Honda RVF400/NC35

Yo dude.... have u brought yr bike back to the shop yet?

Tell them yr problem. Most guys here frequent K&T at UBI, maybe Clifford there can help you.

I had similar problems a year back when i did a full svc. To make the long story short...i found out later the bloody blackshop at Kaki Bukit that did my bike actually fit in the wrong sparkplugs and also evidently stole 2 carb washers from my carbs...thereby causing my bike to carburette badly and misfire all the way. Basically a con job to get me to leave my bike at thier shop and they can chop me.

Unfortunately for them, i wasnt born yesterday and saw thru thier devious plot.

Another word of advise is...you may wana change out the Factory Jets. BEcoz if not tuned properly and if the jets are old and worn (not as lasting as OEM jets), you will get the same problems.

Goodluck dude.

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

• Replies 6.7k

Originally posted by gaMbit@Mar 5 2005, 08:10 PM

HELP HELP!!!:help: :help: ANY MECH IN UBI TAT DOES RVF?!?

REPLY TO ME ASAP EITHER BY PM OR POSTIN HERE PLS!!:cry:

farnie.... if u go thru the whole thread.. u can see K&T's name so many times... and of courser the location of it....

i dun understand the need of u posting this question :nono:

Originally posted by gaMbit@Mar 5 2005, 08:10 PM

HELP HELP!!!:help: :help: ANY MECH IN UBI TAT DOES RVF?!?

REPLY TO ME ASAP EITHER BY PM OR POSTIN HERE PLS!!:cry:

y dun u try planet :smile:

http://img159.exs.cx/img159/3673/030222ib.jpg

i'm waiting for u in the corner

Originally posted by eugene_kips@Mar 5 2005, 07:58 PM

cant start? got cranking sound? starter still working? battery still working? more info pls.

Dun think HKL is good with rvf personally....you stay near hougang...I stay at hougang....nearby got a lot of good mech....ah hock or ah kiong from combine motor @ sinming, mengtong from loois @ ubi and clifford from K&T @ ubi I think all not bad...rite guys?

HI eugene!actually all there la.the crank(half fcuked up),battery gd,starter all workin..jus nothin aft tat la bro:giddy: where is this k&T exactly :confused: not too sure of location...

Originally posted by Shay@Mar 5 2005, 08:07 PM

Yo dude.... have u brought yr bike back to the shop yet?

Tell them yr problem. Most guys here frequent K&T at UBI, maybe Clifford there can help you.

I had similar problems a year back when i did a full svc. To make the long story short...i found out later the bloody blackshop at Kaki Bukit that did my bike actually fit in the wrong sparkplugs and also evidently stole 2 carb washers from my carbs...thereby causing my bike to carburette badly and misfire all the way. Basically a con job to get me to leave my bike at thier shop and they can chop me.

Unfortunately for them, i wasnt born yesterday and saw thru thier devious plot.

Another word of advise is...you may wana change out the Factory Jets. BEcoz if not tuned properly and if the jets are old and worn (not as lasting as OEM jets), you will get the same problems.

Goodluck dude.

hey shay thanks for the advice:cheer: i'll most probably go down on monday or something,get these checked out!!:smile:

Originally posted by Soulmace@Mar 5 2005, 08:57 PM

farnie.... if u go thru the whole thread.. u can see K&T's name so many times... and of courser the location of it....

i dun understand the need of u posting this question :nono:

...sorry did not have the time to go through the whole thread as i'm not free to do so,my posting came after shay,cos i was taking some time to type it out,due to technical diffculties...

THANKS FOR UR CONSTRUCTIVE HELP:sian:

MADE THINGS SO MUCH EASIER FOR ME!~:thumb:

Originally posted by gaMbit@Mar 5 2005, 10:00 PM

...sorry did not have the time to go through the whole thread as i'm not free to do so,my posting came after shay,cos i was taking some time to type it out,due to technical diffculties...

THANKS FOR UR CONSTRUCTIVE HELP:sian:

MADE THINGS SO MUCH EASIER FOR ME!~:thumb:

no problem....

