter plane. Don't ever think of falling or crashing, at this stage a lot of things are going on automatically by instinct. 

Its like riding a bicycle and turning for the first time. Cannot forget the feeling once you get it right 😉

Edited by pinksheep
  • Like 1

@adesmond2 hahahas. thank you😁

@pinksheep yes, i think eyepoint is impt do. But knowing and doing is different thing. I will try. Thank you🙂

@yao91 thanks for your advice too. And yes i need to have confident. 🙂

• Like 1
On 2/25/2022 at 11:07 PM, Limbi said:

Hi, is me again. 

actually the instructor taught us to maintain throttle open n control the speed with the clutch so that the bike wun jerk forward as much.. but u need to control ur throttle well oso la.. juz use the clutch to cut off the engine power to lower the speed if u think its too fast but dun go too slow till it stall the bike can already

• Like 1

No wonder when last time I first got license I loved to half clutch even in gear 2, it makes sense open throttle and clutch slip for more precise speed control without changing the balance of the bike. 

But now I auto scooter so I use my feet as balancer at low speed lol. Cos no clutch. 

Driving school will not allow but I kick out opposite leg to balance in u turn haha 

Edited by pinksheep
6 minutes ago, pinksheep said:

But now I auto scooter so I use my feet as balancer at low speed lol. Cos no clutch. 

i was hoping i could learn the auto scooter so that it makes my life easier but i only found out last year that it is only for handicaps.. 😰

12 minutes ago, Nakuru said:

i was hoping i could learn the auto scooter so that it makes my life easier but i only found out last year that it is only for handicaps.. 😰

Ah those are PMD or mobility scooter. 

There are many scooters and motorcycles on the market with automatic transmission, ranging from Vespa / NMax / Aerox pulley belt drive CVT, to hi end dual clutch transmission used on top end machines like Honda Goldwing. 

There are also so called automated manuals with robotic clutch on the classic Honda Wave. Useful for commuter purpose else left hand pain if you're stuck in a long jam. 

DCT on hi end bikes are for maximum performance, they change gears under 0.2 seconds faster than any human, and can also shift gears manually. Burgmann 650 executive scooter has both auto mode and manual mode. 

Scooters with belt drive have different maintenance requirements. Can go very far without maintenance but must replace after X km. Neglecting the belt and CVT can cause drive failure so always inspect a used scooter carefully. 

FB_IMG_1650522696446.jpg

Edited by pinksheep
Picture of CVT mechanicals
  • Like 2
17 minutes ago, Nakuru said:

Yes.. In driving schools.. Only handicap can learn scooters.. but pinksheep is explaining after you gotten your 2B you can get a scooter as well.. But since you already gotten a bike.. so it's ok.. just for future references. 😛

hahaha... ya.. i wanted to get a honda supercub or a adv150 after i pass de.. but i saw the previous owner did up the msx n i pm n buy liao LOL. only 1 word can describe which is SWEE 🤣

• Haha 1
4 hours ago, Nakuru said:

hahaha... ya.. i wanted to get a honda supercub or a adv150 after i pass de.. but i saw the previous owner did up the msx n i pm n buy liao LOL. only 1 word can describe which is SWEE 🤣

ok la.. at least get something that you like.. a motorcycle is always you see liaoz you wan to ride on it.. if you dun wan to ride on it.. then dun buy.. haha...

For me.. originally I wan to get a scooter cuz old liao.. but....

1) My regular bike shop say.. you get scooter, dun come my shop.

2) scooter all cover up.. my friends say one scratch or crack = change entire coverset = 1k.. 

3) scooter run on belt.. Like what Pinksheep mentioned.. have to change at XXXX km.. chain if well lube, can last well beyond the "lifespan".. :) 

last one - someone say I already look like uncle.. if ride scooter = 100% chop uncle.. hahahahahaha

• Haha 1

Yamaha and Zontes maxi scooters seem to be catering to a younger market though. They look mean and angular, even large or older riders can look cool on them. Aerox in particular obviously designed for young performance scooter market basically a super kapchai. 

Can also look at Italjet Dragster for a street weapon look. 

If Burgmann, Sym, then yeah that kind of rounded bloaty land whale design looks slow and "mature" to use a better term 😂

• Haha 1

I probably will aim for a monkey next time... See how. Get the license n ride my msx 1st then say 🤣

• Like 1
9 hours ago, Nakuru said:

This one ?
Ooohh ..... droolz .... looks really good leh 🤩

spacer.png

12 minutes ago, apogeeXX said:

This one ?
Ooohh ..... droolz .... looks really good leh 🤩

spacer.png

Yea yea yea.. but long story so highly wun be getting it.. hahaha

22 minutes ago, Nakuru said:

Yea yea yea.. but long story so highly wun be getting it.. hahaha

Since already have bike at carpark snap a few photos for us? 😏

I’ll pm u our newly created telegram.. 😝

• Haha 1

3 minutes ago, adesmond2 said:

Since already have bike at carpark snap a few photos for us? 😏

I’ll pm u our newly created telegram.. 😝

I shy to post so publicly.. especially when i haven even get my license n no idea when tt will be.. will send in the telegram chat when u invite ba.. 🤣 

• Like 1
1 minute ago, Nakuru said:

I shy to post so publicly.. especially when i haven even get my license n no idea when tt will be.. will send in the telegram chat when u invite ba.. 🤣 

pm sent.. 😉