[Group] SBF DUCATI Monster

:sleep: wah! so quiet arh..where have all the monsters gone to? Winter time....hibernating?

:bounce: WAKE UP!!! :bounce:

Is it just a dying thread or a dying trend?

Pledged your love for the monster

Said your love is forever

But another beauty comes by

And it's monster good-bye.

• Replies 14.5k

Originally posted by beagleneu@Nov 10 2005, 09:11 PM

:sleep: wah! so quiet arh..where have all the monsters gone to? Winter time....hibernating?

:bounce: WAKE UP!!! :bounce:

Is it just a dying thread or a dying trend?

Pledged your love for the monster

Said your love is forever

But another beauty comes by

And it's monster good-bye.

haha.. wat a way to hit the street... :cheeky:

envy those can own monster.... din even haf one... :cry:

Your Cash Cow.. Moo Moo....

Daily Interest 2.0% - 4.0%

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

One fine day, after I'm done with superbikes, I'd definately get a Monster again! :D

See the first S4R S images here. They show Ducati's new Monster S4R S with the 999S Testastretta engine. Wat a monster... :lovestruck:

http://www.raptorsandrockets.com/images/S4Rs004_RR.JPG

http://www.raptorsandrockets.com/images/S4Rs006_RR.JPG

http://www.raptorsandrockets.com/images/S4Rs001_RR.JPG

http://www.raptorsandrockets.com/images/S4Rs002_RR.JPG

http://www.raptorsandrockets.com/images/S4Rs003_RR.JPG

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

Wa, it even comes with 999 rims in front!

This is gonna be a real beast.

oh mi god saw a monster outside lab today. :lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

engine parts not that shiny if not will be perfect. by the way is there any aftermarket exhaust for the 400? 2a. hope 2a come soon.

termis & remus are the popular ones...

rrr has a pair of titanium termis... but only comes w the sale of his monster 400. Heard it before... sounds very satisfying!!

Anyone has a pair of Oval Termis Aluminium to let go? Or is there any thing like this at all?!! :)

rideupnorth.blogspot.com

ducatitan : sorry bro i dun think there's a meetup today...no response fr the rest..

i enquired abt remus slip-ons..they're abt 500-600 per can...for monsters...almost close to 1.2k..

yoshimura tri oval surprisingly quite ex ... 500-600 per can as well.

akrapovic is slightly more than the two mentioned.600-700 per can .

arrows r abt 700 per can...

all these r the legal versions..with noise restrictors tht could be removed..

i was extremely surprised by the prices...coz i tot termis were the most ex...but apparently they cost abt almost the same as the rest... if i not wrong?

Originally posted by Tincan@Nov 11 2005, 01:02 PM

Thanks for sharing the pictures of the S4R S. Can we have the full picture of the bike or more picts please.:cheeky:

no worries.. am an italian babe luver.. will post once got hold.. luv mv as well...

i dun wan to b like other countries.. wher they really anti the other vice versa...

luks sad... :giddy:

I got my Monster already but I need to clean off those dirty stains. WD40 and brasso can't do much. Any other good products that I can try?? I don't like to see my bike dirty.

c26492.jpg
Originally posted by yohji@Nov 12 2005, 06:54 PM

I got my Monster already but I need to clean off those dirty stains. WD40 and brasso can't do much. Any other good products that I can try?? I don't like to see my bike dirty.

Where are the stains?

If its on your engine, you can try aerosol degreasers sold in bike accessories shops. They are quite low strength, safe for rubber seals and paintwork.

To remove really tough stains on engine cases and parts, you gotta use the stronger degreasers, but before that you gotta strip your bike.

well.. alot of bike shops use "dian you" to clean stains... make yr bike shinny.. :smile:

congrats bro. see you ard at next gathering:cheer:

First of all, I would like to say THANK YOU ALL for welcoming me : ) I am still very new to the bike and dare not really do cornering because I used to ride a Runner. Monster's front shocks seems to dip quite alot and quite fast in corners. Which is scary. I find that the riding position is more "sportsbike" than Super4. I find myself leaning forward quite alot and that makes my arms tired. But the more aggressive posture is great when accelerating.

Neo, I am trying to clean the engine area, foot peg area, front fork area, exhausts and the speedo's black plastic area. Basically all silver color metal areas which are stained with black substances, except for the speedo's black plastic (looks like water-stained but can't get the spots off). Is there a brand of degreaser that you can recommend me? Can I get it at LAB? I tried using kerosene. Worked on some stains but the bloody stubborn ones really can't clean off. I have tried Autosol with toothbrush also not much help.

Ayu, dian you is what uh? Battery water? Actually someone told me to use petrol. But how to purchase petrol in a small container .. very funny right? And petrol is so expensive.

BTW after washing my bike, my speedo and trip meter not working. I don't think I damaged anything. I only washed my bike with car shampoo and water that's all. Going down to workshop tomorrow for a checkup. Think my Monster is starting to show his/her temper liao hehe. BTW I can't decide whether it should be a boy or a girl. :p

c26492.jpg

congrats on yr monster ! :thumb: u took over the dark monster or rrr's one?

when i got my monster there were these oil stains on the engine casings(metal surfaces) as well...i used autosol(with cloth)..it did help remove but needed too much effort to remove a small area of stain(think hard polishin for 10mins to remove a small area maybe thumb size)...

and honestly to most people they cant see the difference after u polish the engine casings coz it's more like rough matt metal than shiny crome parts(eg.harley v twins)...

i always spend more time on the tank+one-seater crowling+rims n those two smoking barrels!! those r the parts tht people take notice more of and the effort needed to polish these parts r less tedious as to polishin the engine casings.

i suggest ROCKOIL silicon polish spray...just spray+wipe.unfortunately now out of stock so using typical polish+wax..so tiring ! and effect not as great...

Originally posted by yohji@Nov 13 2005, 05:06 PM

Ayu, dian you is what uh? Battery water? Actually someone told me to use petrol. But how to purchase petrol in a small container .. very funny right? And petrol is so expensive.

erm.. no nid to use petrol. I oso not sure wat it is in eng.. its some hw black color

The mechz at KnT uses it.. n its effective... :thumb:

Yohji > Front dips too fast? I find the forks are quite harsh actually. Check your fork seals, maybe need to change the fork oil.

And yes, the riding position is more aggressive than S4. Wider and straighter bars are somewhere inbetween Scrambler and streetbikes.

Many Monsters, including mine, have had the engine cases sprayed silver and black. I dislike this practice actually, cos I think all that paint actually affects cooling. If yours is painted, maybe try stripping off all the paint on the next service. If its not, then try using degreaser, again with the bike stripped. Most workshops will have powerful degreasers that cut through all these stains, make your engine look good as new. :thumb:

WHat model year is your monster? The speedo runs by cable, so it should work unless the cable snapped. The tacho might be a bigger problem.

Originally posted by yohji@Nov 13 2005, 05:06 PM

Neo, I am trying to clean the engine area, foot peg area, front fork area, exhausts and the speedo's black plastic area. Basically all silver color metal areas which are stained with black substances, except for the speedo's black plastic (looks like water-stained but can't get the spots off). Is there a brand of degreaser that you can recommend me? Can I get it at LAB? I tried using kerosene. Worked on some stains but the bloody stubborn ones really can't clean off. I have tried Autosol with toothbrush also not much help.

BTW after washing my bike, my speedo and trip meter not working. I don't think I damaged anything. I only washed my bike with car shampoo and water that's all. Going down to workshop tomorrow for a checkup. Think my Monster is starting to show his/her temper liao hehe. BTW I can't decide whether it should be a boy or a girl. :p

Hi yohji,

I believe we share the same problem on the bike. I have try many session cleaning it but the stubborn stain doesn't goes off. It's due to the water battery leakage and have cause it I think.

I have thinking of powder coat (not too sure is name is correct) but I hate to leave my bike for just 1 single day.

I am thinking of giving it a coat of high temp to it and not too sure if it'll last or not. So far I have only apply matt black high temp spray onto the frames and it lasted me a few good months before it fade.

Using petrol to wash it? I'm not too sure it'll work but it'll sure save a lot of time.

If you have other easier solution, I hope you can share with us and keep posted.

Oh yes, I used to like to wash my bike with lots of running water. And in the beginning, after the wash, the monster show it's temper! It'll either not light up the headlight or the speedo went dead. But after you climb onto the beast and show them you're in control and I bet you your monster would be tame down like a cat. Hence I name my bike duCATi since it's afraid of water even on rainy days.

Women will never be as successful as men because they have no wives to advise them.

My 999 has been through the heaviest, worst thunderstorms I've ever seen, those 5metre visibility type, and survived....

It has been through "lighter" rains at 100+km/h, and survived...

Aquaplaning over standing water on the Kuantan highway at 130km/h is something I'll never forget. But, it proves the bike is tolerant of rain! :thumb:

Hi all, sorry to barge into this forum just like that but as i'm looking rather urgently for a ducati monster 400. Would really love to get a black one in 97-99 year of make. Kindly reach me at 9-0272211 if you are letting go of yours. Thanks a million! Cheers!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

1996 - 1997 : Aprillia RS125 Extrema

1997 - 1998 : Yamaha DT200WR

1998 - 2005 : Not been Riding.....

2005 - 2006 : Honda XR400RV & Ducati Monster

2006 Onwards : Something BIG ! ! is coming.......

Originally posted by nE0@Nov 14 2005, 10:46 PM

My 999 has been through the heaviest, worst thunderstorms I've ever seen, those 5metre visibility type, and survived....

It has been through "lighter" rains at 100+km/h, and survived...

Aquaplaning over standing water on the Kuantan highway at 130km/h is something I'll never forget. But, it proves the bike is tolerant of rain! :thumb:

weather proof??/ haa... :cheeky: