Hi guys, need to find out have anyone try to customised a RIDER'S back rest for their bike? Any Shadow rider did it? Reason been that in 1 month time my office will be relocated all the way to Tuas but I live in Pasir Ris town. Hoped to get feedback so that I can prepare myself for the long journey to work daily! I am scare my back ache will come back lah. Pls help and if possible where or who can make it. Thank you in advance.

PS: Attached is my bike.

post-28-1177586728.jpg

• Replies 21

Hi Issac, How are you? Thank you for your advise. I am sure that Seng Kwang can do but hoping to see if anyone have better lobang that will not hurt my pocket so much. If any brother have 1 to sell pls let me know, can PM me. Also looking for rear backrest and luggage rack set for Shadow ACE. Anyone?

I may do the modification myself. I think may work...:sweat:

Another alternative.

Chap Foong Steel Industry

Mr. Chong

Blk 5063 Ang Mo Kio Park 2 #01-1369 Singapore 569566 Tel: 64824357

No 95. Jln Permatang Taman Desa Jaya 81100 Johor Bahru Tel: 07-3531775/6

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul.

One of the dragstar guys has it done. Can't member his nick at the moment though or where/how he got it done. He has backrest for both himself and his pillion. He's the one who was selling the risers and handlebar. Oh I think the same guy you got your bars from.

w y x m m

Originally posted by plasticblackspecs@April 27, 2007 04:58 pm

maniahk!!! That's his nick

Well, he got the rider's backrest fabricate at Seng Kwang. :sweat:

Hi nights, plasticblackspecs, how are you guys? Yes, you are right maniahk was the one I got the handle bar from. He's is also the one that fabricate in JB. That what he told me.

But anyone had it done on the shadow?

Anyway, Chap Foong, I called on 2 different occasion but he say they are not doing motorcycle fabrication parts anymore.

Wasted no competition and price to compare.

Hmmm...Shadow dunno le. But I find a bit not very nice le to have a backrest for the rider. If you tour alot then I guess it'll be practical. But I think ok la. The Shadow is already build for touring. Not very stressful :)

Maybe if you scared for your back, try minor adjustments of your seating posture? I usually sit further back when I need a bit of a stretch and forward when my back aches abit.

w y x m m

Yah, I think you maybe right. That is what I am doing..move in-a-bit...move out-a-bit..move back in bit.....

Oh yah plasticblackspecs, my office will be moved to Tuas Ave 6, if you are there give me a call. My offer still stands!

Well, if anyone has 1 set of rest and ssisy rack to sell, pls let me know. Thanks!

Originally posted by mhvin65@April 27, 2007 06:33 pm

Hi nights, plasticblackspecs, how are you guys? Yes, you are right maniahk was the one I got the handle bar from. He's is also the one that fabricate in JB. That what he told me.

But anyone had it done on the shadow?

Anyway, Chap Foong, I called on 2 different occasion but he say they are not doing motorcycle fabrication parts anymore.

Wasted no competition and price to compare.

Ah.... my bad. I thought maniahk did his at Seng Kwang...what a bad memory I have. :nono:

Have you ever thought of adding cushion to your pillion seat? An increase in height and re-design could well add a little support to your back too.

Hi plasticblackspecs, thank you for the invitation! I very much wish to come and meet up but at current I ready can't. Work up to my neck lah..Maybe have to change job?!

Hi nights, don't say that, all our mind are packed with stuffs and information...talking about this, just to share with all. The new bus lane system, be careful, I see alot of "man in white" with camera ready to shoot especially before and after a bus stop.

You may be right, like what plasticblackspecs quoted" find a bit not very nice le". I talk to the saddle guys and see if it workable. Thank you to all.

Any help so far for this? Some have said go to Ah Boy, unfortunately, they do no have nice ones. Went to Moto World, they do not bring in. Went to Chiap Lee or something, they do not have it anymore. Seng Kwang advises to buy one that fits bike example Givi backrest, but can't find. Any ideas?

actually i've done one wic is like a "flip up" rider backrest. when there isn't any pillion, the pillion seats can be flip up to be the rider backrest. But i've remove it from my bike and i didn't take any pix.

hmm... but tat time i rewrap my "rider backrest" at Enugene Saddery and he told me he can do it too. maybe u can ask him? juz tell him last time there is a guy wic did something like tat for a phantom he shld be able to remember.

"Respect All Others Until They Disrespect You."

Hi DragonLee,

Thanks for the information. I will try Enuggene and give him a call.

Still riding your Phantom?

Hi DragonLee,

Thanks for the information. I will try Enuggene and give him a call.

Still riding your Phantom?

yup, but i change the flip up seats to another version. :cheeky:

Hi DragonLee, can provide more details? How it look and work? Thks bro!

hmm... its something like u gotto get another piece of seat base. either fabricate it using fibre or get a 2nd hand seat. then fix a hinge below the seat base and fix it onto your stock base. something like tat. hope u understand.. :cheeky:

sorry DragonLee, don't understand! You got photo of your current mod back rest?

no leh.. i dun usually take pic for my bike. :cheeky: