[Group] SBF DUCATI Monster

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Jan 6 2005, 11:52 AM

bcos it has tacho n speedo ?

ohh the additional tacho...u can get it even if u dun have it ma...so it should not be a problem even for others yr bikes

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

• Replies 14.5k

2002 models suppose to have better engines, less valve clearance. think best thing is to go talk to the folks at Minerva, Jade. Find out from the horse's mouth.

Frankly, the 2002 bike you saw is not bad. it's well maintained, and well, it's 2002, which is not easy to find.

Yo, Shoei, you've taken your Duke to track before? anything to watch out?

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Jan 6 2005, 11:52 AM

bcos it has tacho n speedo ?

A 2002 one will have 2 front brake disc as well....

I'm found a few monsters selling but no 2002. Think more imptly its well maintained.

rideupnorth.blogspot.com

The 2002 M400 does not have 2 disc brake, it has the caliper holder for the right, but it's single left.

Any idea how much total to upgrade to twin disc? master, calipers, cables, rotor the works ... unnecessary, but nice.

Cat

Originally posted by coolcat@Jan 6 2005, 09:55 PM

The 2002 M400 does not have 2 disc brake, it has the caliper holder for the right, but it's single left.

Any idea how much total to upgrade to twin disc? master, calipers, cables, rotor the works ... unnecessary, but nice.

Cat

My apologies...

During my Monster-buying-check-it-out sessions, I learnt from the owner that it is not possible to upgrade to a twin disc. Not for a 1998 one. He got the info from EXCEL. The reason given by the mechanic is that there would be too much braking power for the monster 400 to handle.

rideupnorth.blogspot.com

Today I'd like to tell you my story.

It is really a great tale… still without an ending.

My name is Federica and I am 28. My friends call me "Kenny", and I must admit I like this nickname! I love engines. I inherited this passion from my father.

Unfortunately he passed away too soon and he could not event see my dream coming true: to have a bike on my own. He was a biker, too, but he did not share with me my love for the Ducati Monster. I fell in love with the Monster when it first came out, but it seemed impossible for me to buy one. However, having a bike of my own seemed impossible for me! I was full of passion, but a small scooter was everything I could afford, because I was studying and I had not a job.

At 16 my parents promised me Aprilia AF1, Futura 50cc… but in the end, no bike. At 17 my dad allowed me to ride his Honda Nighthawke 450… under his supervision.

http://www.ducati.com/docs_eng/bikes/scoop_page/scoop_page134/images/f01.jpg

It was wonderful (even if I was not able to reach the ground with my feet so I had to start from a short wall)! I dreamed about becoming a woman biker and I envied those "rare birds" I sometimes saw passing by.

I kept wondering: will I manage to do it someday? Sometimes I rode (badly) some 125cc that brave friends lent me, but nothing more.

My brother is a biker and, for everyone, the only biker in the family. I was cultivating this passion inside myself while, outside, he was riding his Aprilia 125.

The fact that a girl could love motorcycles this way seemed strange to everybody. I would have loved so much to practice with my brother's bike, but soon after he bought it he had a serious accident. He healed soon, but the bike was destroyed and my parents did not want another bike in the family.

So, for years I had to be satisfied with riding as a passenger. I started hoping to get engaged to a nice boy, who would have been able to love me and… would be a true biker!

After some "bikeless" love affairs my dream became a reality. Two years ago I fell in love with Angelo and our passion for each other is limitless. The sparks that ignited our love were his personality and… his bicylinder.

Angelo has a red Ducati 748 and during our first dates it was often a topic of conversation. My passion for bikes and, above all, for Ducati, was not lost on him!

My will to have a bike on my own increased. That 748 always in sight, the roar of the engine, that unique sound of its dry multi-plate clutch drove me crazy.

After a few months I was looking for my own Ducati Monster. I had been working on a steady job for a few years so I could afford it then. I'm neither tall nor strong and not even an expert rider, so I had to choose the right bike.

The Monster 620 Dark seemed a good solution, even if I would have liked it red (but the price was a little higher).

After many visits to Ducati Stores, Angelo found a Monster… different from all others! One of the rare Monsters 400 created for Japan, brand new and… red!

