additional spare for sv

http://www.tcpsa.com/

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v703/kazuhikyo/combination1.jpg

The more I ride my SV, the less I care about going to the annual bike show and looking at new,

or expensive, or exotic machinery. I'm continuing to mod my bike into exactly what I want it,

and enjoying every mile I put on it.

• Replies 5.2k

So who's going for the wed nite meetup??

dun see much SVriders lehz

http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k127/jytheorem/SV%20-%20Skinzo/SV_jy.gif http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k127/jytheorem/jy_sv.jpg

Wonder y my ST11 dun look as good as my SV...

To catch up with other biker friends and probably update from the guys any ride plan for the next few months as the weather is drying up. :smile:

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/P1140039.jpghttp://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/P1130008.jpg
Originally posted by SV650@February 05, 2007 09:46 pm

Sorry about that buddy. There's a coffee session on Wed. It's somewhere very near to Katong Shopping. Probably we can catch up there if you can make it. For details, check out at Black Canyon Cafe

Bro, check your inbox :)

Originally posted by jytheorem@February 06, 2007 05:59 am

So who's going for the wed nite meetup??

dun see much SVriders lehz

ha ha.... there ain't alot of SVRiders to start with.... those guys from Hornets are nice people too, just like SV650 and KooTeowMan!

Anyway, the usual suspects will be there. :smile:

And hey guys, let's not let this track session become like me joining the R1 guys, it's a join event!!!

2nd of March 2007.SV and R1 kakis Track day!

Meet GP esso @ 10am in the morning...Will be combining with SV650 Kakis..I have leave ample time for guys or gals to take leave......Yeah!!

1. Hachi

2. Xniner(R1)

3. milan(R1)

4. shaunz (must try borrow gear again)(R1)

5. Denden(SV)

Meet 8am at GP esso. Will be going for the 9-10am session. :cheer:

video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-594683847743189197

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y192/brendanchin/Yee.jpg

Who will be the camera man that day!!

Who is the guy saying SV is faster than F4i some time ago...We can have a friendly match...hee hee No hard feeling one.....On bo!!!

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Meet GP esso @ 10am in the morning...Will be combining with SV650 Kakis..I have leave ample time for guys or gals to take leave......Yeah!!

1. Hachi

2. Xniner(R1)

3. milan(R1)

5. Denden(SV)

6. Kazuhiko(SV6) still pending but most likely will go ( Autoadd ) hee hee

Meet 8am at GP esso. Will be going for the 9-10am session.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

So who else going for the mitup tml nite???

I 80% going, unless my car later for collection from workshop

http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k127/jytheorem/SV%20-%20Skinzo/SV_jy.gif http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k127/jytheorem/jy_sv.jpg

track session start at 10am only so timing changed to 9am

Jythoerem, you really miss out on this one.... KooTeowMan, Natureman, SV650man, Kazuhiko, Hachi, Orangdez, Vandice turned up.

Orangdez, yeah it might be me, I'm the loud one, always like to sing along and scream and shout while I ride(siam siam SV lai liao!!!).

Ami422, what a waste you didn't join us.... make sure you don't miss out the next round! JYtheorem, KooTeowMan, Hachi, Kazuhiko and Adrianslacker all live in the East, perharps next time can 'convoy' to our meet ups together....

And where's Weiz? :confused:

Meet GP esso @ 9am in the morning...Will be combining with SV650 Kakis..I have leave ample time for guys or gals to take leave......Yeah!!

1. Hachi

2. Xniner(R1)

3. milan(R1)

5. Denden(SV)

7. KooTeowMan(SV)

8. Natureman(SV)

Meet 9am at GP esso. Will be going for the 10-11am session.

Kazuhiko{b/], kana big brother, you'll better make wise chioces....

hi Denden,

Can you collect the photos from Alan so we can post it on this forum. It is hard to gather most of the sv riders. But today many of us have actually made the extra effort to turn up. John and Vandice have upgraded the suspension for better handling.

Btw how is your new bike? plan for long touring huh?

regards

Kazuhiko

The more I ride my SV, the less I care about going to the annual bike show and looking at new,

or expensive, or exotic machinery. I'm continuing to mod my bike into exactly what I want it,

If anyone who come across good offer for zx 10 or zx 6 suspensions, i have extracted the step by step for the installation of the suspension.

Fitting a ZX10 shock to a mk1 SV

You need to cut the battery box i found this to not only be the plastic part but also the metal hinged part attached to the tank (but not part of the tank)

As said on that thread the shocker doesn't come with any bolts which is a shame as mine came with the bolt at the top of the shock which was perfect for fitting the bottom of the shock to the linkage, you will have to measure up how long you need the bolt and what width and then get one to do this as already mentioned in the thread the standard shock has a thread on it at the bottom...hence the need for the new bolt and nut.

To do this mod you need to:

-Mount the bike with an abba stand or similar, I not paddock stands as they seem a bit unstable to me and the rear swing arm needs to be free moving... but if its your only way then be careful, very careful and its going to be very hard...and you need a friend that's strong . basically don't do it.

-take off the back wheel (undo wheel nut, slide out the axle, slacken off chain adjusters and remove the chain from the back wheel and slide out the wheel)

-take off the side grills by the front seat and then take off the front seat.

-undo the shock bolt at the top of the shock (14mm...Mine was very solidly on and caused great difficulty...then I got the proper tools...and it was hard but manageable) then the linkage bolt then the bottom shock bolt.

-the swing arm I think is now completely free, lift it up and slide the shock out the bottom.