:offtopic: i see that u are one G&R's fan :D

Originally posted by gaMbit@Mar 5 2005, 10:03 PM

THINK i'll go to k&t bro:sweat: jus got to think of a way to start my baby:help:

Hi...

reading from yr post, i assume that you have cranking sound and all your electrics are working fine right? IF they are....then maybe its your startup procedure wrong.

U just got the bike? RVFs although been a 4 stroker, can be quite temperamental at times becoz of the carburettor technology. We are very much at the mercy of the atmpospheric conditions around us with no SMArt Ass ECU to compensate accordingly.

I think i wrote abt this in here before...but NVM...i oso lazy to search , so i'll draft it up one more time for you;

U notice those newer tua gus, say a 2001 R1....carb model. Thier ECU is smart enuff to detect a cold start in the morning and thus, it will maintain the Idling Revs at about 2000RPM for about a min.

Then the idling revs will slowly come down and settle at 1000rpm. The fast idling is to warm up the engine faster,allowing oil to circulate thru the various engine parts for lubrication. Fast idling oso provide a faster initial flow of air and fuel thru the jets to clear up whatever sediments or dried up petrol sh*t that clogged up during the nite.

SO for our RVFs, no smartass ECU how? Answer is; HUMAN ECU.

When you press the starter switch, open up a tiny bit of throttle (not too much). When the engine has turned over, open up the throttle slightly more and bring up the revs to about 2000RPM or slightly less for about 20-30seconds. Then, let the revs drop to about 1500RPM and maintain there for another 20-30seconds. Then gently let go the throttle..your bike should now settle in for a nice idling without dying off. U can move off after u put on helmet. But excercise care not to exceed 5000 RPM at upshifts till yur Temp gauge touch the 1st bar.

Oh~! it helps if you sit the bike upright too.

Guest rvf666hell
Originally posted by y2kredbull@Mar 5 2005, 01:23 PM

I using Kenso.Guess i'll change back to original needles but will just use the Kenso main jets for top speed.Will have to leave my bike at the shop for at least a few days if i really want to use the full Kenso jettings.But i can't afford to leave it.Maybe will do so when i spray new paintwork and have to leave it at the shop.

hi bro , so how the kenso jet performance compare to the factory ... how the performance ..:sweat: :sweat:

Originally posted by Shay@Mar 6 2005, 03:42 AM

Hi...

reading from yr post, i assume that you have cranking sound and all your electrics are working fine right? IF they are....then maybe its your startup procedure wrong.

U just got the bike? RVFs although been a 4 stroker, can be quite temperamental at times becoz of the carburettor technology. We are very much at the mercy of the atmpospheric conditions around us with no SMArt Ass ECU to compensate accordingly.

I think i wrote abt this in here before...but NVM...i oso lazy to search , so i'll draft it up one more time for you;

U notice those newer tua gus, say a 2001 R1....carb model. Thier ECU is smart enuff to detect a cold start in the morning and thus, it will maintain the Idling Revs at about 2000RPM for about a min.

Then the idling revs will slowly come down and settle at 1000rpm. The fast idling is to warm up the engine faster,allowing oil to circulate thru the various engine parts for lubrication. Fast idling oso provide a faster initial flow of air and fuel thru the jets to clear up whatever sediments or dried up petrol sh*t that clogged up during the nite.

SO for our RVFs, no smartass ECU how? Answer is; HUMAN ECU.

When you press the starter switch, open up a tiny bit of throttle (not too much). When the engine has turned over, open up the throttle slightly more and bring up the revs to about 2000RPM or slightly less for about 20-30seconds. Then, let the revs drop to about 1500RPM and maintain there for another 20-30seconds. Then gently let go the throttle..your bike should now settle in for a nice idling without dying off. U can move off after u put on helmet. But excercise care not to exceed 5000 RPM at upshifts till yur Temp gauge touch the 1st bar.

Oh~! it helps if you sit the bike upright too.

Yoz shay,

juz wondering could it be due to vaccum line under the tank? juz read something abt this from motorcycle lane pple, they mention it can cost the bike to die as well....juz a thought...wats the effects of this vaccum line anyway? thks.

