I let a person COIed my bike while i get another bike. now this person keep getting parking fines, go thru erp w/o cashcard, illegal parking fines. then all summons are mailed to me describing me as the culprit. rider did always pay up fines on time though. my concern is whether all these summons will affect me or not? if they don't, i can ignore them as long as rider pays up fines on time right? if they do affect me, pls let me know what trouble i may get into? thx :(

next time i sure want to drive a dirty rusty beat up old truck.. then paint on the tail-board.. I have claimed insurance on 99 tail-gaters. Are you the 100th? :cheeky:

2003-04 - Phantom TA 150

2006-06 - NSR 125

2006-07 - X9 180

2007 - Bajaj Pulsar :D

Need to BARTER or SELL off used or new items? rollingeggs.com

• Replies 30

Hmmm....

Seems like it might not be good for your records.... but let one of the more seasoned dudes answer your questions...

Hope you have a written contract with the rider in case he decide not to pay

:cheeky: :dozed:

Actually, u can go with ur sub rider to LTA, tell them that u r no longer riding this bike.. And ask them to change the billing adress to ur sub rider place.. Shouldnt be a problem.. u can try call and ask first..

Btw, If ur sub rider pay his fine on time is ok.. Cuz not all offence will affect u.. Will affect u dearly only if he dun pay up..

Actually, u can go with ur sub rider to LTA, tell them that u r no longer riding this bike.. And ask them to change the billing adress to ur sub rider place.. Shouldnt be a problem.. u can try call and ask first..

bike shop dun allow this right? cos bike still under installment under my name. pls correct me if i am wrong here.. will definitely like to make it clear to LTA that its sub rider riding and not me if possible.

next time i sure want to drive a dirty rusty beat up old truck.. then paint on the tail-board.. I have claimed insurance on 99 tail-gaters. Are you the 100th? :cheeky:

2003-04 - Phantom TA 150

2006-06 - NSR 125

2006-07 - X9 180

Hmmm....

Seems like it might not be good for your records.... but let one of the more seasoned dudes answer your questions...

Hope you have a written contract with the rider in case he decide not to pay

i do have a written contract that he is the rider who will be riding the bike for at least a year.. so does it help if in future i got into some messy cases i bring up the contract to vouch that i was not riding the bike during the period?

2003-04 - Phantom TA 150

2006-06 - NSR 125

2006-07 - X9 180

put the insurance as owner non rider. and the coi person as the only rider. so in this case, shld there be demerit points, the points will go to the rider and not the owner since u r non rider.

Sounds like a good plan/....

:cheeky: :dozed:

bro paiseh.. how do i do this? inform LTA or...? btw, i got myself a bajaj pulsar le :angel: but the moment i got it my friend told me the bike vibrates so much that all screws come loose :sian: but i read from the bajaj thread it isnt so.. so which is which?

2003-04 - Phantom TA 150

2006-06 - NSR 125

2006-07 - X9 180

if he never pay up u will have problem renewing ur road tax for each of the vehicles u owned. even if u have valid insurance to cover. its a very tedious process. must got HDB TP LTA blah blah n check why.

bro paiseh.. how do i do this? inform LTA or...? btw, i got myself a bajaj pulsar le :angel: but the moment i got it my friend told me the bike vibrates so much that all screws come loose :sian: but i read from the bajaj thread it isnt so.. so which is which?

hi, u just have to go to NTUC or any other insurance companies. tell them to put owner as non rider. automatically, the sub rider will become the one and only main rider. but only useful for demerit points.

for fines the rider dint pay, owner will still kena. but can fight court case with the insurance as proof.

other misc. fines like tyre botak (cause danger to other rd users), both rider and owner will kena fine.

btw, pulsar does vibrate but none of my screws drop out la haha. coz i ride slow. always around 65km/hr to 85km/hr

I let a person COIed my bike while i get another bike. now this person keep getting parking fines, go thru erp w/o cashcard, illegal parking fines. then all summons are mailed to me describing me as the culprit. rider did always pay up fines on time though. my concern is whether all these summons will affect me or not? if they don't, i can ignore them as long as rider pays up fines on time right? if they do affect me, pls let me know what trouble i may get into? thx :(

aye.. i thought at the back of the summon slip got a collum for u to furnish particulars of the rider? hmmm should not be a problem if he pays up.. for those without demerit points.. for those with demerit points thats a issue.. cause u must furnish the particulars to let them know who committed the offence so as your points wont be affectted

got things behind meh??!! hmm... didnt know that. I will go home n check, thanks :D

2003-04 - Phantom TA 150

2006-06 - NSR 125

2006-07 - X9 180

u mean the actual summon slip they pin on the bike or the letter that is mailed to home ar?

