Originally posted by josean@Jul 27 2005, 02:02 AM

Kong: What about being a pastor?

Kong's dad: You get 10% for each follower, but you dont need to recruit your followers, since GOD will be your recruitment officer. And you dont have to be worried about being voted out either. Lastly, you followers need to believe whatever you say until they die before they find out if there really is a god.

Kong: Wow, I will be a pastor then!

Hmm... whats the morale?

From my personal view, it means getting paid for doing nothing.. :sweat:

• Replies 488

Originally posted by ah_tee@Jul 28 2005, 01:12 AM

i was laughing my toes off wen the fat gal in my class started distributing flyers abt CHC sueing pple in my lecture hall and it has nothing to do wif my course, she jus wants to spread the news

is this normal practice ?

Gain more supporters mah... maybe more people will turn out.

Even more than the Huang Na's case, the Kallang river dismemberment case or even the NKF saga! Maybe it will balloon and get featured on CNN! Who knows!? :D

Originally posted by speedkills@Jul 28 2005, 01:36 AM

hey there, i am just saying becareful of wad you post. actually come to think of it, why am i even warning you when you are the least appreciating it. not like i am the one who is going to engage a lawyer. just be responsible of whatever you post. you can copy and paste it everywher you go. as long as its under your id and no quotes whatsoever, no one cares wher you got whatever joke / letter / essay from. it will be directly linked to you. btw, what has NKF got to do with this matter?

:sleep:

I don't think hes liable to get sued, relax.. he is only quoting a joke on the net.

Surely the organization isn't so pity right? Your god teaches you to be forgiving.

If he get sued, i would most probably laugh.

Originally posted by speedkills@Jul 30 2005, 05:15 PM

thats why i said no point debating all the way. the door is always open...everyone is welcomed to stay and go up to themselves :smile:

but honestly, surely as a member, i would try to clear any doubts..but defending it? well, i am not up to it..God will himself do it. why should i try defend God.. whatever happens, it wouldnt shake His throne anyway.. :thumb:

so be happy.. but if you really think that we build the church out of vanity/greed...then i think we are far from the standard. the bible says that the Throne of God is made of many precious stones the one seen in the vision of Isaiah when he was taken to heaven. we only have titanium clading!!! not titanium building...so its far less glorious. anyway when the church looks good....its not the pastor who will look good...maybe people will say, " thats the pastor of that nice church.." but no one will say, "wha his house very nice hor..he really rich siah.." because people all know that he didnt build it out of his own money tho he really made lots of sacrifices..hmmm... well,everyone got their own perspective...and i cant and dun intend to change them. :goodluck:

Pardon me, i am curious,

mind telling me where we came from since there was only adam and eve?

Adam + eve= offsprings right?

What abt Noah's ark? Noah's family and animals were on borad only right?

How did one family generate so many offsprings that populate the world today?

Really curious... :confused:

Originally posted by josean@Jul 30 2005, 04:29 AM

lemme conclude with an encounter i has regarding my NS officer last time

He was telling us after CNY that a bunch of his wife's church friends came over. So as usual before meals give thanks to god for food, clothes, whatever. He was complaining to us, "KNN thank god for fu3k. I pay for the food and clothes. If I stop working U think he(referring to God) will feed the family issit. never seen them thank me before every meal"

*note my former NS Superior was obviously not a Christian

its nothing constructive thou.

Lol... so sad... work his ass off to feed the family and someone else gets the thanks. o_O

errr, jus a casual qns

anyone wondered how much salary the pastor is earning ?

http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r239/utopian355/ABCD0006-smallcopy.jpg
Originally posted by BaaBaa Black Sheep@Jul 30 2005, 10:23 PM

Gain more supporters mah... maybe more people will turn out.

Even more than the Huang Na's case, the Kallang river dismemberment case or even the NKF saga! Maybe it will balloon and get featured on CNN! Who knows!? :D

different pple try to gain attention for different reasons

abt hung na case, any idea how much donations the mom collected?

lookin at all the facts of the case, how she left her wif took all that, n the way the IO speaks on the news makes me wonder whether she has anythibng to do wif it or not

http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r239/utopian355/ABCD0006-smallcopy.jpg

dear speedkill,

i have got nothing else to add also.

the debate shall end here as i have said my piece and so have you.

