Hi, b4 I purchase my Varadero 125. I was thinking of getting this bike... but after long time of consideration. I stick to my choice. So any of you got this bike.... how is it?? As maybe I will like to get one too

Welcome to the world of acidsburn

http://pic20.picturetrail.com/VOL1352/5363911/10807466/155946595.jpg

• Replies 4.4k

very few comet125 in sillypore but hyosung has a bike factory plant in malaysia, so far seen a yellow sg register n a red malaysia register plate. even fewer vara125 have not seen any yet, your concern about vara vs comet.

the difference:

1) japan(vara) vs korea(comet);

2) reliablility, should be comparable since korea product have been improved on par with japanese quality n since hyosung also colaborate with suzuki. not sure these v-twin r as reliable as the yamaha FZ150 (reading from other threads describing it as a total crap).

3) comet will be cheaper since malaysia is producing it n spare parts should not be a concern. vara is expensive compare to comet, maybe by $1~2k more.

4) vara is a enduro whilst comet is a roadster(naked).

5) both r v-twin fuel consumption should average about the same.

u should ask more about vara125 on the vara forum threads, hard to find a comet owner in sbf here. otherwise he could have answer u already but if u r considering comet125, y not consider buying roadwin125?

it's design is identical to comet except for the engine, it use a single piston 4-strokes 4-valves engine n slightly lesser power maybe 2~4 hp down becos v-twin r more powerful n consume more fuel plus use more engine lub oil. also v-twin have more engine parts replacement when repair/overhaul compare to a single.

your can read more about daelim roadwin at the 'bike specs & reviews' section.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....ndpost&p=754331

so :goodluck: to your bike selection.

Originally posted by RVF32@Nov 26 2004, 10:40 PM

this comet look bigger than super 4 wor...v..chio...got 125cc, 250cc and 650cc.....hahaha

Hi does anyone knows where can I go to buy this bike?

Originally posted by friedfishz@Dec 4 2004, 01:50 AM

Hi does anyone knows where can I go to buy this bike?

i think came across someone say chong aik at joo chiat rd is the dealer for hyosung bike.

u can check it out there but the agent is at macpherson rd,

Company Name : HIAP AIK TRADING CO PTE LTD

Address : 286, MacPherson Road, Singapore 348609

Telephone Number: (65) 67489940, 67489464

Facsimile Number: (65) 67486594

Representatives: K S HONG

Contact Name: ALLAN HONG

Email Address: [email protected]

Bankers: UOB, OCBC

Core Business: Sole distributors for: P.G.O. & HYOSUNG motorcycles,

scooters. Importers & Exporters.

Brands: P.G.O./ HYOSUNG

I went to Ban Hon today. The one at AMK Industrial Park. Quoted me 6500, without IU and Insurance. Kinda expensive but I think the bike is really chio for a 2B. Any riders here with any experience with a Korean bike?

Originally posted by friedfishz@Dec 5 2004, 12:41 AM

I went to Ban Hon today. The one at AMK Industrial Park. Quoted me 6500, without IU and Insurance. Kinda expensive but I think the bike is really chio for a 2B. Any riders here with any experience with a Korean bike?

not riding a comet but korean bike roadwin, so far been riding it for about six months now, no complain expect for certain things that i find can be improved.

comet n roadwin r look alike except for the engine, comet use v-twin n roadwin a single piston with 4 valves.

$6.5 w/o insurance n iu adds up to >$7k, roadwin otr $6.9k (but have to bargin). :smile:

I think BAN HON Hyosung comet is the '05 model, Hiap Aik still has the 02' and 03' model for comet, I went see got a lot changes so buyer beware of this, also BAN HON got 1 year factory warranty, also Comet V engine is more powerful than roadwin, the shape also more chio, if u put the 2 bikes together......hahaha...roadwin resale value leh i think siao liao lor....

Originally posted by stsoh@Dec 5 2004, 12:33 PM

not riding a comet but korean bike roadwin, so far been riding it for about six months now, no complain expect for certain things that i find can be improved.

comet n roadwin r look alike except for the engine, comet use v-twin n roadwin a single piston with 4 valves.

$6.5 w/o insurance n iu adds up to >$7k, roadwin otr $6.9k (but have to bargin). :smile:

i ask roadwin 7k without ins leh....at kakit bukit

Guest madd_biker

Hi! I m using a Comet 125. I bought it for $6200 otr. The engine is F@#king noisy when i travel high speed, ard 100km/h. I been using it for jus 3mths and the meliage is ard 5k km, and the screws start dropping and coming off. (poor QC) For every 2 to 3 weeks the brake pad start to wear out.

It is a veri maintainence high bike, so consider properly b4 buying. If anyone wan to buy my bike, I m willing to sell.