2003-04 - Phantom TA 150

2006-06 - NSR 125

2006-07 - X9 180

Even if the rider pay the summons, when you received the summon letter flip on the other side and write the particulars of the riders and mail back to TP/HDB etc. So, next time the summons will be send to him.

Dont be like me, my subrider got summons then appeal and rejected, end up he delay payment and i the ones go court to pay. As i last time dont know need to write the particulars of the rider when get the summons letter.

Dear paiseh,

What you wrote it make sense but inforunately is INCORRECT. I used to own a small scooter between 2001-2005 which I bought under my wife's name. My wife does NOT have motorcycle licence and I was the ONLY rider on the insurrance certificate. About 5 months before I sold that scooter the TP send to my wife a summon for speeding at Zion Road. There was a fine of S$150 and 3 demerit points. On that letter was stated that, if the rider was other than my wife then he/she has declare his/her particulars otherwise the TP will still hold my wife responssible. Of course I declared that I was the rider and they charged me the fine and the demerit points.

If I refused to admit that I was the culprit then my wife could have a king size problem. As the TP will not only charge her with the summon and the demerit points but also for riding the bike illigaly. Rock bottom is that the Owner of the vehicle is ALWAYS responssible.

Dear ruriimasu,

COI agreement is not recognised by the Authorities neither by the financing companies. For ALL the summons has being issued to the bike that, is still under your name, you are liable and accoutable to. TP will NOT bother to study yr case and your expanation. TP will ONLY charge the sub-rider if he/she admits that was the culprit. I do not suggest you to take out yr name from the Insurrance Certificate as rider because in worst case secnario you will be prosecuted for riding without valid insurrance.

COI is like turn the gun barrel to your head and hope will never fire.

http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd117/keratsini/greece_bl.gif http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd117/keratsini/MyK8b.jpg

many problems come when COI.. anyway, talk to the rider, bring this to TP or LTA to clarify.. he has to cooperate with u.. since he still need u to sign bike transfer when the payment due.. rite??

Dear paiseh,

What you wrote it make sense but inforunately is INCORRECT. I used to own a small scooter between 2001-2005 which I bought under my wife's name. My wife does NOT have motorcycle licence and I was the ONLY rider on the insurrance certificate. About 5 months before I sold that scooter the TP send to my wife a summon for speeding at Zion Road. There was a fine of S$150 and 3 demerit points. On that letter was stated that, if the rider was other than my wife then he/she has declare his/her particulars otherwise the TP will still hold my wife responssible. Of course I declared that I was the rider and they charged me the fine and the demerit points.

If I refused to admit that I was the culprit then my wife could have a king size problem. As the TP will not only charge her with the summon and the demerit points but also for riding the bike illigaly. Rock bottom is that the Owner of the vehicle is ALWAYS responssible.

Dear keratsini,

It is only natural the TP will send a letter to the owner with the demerit points and fines. It is for the owner to go TP department with the insurance cert as evidence to dispute the fact that the owner non rider is not the one riding. it is the only rider which is the 2nd name on the insurance paper. Hope i explained everything clearly.

Y i know? coz i kena b4. :sweat:

Dear keratsini,

It is only natural the TP will send a letter to the owner with the demerit points and fines. It is for the owner to go TP department with the insurance cert as evidence to dispute the fact that the owner non rider is not the one riding. it is the only rider which is the 2nd name on the insurance paper. Hope i explained everything clearly.

Y i know? coz i kena b4. :sweat:

yeah me too!

insurance company confirm with me last week.

once i put my name as non riding..

tio speeding die2 the 2nd rider will kana..unless u admit u ride lor!

sure kana chialat2 :faint:

Thanks arsonist

yeah me too!

insurance company confirm with me last week.

once i put my name as non riding..

tio speeding die2 the 2nd rider will kana..unless u admit u ride lor!

sure kana chialat2 :faint:

haha. i already confirmed alot of times liao :sweat:

or izzit possible to cancel my insurance for the current bike im letting go, den ask the new owner to buy his own insurance?? like that then confirm liao he riding... coz insurance bears his name??

correct me if im wrong... or does it work out that way??

a good friend once said to me, "You will only be truly happy if you give your best in everything you do..."

and i thought to myself...

how true...