• Replies 68

Yes , bike can be done also.

Basically it better for ur battery if grounding is done.

http://www.racing905.com/905_Stoppie_Banner.gif

SUZUKI OWN THE RACETRACK

The fastest four letter in the planet is GSXR

Originally posted by Gixxer Lee@Oct 5 2004, 01:35 PM

Yes , bike can be done also.

let which shop do better huh.. :confused: and how much is it ... motorworld selling also but a lot of prices dun know wat brand will be better.. :confused:

StRaIgHt RoAd Is FoR KiDs ....... BuT CoRnErS Is FoR RaCeRs

Originally posted by GhostRider17@Oct 5 2004, 01:38 PM

let which shop do better huh.. :confused: and how much is it ... motorworld selling also but a lot of prices dun know wat brand will be better.. :confused:

I also dun noe wat brands or which shop better.

SUZUKI OWN THE RACETRACK

Guest AndrewChang
Originally posted by Gixxer Lee@Oct 5 2004, 01:35 PM

Why? or did the bikeshop simply tell you its better?

Originally posted by AndrewChang@Oct 5 2004, 02:23 PM

Basically all unused electrical with be drain/remove. ( To prevent short circuit)

So there'll not be any present of electrical moving in ur bike when there's no direct power supply.

HAPPY WITH THE ANS.:sian:

SUZUKI OWN THE RACETRACK

Originally posted by AndrewChang@Oct 5 2004, 02:23 PM

Gounding, ie adding another cable/wire from a prominent location of your bike (eg like the frame to your NEGATIVE battery terminal helps to prolong your battery life & helps your accesories performs at its peak.

Current flows from your POSITIVE. Along it's way, it need to 'pick-up' loads from accesories (especially if u hv lots of add on), like air-horn, fog-light, high-powered holigen bulb etc. Those gudget hindered the norm smooth flowing of current to make the cycle. Grounding cable helps to make additional passageway to the flow. Otherwise, 12V OUT only hv 10 or 11V IN (lousy example, but I try to explain in a simple to absorb texts). If u are technically inclined, u noe what i means.

It's not normal on standard bike, but try to open car bonet, u will see TWO wire at it's negative terminal.

How much? Dont get fooled by those gismos of branded grounding cable. A cheap way, u can just use any left-over home wiring; u noe those type that runs along the wall at our home. A more stylo DIY if u wish; go to Sim Lim basement shop & buy the bare cable, pre-cut at 1M length, sold in a small packet for S$1.50. ONE cable per bike is more than enuf. BARE cable is best.

Hope this clarify.

Every successful person has a painful story.

Every painful story has a successful ending.

Accept the pain and get ready for success.

Originally posted by apek@Oct 5 2004, 03:35 PM

Gounding, ie adding another cable/wire from a prominent location of your bike (eg like the frame to your NEGATIVE battery terminal helps to prolong your battery life & helps your accesories performs at its peak.

Current flows from your POSITIVE. Along it's way, it need to 'pick-up' loads from accesories (especially if u hv lots of add on), like air-horn, fog-light, high-powered holigen bulb etc. Those gudget hindered the norm smooth flowing of current to make the cycle. Grounding cable helps to make additional passageway to the flow. Otherwise, 12V OUT only hv 10 or 11V IN (lousy example, but I try to explain in a simple to absorb texts). If u are technically inclined, u noe what i means.

It's not normal on standard bike, but try to open car bonet, u will see TWO wire at it's negative terminal.

How much? Dont get fooled by those gismos of branded grounding cable. A cheap way, u can just use any left-over home wiring; u noe those type that runs along the wall at our home. A more stylo DIY if u wish; go to Sim Lim basement shop & buy the bare cable, pre-cut at 1M length, sold in a small packet for S$1.50. ONE cable per bike is more than enuf. BARE cable is best.

Hope this clarify.

hmmm... since u koe, can do it for us.

i mean u koe how & where to get e things.

so cheap u got them.

so when u free, i give u some kopi money lah...

=D

I've a fred who do it for car & bike.

He's using high heat resistance sliver wire for the grounding.

But u guy maybe find that the price is abit expensive.

Is ard $50.

http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r118/AC_Devil64/finalfantasyx2.jpg
Originally posted by tweety@Oct 6 2004, 04:12 AM

That's the exect pleated silver wire / cable sold at Sim Lim tower for $1.50.

Sorry I dunno how to do pix attachement, else I can show it here.

sorie guys but just wondering... what does grounding do for ur batt/bike? :sweat: :confused:

Food For Thought

Bread pudding.

Single light cream is the type of cream most commonly used for cooking. However, this type of cream should not be boiled as it will curdle. Also, always add hot liquids to the cream rather than the cream to the liquids, in order to avoid curdling. Single(light) cream has an 18 percent fat content.

Guest FireSpitter
Originally posted by apek@Oct 6 2004, 08:34 AM

That's the exect pleated silver wire / cable sold at Sim Lim tower for $1.50.

Sorry I dunno how to do pix attachement, else I can show it here.

Not real silver lah... (Just silver color ony). That is tin.

Originally posted by FireSpitter@Oct 6 2004, 09:00 AM

Not real silver lah... (Just silver color ony). That is tin.

Ya la … use common dollar & sense la …. The word silver there is just a laymen term. U can’t get 1M silver for $1.50 :sweat:

she bang .... she bang ... :giddy:

currently the earth for my eletronics are connected to the screw located above the radiator

so if i were to do grounding

i juz link one wire frm that screw to -ve battery terminal?

Originally posted by d0n^@Oct 6 2004, 06:54 PM

currently the earth for my eletronics are connected to the screw located above the radiator

so if i were to do grounding

i juz link one wire frm that screw to -ve battery terminal?

yes u can or u can just connect the new gounding cable to any screw fasten to the bike frame. Infect if u r using the said bare pleated silver wire, it can runs from the radiator screw all the way to you -ve terminal & let it 'pick-up' all grounding means from the engine body.

Pls bear in mind, grounding is not quite necessary if your bike do not hv lots of additional accesories as i hv mention earlier. :goodluck:

Originally posted by tweety@Oct 6 2004, 04:12 AM

I've a fred who do it for car & bike.

But u guy maybe find that the price is abit expensive.

Is ard $50.

why bother about special insulation on a ground cable? :smile:

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11161/yamaha.jpg<span style=\'font-family:impact\'>I go 60 nia

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1478.jpg

For Sale: Arai Gunmetal gray side cover for RR4, right side (Still in packaging)

Some bikes have poor electrical return paths.

Like mine, the frame and the engine block is bonded (connected) by a whimpy cable only. I replaced it with a 1cm thick cable, now the bike runs better, starts easier and the battery charges easier. :D

a cheap mod that does wonders~ :cheer: :thumb:

i knows ET does it for 70 bucks ...

i dunno how many wires are there altogether also lah .. looks like quite a lot of places to 'chiap' wire.

what are the differences btwn normal ground wires compared to those branded ones ?

1cm thick Subwoofer wire, $4 per metre

Terminal lugs, $0.50cents each

Hammer, find one or borrow one.

Less than $5 per ground wire !! $70? so ex...

Originally posted by nE0@Oct 8 2004, 01:36 AM

if u noe where to connect to,why not?

Originally posted by nE0@Oct 8 2004, 01:36 AM

huh??

1cm thick?!!

this is not ordinary wire liao leh........

so is it 1mm thick?

or are the subwoofers for my comp not using the wires u are talking abt....?:confused:

Originally posted by d0n^@Oct 8 2004, 10:25 PM

huh??

1cm thick?!!

this is not ordinary wire liao leh........

so is it 1mm thick?

or are the subwoofers for my comp not using the wires u are talking abt....?:confused:

Its really 1 centimetre thick!! :giddy:

nE0 pian xin one... only use 1cm for his elmo, our bike all so thin... :mad:

Hahhaa

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10715/obliquityresize.jpg

IBA member #25267