Originally posted by Hoovernose@Feb 21 2006, 10:09 AM

Hello guys, I'm a newbie and a big fan of the thread. Currently on page 80 trying to catch up (all very informative). I'm a Welsh guy living in Hat Yai so I find this thread invaluable as I have the same problem as you with all the info written and spoken in Thai over here.

I have a question, I am lokking at a two year old CBR, it's been down the road a couple of times but after close inspection, nothing serious just scratches on the fairings and a little on the exhaust. The engine has 19k on it and sounds ok.

When the engine is on tick-over there are plinking sounds that sound just like the cams working. What do you think, is it normal? Is it the cam chain not tensioned properly?

I appreciate any feedback you can give before I invest in the bike.

By the way the mechanic there could communicate enough with me to tell me that the old monoshck can be changed with the new 2006 model one for about 1900 baht. You reckon he's right?

May this thread live long, you guys rock!:thumb:

Hmm. y not u try to post up some pics of the bike and let us see. I guess changing to a new shock would help la. i did not know the conversion rate there but then i guess it would be a gd deal. :smile:

1)25th May 2005 - 14 Feb 2007 Cbr 150

2)14th March 2007 Toyota Vios

3)18th april 2008 NSR SP 150

MSN:[email protected]

• Replies 34.8k

• collectees

• limbat

• Kenneth.C

• ozzarhomb

Originally posted by mikigoh@Feb 21 2006, 02:07 PM

what type?? need to design?

i was thinking design the words " CBR 150 RIDERS combine with the singapore bikes logo". u Can help? I want to take the logo then go print polo tee. :smile:

Originally posted by limbat@Feb 21 2006, 02:29 PM

It will be free & easy at the waterfalls - but if hv never been there b4 - i suggested u bring yr swimming gears - veri veri fun ......... de......

:lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

cos i dun swim de.. haha nv like also.. thus thinking can do what..

hey i love to join you guys, iam riding a ta200 hope u guys dont mind. my contact is 81331004. let me know the out come, btw 4march seems a better date for me. cheers!

Originally posted by gtbnrsk@Feb 21 2006, 04:14 PM

hey i love to join you guys, iam riding a ta200 hope u guys dont mind. my contact is 81331004. let me know the out come, btw 4march seems a better date for me. cheers!

yup, dun worry.. our travelling speed is less den 120km/hr. most likely 100km/hr ave speed.

CBR150R Outing!!

Time: 8am

Date: 4th or 5th march

Plans: Trip to Kota Tinggi 4 duck rice, shopping & waterfall for swimming & feeding fish.

Timing should be, go early 8am, back b4 8pm latest into SG There will be no night riding on the Kota Tinggi trunk road - Leave KT by 4pm & if possible we could go into Kulai for a "nice" dinner.

There will be rest stop every 45mins. The 1st rest stop will be at Ulu Tiram.

Please state ur preference(date):

4th March Sat:

1) limbat

2) ozzarhomb

3) phantom stephanie

4) gekokujyou

5) naruto13 - Pending

6) ah fat - Pending

7) blurger - pending

8) Axxis - should be ok

9) Dannis

10) Paiseh - Pending

11) gtbnrsk

5th March Sun:

1) limbat

2) ozzarhomb

3) phantom stephanie

4) Jilleen - Pending

5) blurger - Pending

6) mikigoh - Pending

7) Axxis - should be ok

8) Dannis

9) Paiseh - Pending

Thanx for the reply Tee Pee, the bike looks the same paint job as Limbats (black and silver) but a lot rougher, needs a tyre change, previous owner has been especially heavy on the old front brake by the looks. I think I'll buy it cos it's less than half the price of the new one (2006 model).

By the way exchange rate for Thai Bhat is 1 THB = 0.0413426 SGD

The new model sells in the Honda shop for 68,000.00 THB = 2,811.30 SGD

The mechanic at the bike shop reckons a new adjustable shock will be about 78.SGD.

When I get paid this month I'll go buy the bike and show pics. I can also keep you guys posted on the Hat Yai prices of CBR stuff as I try and update the bike.

Please don't think I'm gloating about prices here man, as I'm sure you know most people who live over here can only dream of spending 68k on a new bike. I'm a teacher here and have had enough trouble trying to convince my wife, even for a second hand one.

Wave deegwa!!! etc etc.

Still a little concerned about engine tingle tingle tingle noise when on tick over, probably needs a good oil change I guess.

Thanx

Originally posted by NaRuTo13@Feb 21 2006, 03:33 PM

aiyah i also dun like to swim wan. at most we buy a coconut each den sit inside the water there to soak soak a bit lor. cooling mah. weather nowadays so hot.

some more no need to hold the coconut much since it can float. :cheeky: :cheeky:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

Originally posted by paiseh@Feb 21 2006, 04:24 PM

yup, dun worry.. our travelling speed is less den 120km/hr. most likely 100km/hr ave speed.

bo lah, we should go going even slower than that. some of the people going are running in and some are new riders woah. :smile: :smile:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

Originally posted by Hoovernose@Feb 21 2006, 10:09 AM

By the way the mechanic there could communicate enough with me to tell me that the old monoshck can be changed with the new 2006 model one for about 1900 baht. You reckon he's right?

welcome here sir, just want to ask you, what is wrong with the rear suspension that it requires a change? is it like not working or something? :smile: :smile:

Originally posted by dannis@Feb 21 2006, 04:38 AM

Just bring tyre repair kit n if u see corners, brake down cause there tends to be holes at the corners.... even if no holes then sure got sand.... just ride slowly between 70-110km/h n be more alert of the road surface.