ride safe

hhahhaha...so interesting...told you it's no use arguing with a christian...they will just go on and on and on. remember "kingdom of heaven." hhahha....even see christians arguing with each other when their own intepretation of the religion differs. i have been to this church and was totally shocked by what goes on. talking in tongues(more like gibberish), rock concerts(with disco strobe lights even. made me think i was at Zouk). one thing good i gottasay though, their head honcho can really talk. he should go into politics, he had the whole auditorium mesmerised. really good speech. by the way, no end to this arguement with them, i just had to add this cause i found the last few pages of this thread very interesting. we shall all know the answer when we kick the bucket......HAHAHAHAA

http://www.geocities.com/ycy08/signature.jpg
Originally posted by josean@Jul 31 2005, 01:54 AM

dear speedkill,

i have got nothing else to add also.

the debate shall end here as i have said my piece and so have you.

ride safe

ride safe too :thumb:

Originally posted by ah_tee@Jul 31 2005, 01:47 AM

different pple try to gain attention for different reasons

abt hung na case, any idea how much donations the mom collected?

lookin at all the facts of the case, how she left her wif took all that, n the way the IO speaks on the news makes me wonder whether she has anythibng to do wif it or not

Dunno lei..

My mom commented that Huang Na's mom grew so bloody fat. She must be enjoying the highlife in china. Not only the Funeral money but also the insurances she bought for huang na.. In china, the one child policy caused many many families to give or kill their own daughters at childbirth, I heard that my friend's mother china maid killed 2 of her own daughters at birth. So my guess that sacrficing a "worthless" life for so much money is worth it? :nono:

Ray Ng

14 pages... Didn't read all of them. Too much off Topics.

My pass experince with Traffic related matters in relation with a religious function.

Police is more accomodating to religious events as in they will usually set out rules to the religious establishment involved.

Permission to park

Usually for Sunday church where the church management had already request permission from Traffic Police to park, Traffic Police will define to them where they are suppose to park from Point A to Point B with the specified timing. As long as the vehicles parked there keeps to the rules stated, no action will be taken on them.

As for the Cisco officers stationed there, their job requirement could have been only to stop traffic when anyone goes in and out of the church. U can suggest to the church management to get the vehicles waiting along the road to be chased off. For the ferry services, the drivers to be contactable when their crowd is ready to leave. Taxi drivers should be encourage to move on till someone flags them.

For jaywalkers, I suggest to frighten them by honking them when u come across one so as to warn them. U never know when one of them will end up under the wheels of a car. Alternatively u can stop and give them a scolding and shame them in public. Usually their pride is quite important to them.

Another solution will be to get the media involved. Get some of the newspaper firm to go to site during Sundays so that the public can have awareness on this situation.

Usually the church management will remind the church-goers about the situation. There's nothing wrong with the church. Wat went wrong is the selfish people who went to church thus ruining their reputation.

Check with Traffic Police and LTA whether they plan to take on any measures to prevent any congestions or possible accidents.

Last but not least I'm a free thinker just want to help solve this problem.

X1-R 2010 model

Star Brake Lines

K&N Air Filter

EzzyOiler

Fuel Consumption Excel File (Update columns in blue), download @ http://dl.dropbox.com/u/38849257/Fuel%20Consumption-20120222-154031.xls

Originally posted by MS@Jul 29 2005, 08:14 PM

Hey! Christian brothers and sisters!

It's good to bare your heart and soul to your fellow christians when you're down. Seeking God when you're dejected also raises you up.

But what is being presented here is a joke of Christ-like behavior!

God want us to be gentle. Gentle means to be not quarrelsome. Whoever is right or wrong is be judged by God. Anyway all of us fall short in the presence of his glory.

If someone else fires at you in the forum, no one gave us a right to fire back. God will deal with it. I have come across many pple who insist they are right but to the extend of slamming pple with humiliations whether on me or my friends. But that doesn't mean we otta fight back. Don't forget God sees everything.

OK, let's forget about this and shake hands ok? Whether the church is right or wrong, let God decide. I believe all of us has state our points clear enough. Not need to further turn the whole forum ugly.

If we are to think it is all abt "love and peace" and "gentleness" then we are terribly misguided and deceived.

One reason why we cannot accept there should be hard words and rebuke is because we have such a nature that gets offended when we are told that we are wrong. It is the same why we react negatively when we are told the gospel. Because the gospel simply says we are all sinners and we need to be saved. That's hard to take and offensive.

Is it right to be all love and peace and to be gentle all the time?

If we could take a look at what Jesus Himself said, when He rebuked Peter His disciple:

Matthew 16.22-23

Then Peter took Him (Jesus) aside and began to rebuke Him, saying, "Far be it from You, Lord; this shall not happen to You!"

But He turned and said to Peter, "Get behind Me, Satan! You are an offense to Me, for you are not mindful of the things of God, but the things of men."

--------------------------------------------------

What Jesus said to some other people:

Matthew Chapter 23

v23 Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites!

v24 Blind guides, who strain out a gnat and swallow a camel!

v27 Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! For you are like whitewashed tombs which indeed appear beautiful outwardly, but inside are full of dead men's bones and all uncleanness.

v33 Serpents, brood of vipers!

Luke 13.15

The Lord then answered him and said, "Hypocrite!

--------------------------------------------------------------

Let's also take a look at the time when the apostle Paul rebuked another apostle in public:

Galatians 2.11-14

Now when Peter had come to Antioch, I withstood him to his face, because he was to be blamed;

For before certain men came from James, he would eat with the Gentiles; but when they came, he withdrew and separated himself, fearing those who were of the circumcision.

And the rest of the Jews also played the hypocrite with him, so that even Barnabas was carried away with their hypocrisy.

But when I saw that they were not straightforward about the truth of the gospel, I said to Peter before them all…

-------------------------------------------

It is not right to distort the doctrine of peace, love and gentleness. Anyone who had been under discipleship will understand this.

Btw, the private messages MS sent me certainly did not contain "gentleness". I still have the messages.

I am no hero, juz a big fat zero.

Who cares abt the Singapore Idol - when you can be the Singapore Idle?

Originally posted by Phantom00@Aug 1 2005, 11:10 AM

If we are to think it is all abt "love and peace" and "gentleness" then we are terribly misguided and deceived.

One reason why we cannot accept there should be hard words and rebuke is because we have such a nature that gets offended when we are told that we are wrong. It is the same why we react negatively when we are told the gospel. Because the gospel simply says we are all sinners and we need to be saved. That's hard to take and offensive.

Is it right to be all love and peace and to be gentle all the time?

If we could take a look at what Jesus Himself said, when He rebuked Peter His disciple:

Matthew 16.22-23

Then Peter took Him (Jesus) aside and began to rebuke Him, saying, "Far be it from You, Lord; this shall not happen to You!"

But He turned and said to Peter, "Get behind Me, Satan! You are an offense to Me, for you are not mindful of the things of God, but the things of men."

--------------------------------------------------

What Jesus said to some other people:

Matthew Chapter 23

v23 Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites!

v24 Blind guides, who strain out a gnat and swallow a camel!

v27 Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! For you are like whitewashed tombs which indeed appear beautiful outwardly, but inside are full of dead men's bones and all uncleanness.

v33 Serpents, brood of vipers!

Luke 13.15

The Lord then answered him and said, "Hypocrite!

--------------------------------------------------------------

Let's also take a look at the time when the apostle Paul rebuked another apostle in public:

Galatians 2.11-14

Now when Peter had come to Antioch, I withstood him to his face, because he was to be blamed;

For before certain men came from James, he would eat with the Gentiles; but when they came, he withdrew and separated himself, fearing those who were of the circumcision.

And the rest of the Jews also played the hypocrite with him, so that even Barnabas was carried away with their hypocrisy.

But when I saw that they were not straightforward about the truth of the gospel, I said to Peter before them all…

-------------------------------------------

It is not right to distort the doctrine of peace, love and gentleness. Anyone who had been under discipleship will understand this.

Btw, the private messages MS sent me certainly did not contain "gentleness". I still have the messages.

The reason I choosed to mail you in private is because I dun want to tell you off in the public. Its stated in the bible. But if you cannot stand being told then its ok.

The discussions have ended. My advise is that don't dig up things to create another series of havoc. The christianity matter has led to a laughing stock over here. If you insist to continue shooting me with very insulting remarks like what you did in the main, then where is the christian spirit in you? Are you from central christian church? Don't flame me, as I find an argumentative spirit a trademark of CCC. Always cannot wait to rebuke pple. You've misintepreted the pt of rebuking. Rebuking is not done with malice but with love. I think its better for us to take out the log in our own eyes before telling your brother to take out the log in his eyes. Such a person is a what you should know. Even I think I dun have the right to point your mistakes in the public forum. Why not you pray abt it? I will certainly not forget you in my prayers during my cell group.

It is a very terrible thing to twist the facts of the scripture. If like that I am not surprised even if you edit my PM to you and post a different thing here. I find no pt in further replying. Why not you approach some of our christian members & join them in their ministries? Singapore Bible Colledge, Adam Road Presbytarian Church is a good choice. When points clash there's bound to be disagreement. Isn't it a better thing to leave things to God while you've done your best rather than to start to rebuke pple if you can't handle rebuking properly?

Relak lah.. God will always be there.

The reason I choosed to mail you in private is because I dun want to tell you off in the public.

You missed the issue. The point is you choose to be arrogant and harsh in your private messages but gentle in your public messages.

The discussions have ended. My advise is that don't dig up things to create another series of havoc.

I have no wish to "dig up" any of your things. But you had continued to preach your "gentleness" message which is untrue and misleading.

You have consistently advocated "leaving things to God". That is another erroneous thinking. If we are all "leaving things to God", shaking off all responsibilities and not doing anything when things are wrong then it would have been unthinkable.

Btw, why edit your message? Said something wrong?

I am no hero, juz a big fat zero.

Who cares abt the Singapore Idol - when you can be the Singapore Idle?

Sigh.... why making a fool out of themselves.... :confused:

video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-594683847743189197

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y192/brendanchin/Yee.jpg

Originally posted by Phantom00@Aug 1 2005, 12:39 PM

The reason I choosed to mail you in private is because I dun want to tell you off in the public.

You missed the issue. The point is you choose to be arrogant and harsh in your private messages but gentle in your public messages.

The discussions have ended. My advise is that don't dig up things to create another series of havoc.

I have no wish to "dig up" any of your things. But you had continued to preach your "gentleness" message which is untrue and misleading.

You have consistently advocated "leaving things to God". That is another erroneous thinking. If we are all "leaving things to God", shaking off all responsibilities and not doing anything when things are wrong then it would have been unthinkable.

Btw, why edit your message? Said something wrong?

Why not you post what I wrote to you? I find that you've falsely accused me. If you feel I had been harsh and arrogant in my PM to you, then I apologise.

What I said to you in private was what I honestly felt over the incidences.

But if you cannot stand being told off regardless in public or private then why resort to insults? I dun have the messages anymore as my PM box is frequently full with pple inquiring me on bike parts. But I remember clearly that I make it a point never to insult pple even if its a harsh matter, I try to phrase it in the best way I can regardless jokingly or directly.

It is very discoraging to see christians fighting amongst ourselves. Why we don't see pple from other religions fighting among themselves? Thats why we have become a laughing stock. If you continue to be persistant over what you've done, its not going to help. Pple have eyes to see what went wrong. And Most impt, God is supervising and recording everything we do.

C'mon, relak a bit. If you cannot take being told off for doing something wrong then I dunno what else to say.

Originally posted by BaaBaa Black Sheep@Jul 30 2005, 10:16 PM

Hmm... whats the morale?

From my personal view, it means getting paid for doing nothing.. :sweat:

doing nothing? wah, u shld see the sh!t they get, everyting also push to the pastor. i really pity them when they need to deal with those problematic pple, counsel them etc

Originally posted by Ghost00@Jul 31 2005, 04:05 AM

hhahhaha...so interesting...told you it's no use arguing with a christian...they will just go on and on and on. remember "kingdom of heaven." hhahha....even see christians arguing with each other when their own intepretation of the religion differs. i have been to this church and was totally shocked by what goes on. talking in tongues(more like gibberish), rock concerts(with disco strobe lights even. made me think i was at Zouk). one thing good i gottasay though, their head honcho can really talk. he should go into politics, he had the whole auditorium mesmerised. really good speech. by the way, no end to this arguement with them, i just had to add this cause i found the last few pages of this thread very interesting. we shall all know the answer when we kick the bucket......HAHAHAHAA

in suntec?

Originally posted by josean@Jul 31 2005, 11:30 AM

another casual question:

Leviticus 11 plainly forbids us to eat pork, so why did most Bible-believing Christians eat it?

http://chlim01.blogspot.com/2005/07/christ...-go-kosher.html

care to comment ?

btw, HN issue is not relavant here. so pls dun go off topic. ah tee was just citing an example on how ppl gain attention for different reasons.

in the new testament, it states tht everything is clean except for the person who tinks it isn't. simply said, it jus means tht all food r allowed unless u urself says its not clean to be eaten.

Originally posted by redname@Aug 1 2005, 01:31 PM

in the new testament, it states tht everything is clean except for the person who tinks it isn't. simply said, it jus means tht all food r allowed unless u urself says its not clean to be eaten.

meaning to say that even if the food is used to pray to Buddha before christians also can eat lah.

Originally posted by redname@Aug 1 2005, 01:27 PM

in suntec?

its the same both in suntec and jurong west

once 'he' speaks, the rest will follow like zombies. mesmerised by what he says

which is ... like a double edged sword