xXxRatedxXx said:
This bike not under "fairing" category, its under "others"... the high price is because of the P plate, therefore i have to insure under 2nd party... Nonetheless the price is still obscene.... hope the NCD and no more P plate will help next year...

3rd party was quoted $600 for the CBR for me last year on P plate... so there.......

itz under others meh not fairing huh... cause wat i remember age plays a part below 21 above 21 cost younger people are more reckless love to race and die young... the P plate cost additional 150...

Demaestro says: Yeah Buddy!!!

• Replies 34.8k

• collectees

• limbat

• Kenneth.C

• ozzarhomb

  xXxRatedxXx said:
I used to have that too...... new pads are too "thick".... but after about a week of riding it wore down properly with no more rubbing....

oh.. it was not because i change new pads, but spraying of rims. After install i have this problem, before it was perfectly ok. :S i wonder how long more it will continue to rub....

  quadro said:
my brake pad was installed inappropriately by a mech which induce rubbing of brake pad (noise) even without braking. bike shakes slightly at low, but stronger at faster speed. Mech claims it'll be ok after some time but it has been days. Not savvy with DIY, hence seeking advice here. thanks.

use copperslip AKA copper grease conform 100% solve ur problem... goodluck

Beat said:
Ah man.. I was quoted 1.7K for a new bike. 2nd party I think. =/

I inquired from Mah. If I get 2nd hand, I'd have to get minimum 2nd party. cannot get third. =/

Which insurance company did you get yours from!

can mah why cannot my 1st hand bike now look like 3rd hand sob3 is under 3rd party NTUC income... dunt get from MAH le UBI IND there got alot of bike shop maybe when u pass ur TP u can go take a look... btw srry for being rude and ask wats ur ehem2 age?

  quadro said:
oh.. it was not because i change new pads, but spraying of rims. After install i have this problem, before it was perfectly ok. :S i wonder how long more it will continue to rub....

this is the same problem as before dunno who post it if ur pro in DIY ur bike u can werk with heavy duty grease if not u can get a copperslip AKA copper grease... or if u still cant understand wat im saying cause itz quite hard to visualize if ur not lazy and want to solve ur problem come to my place i help u no charge... buy me kopi ok liao LOL... the P PLATERS to the rescue

  whitefang said:
insurance for p-platers is one thing that is the biggest part of ur financial problems.

across the board, prices have risen like mad. Ask chris. when he took over my bike, insurance was quoted to him as 1.1k, cos its a "fairing" bike. If it was something else, say a scooter or scrambler, diff price again, even though for p-plates. just insurance alone for a cbr, or sp, or kr would bring u over 1k nowadays. crazy right??

long gone where the days when we paid abt 600-700 for insurance as p-platers.

Buy 3rd party only loh. 2b bike buy 2nd party not worth.

xXxRatedxXx said:
This bike not under "fairing" category, its under "others"... the high price is because of the P plate, therefore i have to insure under 2nd party... Nonetheless the price is still obscene.... hope the NCD and no more P plate will help next year...

3rd party was quoted $600 for the CBR for me last year on P plate... so there.......

I was quoted 300 plus abit last yr for third party only by NTUC. under fairing bike.

quadro said:
my brake pad was installed inappropriately by a mech which induce rubbing of brake pad (noise) even without braking. bike shakes slightly at low, but stronger at faster speed. Mech claims it'll be ok after some time but it has been days. Not savvy with DIY, hence seeking advice here. thanks.

It takes time. The most important thing to note in changing brake pad is that, nvr ever change both front & rear brake pad at the same time. Cheers...

Beat said:
Ah man.. I was quoted 1.7K for a new bike. 2nd party I think. =/

I inquired from Mah. If I get 2nd hand, I'd have to get minimum 2nd party. cannot get third. =/

Which insurance company did you get yours from!

I didnt know motorbike also got such policy.

Demaestro said:
itz under others meh not fairing huh... cause wat i remember age plays a part below 21 above 21 cost younger people are more reckless love to race and die young... the P plate cost additional 150...

>27yo even cheaper.

Demaestro said:
can mah why cannot my 1st hand bike now look like 3rd hand sob3 is under 3rd party NTUC income... dunt get from MAH le UBI IND there got alot of bike shop maybe when u pass ur TP u can go take a look... btw srry for being rude and ask wats ur ehem2 age?