There was only one. It was my only chance. Was it a kind of experiment to see if it could have been suitable also for Italy? I don't know.

At that particular time I was not in the Store with Angelo but, without even having seen the bike, I decided to buy it instantly.

In less than ten days it was in our garage. Riding my Monster (it still sounds strange to my ears!) was wonderful since the beginning; there is a great feeling between my bike and me. I could not believe I would have felt so at ease. And my riding skills surprised me, too! Now it's my turn to feel a "rare bird": on my Monster 400 I feel really unique.

We are a very nice family, the four of us: Angelo, the 748, the Monster and me. My Desmo experience has only begun and I'm proud of it. I know every event in this Ducati world will stay in my heart forever.

Angelo likes to ride on racetracks… maybe one day I will be able to do the same! Who knows? I dedicate this dream come true to my dad. I'm sure that, if he had still been here, he would have loved my Monster as much as me.

Federica "Kenny" Rinaldoni

http://www.ducati.com/docs_eng/bikes/scoop_page/scoop_page134/images/f02.jpg

rideupnorth.blogspot.com

hey, Kenny, that's a cool story .... happy that you have realised your dream.

Met a duke rider at the lights today; we gave each other knowling smiles and parted with a friendly wave. It was a nice elated feeling when it happened.

Another time a 60 plus year old gentleman came up to me and asked if he could listen to my engine; said that he used to own a Ducati 175cc for 20 years! Obviously he had much fond memories of his Duke.

It's experiences like these that makes the duke rather different from the more common bikes, i suppose.

Kenny, you live in Singapore? Quite a few women riders on the road these days.

Cat

Originally posted by ArmyBoy@Jan 6 2005, 10:30 PM

My apologies...

During my Monster-buying-check-it-out sessions, I learnt from the owner that it is not possible to upgrade to a twin disc. Not for a 1998 one. He got the info from EXCEL. The reason given by the mechanic is that there would be too much braking power for the monster 400 to handle.

y not try a bigger monster?? its shiok.. keke... :lovestruck:

Your Cash Cow.. Moo Moo....

Daily Interest 2.0% - 4.0%

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

Theres absolutely no need to upgrade to twin discs. THe single disc setup is lighter than the twin disc setup, so the bike is actually more agile.

But after one track session, you'll come to appreciate double disc brakes, cos the single disc, although powerful enough for street usage, starts fading and overheating after several 160+km/h hard brakings...

Anyway, the newer Monsters come with the right side caliper mounts, its easy to upgrade it to a twin disc setup, just purchase a new rotor, caliper, and upgrade the brake pump. About $1000 plus I guess :D

Yes, the Monster 400 is a great bike, enough power for daily street riding and the occasional ride up north. Its agile enough to keep up with the big boys in the twisties, only loosing steam on the straights. :thumb:

Originally posted by nE0@Jan 7 2005, 04:46 AM

Theres absolutely no need to upgrade to twin discs. THe single disc setup is lighter than the twin disc setup, so the bike is actually more agile.

But after one track session, you'll come to appreciate double disc brakes, cos the single disc, although powerful enough for street usage, starts fading and overheating after several 160+km/h hard brakings...

Anyway, the newer Monsters come with the right side caliper mounts, its easy to upgrade it to a twin disc setup, just purchase a new rotor, caliper, and upgrade the brake pump. About $1000 plus I guess :D

Yes, the Monster 400 is a great bike, enough power for daily street riding and the occasional ride up north. Its agile enough to keep up with the big boys in the twisties, only loosing steam on the straights. :thumb:

hmmm... try a monster 1000S n u will nvr regret... keke.. hopefully... :cheeky:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

Originally posted by shoei@Jan 6 2005, 11:30 AM

why must be 2002 one?

I don't want one that is too old, that's why looking for 2002 onwards.

Originally posted by coolcat@Jan 6 2005, 09:42 PM

2002 models suppose to have better engines, less valve clearance. think best thing is to go talk to the folks at Minerva, Jade. Find out from the horse's mouth.

Frankly, the 2002 bike you saw is not bad. it's well maintained, and well, it's 2002, which is not easy to find.

