[Group] SBF DUCATI Monster

Originally posted by limpeiwah@Nov 23 2004, 10:40 PM

neo how much does a timing belt change cost? what are the items that need servicing/replacing for a major service?

I think it costs about $50 each.

Servicing is like any other bike, but because Ducati's have no valve spring, the valves don't go back to its original position on its own. Therefore, the valves need to be adjusted very deligently. For Japanese bikes, if the valve clearances are not good, at most you loose power as the valves don't open as much as before. For Ducatis, it can mean the valves don't close properly, or close too tight.

As its a V-twin, vibrations are higher than inline4s (which is good), but carbs can go out of sync faster.

Other than that, its Spark plug, engine oil, oil filter, air filter etc... Same as any bike.

• Replies 14.5k

wow... went to minerva workshop at kallang ind...

the monster wif termi almost make me deaf sia... :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

n oso.. one lovely MV F4 S 1+1 :smile:

Your Cash Cow.. Moo Moo....

Daily Interest 2.0% - 4.0%

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

Originally posted by nE0@Nov 25 2004, 02:13 AM

I think it costs about $50 each.

Servicing is like any other bike, but because Ducati's have no valve spring, the valves don't go back to its original position on its own. Therefore, the valves need to be adjusted very deligently. For Japanese bikes, if the valve clearances are not good, at most you loose power as the valves don't open as much as before. For Ducatis, it can mean the valves don't close properly, or close too tight.

As its a V-twin, vibrations are higher than inline4s (which is good), but carbs can go out of sync faster.

Other than that, its Spark plug, engine oil, oil filter, air filter etc... Same as any bike.

How often would the valves need to be adjusted? If too tight or loose, what'll happen? :confused:

Originally posted by Jade@Nov 26 2004, 09:00 AM

How often would the valves need to be adjusted? If too tight or loose, what'll happen? :confused:

All a new Ducati owner or owner to be needs to know

I wouldn't go into the mechanics of what will happen, but lets just say you will not only loose power, but might be potentially expensive if you neglect it for too long.

Say.... is it true that Ducati no longer produce Monster 400?

The Monster 400 is actually a "small bored" M620, for the Japanese market due to demand. Japanese has a 400cc limit licence bracket too, like Singapore.

But I think thats being phased out now, not sure. So if Japan ceases to have this 400cc licence bracket, there will be no more new 400cc bikes anymore, because I don't think they are going to produce 400cc bikes just for the Singapore market.

yupz.. dis is true... imagine.. usin a 620 cc engine for a 400 wor..

not even makin a 400 for a monster 400....

btw... minerva still got one monster 4 lyin ard (yellow) color...:smile:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

Yo...

My dad just got a FR Monster 400 today! WOOHOO!!!

Anyways, seems like there isn't a dedicated Monster Thread here, so thought I'd start?

Love the bike! Love the power... haha... 6 more months to my 2A :sweat: Illegal rider... hahaha... took it for a spin just now in the estate car park... Couldn't get past first gear though... haha... Love the sound.. Love everything about the bike!!!

Anyways, where do you guys usually service your bikes?

What do you guys do at the servicing?

From what I read, alot of things can DIY... Like what huh?

What are the common problems you guys face with your Monsters?

Sols

From then to now...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v485/solley/bikes.jpg

Common problem with all Monsters is that they are all simply begging for some Termis! :D

Now please, no OT here. Just a thread for Ducati Monster lovers!

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10129/Flor05.JPG

Tell me, how many decade old street bikes still look this good? :thumb:

Originally posted by nE0@Dec 1 2004, 12:40 AM

Common problem with all Monsters is that they are all simply begging for some Termis! :D

Whats Termis? :confused:

From then to now...

Oh yah... Forgot to ask you guys... When you guys go over hump hor, will it hit the exhaust part that is leading out of the engine? The just below the engine that part?

Cos just now i went over the humps at my place hor, kanna the pipe leh...

From then to now...

Originally posted by Bikeless Biker@Dec 1 2004, 12:43 AM

Whats Termis? :confused:

More important than what, is how it sounds :D

Originally posted by nE0@Dec 1 2004, 12:46 AM

More important than what, is how it sounds :D

Huh??

You're making me more blurr... hahahahaha...

From then to now...

Originally posted by lea@Dec 1 2004, 12:44 AM

i ride a monster...free to go out on weekends...no khakis...

Me too, no Monster Kakis... :(

Btw, are your forks lowered? Check the yokes. If the stick out too much, then try raising the forks back to stock height. Otherwise, your fork might have too little preload, or the internals are shot (Heavily landed wheelies?)

you mean the rear shocks arh?

so i should load it more arh?

and should i select it to hard?

or you toking about the front forks?

From then to now...

come come... got x we go out la kopi... form a red team.. hehe....

but i no $$ buy monster lehz... :weep:

omg... a nice monster i saw at minerva show room...

accordin to the discription.. should b dis monster 900

really gd condition.. juz dun like the color oni..

wat a pity....

Ducati Monster 900 (for sale)

Originally posted by ayuluv@Dec 1 2004, 01:44 AM

omg... a nice monster i saw at minerva show room...

accordin to the discription.. should b dis monster 900

really gd condition.. juz dun like the color oni..

wat a pity....

Ducati Monster 900 (for sale)

hey... looks like my dads bike... hahahaha...

From then to now...

wah monster ah!!!!!!!! buay tahan leh for my tp in end dec. see all those monster make me drools non stop.. cant wait cant wait!!!!!!!!:cry: i think the 900 monster that is selling is a gd buy considering the very low mileage. tsktsk. haiyah.........

Come original, u gotta come original...

Guest devil eyes

I no monster I no khakis mind to ride with me

i think singapore should get rid of 2a license... on 2 n 2b. dont think it make much sense to have so many licenses.

Come original, u gotta come original...