Originally posted by no.license@March 13, 2007 03:17 pm

2stroker pls buy GEAR OIL and change. not 4t. pls dun mislead. cheers.

makes not different la. Only need to see the grade. Main idea is to cool and lubricate the crankshaft and gears

Mar 2001 - Jul 2001 DT200R

Jul 2001 - May 2004 WR200

Jun 2004 - Sep 2005 GS125

Sep 2005 - Aug 2006 Super4 Vtec II

Aug 2006 - Feb 2007 Bajaj Pulsar

Feb 2007 Super4 Vtec I

• Replies 44

if no different then wads the point of lubricant companies coming out with 4t and gear oil?

i wonder.

http://i.imgur.com/SSSud.gif
Originally posted by operator@March 13, 2007 07:55 pm

makes not different la. Only need to see the grade. Main idea is to cool and lubricate the crankshaft and gears

you are right to a certain extend that oil is determined by it's grade, all other information is secondary. Oil manufacturers label their products in a certain manner so that it's easier for consumers, especially the less informed ones. Wrongful usage of oil can range from "totally no effect" to catastrophic.

Your question is same as " Can I use car engine oil in my motorbike". Since on both platforms it serves exactly the same function, it should be ok, right ? But the answer is is not a definite "yes". Because oils formulated for car engines have friction-modifier whereas 4T don't. So if you fill a wet-sump bike, which is the majority, with car engine oil, then you will end up with clutch that won't bike.

Originally posted by no.license@March 14, 2007 06:35 am

if no different then wads the point of lubricant companies coming out with 4t and gear oil?

i wonder.

cheat money mah... make us ppl buy their brand. If you look at those 2 stroke manuals, most only state the grade of engine oil... e.g 15W40 or 15W50. It does not specifically demand the user to use gear oil. I have an nsr150 manual which states the engine oil requirement.

Feb 2007 Super4 Vtec I

if u look CLOSELY enough. the grade of 4t and gearoils are very very different.

we take maxima's maxum4 ultra and its gearoil for example, the maxum4 ultra's oil grade is 5w50, while its gearoil's oil grade is 75w90. isnt it quite abit of a difference?

so i guess its very obvious the reason why lubricant companies come up with gear oil is NOT because they are out to cheat money i suppose?

Originally posted by no.license@March 14, 2007 11:05 pm

if u look CLOSELY enough. the grade of 4t and gearoils are very very different.

we take maxima's maxum4 ultra and its gearoil for example, the maxum4 ultra's oil grade is 5w50, while its gearoil's oil grade is 75w90. isnt it quite abit of a difference?

so i guess its very obvious the reason why lubricant companies come up with gear oil is NOT because they are out to cheat money i suppose?

Alamak bro, the manual says use 15W50(i.e 4T), why you want to use 75W90(gear oil)?. I have read the NSR150 manual twice and it doesn't even list 75W90 as the recommended engine oil. Manual say your bike got 2 wheels, you die-die says 3 ah? :giddy:

Anyway, I have not misled anyone. It clearly states in the manual that 4T(grade 15W50) can use ah..

Feb 2007 Super4 Vtec I

The reason 4T is cross compatible for gear oil is because 4T is formulated to lubricate the transmission after all. BUT, expensive 4T excels at high temperature durability and ability to contain and neutralise combustion byproducts. Gear oils specialise on antiwear protection in the transmission.

If you buy an expensive fully syn 4T for your 2 stroker's gearbox thinking that's the best thing money can buy, it will be like buying a plate of nasi lemak and eating only the egg. Why not just pay for the egg? Buy gear oil. Besides, it will be silly to try and cheat your money when transmission oil is typically the cost of semi syn 4T or lower, make more money selling you $20++ Extra or Ultra to put in your strokers.

Originally posted by ANR Impex@March 15, 2007 09:19 pm

The reason 4T is cross compatible for gear oil is because 4T is formulated to lubricate the transmission after all. BUT, expensive 4T excels at high temperature durability and ability to contain and neutralise combustion byproducts. Gear oils specialise on antiwear protection in the transmission.