Originally posted by eugene_kips@Mar 6 2005, 11:28 PM

Yoz shay,

juz wondering could it be due to vaccum line under the tank? juz read something abt this from motorcycle lane pple, they mention it can cost the bike to die as well....juz a thought...wats the effects of this vaccum line anyway? thks.

hey .. euegenE_kips.. long time no see.. how is your baby?

might be going track soon ... interested?

Ride hard & safe...

redbull im considering too,but if u going can call me..erm guys wad the reccomand NGK spark plug model ? might wan to hav a check,i keep feel my SEAT is HOT. do u guys experince this ?

'R6' RedlineRocketRedesignRazor sharpRevolutionaryReward 6.

http://content.wicms.com/shared/images/YAMAHA_Common_Images/Logos/yamaha_logo_red.gif

Originally posted by HamsterZ@Mar 7 2005, 02:23 AM

hey .. euegenE_kips.. long time no see.. how is your baby?

might be going track soon ... interested?

yah lah damn long liao heehee when track day...if i can make it will go cc first....my baby is good still btw got a 2nd hand mra liao...fyp damn busy and sian now leh.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....showtopic=67222

btw check this out, got potential for to be your toy bike?

Originally posted by eugene_kips@Mar 6 2005, 11:28 PM

Yoz shay,

That may be possible too. Our fuel feed system works on Vaccum principle..when the vent tube gets block, fuel starvation will occur unless we mod the tap to be Gravity Feeding instead.

I think in GAMBIT's case...there can be alot of causal factors. I was stating the proper start up procedures so that he will not get play out by some of the inherent quirks of the NC35.

I firmly believe from his scenario the problem lies in the Fuel/carburetion systems. Wrong sparkplugs can cause the problem too like in my case before.

Originally posted by Shay@Mar 7 2005, 09:22 PM

That may be possible too. Our fuel feed system works on Vaccum principle..when the vent tube gets block, fuel starvation will occur unless we mod the tap to be Gravity Feeding instead.

I think in GAMBIT's case...there can be alot of causal factors. I was stating the proper start up procedures so that he will not get play out by some of the inherent quirks of the NC35.

I firmly believe from his scenario the problem lies in the Fuel/carburetion systems. Wrong sparkplugs can cause the problem too like in my case before.

thks for your reply....I am sure there are a lot of factors for such a problem and your start bike procedures is definitely good.....cos been using your method to warm up everyday too.

was juz wondering abt the effects of this vaccum line and thought you could help clear my doubts abit......the motorcyclelane pple mention it in one of their mail but din really clarify lah so i blur blur.....you definitely help me out! :smile:

Originally posted by eugene_kips@Mar 8 2005, 01:19 PM

thks for your reply....I am sure there are a lot of factors for such a problem and your start bike procedures is definitely good.....cos been using your method to warm up everyday too.

was juz wondering abt the effects of this vaccum line and thought you could help clear my doubts abit......the motorcyclelane pple mention it in one of their mail but din really clarify lah so i blur blur.....you definitely help me out! :smile:

Ahh~ that makes u the 5th person who supports my "HUMAN ECU" or Fast Idling theory. Including a mech that i went to.

But iz up to individuals really. SOme rvfians dun do it. and they even told me hastily to let go my throttle when i was starting my bike up cold haha...saying that such starting method will spoil the engine or the bike will get used to it. Which may have some truth as some bikes can maintain an idle no matter cold start anot. SO u dun have to if your bike wont die off.

But the truth of our theory is basically sound. Look at the cars these days...my wife's Acura tsx for e.g; if started up cold, would rev at 2K RPM for about a minute...the ECU slowly bringing the revs down to the normal 900 RPM (for cars) as water temp and other readings become stabilized. Definitely wont spoil engine la since cars and other newer class 2 bikes also does the same thing when the engine is cold.

will elaborate more when i have time. Chao guys.

