i think that the ticking sound is just our metality only.. if u ignore it the bike performance is still the same right.. like that time when go kulai.. omnilash still fly what no different..its just noise only ah.. i think casper one is super noise.. but is there any effect??

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f128/inflames85/funny.gif
  • Replies 16.5k

bro happy cookies after u come back how yr bike?? any ticking??

hi guys.

i'm considering between the FJR and the FZ1S but i cant decide. may i know roughly how is the fuel consumption like on the FJR? nevermind if its not as powerful as the FZ1S but i believe tourers are meant to cruise not chiong all the way. haha.

plus i'll be using it daily too. jams, not a problem for me though cos i'm working odd hours.

luckily i sold mine off before any of these probs... :giddy:

jus joking bros.... :angel:

Wah, mutant, u finally gotten your FJR 'again' ah??? :thumb:

ya..

i have make anouncement before mah..

"i have back with my pride" :faint:

hi guys.

i'm considering between the FJR and the FZ1S but i cant decide. may i know roughly how is the fuel consumption like on the FJR? nevermind if its not as powerful as the FZ1S but i believe tourers are meant to cruise not chiong all the way. haha.

plus i'll be using it daily too. jams, not a problem for me though cos i'm working odd hours.

this 1 u should ask happy cookies. he is riding a 06' FJR & he just come back from mae hong son with a FZ1S & CBR1000. :smile:

hi guys.

i'm considering between the FJR and the FZ1S but i cant decide. may i know roughly how is the fuel consumption like on the FJR?

the consumption is abt 18 to 17 /litre

nevermind if its not as powerful as the FZ1S

what u mean fjr is less powerfull then fz1?? get yr fact right.. fjr is 1300 eh

but i believe tourers are meant to cruise not chiong all the way. haha.

...............................................................................:thumb:

i have try once with fz1 before with my friend.. my fjr is going abt 245 then he follow,,.. he say his fz1 finish liao the throttle.. he too going abt the same speed

bro happy cookies after u come back how yr bike?? any ticking??

Tick sound....???? until today, my millage is abt 66k, it still ok w/o any funny tick sound, wat i can hear is only wind sound.....:cheeky:

My Ride:

Phantom 200 ( Jun 04' - 28th Jan 05')

Super 4 Spec III (28th Jan 05 - 14th July 06)..Defender Jr.

Silver Storm FJR1300A ABS (14th July 06)..Defender

Where I been Done..

06' 3NCR ( Sg - Betong - Phuket - Hatyai )

07' MHS ( Sg - Hatyai - Hua Hin - CM - MS - GT - Doi Tung - MHS - Doi Ithanon )

08' Phuket ( Sg - Phuket - Hatyai )

See my ride @ happycookies.multiply.com :thumb:

hi guys.

Hi, Currently I m riding a 06' FJR and this is my daily bike...

Compare in between FJR and FZ1s, my 06' consumption can hit til 18km/l or 19km/l and sometime it also hit 20km/l.... and bare in mind that I m not those 'kuai kuai' riding kakis...:cheeky: beside this, FJR fuel tank is bigger then FZ1s, when the time FZ1s need top-up, FJR at least have half tank more... and also FJR side box come w bike but FZ1s need to buy saperately... After all, what I can tell you is..... FJR is a good bike..(think all FJRian here will agree w me, rite...??):cheeky: :cheeky:

My Ride:

Where I been Done..

Cookie monster, how the hell you managed to clock mileage of 66k on a '06 model! Every week go thailand ar?

Mine '04 model, now same mileage as yours!!

Apr '99 - Sept '00 (Yamaha WR200)

Dec '00 - Jul '03 (Honda CB400 Version S)

Jul '03 - 5 June '06 (Yamaha XJ900S Diversion)

10 May '06 - Current (2004 Yamaha FJR1300ABS)

29 Aug '07 - Current (Suzuki Swift Sports-Mega)

04 Feb '09 - Current (2009 Honda City LX i-Vtec)

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y26/Casper4XXX/SBFSignatureIV.jpg

i think that the ticking sound is just our metality only.. if u ignore it the bike performance is still the same right.. like that time when go kulai.. omnilash still fly what no different..its just noise only ah.. i think casper one is super noise.. but is there any effect??

