Looking for CBR 918/919 Riders

Blade900

Originally posted by CBR919@Mar 15 2006, 12:54 AM

hey guys,

While warming up my bike this afternoon, i realize the engine sound quite a bit irregular.

Hoping to check with u guys, how do we know our carburator need tuning or balancing?

engine sound irregular, is it normal?

(",)

well if u say when warming up there is some funny sound, do check out the timing chain. the timing chain starts to wear off after 60000kms. u only hear that sound during warming up, after warming up the engine n the sound goes off rite?

carburettor wont make any sound, unless its a flat-slide race carb which gives out a loud irritating rattling sound... :thumb:

Yesterday was history, tomorrow is mystery, today is a blessing. I love today.

1998: honda hurricane

1999: Rxz, TXR150 gamma

2000: L2s turbo

2001: ZXR250

2002: RS125

2003: CBR900

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g43/FireBLade9282/SBFpic.jpg

• Replies 8.1k

Originally posted by CBR289@Mar 15 2006, 09:44 AM

Yup :thumb:

that hardcore rider whack his bike almost everi Mal country road, NSHW even to Thai (this wat he recently do :D ) till now his bike still working fine ..:thumb:

eh where got go thai... my log card still with u so where can enter?? :D :angel:

ya but my bike still working fine, except the stupid RK chain oredi worn off... Louis help... :help:

but i maintain it by changing the engine oil every 2000km... motul semi-syn 10/40

Originally posted by GRassCuTTeR@Mar 15 2006, 02:40 PM

eh where got go thai... my log card still with u so where can enter?? :D :angel:

ya but my bike still working fine, except the stupid RK chain oredi worn off... Louis help... :help:

but i maintain it by changing the engine oil every 2000km... motul semi-syn 10/40

Hmm...tot even without logcard oso can go in freely rite ? :confused:

Fot RK chain wait till april lah..o_O

Originally posted by CBR289@Mar 15 2006, 04:44 PM

Hmm...tot even without logcard oso can go in freely rite ? :confused:

Fot RK chain wait till april lah..o_O

ahah u think it like singapore arh... there must provide log card, then since it under ur name, u must sign a black n white paper to say dat u allow me to take it out of spore.

they do this cos alot stolen car kena smuggled to thailand. imagine a stolen nissan murano or honda CRV they sell in thailand oni RM4k....

Originally posted by CBR919@Mar 16 2006, 04:54 AM

wat is RK chain? :)

Driving chain or timing chain?

the drive chain... at 1st it was very good, first 5++ months no need adjusting... after that i think every 10 days the thing get loosen by itself even though i dint whack the bike. :faint:

guys this is the 2nd time i see got a yoshi camshaft for sale in sbf

the 1st time was like 3 years ago...

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....0entry2790796

but just the cam shaft alone not enough, still need stiffer valve spring, bigger carb, and air box mod to get the power...

unless this guy selling full set of modification parts...

Jimmy's bike got chaneg cam shaft?

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

Originally posted by Sev@Mar 16 2006, 10:50 AM

but just the cam shaft alone not enough, still need stiffer valve spring, bigger carb, and air box mod to get the power...

unless this guy selling full set of modification parts...

Jimmy's bike got chaneg cam shaft?

yup dats wat i was thinking, it might need other parts to complement the HP boost.

jimmy's bike got stage 1 cams, 39mm flatslides, CDI nia. n the thing runs like a madman on the loose.

maybe i'll give the shop a call see wat they say.... cos once change to race carb, inspection cant pass. the carb rattling sound very loud..

Originally posted by Z^^kia@Mar 16 2006, 10:53 AM

u guys ever Mod the tail to a Bigger Rider seat? :cheeky:

Or change the cushion? :confused:

i dun think there is a way to mod to a bigger seat. if the stock is not comfy enuf, can try look around for a Corbin seat. its the equivalence of a Recaro seat for cars. :thumb:

Originally posted by GRassCuTTeR@Mar 16 2006, 10:22 AM

guys this is the 2nd time i see got a yoshi camshaft for sale in sbf

the 1st time was like 3 years ago...

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....0entry2790796

i just called up the guy, his name is clifford. ironic thing is my bike was previously tuned/serviced by him :thumb: he said the cams can be fixed on all CBR900 models cos its a very mild cam... used to increase pickup n midrange. can be used on stock engine, but best it goes with a FactoryPro jetting kit.

really thinking of buying but at this moment abit broke... :sian:

Originally posted by GRassCuTTeR@Mar 16 2006, 01:36 PM

i dun think there is a way to mod to a bigger seat. if the stock is not comfy enuf, can try look around for a Corbin seat. its the equivalence of a Recaro seat for cars. :thumb:

oh ic... any1 done that in SG b4? and where is it? :cheeky:

All you need to know about GSR 400/600, be it buying, maintaining or modding, please refer to GSR 600 Thread FAQ page 281 and 282

Originally posted by GRassCuTTeR@Mar 16 2006, 01:33 PM

yup dats wat i was thinking, it might need other parts to complement the HP boost.

jimmy's bike got stage 1 cams, 39mm flatslides, CDI nia. n the thing runs like a madman on the loose.

maybe i'll give the shop a call see wat they say.... cos once change to race carb, inspection cant pass. the carb rattling sound very loud..

eh..? wots this 39 flatside? its a mikuni carb innit? how does it work? can it fit into a 918?:thumb:

***Only 1 image allowed in signature***

http://bp0.blogger.com/_ES9JRO6fI4g/RgUtxP7he2I/AAAAAAAAAdM/80dbjgjm04U/s320/North+Thai+Laos+454.jpg

http://pistolwhipsite.blogspot.com/

Originally posted by Z^^kia@Mar 16 2006, 01:53 PM

oh ic... any1 done that in SG b4? and where is it? :cheeky:

Corbin is a kind of branded seat. so far oni saw 1 2nd hand unit for sale here by hayabusa_sniper. but very very long ago liau.... :smile:

Originally posted by snailgun@Mar 16 2006, 03:01 PM

eh..? wots this 39 flatside? its a mikuni carb innit? how does it work? can it fit into a 918?:thumb:

yups its a race carb, Mikuni, Keihin does manufacture it. it comes in various sizes, 36mm, 38mm, 39mm, 40mm, 41mm,42mm. its different from our stock carbs,

whereby it does not have the 'butterfly valve' in it. it only has got the flat-slides to control the fuel. (stock CV carbs come with a butterfly valve n the slides)

difference is that with a flatslide carb, the fuel delivery is farkin fast n quantity of fuel delivered is huge. even a stage 7 dynojet kit wont be as good as a flatslide carb.

of cos it can fit the CBR900/919 models, but the price tag will make u fall flat too.

SGD2800 for a new unit.

its nice to have one, but not as nice if u ride with it on Sg roads... low end very torquey n sluggish. it only delivers alot power in the mid n top end.

i add a little bit more on common carburetor knowledge...

http://img73.imageshack.us/img73/4531/carb4zb.jpg

our fuel from our tank does not goes into our engine straight, it will flow to the fuel reserviour at the bottom of the carb an store there.

our throttle cable connect to the jet needle and the 'butterfly valve". when the engine is running, it will create a vacuum effect.

when you twist the throttle. it will pull up the jet needle and open the 'butterfly valve", then the fuel and air will be suck into engine combustion chamber at a fixed ratio (stock carb). to fine tune the process, a jet kit is used. so we can adjust the jet needle opening to obtain a better air-fuel ratio.

for track day or weekend blast through twisty road like grasscutter always did, the engine is maintain at high rpm, hence can fully utilise the flat side carb....

normal sg road can't fully utilise the flat side carb, so no point fix it unless you go track very often and dont use your bike to commute.

wah, bro, lots of mod sia, not going for the 1 piece tail?

your custom undertray will affect the rear light?