Originally posted by rvf666hell@Mar 6 2005, 05:20 PM

hi bro , so how the kenso jet performance compare to the factory ... how the performance ..:sweat: :sweat:

Just got back my bike from Motoworld.Apparently one of my plug caps not working properly causing the other 3 plugs to burn abnormally.Changed 1 plug cap and all 4 plugs.Resetted my Kenso jets and wow!Now the bike seems to be 'lighter' during riding.Overall rating for the Kenso so far would be 8/10.The difference is there.The small dude with the specs at motoworld really did a good job.Its just the distance between motoworld and my place(Woodlands) really sometimes makes me lazy to go all the way there.But they really got lots of stuff.BTW,anybody looking for the single seater which replaces the OEM pillion one,they still have one.Without brackets @ $140.Mine i'm selling off $70 without brackets.:thumb:

Bikes Previously Owned: Aprilia RS125, Kawasaki KRR150, Honda RVF400, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ6N, Suzuki Hayabusa ,Yamaha RXS115, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha Nuovo Elegance, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ16,Honda Vtec1, Yamaha FZ1N, Honda Wave-S, Honda CB400X, Honda NC750X,Yamaha TMax 530, Vespa GTS 300, Yamaha XMAX 300 

Current Ride: Honda X-ADV 750

Originally posted by y2kredbull@Mar 8 2005, 07:33 PM

Just got back my bike from Motoworld.Apparently one of my plug caps not working properly causing the other 3 plugs to burn abnormally.Changed 1 plug cap and all 4 plugs.Resetted my Kenso jets and wow!Now the bike seems to be 'lighter' during riding.Overall rating for the Kenso so far would be 8/10.The difference is there.The small dude with the specs at motoworld really did a good job.Its just the distance between motoworld and my place(Woodlands) really sometimes makes me lazy to go all the way there.But they really got lots of stuff.BTW,anybody looking for the single seater which replaces the OEM pillion one,they still have one.Without brackets @ $140.Mine i'm selling off $70 without brackets.:thumb:

i looking for the single seater wif bracket :smile:

2003 - 2004 -->TA200 -- FW9**8Y

2004 - 2005 --> Rvf -- FQ****R

2005 - 2006 --> Cbr 954 -- Fw 3**6 B

2006 - 2007 --> Cbr 954 , Wave , Vios '07

2007 - Now --> Vios '07

If U CaN't CaTcH Up WiF Mi PlS StAy BeHiNd N EnJoY ThE ViEw

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/7070/rvfgroup5cy.jpg

Guest rvf666hell
Originally posted by y2kredbull@Mar 8 2005, 07:33 PM

so how the top ... got any flat spot or any lag lag b4 shooting out ... what size of jet they use .... kind of interest ... :sweat: :sweat: :cheer:

Originally posted by rvf666hell@Mar 11 2005, 06:15 PM

so how the top ... got any flat spot or any lag lag b4 shooting out ... what size of jet they use .... kind of interest ... :sweat: :sweat: :cheer:

Have not try top yet as have not go to JB since changing the jets.But at 120-130 very smooth compared to when i was using stock jets.Main jets size 107.RVF_yoshi using size 110.Go get it dude.You won't regret it.$240 inclusive of installation at motoworld.Last i heard from the sales dude,left with 1 set.Better if fixed with RedRev.Very,very "light" when open throttle.

Bikes Previously Owned: Aprilia RS125, Kawasaki KRR150, Honda RVF400, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ6N, Suzuki Hayabusa ,Yamaha RXS115, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha Nuovo Elegance, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ16,Honda Vtec1, Yamaha FZ1N, Honda Wave-S, Honda CB400X, Honda NC750X,Yamaha TMax 530, Vespa GTS 300, Yamaha XMAX 300 

Current Ride: Honda X-ADV 750

About the radiator or coolant pressure cap, mine is not original one and a fren of mine told me its actually for another bike model. Will there be any risk if i continue using that as I presume that every bike has different temp pressure.

Originally posted by il4@Mar 12 2005, 02:45 AM

as long as its running 1.1 bar, and its not faulty, you need to fret over it

so how do i know whether its runing 1.1 bar? what does bar means anyway? the pressure?

Originally posted by il4@Mar 12 2005, 10:07 PM

the radiator cap are labeled with their pressure in bars.

cooling system have to be partially pressurised, the cap make this possible.

I saw mine which is 6.0.. So what does that means?