I heard abt the new shop which sells the Comet 125, GOD BLESS......:goodluck:

Originally posted by madd_biker@Dec 7 2004, 09:54 AM

Hi! I m using a Comet 125. I bought it for $6200 otr. The engine is F@#king noisy when i travel high speed, ard 100km/h. I been using it for jus 3mths and the meliage is ard 5k km, and the screws start dropping and coming off. (poor QC) For every 2 to 3 weeks the brake pad start to wear out.

It is a veri maintainence high bike, so consider properly b4 buying. If anyone wan to buy my bike, I m willing to sell.

quality for comet i won't comment but quality for roadwin is very good so far no bolts or nuts drop off except for my givi windshield.

it's the same for roadwin if engine's rpm pulls beyond 8k the engine like very noisy/vibrate a lot.

i think u just needed to change the front/rear sprockets for better cruising speed then it won't vibrate/noisy so much.

since it's gearing is tall, i suggest u change front sprocket one tooth up if orig. is 14t change it to 15t n rear sprocket two teeth down if orig. is 42t change to 40t.

the engine's rpm will be lower but lose a bit of pickup speed since v-twin r more power then pickup shouldn't be an issue.

braking issue, u need to apply brake 50/50 % for front n rear brakes gradually.

forget about wat they taught how to 70/30 braking in the training school cos nowadays brakes r design differently from the past.

if u don't believe me check the front n rear discs r different in diameter(size), it is already compensated by design.

some roadwin users r just like u, keep complaining but do not realise how to correctly use the brakes.

i have been using up to now n still have a lot more pads in it.

maybe care n proper maintenance is needed. :cheeky:

Originally posted by madd_biker@Dec 7 2004, 09:54 AM

you sound fake leh.......sound like daelim salesman trying to bring down hyosung...hahaha.....

Originally posted by RVF32@Dec 8 2004, 01:44 AM

you sound fake leh.......sound like daelim salesman trying to bring down hyosung...hahaha.....

y so negative..... o_O

new green horn rider, first time owning new bike n not so sure how to mod bike to give riding pleasure.

so we try to help him, give good suggestions rather then shoot him down like tat.

all riders r bros so gives :help: :help: :help:

Originally posted by stsoh@Dec 8 2004, 06:02 PM

y so negative..... o_O

new green horn rider, first time owning new bike n not so sure how to mod bike to give riding pleasure.

so we try to help him, give good suggestions rather then shoot him down like tat.

all riders r bros so gives :help: :help: :help:

sorry abt that bro, but just find hard to believe that screws can actually come off mah.....if china bike, i can still believe, but korea product to my kowledge, the quality is there lor, please do not worry....ever heard LG aircon screw comes off after 2 days non stop usage?

Guest madd_biker

stsoh, Thank you for the advice on my Comet 125.

As you mention abt the sprockets, by changing the front and rear ones, the power will be better. Then how long can it last? Is it original or imatitions ones? cos i used to ride my brother's TZR for a couple of mths b4 he traded-in a Comet 125 for me to ride. The TZR he used to use imatations sprockets and drive chain which cost less than 80 bucks for the whole set. But for every 1 and a half week must go n tighten the chain. I m quite keen to change the sprockets for my Comet but the agent say they dun hav more teeths for the sprockets. They say these are the originals ones. and they are selling for $150 a set with chain.

I have since changed my braking style to use more engine brake and the front and back brake together. Recently, some rumbling sound start to come out from the engine, like metal rubbing each other. Izit some bearings sound??

Hav you guys heard of the brand name "PGO scooters"?

Cos the shop i went to is also the agent for this brand. I ask the boss, where the bikes come from? he says it is from Taiwan.

they gt a new model which is veri nice. I saw the catalogue in the shop really a veri chio bike. The boss say the bikes will be arriving soon.

I m considering to gt 1 for myself as the Comet is my brother's name the insurance can kill if put my name. gt to pay extra 400 bucks..

Originally posted by madd_biker@Dec 13 2004, 03:27 PM

..... by changing the front and rear ones, the power will be better. Then how long can it last? Is it original or imatitions ones?

not more power but top end cruise speed will be better n it won't be original.

i think u better let the bike shop find right front/rear sprockets for u bcos that r many types of sprocket with different bolt holes location in the market.

just tell them u wanted the front sprocket up by one tooth n the rear sprocket down by two teeth.

if your agent r not keen to source for u then u have to go hunting n ask around, some after market sprockets r better than the original. u just have to match sprockets n chain eg. 428 is largely used by small bike n bigger bikes uses 520, 525 or 530 type.

as for the stretching chain it depends on how u ride n how much horsepower your bike pulls if u r ride bigger bike that have plentiful of hp. the chain definitely will be stretched very fast but for a small bike it probably not a concern.

BUT a word of caution, i have seen bike that uses the wrong front sprocket n damaged the drive shaft. when this happen u have to fork out more money for repairs.

.... some rumbling sound start to come out from the engine, like metal rubbing each other. Izit some bearings sound??

this one u should let your bike shop mech have a look.

Originally posted by madd_biker@Dec 13 2004, 03:27 PM

stsoh, Thank you for the advice on my Comet 125.

As you mention abt the sprockets, by changing the front and rear ones, the power will be better. Then how long can it last? Is it original or imatitions ones? cos i used to ride my brother's TZR for a couple of mths b4 he traded-in a Comet 125 for me to ride. The TZR he used to use imatations sprockets and drive chain which cost less than 80 bucks for the whole set. But for every 1 and a half week must go n tighten the chain. I m quite keen to change the sprockets for my Comet but the agent say they dun hav more teeths for the sprockets. They say these are the originals ones. and they are selling for $150 a set with chain.

I have since changed my braking style to use more engine brake and the front and back brake together. Recently, some rumbling sound start to come out from the engine, like metal rubbing each other. Izit some bearings sound??

Hav you guys heard of the brand name "PGO scooters"?

Cos the shop i went to is also the agent for this brand. I ask the boss, where the bikes come from? he says it is from Taiwan.

they gt a new model which is veri nice. I saw the catalogue in the shop really a veri chio bike. The boss say the bikes will be arriving soon.

I m considering to gt 1 for myself as the Comet is my brother's name the insurance can kill if put my name. gt to pay extra 400 bucks..

PGO scooter is made from Taiwan...be careful as I used to own a PGO scooter...screws really comes off.....if want nice buy X9 or X8, value for money....

Guest madd_biker

stsoh, thanks for advice. I will try to get it changed at my house nearby bike shop.

RVF32, thanks for advice. so which model of PGO scooter you ride b4?? i kind of trust PGO scooters cos, b4 my dad gt a car, he used to ride the 1990's PGO manuals vespas type of scooters for a few years and didn't give him much problems. i didn't hear him say screws start to drop. so i think PGO scooters are easy to maintain n parts are easier to gt than other brands, cos my dad didn't hav problems getting them..

a couple of my friends bought x9 and advise me not to buy x9. 1 changed the CDI unit after riding for a year and cost him 600 over bucks, and waited for 3 weeks b4 he could ride the bike. another 1 told me a fews screws start to loose after a few trips to JB. another 1 is planning to trade his x9 for the new PGO scooter.

Comet 125 now otr at $6,300K hmmm..... wounder should I buy a comet or roadwin. Hard to decide !!! Any suggestion !!!

STOwners'Club #050

STOC #7278

2002 Hornet 125 / 2005 X9 Evo 200 / 2006 Super 4 Vtec 1 / 2007 Shadow 400 / 2007 Steed 400 / 2007 Africa Twin 750 / 2008 ST 1100 / Present STX 1300 What next? :cheeky:

Originally posted by Hornet69@Dec 17 2004, 02:06 PM

Comet 125 now otr at $6,300K hmmm..... wounder should I buy a comet or roadwin. Hard to decide !!! Any suggestion !!!

basically u already narrow down to the types of bike, comet & roadwin similarities in most aspect expect for the engine.

v-twin or 4-valves single??? :confused:

now your choices r just engine types....

wat r their pros & cons?

this is the decisions u have to make.

PROs

v-twin = more power & cheaper

single = simple & less parts, fuel economical, lesser engine oil, one ignitor plug.

CON

v-twin = consume more fuel, more parts replacement, more complex engine.

single = lesser power & expensive.

maybe u can think of more PROs n CONs for both of them.

in the end which do u like most?? :confused: tat the one u should buy. :goodluck:

anyone knows the spec of the comet 250 ? i.e top speed, fuel consumtion..etc

2 roads diverged into a wood, and I-I took the road less traveled and that makes all the difference!

wat comet 125 top top and the insurance unser 21 how mcuh..?

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a125/bearsvaluebaby/fireworks718ROXCfmFBsffgif.gif

2005 - SSDC - Class 2B

2006 - BBDC - Class 2A

2008 - CDC - Class 2

Just went down to Hiap Aik , don't know spell correct or not, got qouted 6.9k.... My age is 23.. Other than That shop, any other shop that brings in comet 125???

http://www.hlcorp.com.sg/motorcycles/images/product/758/YZF-R6-black.jpghttp://www.hlcorp.com.sg/motorcycles/images/product/755/ss_FZS1000.jpg