See. I always thought no matter cash or hire purchase, we have the option to cover third party only.

Btw, u bought ur bike under hire-purchase or cash?

Guys, ride safely. Road is not for playing.

CBR150R :thumb: :shades:

  Red_Devils said:

I was quoted 300 plus abit last yr for third party only by NTUC. under fairing bike.

It takes time. The most important thing to note in changing brake pad is that, nvr ever change both front & rear brake pad at the same time. Cheers...

>27yo even cheaper.

See. I always thought no matter cash or hire purchase, we have the option to cover third party only.

Btw, u bought ur bike under hire-purchase or cash?

hire purchase bro... still got 3 years with them sian:cry::cry::cry:

  xXxRatedxXx said:

me too,

this march, P Plate, 22 yrs old, 3rd party for CBR150, in NTUC = 600++ SGD

  Demaestro said:

i was told that premiums will generally see a significant decline after crossing the age of 25yr old.

i hope it is true. :lol:

Red_Devils said:
It takes time. The most important thing to note in changing brake pad is that, nvr ever change both front & rear brake pad at the same time.

eh..why ah? :cheeky:

both will rub against the brake disc at the same time??

actually i dont get quite why this happens for new brakepads.

by right, the caliper pistons will be able to retract sufficiently to accomodate the new thicker pads leh.

  Demaestro said:
hire purchase bro... still got 3 years with them sian:cry::cry::cry:

So now u r covering 3rd party only?

d0n^ said:
i was told that premiums will generally see a significant decline after crossing the age of 25yr old.

i hope it is true. :lol:

eh..why ah? :cheeky:

I was asked by the NTUC officer whether Im 27yo & above, coz she said its cheaper. Then I told her, i 25 only, then she said no choice loh. Hehe... Quoted 1.3k for 2nd S4. :sian:

Then I told her, ok loh I wait for another 2 yrs to get bigger cc bikes. LOL

Coz when we change one of the brake pads, there will be so called (my mechanic called it as) "season mah" LOL, where the brake pad wont work as effective as usual. So if change 1 only, we got another 1 to stop our bike in time. :angel:

If change both at the same time, both not working as usual. We might not be able to stop it in timing that we usually expected. I alrdy experienced this problem once. Haha.. Bang a car but very soft. Lucky nvr claim me. LOL

Edited by Red_Devils

  d0n^ said:
both will rub against the brake disc at the same time??

actually i dont get quite why this happens for new brakepads.

by right, the caliper pistons will be able to retract sufficiently to accomodate the new thicker pads leh.

What I think is because of the new pads surface. I think manufacturers apply something (example like when we spray paint, we apply the clear color) very thin on the surface to make it look nice, hence quality.

Another issue is our brake disk is not perfectly smooth/straight (i dono the correct word). So it takes time for the pads to rub its surface till it match the disk shape.

My opinion only. :angel:

  Demaestro said:

:lol: what a way to describe.

Red_Devils said:

i didnt know got such thing leh.

my bike when bought under hire purchase, i had the option to take 3rd party only.

Red_Devils said:
What I think is because of the new pads surface. I think manufacturers apply something (example like when we spray paint, we apply the clear color) very thin on the surface to make it look nice, hence quality.

Another issue is our brake disk is not perfectly smooth/straight (i dono the correct word). So it takes time for the pads to rub its surface till it match the disk shape.

My opinion only. :angel:

i had this problem before. know what the mechanic did?

bleed the brake lines and took out brake pads, rub it on the road then install back.

  Kenneth.C said:

bleed the brake lines and took out brake pads, rub it on the road then install back.