Yo, Shoei, you've taken your Duke to track before? anything to watch out?

Cat

Well, indeed it's not too bad, but I'm not comfy that it's been left idle for some time.

I know it's not easy to find, I'm still looking for one!

Originally posted by coolcat@Jan 6 2005, 11:36 PM

hey, Kenny, that's a cool story .... happy that you have realised your dream.

Met a duke rider at the lights today; we gave each other knowling smiles and parted with a friendly wave. It was a nice elated feeling when it happened.

Another time a 60 plus year old gentleman came up to me and asked if he could listen to my engine; said that he used to own a Ducati 175cc for 20 years! Obviously he had much fond memories of his Duke.

It's experiences like these that makes the duke rather different from the more common bikes, i suppose.

Kenny, you live in Singapore? Quite a few women riders on the road these days.

Cat

Kenny lives in Italy.:sorry:

rideupnorth.blogspot.com

today hor, i went to change oil, spark plugs and oil filter...

came up to $76... ex not huh?

Oil, 19 per bottle, 3 bottles... but one free cos the guy at the shop promised my dad that...

plugs 5 each...

ducati oil filter 28...

ex not huh?

From then to now...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v485/solley/bikes.jpg

Originally posted by Bikeless Biker@Jan 7 2005, 08:46 PM

today hor, i went to change oil, spark plugs and oil filter...

came up to $76... ex not huh?

Oil, 19 per bottle, 3 bottles... but one free cos the guy at the shop promised my dad that...

plugs 5 each...

ducati oil filter 28...

ex not huh?

hmmm.. still okie lahz..

mine w/o spark plug is ard 132 liaoz.. hehe...

Originally posted by ayuluv@Jan 8 2005, 12:49 AM

hmmm.. still okie lahz..

mine w/o spark plug is ard 132 liaoz.. hehe...

what you do... how come so ex?

From then to now...

Originally posted by Bikeless Biker@Jan 8 2005, 12:52 AM

what you do... how come so ex?

hmm... 4 bottles of engine oil.. n one oil filter.. hehe..

urs is cheap lioaz... :smile: so no worries...

Originally posted by ayuluv@Jan 8 2005, 03:07 AM

hmm... 4 bottles of engine oil.. n one oil filter.. hehe..

urs is cheap lioaz... :smile: so no worries...

WAH...

SO EX ARH... :giddy: :giddy: :giddy:

From then to now...

Originally posted by Bikeless Biker@Jan 8 2005, 10:06 AM

WAH...

SO EX ARH... :giddy: :giddy: :giddy:

hhe... okie lahz... once every 5k.. still affordable... tua gu all lidat one lor... :cheeky:

Originally posted by ArmyBoy@Jan 8 2005, 06:56 PM

Is there a Ducati Onwers Group in singapore?

DOGS... hahahahahaha....

oops...

OH OH... Guess what I bought!!! :cheer:

and Neo... I saw you today... Outside LAB... you were at the Multistorey carpark right? I saw you come out... Heard the termis sound... saw your panniers... lol...

From then to now...

Originally posted by Bikeless Biker@Jan 9 2005, 01:41 AM

DOGS... hahahahahaha....

oops...

OH OH... Guess what I bought!!! :cheer:

and Neo... I saw you today... Outside LAB... you were at the Multistorey carpark right? I saw you come out... Heard the termis sound... saw your panniers... lol...

DOGS!! :faint:

But i found one on yahoo.

Bikeless, wat did u buy? Raincoat?

I bought a set from ah boy 3 months dack in anticipation of wet weather during nov-dec. It sucks...

rideupnorth.blogspot.com

Originally posted by ArmyBoy@Jan 9 2005, 02:06 PM

DOGS!! :faint:

But i found one on yahoo.

Bikeless, wat did u buy? Raincoat?

I bought a set from ah boy 3 months dack in anticipation of wet weather during nov-dec. It sucks...

I bought Aeroblade from LAB yesterday... lol....

preparing for my.... ____!!!! (this is the major thing that i bought... guess guess!!!) wahahahahahaha...

From then to now...