Originally posted by Mihar@May 11 2005, 02:20 AM

Hi guys!

A bit off topic here but i just wanna post some info... After months of saving up my hard earned money, i've finally modded my FZ1 for performance ...And the results are are FANTASTIC!!!

Here's the setup that i currently have...

2001 Fazer with about 37000++ miles been riding it for 2+ almost 3 years.

Akrapovic Full Titanium Street Legal Slip on W/O silencer (Had it not been for the exorbitant price i had to pay for this, i'd probably have done up my bike sooner)

KNN air filter

Factory Pro Advancer +4 degrees for YZF R1

Factory Pro Titanium Jet kit for FZ1

So, with all these parts, i sent my bike to Looi's Motors for mentong to work his magic... There are 2 reasons why i sent my bike to Looi's. One is that mentong is the best. And the other is that only Looi's motor has a Factory Pro Dynometer which also produces the performance parts i bought in the first place...

After waiting for a day, i collected my bike earlier today(sent it in yesterday). The dyno run results showed that my FZ1 produces a max bhp of 133.91 during the first test without tuning and 137.53bhp during the second test after tuning and installation of the jet kit. Thats an improvement of about 4 bhp.

I know that an improvement of 4bhp is not a lot but this is not the true reflection of the performance gain. The problem was that my FZ1 was not stock when i sent it in for tuning. When i sent my bike in yesterday, i already had the Akra slip on, advancer and the air filter already installed. So the performance difference in the tests is only attributed to the jet kit which mentong installed for me. I do not have the figures for a dyno run on a fully stock FZ1 so i can't really say how much is the performance gain.

If anyone out there has ever sent in a fully stock FZ1 to mentong for a dyno run, i'd really appreciate if you could posts the results. Pls post the results ONLY if you have sent it for a dyno run at Looi's motor. Dynojet dyno results vary greatly from Factory Pro Dyno thus it would not be accurate to mix up the results. This has something to do with Factory Pro measuring in "True HP" with "SAE corrected readings". I have no idea what that all means but generally, the same bike would produce a higher reading on a Dynojet dyno as compared to a Factory Pro dyno.

All that aside, the physical feeling of riding the bike now is also much different...I can feel the increased acceleration and smoothness across all the powerbands...And yes, the Akra kicks ass...Worth every cent i paid for it...

Well, i guess that's all i have to say now. Feel free to post comments and questions that you may have. I'll try to answer them as best i can...Cheers

When we went to Unity to do the Dyno run, was told the other way round... Dyno jet machine seems to give a lower reading...

Anyway on the dyno jet machine, a stock run was 113 as recorded in his system...

Mine with a jet kit was approx 120...

if comparing form stats, a stock should have 121, presumableon a factory pro dyno, so the diff would be 8BHP... so my bike with a jet kit should be about 128BHP lor... hahah...

but then its all a number game lor... the main thing is that you enjoy your ride and not think of the numbers too much...

• Replies 99.2k

• pichudot

• innards

• maxxmadness

• bigman_185

Ya...i think the Dynojet dyno gives a lower reading compared to Factory Pro. Bear in mind that both machines Looi's and Unity are the latest from Dynojet and Factory Pro. In my case, i will take the lowest reading.

I got 119hp from the dynojet dyno, wif a slip on. Haven't try out again after i got jetted....

A stock FZ1 before me got abt 113-116hp.

Mihar, i think u were there the first time i got dynoed rite?

Originally posted by k3nny77@May 11 2005, 12:36 PM

Ya...i think the Dynojet dyno gives a lower reading compared to Factory Pro. Bear in mind that both machines Looi's and Unity are the latest from Dynojet and Factory Pro. In my case, i will take the lowest reading.

I got 119hp from the dynojet dyno, wif a slip on. Haven't try out again after i got jetted....

A stock FZ1 before me got abt 113-116hp.

Mihar, i think u were there the first time i got dynoed rite?

Yup...Btw, how much did you pay for your dynojet run?

I'm considering going for a dyno run on dynojet just to get a comparison.

I don't know about dynojet giving a lower reading but factory pro has a simple calculation to estimate a djhp reading. Just need to multiply the reading by a factor of 1.15.

So, 137.53 * 1.15 = ~158 djhp

That's almost 160hp which i find almost unbelievable. Maybe if we divide instead of multiply..

137.53 / 1.15 = 119.6 djhp

which is not too far off from your results... For further info on this, go to http://www.factorypro.com

Again, unless someone has done a dyno run of a fully stock fazer on a factory pro dynometer, it's hard to say...

BTW, you going this fri nite? i want to see if you got any more WOW mods...lol

Yamaha FZS1000E 2001

RIDE LIKE YOU STOLE IT

Must see if i can fully recover from my fever first...if still not well then most

proberly i am not going for the Friday meetup.

''That's almost 160hp which i find almost unbelievable. Maybe if we divide instead of multiply..

which is not too far off from your results... For further info on this, go to http://www.factorypro.com''

Yr 137.53hp is after all mods and tunning rite? In that case, it is only the same as

my first dyno run....no jet kit installed yet. I will suggest u get a dyno run done at Unity as well.....BTW, i paid $50//

Results have to wait till i dyno mine again...maybe this sat....

Originally posted by katana777@May 11 2005, 12:03 PM

okie, pai sei abt it, tot u pro pillion liao

u so free today ar?

think mi cant tok so much with u in the forum, alot of people monitor mi in this forum...always say i chee hong kia

everybody oso noe lor :sian:

nov 99 - mar 06 nsr150sp

Originally posted by k3nny77@May 11 2005, 01:40 PM

Must see if i can fully recover from my fever first...if still not well then most

proberly i am not going for the Friday meetup.

''That's almost 160hp which i find almost unbelievable. Maybe if we divide instead of multiply..

which is not too far off from your results... For further info on this, go to http://www.factorypro.com''

Yr 137.53hp is after all mods and tunning rite? In that case, it is only the same as

my first dyno run....no jet kit installed yet. I will suggest u get a dyno run done at Unity as well.....BTW, i paid $50//

Results have to wait till i dyno mine again...maybe this sat....

Yup it's with all the mods and tuning...

So you going for dyno run this sat?? Maybe we can go together and mass order a dyno run?? Can get cheaper or not like this?? WAHAHAAHAHAHAAA

Yamaha FZS1000E 2001

RIDE LIKE YOU STOLE IT

If everything goes fine, i should be there at abt 1.30pm.....

Maybe can see u there.....

Originally posted by k3nny77@May 11 2005, 02:07 PM

If everything goes fine, i should be there at abt 1.30pm.....

Maybe can see u there.....

K i wait for you at unity...How long does the dyno run take?

Yamaha FZS1000E 2001

RIDE LIKE YOU STOLE IT

Anyone one else wanna go for Dyno run at Unity this sat??

Maybe if there are more people, can ask for group discount...lol

Like real...

Yamaha FZS1000E 2001

RIDE LIKE YOU STOLE IT

Originally posted by yuki@May 11 2005, 12:02 PM

Wei~ dun mislead others wor... I ask 4 his room no. cos actually.. I wanted to find a chance n tok to U~ CAN~? wAH.. Bei fa xian le. keke... lolxx :bouncefire:

wahaaahaaa..... bu yao hai wo in this forum.... my vege oso visit here de leh..... :sweat:

Originally posted by katana777@May 11 2005, 12:03 PM

okie, pai sei abt it, tot u pro pillion liao

u so free today ar?

think mi cant tok so much with u in the forum, alot of people monitor mi in this forum...always say i chee hong kia

ya lah.... go batam, go jb, go lsb still not enuff, still wan come cheehong here..... duh! :sian:

Originally posted by Pauche@May 11 2005, 05:14 PM

ya lah.... go batam, go jb, go lsb still not enuff, still wan come cheehong here..... duh! :sian:

ya lor :sian:

nov 99 - mar 06 nsr150sp

Originally posted by Pauche@May 11 2005, 05:14 PM

ai ya u know he the hong..... king ma :cheeky:

Originally posted by Pauche@May 11 2005, 08:15 AM

she only interested in u lah, dun u get the hint? tat day reach hatyai check in liao, first thing come knocking on my room asking for your room number only..... :sian:

Hahaha. Didnt know Katana is so charming. :lol:

Biking.

It's nearly better than sex!

http://tanakatire.web.infoseek.co.jp/logo5/ALPINESTARS2.gif

today saw at least 4 fazers on the road, but everytime din managed to say hi cos always happen to be on the other side of road. :cheeky:

Sep 2001 - Jan 2003 WR200

Jan 2003 - Feb 2005 S4 spec 1

Feb 2005 - Apr 2006 FZ6

Apr 2006 - May 2006 Vios & FZ6

May2006 - Jan 2007 Vios

Jan 2007 - ???????? Vios & S4 spec 1

http://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p167/senate747/CIMG6396.jpg

Originally posted by hydrop@May 9 2005, 07:51 PM

Yey! Will be getting my fazer this Thursday or Friday....very excited...:lovestruck:

Erm....actually I never sat on it before, is it difficult to ride? I've only rode the X9 before and rarely my friend's super 4. :confused:

anything to take note of? Thanks! :smile:

bro, u're gettin your new fazer tomorrow izit? wanna join the group on fri night at KKFC. :cheer: :cheer:

Feb 2005 - Apr 2006 FZ6

May2006 - Jan 2007 Vios

will it jam nw if i go to jb for petrol?

Feb 2005 - Apr 2006 FZ6

May2006 - Jan 2007 Vios

that time once i went in at 2am, jam until 3 am. damn suay ah. setting off soon....

Feb 2005 - Apr 2006 FZ6

May2006 - Jan 2007 Vios

Gathering place: KKFC

Proposed next stop: PITSTOP, CV, FONG SENG...

Time: 2130 onwards...

meetup on this friday the 13th (lets go ghost hunting around singapore)

Attendance:

2) EV (pending)

5) Ernie25 (pls call me as usual before i forget again.)

6) CKC

7) maxxmadness

8) yong74

10) GT Fazer (Most likely)

11) Desmond

12) mokamoka (Be there after 2200...)

13)

14) senate747 (most likely)

15)

16) katana (pending)

17) kopvampp (hopefully dun need to work O.T.)

18)

19)

20)

21)

22) Pr|nc3

23)

69) awesome