Ya, my dad had the same prob with his 125z. THe brakes were not installed properly and it wore his brake pad and disc... Now he has to deal with 2 problems.. :dozed:

>>CBR 0.15<<

  Red_Devils said:
So now u r covering 3rd party only?

yup baby i dunt plan to crash or set my bike on fire so 3rd party is good enough so i dunt need to loan so much money from the motoshop

Kenneth.C said:
:lol: what a way to describe.

i didnt know got such thing leh.

my bike when bought under hire purchase, i had the option to take 3rd party only.

what i remember le if ur 18 P PLATE many insurance dunt want take u 3rd party... for fairing bikes either 125 or 150cc above

the rub sound is cause by the piston not pushing back after applying the brakes like don said itz not common but it solvable and got many different way to rectify it like kenneth C said... the method his mech did... ala quadron no need to make ur self susah lah im free most of th time till national day cause ive change to a new job... if the thing irritate u too much come i help u settle and put a smile again in ur face:deal::deal::deal:

and u knoe why some mech "sae ohh thats normal havent seoson mah ur new brake pad dats why like dat wait slowly ok liao...." reason is [too lazy to rectify it cause not his bike dunt care end of the month collect paycheck...]

Edited by Demaestro

  arinto said:
which insurance company Aiden_89?

ur nick indicates ur age.. wkwkwkwk

Ya huh... hahahaha!!:cheeky:

My insurance NTUC... :D

I renewed 6 months around 260 buck i think~

>>CBR 0.15<<

  JetGrey said:
I bought my bike from Mah.. I think that time was abt 1.3k.. As long as you're buying under hire-purchase (ie. installments), you'll need minimum 2nd party, or actually, the proper term is Third Party plus Fire & Theft (TPFT).

Ah yes I got to know about that from the sales person at Mah. Aye...

It's 1.7K now. =S

Demaestro said:

Mm, I see. But I want to get from some one I can trust. Mah seems trustworthy!

But definately, I will keep my options open to other places. Got to get quotes I guess.

Guys let me know if you know of any good deals okay! Especially if it's a black colour scheme. Heheh. =P

No worries about my age, I'm not age sensitive. Haha.

I'm 19 this year!

Red_Devils said:

I see. But I found out that for the financial plan and 2nd hand bike or something, minimum is 2nd party. Or what JetGrey mentioned: TPFT!

insurance rates are such a pain nowadays.

[ :: w h i t e f a n g :: ]

for the love of the game, and the ride..

  Beat said:
Ah yes I got to know about that from the sales person at Mah. Aye...

It's 1.7K now. =S

Mm, I see. But I want to get from some one I can trust. Mah seems trustworthy!

But definately, I will keep my options open to other places. Got to get quotes I guess.

Guys let me know if you know of any good deals okay! Especially if it's a black colour scheme. Heheh. =P

No worries about my age, I'm not age sensitive. Haha.

I'm 19 this year!

I see. But I found out that for the financial plan and 2nd hand bike or something, minimum is 2nd party. Or what JetGrey mentioned: TPFT!

Better re-confirm again about this matter for 2nd bike. For new bike, its alrdy confirm that u hve the option to cover only 3rd party no matter cash or hire purchase.

1.7k insurance to cover 2.5k bike????? :sian:

Ok, lets take aside the third party cost. 1.7k - 600 or 700 = 1k to cover 2.5k or 3k bike?????

Edited by Red_Devils

  limbat said:
i never had a problem maaaaaaaaaaa - mine hor soooooooooooooooooo cheap .................. Dun know y hor.................

lol lol lol think the new family member very very wanting to ask u, "How Come"?

Edited by Red_Devils

  whitefang said:
insurance rates are such a pain nowadays.

Very painful. It upsets my whole budget. =(!!!

limbat said:
i never had a problem maaaaaaaaaaa - mine hor soooooooooooooooooo cheap .................. dun know Y hor.................

Why! =/

Red_Devils said:
Better re-confirm again about this matter for 2nd bike. For new bike, its alrdy confirm that u hve the option to cover only 3rd party no matter cash or hire purchase.

Ok, lets take aside the third party cost. 1.7k - 600 or 700 = 1k to cover 2.5k or 3k bike?????

Yaaa. That's what I enquried about at a few bike shops. It's so depressing.

Urghh. Kills self-

I need a sugar daddy.

HAHA. I am kidding okay.

Red_Devils said:
lol lol lol think the new family member very very wanting to ask u, "How Come"?

:cheeky: heh.

  Red_Devils said:

Nope.. I bought my bike at Mah, first hand, on hire-purchase. Need to get TPFT. I figured it's insurance for them in case the bike gets stolen or caught on fire, then they'll definitely get the money owed to them by hire purchase.

No complaints considering I left my key at my bike on 3 occasions and could have my bike stolen on any one of those occasions.