:lol: I cant be bothered by the ticking though sometimes it can get really irritating esp during warm ups but it'll go off after about 5km or so lah.

This ticking is common for yamaha engines. My previous Diversion used to have it too but not as loud as FJR.

A new Yamaha rider most probably WILL find this sound very irritating and start worrying that something is wrong with their rides, esp if he/she switched over to Yamaha from Honda. Not to worry lah, it doesnt affect the performance. I spoke to quite a number of mechanics, most tell me the same thing. Those who tell me otherwise are trying to con my $! :D

there is a big weight difference between FJR & FZ1

OMG!! Cheeko and his weight issues again! :pray:

hi guys.

If I'm not wrong, horsepower of FZ1S is lower than FJR. Afterall the difference in c.c do count. However as FZ1S is lighter than FJR, power-to-weight ratio might balance off.

FJR being a sports touring bike gives more stability (due to its weight) during touring trips on highways though.

Guess at the end of the day, it's the rider's choice.

thanks guys i now have a clearer picture of what to expect.

and yup, i really dig the OEM side panniers on the FJR. i've seen OEM side panniers on the FZ1S '06. butt ugly.

Cookie monster, how the hell you managed to clock mileage of 66k on a '06 model! Every week go thailand ar?

Mine '04 model, now same mileage as yours!!

:cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky: Dont say like that, os else missy will kill me....

Is my daily bike wat, wat to do...?? some more I use to come out for coffee, supper, dim sum and nasi lemak mah....

My Ride:

Where I been Done..

thanks guys i now have a clearer picture of what to expect.

and yup, i really dig the OEM side panniers on the FJR. i've seen OEM side panniers on the FZ1S '06. butt ugly.

I beg to differ on this one.... The Fazer1 with oem fairing and panniers looks nice. The fairing cutting look alot like FJR....

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

The tick is real... But whether it does significantly affect the performance is still not proven...

All dun need to worry one lah... Want to die oso me and capi die first.... If it really happens, ur will know one...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

The tick is real... But whether it does significantly affect the performance is still not proven...

All dun need to worry one lah... Want to die oso me and capi die first.... If it really happens, ur will know one...

Touch Wood... Touch Wood.....

My Ride:

Where I been Done..

just wanna share with all FJR-ian here.

fixing an incorrect oil filter might lead to engine damage.

make sure u r using the original oil filter with part number 5JW-13440-00-00

mine had fix wrongly with R1 oil filter which is shorter then original FJR's, after change back to correct 1 i felt significant diff in power & smooth travel.

but engine damage might already done.. :cry: :cry:

just wanna share with all FJR-ian here.

fixing an incorrect oil filter might lead to engine damage.

make sure u r using the original oil filter with part number 5JW-13440-00-00

mine had fix wrongly with R1 oil filter which is shorter then original FJR's, after change back to correct 1 i felt significant diff in power & smooth travel.

but engine damage might already done.. :cry: :cry:

:slapforehead: :slapforehead: :slapforehead:

My Ride:

Where I been Done..

:slapforehead: :slapforehead: :slapforehead:

U guys meeting tonite at KTM ??

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

U guys meeting tonite at KTM ??

yup, meeting "saly'...... :cheeky:

My Ride:

Where I been Done..

Any brudders here changed tensioner before?

- How much the OEM tensioner cost (direct from AM/HL/AC)?

- Motordiam workmanship charges (which shop)?

- Any good motodiam who can get it right the first time and every time?

Good friend of mine highly recommend me to replace the tensioner as he experienced the ticking sound previously also. Everything back to normal when he replaced the tensioner at Old Southerns. Trying to get more live feedbacks from bros here, before deciding.

Thank you in advance!

Alamak, 'Meh Meh'! Why so careless? Some mechanics find it troublesome, so anyhow say this oil filter also can..blah blah blah..CRAB! Yamaha must have reason(s) for coming out with one extra long oil filter just for FJR.

Darn those irresponsible mechanics and motodiams!!!

Pray for the best. Maybe engine not damaged yet, just that it needs some time to get used back to the original oil filter.