Can you bring some tyre repair kits for us ? Have u change a puntual tyre b4 ?

:help: :help: :help: :help:

HP: 93891138 :angel:

Originally posted by limbat@Feb 21 2006, 05:15 PM

Can you bring some tyre repair kits for us ? Have u change a puntual tyre b4 ?

:help: :help: :help: :help:

yup yup good to have tire repair kits. uncle lim can u arrange to bring some fuses also?? i scared le, later fuse blow how? :smile: :smile:

Originally posted by kahhwee@Feb 21 2006, 02:49 PM

i was thinking design the words " CBR 150 RIDERS combine with the singapore bikes logo". u Can help? I want to take the logo then go print polo tee. :smile:

u r sick man

aeroplane king

it doesnt matter if it is Front, Back, Left or Right.

u r jus as blind as a bat, as thick skin as an armor tank.

see me, u dun have the BALLS to direct confront.

only way to communicate is from the Back, cos u have a Fake front.

Jia Xin Xin

yeah yeah its u yeah yeah

come on come on

Originally posted by Hoovernose@Feb 21 2006, 04:48 PM

Thanx for the reply Tee Pee, the bike looks the same paint job as Limbats (black and silver) but a lot rougher, needs a tyre change, previous owner has been especially heavy on the old front brake by the looks. I think I'll buy it cos it's less than half the price of the new one (2006 model).

By the way exchange rate for Thai Bhat is 1 THB = 0.0413426 SGD

The new model sells in the Honda shop for 68,000.00 THB = 2,811.30 SGD

The mechanic at the bike shop reckons a new adjustable shock will be about 78.SGD.

When I get paid this month I'll go buy the bike and show pics. I can also keep you guys posted on the Hat Yai prices of CBR stuff as I try and update the bike.

Please don't think I'm gloating about prices here man, as I'm sure you know most people who live over here can only dream of spending 68k on a new bike. I'm a teacher here and have had enough trouble trying to convince my wife, even for a second hand one.

Wave deegwa!!! etc etc.

Still a little concerned about engine tingle tingle tingle noise when on tick over, probably needs a good oil change I guess.

Thanx

My name is kah hwee. U may call me CAGE too. if u want to know y i got that name. Read up a few pages back. :smile: Well, i guess the second hand one would be good. Change the things that are needed would do. Don't need to waste money on things that r not needed. :smile: great. we haf another teacher in our thread already. :cheeky:

Originally posted by ozzarhomb@Feb 21 2006, 04:59 PM

bo lah, we should go going even slower than that. some of the people going are running in and some are new riders woah. :smile: :smile:

ozzar is so considerate

best speed is (90+70)/2=80km/h

this is a 2B bike outing not a CLASS 2 BIG bike outing

if is CLASS 2 outing at 120 or 140km/h people say too slow.. dun wan go

how sweet of ozzar~~

aeroplane king

Jia Xin Xin

come on come on

Originally posted by Kazama@Feb 21 2006, 05:29 PM

u r sick man

haiya, just a shirt nia. I asking got people can help make or not nia. If really bo, i try to ask my classmate that is gd at it to help. :smile:

got a feeling someone will last min "put aeroplane"

got previous record of doing tat liao...

hrm.....

wan to pei gf

hahaaaaaaaaaaaa

aeroplane king

Jia Xin Xin

come on come on

Originally posted by kahhwee@Feb 21 2006, 05:35 PM

haiya, just a shirt nia. I asking got people can help make or not nia. If really bo, i try to ask my classmate that is gd at it to help. :smile:

jb citysquare 2.5th floor have one printing shop

u give him the desgin he help u do

aeroplane king

Jia Xin Xin

come on come on

Originally posted by Kazama@Feb 21 2006, 05:38 PM

jb citysquare 2.5th floor have one printing shop

u give him the desgin he help u do

the shirt i know where make one piece nia got gd price. But then i no logo sia. :giddy: anyway, still dun feel safe inside malaySIA.

Originally posted by NaRuTo13@Feb 21 2006, 03:33 PM

you can look after our balang balang and our bike aslo help us to take pic... hehehe so you will not feel bore le

Originally posted by Kazama@Feb 21 2006, 05:36 PM

got a feeling someone will last min "put aeroplane"

got previous record of doing tat liao...

hrm.....

wan to pei gf

hahaaaaaaaaaaaa

Originally posted by kahhwee@Feb 21 2006, 05:39 PM

the shirt i know where make one piece nia got gd price. But then i no logo sia. :giddy: anyway, still dun feel safe inside malaySIA.

i dunno have time to design wor .... if i'm free tonight then i help u think ba. Which logo in singaporebikes.com u referring huh?

Originally posted by paiseh@Feb 21 2006, 04:24 PM

singapore road 100km i felt like being blown away ....120km ....i wonder i can even handle my bike or not ...not to mention malaysia road so bumpy one. :confused:

Originally posted by mikigoh@Feb 21 2006, 06:10 PM

i dunno have time to design wor .... if i'm free tonight then i help u think ba. Which logo in singaporebikes.com u referring huh?

i am refering to the singapore bikes forum the logo lor. but below it put CBR 150 Riders. :smile: if u free then help lor. :p