-now slide the zx10 shock in...and mark where you need to cut on the plastic battery box and cut, (I used a Dremmel)...make sure you move the battery out of the way first though...please ...I had to cut a little of the left of the box (as sat on the bike) to allow me to be able to reach the screw for either compression or rebound damping (the one at the top)

-now undo the two Allen bolts at the front of the tank and the two hex bolts at the back of the tank and take it off...I just rested it on the bike to stop me having to disconnect everything.

-now take the zx10 shock and mark how much needs to be cut off and where...it was from the left hand side for me...you will see what i mean when you come to do it.

-now fit the zx10 shock and bolt up the linkage etc

-then put the tank back on...check the hinge doesn't foul the shock reservoir. Tighten up the bolts.

-put in a foam block under the battery to stop it resting on the shock reservoir. refit the battery...I had to get rid of the plastic shelf normally on top of the battery area to allow it to fit...don't so what I did and reattach the battery the wrong way (positive on negative and vice versa....3 blown fuses and allot of irritation that caused...)

-tighten everything and make sure everything so far is back on properly.

-set the rebound damping to middle on the shock and tinker with it as you ride to find what you like.

-depending on your weight set the compression damping. I'm 11.5 stone kitted up so backed it pretty much fully off as the spring is slightly to strong for my weight anyway.

-now put the back wheel on and chain etc. set the chain slack.

-now to set the sag...mine as it came was pretty much ok so yours might be.

-remove any load at all from the back suspension...measure from the axle to a static point above it...say the foot peg hanger. Note it down.

-now take the bike and let it down and stand it up as it would be if it were standing without the side stand...employ a friend or brother...if your like me...measure the same, axle to the static point...it should be less...

Now sit on the bike and measure the same again...

-these are your static and active sag measurements...look here for what you want etc and adjust preload etc accordingly..http://forum.svrider.com/index.php?topic=61655.0

Now put everything back on and your ready to go. Now all you need to do is get the front sorted if it's not already...

Stuff you need:

Allen key set,

Good wrench set

Foam block

Zx10 shock

Extra bolt.

A friend

A ruler/tape measure

Pen and paper

A Dremmel or good hacksaw and patience

Abba stand or similar.

Originally posted by Denden@February 07, 2007 09:57 pm

Meet GP esso @ 9am in the morning...Will be combining with SV650 Kakis..I have leave ample time for guys or gals to take leave......Yeah!!

1. Hachi

2. Xniner(R1)

3. milan(R1)

5. Denden(SV)

7. KooTeowMan(SV)

8. Natureman(SV)

Kazuhiko{b/], kana big brother, you'll better make wise chioces....

this will be a very fun session where pointers and experiences can be shared among us..

Something to get the mood going....

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/Rides/Pasir%20Gudang%20Tracks/4mcopy.jpg

1. Hachi

2. Xniner(R1)

3. milan(R1)

5. Denden(SV)

7. KooTeowMan(SV)

8. Natureman(SV)

9. 'L"(R1 auto add)The Blue colour R1 with 2 side saddle bags

Nice meeting u all, guys no time to talk much, I hope next meeting will get to know u all more...

Originally posted by Denden@February 07, 2007 11:34 pm

Jythoerem, you really miss out on this one.... KooTeowMan, Natureman, SV650man, Kazuhiko, Hachi, Orangdez, Vandice turned up.

Orangdez, yeah it might be me, I'm the loud one, always like to sing along and scream and shout while I ride(siam siam SV lai liao!!!).

Ami422, what a waste you didn't join us.... make sure you don't miss out the next round! JYtheorem, KooTeowMan, Hachi, Kazuhiko and Adrianslacker all live in the East, perharps next time can 'convoy' to our meet ups together....

Yeah.. missed out the fun again :cry:

My car repair was quite massive, suppossed to collect it at 3pm, but they cant solve the problem so delayed...

I got lost taking public transport to lengkee sia... Sadz... ended up taking cab after taking MRT n bus...

By the time i collected car already 7.30pm, just in time to help the workshop 'close shop' :sweat:

JY - Should have asked me, I live around leng kee area mah. yesterday's turnout was good. u really missed it! .. we ended around 10:30pm lo. Call us next time to check if we still around

It's nice to see so many SV riders, hope to see the prefect 10(or more) soon.

very tempted to go along for the Track session(want to go see see look look) do't think I have the $$ for the gears.

Originally posted by Denden@February 07, 2007 11:34 pm

I will try my best not to miss the next meeting........

when next one? I get my consent form ready.... :sweat:

91-92: 84 Yam LC125

95-97: 88 Suz GSX400R & 88 GSX400FW

97-01: 95 Suz Bandit400

01-04: 96 Suz DR650SE

04-11: 99 Suz SV650S

05-05: 94 Suz DR200SE

06-16: 06 Kia Rio 1.4(M) Sedan

11-12: 02 BMW F650GS

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

1. Hachi

2. Xniner(R1)

3. milan(R1)

5. Denden(SV)

7. KooTeowMan(SV)

8. Natureman(SV)

9. 'L"(R1 auto add)The Blue colour R1 with 2 side saddle bags

10. Motraxx33(H6)

Originally posted by hachi@February 06, 2007 08:38 pm

Who will be the camera man that day!!

Who is the guy saying SV is faster than F4i some time ago...We can have a friendly match...hee hee No hard feeling one.....On bo!!!

WAH KAU! Who say that?

Originally posted by Limsteel@February 08, 2007 11:57 am

when next one? I get my consent form ready.... :sweat:

Bro, you mean track session or coffee session?o_O

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/P1140039.jpghttp://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/P1130008.jpg