If you buy an expensive fully syn 4T for your 2 stroker's gearbox thinking that's the best thing money can buy, it will be like buying a plate of nasi lemak and eating only the egg. Why not just pay for the egg? Buy gear oil. Besides, it will be silly to try and cheat your money when transmission oil is typically the cost of semi syn 4T or lower, make more money selling you $20++ Extra or Ultra to put in your strokers.

Well said bro. But one minor thingla... I've check maxima's fully synthetic 4T and its gear oil. The gear oil seems to be more expensive le

Feb 2007 Super4 Vtec I

The gearoil for 2 stroke by Maxima is the MTL, it costs $14++.

http://www.maximausa.com/products/images/Small/MTL_G.jpg

The fully Syn Gear Oil 75W90 is a GL-5 rated heavy duty gear oil formulated for shaft drive hypoid gears (eg. BMW), supposed to last a very long time. Some people like to use that as a 2 stroke transmission oil.

http://www.maximausa.com/products/images/Small/GEAR7590.jpg

so gearoils and 4Ts do have its different use and purpose and not just made to cheat riders?

Originally posted by no.license@March 16, 2007 06:54 am

so gearoils and 4Ts do have its different use and purpose and not just made to cheat riders?

So 4T can use on 2 stroke bikes as engine oil or not? Yes or no?

Feb 2007 Super4 Vtec I

Originally posted by operator@March 17, 2007 12:56 pm

So 4T can use on 2 stroke bikes as engine oil or not? Yes or no?

u will find tat manual recommends 4t engine oil for 2-strokers' gearbox coz of wet clutch is encased together.

unless ur 2-stroker have dry clutch than gear oil is recommended.

gear oil is design specifically for gear lubrications.

using gear oil in gearcase with clutch will might cause some clutching problems.

2t engine oil is still require for lub engine's crankshaft n piston's rings/cylinder.

Originally posted by headcharge@March 17, 2007 02:20 pm

yes can no harm done, but as somebody here once said, its like buying a ferrari but drving at 30km/h always

That is what I want to hear. I feel that I am not wrong to say that 4T can be used as engine oil. Thus it's not fair to say that I have misled anyboady mah...true? Just wanna prove my point.

Some would say use normal (not good quality)gear oil is cheaper. The introduction of gear oil is just another marketing strategy by some manufacturers. Not proper to say cheat(wait kanna sue) but rather say they are making us buy their product.

Let me cite an example. Company A, Company B and Company C all produces good quality 4T oil at $10 each. Then, company A introduces gear oil(which is in fact like normal quality 4T) at $9 each. Now, everyone starts to buy gear oil from company A. Company A makes money. Get what I mean??

Anyway, I have already made comparisons. The good quality 4T(fully synthetic) is much more cheaper(cheaper by $3) than the good quality gear oil. Its much fairer to compare like this... good quality against good quality. Thus, one of the bro said that why buy a plate of nasi lemak when you only want the egg. My reply is why buy just the egg when you can have the whole plate of nasi lemak cheaper. I hope bros get what I mean.

Feb 2007 Super4 Vtec I

y so worked up, u got money just buy anything u want. want nasi lemak buy nasi lemak. if u want to buy chicken rice then buy chicken rice. but motorcycle dun eat rice. they need oil so for my rxz, i used to use 4t. too many grade. some thin some thick price a lot diff from cheap to ex damn confused. at last try use gear oil feel good for my rxz so now use gear oil.

http://www.nea.gov.sg/cms/mss/gif/rainloc0.gif
Originally posted by operator@March 17, 2007 11:17 pm

That is what I want to hear. I feel that I am not wrong to say that 4T can be used as engine oil. Thus it's not fair to say that I have misled anyboady mah...true? Just wanna prove my point.

Some would say use normal (not good quality)gear oil is cheaper. The introduction of gear oil is just another marketing strategy by some manufacturers. Not proper to say cheat(wait kanna sue) but rather say they are making us buy their product.

Let me cite an example. Company A, Company B and Company C all produces good quality 4T oil at $10 each. Then, company A introduces gear oil(which is in fact like normal quality 4T) at $9 each. Now, everyone starts to buy gear oil from company A. Company A makes money. Get what I mean??

Anyway, I have already made comparisons. The good quality 4T(fully synthetic) is much more cheaper(cheaper by $3) than the good quality gear oil. Its much fairer to compare like this... good quality against good quality. Thus, one of the bro said that why buy a plate of nasi lemak when you only want the egg. My reply is why buy just the egg when you can have the whole plate of nasi lemak cheaper. I hope bros get what I mean.

Are you really interested in knowing the trade off when you're using 4T for gearoil or are you just defending your position that 4T can be used? If the latter, then you've won, 4T is made to function as a wet clutch gear oil. Go ahead and continue to use 4T.

You're insisting that manufacturers are out to 'cheat', but you don't even understand what you're comparing. 75W90 GL5 isn't a high grade 2 stroke wet clutch transmission oil like MTL, it is designed for an entirely different heavy duty application. And your analogy of company A and B is totally wrong, all major companies who cater for 2 strokes recognise the different application and produce a separate transmission oil product and some, a GL5 hypoid gear oil.

The real reason dedicated 2 stroke gear oil isn't more common (or commonly specced) is because it adds costs to stock 2 separate products when 1 product can arguably work for both applications. Given that nowadays most of the class 2B bikes come from Thailand, they'll want to make things simple. I am not surprised in the poorer parts of the world, they'll even pour used car oil into your transmission.

Originally posted by ANR Impex@March 19, 2007 02:31 pm

Are you really interested in knowing the trade off when you're using 4T for gearoil or are you just defending your position that 4T can be used? If the latter, then you've won, 4T is made to function as a wet clutch gear oil. Go ahead and continue to use 4T.

relax brother. y get so worked up like one of the bro said? peace ah.

4T or gear oil. Which one better? Not too sure coz I used both before and found no difference. Manual recommend 4T, so I recommend 4T, other ppl recommend gear oil, up to them. But its not fair to say that I misled ppl by saying can use 4T.

Important thing is to use what your manual says(be it 4T, gear oil or used car oil) and change within the stipulated mileage.

Peace ah.... come and meditate... for peace of mind.

Feb 2007 Super4 Vtec I

Originally posted by operator@March 19, 2007 06:38 pm

Important thing is to use what your manual says(be it 4T, gear oil or used car oil) and change within the stipulated mileage.

bro, my manual say to use honda brand oils (really)

where to get huh? :confused:

anyways for 2 stroke bike. 2t is very important.

if riding sp, semi synthetic like shell vsx ok aredi.

but if riding like 250cc or italian bikes, better use the more expensive one.

engine oil, gear oil, 4t.. watever.. dat one change when ur gear hard to go to neutral alreadi can la if u lazy.. but up to u la, change 3 month also can.. ur money mah. (dis only for 2 stroke ok)

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4081/4931040347_0bda87b07d_b.jpg
Originally posted by KeraKing@March 20, 2007 01:45 am

bro, my manual say to use honda brand oils (really)

where to get huh? :confused:

anyways for 2 stroke bike. 2t is very important.

if riding sp, semi synthetic like shell vsx ok aredi.

but if riding like 250cc or italian bikes, better use the more expensive one.

engine oil, gear oil, 4t.. watever.. dat one change when ur gear hard to go to neutral alreadi can la if u lazy.. but up to u la, change 3 month also can.. ur money mah. (dis only for 2 stroke ok)

Just use the grade recommended, 15W50 or 20W50 can liao.

I share the same sentiments wif wat you said. To me, engine oil not so important. It's job is only to lubricate and cool down the gear and crankshaft only. Important is 2T. Buy good quality 2T. One of my friend got the cheapest 2T. End up, his bike piston jammed after riding for 2 weeks with that 2T.

Feb 2007 Super4 Vtec I

i always more thn 3months thn change EO de.

abt the 5th month thn change.

coz mileage havent reach yet.

hope it wont kill the engine ba?

using maxima ultra.

Hello! Anyone there? :cheers: