The past few bikes I got also far biting point. No choice.

that why i share my tip.. sit on bike. dun press any brake.. just release clutch and feel the biting point and dont need to throttle. once at biting point, the bike like wanna move but cant move, cause your leg anchor on the ground or engine revolution is not up there yet. =P then at any point of stop or moving.. you wont worry of over rev and bike wont move or less throttle but throw clutch fast which lead to engine dies. LOL!

No One In This World Is A Virgin. Cause Life Always Fcuk You Over and Over Again. Rides: 05May13~ NSR SP FQ **** X 2 stroke power! 05May15~ RVF400 FQ **** D V engine power! 04Jun16~ YZF-R1 FBG **** M Xplane power! 26Nov16~ LC135 FBC **** J SPARK big bore! 03Mar18~ BMWGSA F **** D GSR1200ADV! 23Apr20~ CB400 Bold'r FBC ***** J inLine4
  • Replies 4.8k

sorry for double posting due to lag.

Edited by JrCherish
Double post
No One In This World Is A Virgin. Cause Life Always Fcuk You Over and Over Again. Rides: 05May13~ NSR SP FQ **** X 2 stroke power! 05May15~ RVF400 FQ **** D V engine power! 04Jun16~ YZF-R1 FBG **** M Xplane power! 26Nov16~ LC135 FBC **** J SPARK big bore! 03Mar18~ BMWGSA F **** D GSR1200ADV! 23Apr20~ CB400 Bold'r FBC ***** J inLine4

Gd afternoon all! Awesome discussion by JrCherish!!!

For JrCherish: SP v KRR - There's no real answer to this! Having owned both of these in my first year, all I can say is that both bikes are truly awesome. I'll just highlight some differences I observed in the 2 bikes.

1) Power band - KRR has a more city-oriented power band. Linear power delivery and races hard off the line. For city riding, I find the KRR superior. The SP does poorly in the low gears - you can blast the RPMs hard in gear 1 and 2, and you'll still find yourself being frustrated when a Kup Kia moves off the line faster than you to 40km/h. Like all Honda engines, the SP's engine is a high gear, high rev monster - It shows its stuff beyond 70km/h. As the KRR starts to struggle at 120+km/h, you can still see the SP accelerating well past 140-150 before starting to encounter difficulty in pulling. If you do a lot of expressway riding, the SP will reward you greatly with amazing performance.

2) Weight distribution - sama sama, slight advantage to KRR. KRR feels lighter to many riders because its centre of gravity (CG) is closer to the typical rider's bodily centre of gravity. Pushing the KRR is easier and less of a struggle than pushing the SP (you'll have to push for sure - these stubborn bikes use outdated batteries which drain hard and fast - they often show attitude and refuse to start). Factually, they weigh about the same.

3) Cornering - advantage KRR. The KRR is easier to handle around bends because of its lower CG and linear power band. This is the KRR's biggest advantage over the SP.

Personally, because I did a lot more city riding, the KRR was a lot more user friendly to me.

Darkredmica: School bike vs SP - really no fight hehe!

1) Stability - On your expressway familiarization ride, you will find the bike being blown left and right by cross winds because its so freaking light and unstable at high speeds. I wouldn't ever want to take a 2B school bike onto the expressway for real riding. Too dangerous. The SP/KRR has no such problem in moderate winds.

2) Power - lol! School bike practically stops accelerating past 100km/h. SP will push hard all the way past 140-150!

3) Cornering - as JrCherish has mentioned, you can steer a 2B sportsbike by just leaning on the handlebars to initiate a turn since the rider's body is cleanly on top of the bike (as opposed to having the arms at chest level). Pushing the handlebars at moderate speeds will create a countersteer effect which you will come to understand slowly as you start riding more. The countersteer effect is less easy to understand or experience on a school bike.

4) 2A relevance - Although sports bikes have so much so much to offer, you will cry when you come back for 2A and realize that all the habits you've picked up from riding the SP have come back to haunt you! The S4 revo is a huge, unforgiving road bike which requires the relevant road-bike skills to ride. SP/KRR/TZM riders often have one hell of a time re-learning how to ride the S4 in school!

Class 3 - 24 Jan 2006 - Lancer, Impreza TS, Impreza WRX

Class 2B - 28 October 2010 - SP, KRR

Class 2A - 26 March 2012 - CBR400

Class 2 - 6 June 2013 - Suzuki Hayabusa, GSX-R600

Gd afternoon all! Awesome discussion by JrCherish!!!

For JrCherish: SP v KRR - There's no real answer to this! Having owned both of these in my first year, all I can say is that both bikes are truly awesome. I'll just highlight some differences I observed in the 2 bikes.

1) Power band - KRR has a more city-oriented power band. Linear power delivery and races hard off the line. For city riding, I find the KRR superior. The SP does poorly in the low gears - you can blast the RPMs hard in gear 1 and 2, and you'll still find yourself being frustrated when a Kup Kia moves off the line faster than you to 40km/h. Like all Honda engines, the SP's engine is a high gear, high rev monster - It shows its stuff beyond 70km/h. As the KRR starts to struggle at 120+km/h, you can still see the SP accelerating well past 140-150 before starting to encounter difficulty in pulling. If you do a lot of expressway riding, the SP will reward you greatly with amazing performance.

2) Weight distribution - sama sama, slight advantage to KRR. KRR feels lighter to many riders because its centre of gravity (CG) is closer to the typical rider's bodily centre of gravity. Pushing the KRR is easier and less of a struggle than pushing the SP (you'll have to push for sure - these stubborn bikes use outdated batteries which drain hard and fast - they often show attitude and refuse to start). Factually, they weigh about the same.

3) Cornering - advantage KRR. The KRR is easier to handle around bends because of its lower CG and linear power band. This is the KRR's biggest advantage over the SP.

Personally, because I did a lot more city riding, the KRR was a lot more user friendly to me.

Darkredmica: School bike vs SP - really no fight hehe!

1) Stability - On your expressway familiarization ride, you will find the bike being blown left and right by cross winds because its so freaking light and unstable at high speeds. I wouldn't ever want to take a 2B school bike onto the expressway for real riding. Too dangerous. The SP/KRR has no such problem in moderate winds.

2) Power - lol! School bike practically stops accelerating past 100km/h. SP will push hard all the way past 140-150!

3) Cornering - as JrCherish has mentioned, you can steer a 2B sportsbike by just leaning on the handlebars to initiate a turn since the rider's body is cleanly on top of the bike (as opposed to having the arms at chest level). Pushing the handlebars at moderate speeds will create a countersteer effect which you will come to understand slowly as you start riding more. The countersteer effect is less easy to understand or experience on a school bike.

4) 2A relevance - Although sports bikes have so much so much to offer, you will cry when you come back for 2A and realize that all the habits you've picked up from riding the SP have come back to haunt you! The S4 revo is a huge, unforgiving road bike which requires the relevant road-bike skills to ride. SP/KRR/TZM riders often have one hell of a time re-learning how to ride the S4 in school!

1. What's a Power Band?

2. How do you even get the school bike to go more than 100km/hr? My max speed so far is only gear 5 (and I reckon it is the minimum for gear 5 as I am a scaredy cat). o_O Why you all speed around the circuit ar!!

3. Having to bend lower when you ride a sports bike, is it really true some people might not like it? I mean when if you are interested in a bike but have never tried on before, is it possible to even ask the seller to let you test it out? :faint:

4. RPM. The only ever time I looked at the RPM was during my Class 3 TP - slope. I looked at the RPM to know if biting point has been engaged. Yes I know highly not recommended but I wasn't confident with listening to the engine sound and feeling the car itself to move off from slope. Can somebody please enlighten me on RPM?

You guys make it sound so interesting to have your own bike. All I wanna do now is to chiong my practs. Fail nevermind but I just wanna keep going and going till I advance.

Hehe. :cheeky:

Follow your heart even if sometimes it means losing your mind.

Honda NSR150SP - 2013 ~ 2015

Honda CBR400RRR - 2014 ~ Current

Honda MSX125 - 2015 ~ 2016

Ducati 899 Panigale - 2016 ~ 2017

Yamaha T135 Spark - 2016 ~ 2019

Kawasaki ZX10R - 2017 ~ Current

Power band relates to when your bike begins to deliver power efficiently and optimally. Honda power bands tend to kick in later and at higher gears. This means also that in low gears and low rpms, the SP does not perform too well.

Expressway familiarization riding! I think it's compulsory for all new riders now? Last time only the lucky ones got to do it (me included!)

The seller may or may not let U test ride. The question is whether u dare to test ride an unfamiliar bike around corners, knowing that you will have to pay for repairs if u drop the bike!!!

Rpm is irrelevant as a student. It's only useful when u have ur own bike and are testing out its performance. Dun worry about this yet!

Redmica... U need to understand when your bike gets to biting point for bike slope test too. In this case the foot brake acts as the handbrake on a car

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2

A Journey of a Thousand Revs Begins with the First Gear Change...

Redmica... U need to understand when your bike gets to biting point for bike slope test too. In this case the foot brake acts as the handbrake on a car

Exactly. I got slope phobia!

Rijac when are your other lessons at cdc? And **** I havent go buy my raincoat. I hope I dont kena days where it rains. Past two practs of mine weather had been kind to me. Slightly gloomy and not that hot.

Power band relates to when your bike begins to deliver power efficiently and optimally. Honda power bands tend to kick in later and at higher gears. This means also that in low gears and low rpms, the SP does not perform too well.

Expressway familiarization riding! I think it's compulsory for all new riders now? Last time only the lucky ones got to do it (me included!)

The seller may or may not let U test ride. The question is whether u dare to test ride an unfamiliar bike around corners, knowing that you will have to pay for repairs if u drop the bike!!!

Rpm is irrelevant as a student. It's only useful when u have ur own bike and are testing out its performance. Dun worry about this yet!

So technical la timewalker bro! Haha.

I thought I would be able to use rpm to move off from slope again for 2B?

Like the moment the rpm drops means biting point right? Lol..

Wheres Nabil? MiA?

Btw sorry for spamming but I really need to say this.

The lockers at cdc are screwed up.

I banked in a dollar for one of the locker I used previously which was okay but it couldnt lock - as in I couldnt remove the key from the slot at all. Nabei.

If this goes on means every lesson I gotta waste two dollars on locker or even more if I suay and kena those spoilt ones again.

They are earning so much money but dont bother to upgrade their lockers and dont bother to warn others of it.

i gonna squeeze all into 1 post.. by using @ to reply.

@timewalker :

this part i very agree with you! i see all cub taking lead of me.. =x but after 70km or 90! OMG power valve open!! SHIOK eh!! =x

@timewalker and darkredmica :

yup. sch bike too light.. at high speed like literally like flying if u go thru a bump. LOL! even they install heavy crash bar. LOL! For SP/KRR wont have such problem, may be due to fairing also.. some aerodynamic. =)

timewalker, i did 110 or 115km/h for sch bike. during Expressway familiarization riding.. i wanted to chase the instructor infront of me.. but seem hard for me to chase.. instructor using same model but, diff bike.. instructor ybr! LOL!

Still be done using school bike if you dare to bank lower or push your weight to 1 side. =x but dangerous luh! instructor will mark you. =x better dun learn this habit till you get 2B

seem like timewalker is from bbdc? bbdc using s4. cdc using a bigger version of ybr.. is ybr250 only. their class 2 is fazer.

@darkredmica:

i would advise you.. at slope.. you wont have any phobia, compare to plank or E-brake. i recommend, dont look at rpm, base on your feeling on engine rev sound, left hand on feeling on clutch, biting point. i tested it myself before. i release rear brake, i never throttle but biting point is there, bike never roll back. it could stay there. LOL, but dont do that for long time.. it destroy clutch plate. =x

as for school locker? i dont use that.. i put my stuff on top of the locker. =) i did bring bag with me also. LOL

add on.. for this :

hmm. hell time is because of using sport bike to bank corner. and alot of bad habit, neutral upon stopping, right leg down, left leg up when stopping and best part is.. blind spot.. =x HAHA!!

@ darkredmica I done 2 circuit review already. I have lesson 5 scheduled for coming Tues morn. Hope don't burn. Last week could not make it wasted money.

do remember all blind spot, no immediate failure can liao~ best part is they still can find fault at stopping/moving off wobbling and posture. =X

i did 4 time for prac 5. =x

10 points is easy to accumulate. Forget to off signal 2 times forget 1 blind spot gone liao.

Or... Too slow at figure 8 too fast at plank roll back at slope... Liao liao

Actually the ybr 250 at cdc engine note is nice

hmm. try to do yours best at all course.

i still roughly remember where i fail.. 1 time is just cut some learner car in circuit. 1 time is drop from plank. 1 time is whole group prac 5 learner get 3x point abv. LOL!! at the last prac 5. pass with 6 point. LOL!

The places likely to forget off signal. Figure 8 after starting. And plank before beginning. We have to signal left to enter the lane. If there is a que u got time to think. If u are the first bike might forget

this one no problem la.. cfm with chop.. there alway have que. LOL! btw, smaller number will take the lead of prac 5. if got prac 8, prac 8 will take off 1st.

Actually the ybr 250 at cdc engine note is nice

The way I see it, it's really quite an advantage to use YBR250. Here's how some of the bikes stack up:

1) YBR125 - 10.06HP

2) YBR250 - 21HP

3) CB400 - 52.3HP

Source: http://www.bikez.com/motorcycles

The YBR250 weighs in at 138Kg while the S4 Revo weighs 198Kg!

I can imagine that taking a weaker, lighter 2A bike with less torque through a figure 8 would make things so much easier. If I'd known, I might have taken my 2A at CDC. The S4 revo is a crazy bike to ride. The fuel tank heats up fast and cooks the thighs - the red burn marks can actually last for days.

Just doing some sums... — rtt on July 20. Assume I pass and I've completed my practicals... This means the earliest I can TP is Sept end. Sigh. Made a mistake in early days... Didn't plan my theory classes

don't worry you will still be the fastest among us! any news from Nabil anot?

And... anyone wanna go LAB anot? :(

The way I see it, it's really quite an advantage to use YBR250. Here's how some of the bikes stack up:

1) YBR125 - 10.06HP

2) YBR250 - 21HP

3) CB400 - 52.3HP

Source: http://www.bikez.com/motorcycles

The YBR250 weighs in at 138Kg while the S4 Revo weighs 198Kg!

I can imagine that taking a weaker, lighter 2A bike with less torque through a figure 8 would make things so much easier. If I'd known, I might have taken my 2A at CDC. The S4 revo is a crazy bike to ride. The fuel tank heats up fast and cooks the thighs - the red burn marks can actually last for days.

nice info. alot ppl complain about s4 in bbdc.. see burn or heat mark after lesson. LOL! =x ouchy..

@rijac :

you never take do both thing 1 shot? theory and practical? =x