Originally posted by ah fat@March 01, 2007 10:36 am

oh..

tot you were riding a sports bike?

okok.

im on stock tyres, the original one when you sell to me. Not sure is it because the rain too heavy that the road is flooded or the tyres is gone. ha.

anyway, the tyre size should be???

no lah that GSX400 long time ago sell off le. i was riding super 4 for most of my 2A days but also sell off liao. haha.

lol, i changed the tires for u but i forgot. so blur. haha u see the tires that u're currently on lor, the size is stock size liao. :smile: :smile:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

• Replies 34.8k

• collectees

• limbat

• Kenneth.C

• ozzarhomb

yeah yeah :cheer: i gettin my bike soon hehe but hopefully rain stop soon so tat i can ride...dun like wearing raincoat:cheeky: :cheeky:

CNY Resolution: Work hard and get promoted, study hard and pass all exams, Save more $$, Lose weight without cutting down on food intake, Exercise more *grinz*

Hi guys I have a problem with my CBR150R... the bike acceleration is very slow (not kidding) and at 6th gear when i open full throttle the full speed can only reach 90kph. Strangely this problem can be solved by clutching in, open throttle and release clutch (repeat process until acceleration gets back to normal) but then the problem comes back after a day or two. Also at 6th gear the gear sometimes will slip by itself to 5th gear without clutching in and stepping down on the gear.

My bike is first hand, slightly over 10k mileage, and got go for regular servicing. Just changed air filter, spark plug and EO at 10k mileage. Can any kind soul help me? :sweat:

Jus went ah boy shop for changing the tyres

front 80/90 rear 110/70 for $150

is the size ok? he tell me can.. i dno.. anyway i can't find the manufacture date for the tyre. asked him and he say confirm just come de.

air cleaner for $25

than when he changing my rear tyre he say my wheel bearing or something is old already. tell me must change, if not the rear wheel might jam or become shaky.

3 bearing for $30

Don't know whether is it correct or not or what does he mean by the bearing old already and shaky. but i just change in case. anyone know what is wrong or can explain?

anyway, on the way back i felt my rear brake not as effective already. and i try to brake harder in a carpark and it still skid a bit. is it because its a new tyre?

They quite friendly but i scare i kena chop already still dunno.. so anyone can advise.

i think u skidded becos new tyres have a layer of wax on it.. need to season then ok alr :thumb:

http://www.phmotorcycles.co.uk/bikes/images/suzuki/GSX-R600-K6.jpg

Hopefully, I'll see u in 2 years time (=

Originally posted by j0hn@March 02, 2007 05:24 pm

Hi guys I have a problem with my CBR150R... the bike acceleration is very slow (not kidding) and at 6th gear when i open full throttle the full speed can only reach 90kph. Strangely this problem can be solved by clutching in, open throttle and release clutch (repeat process until acceleration gets back to normal) but then the problem comes back after a day or two. Also at 6th gear the gear sometimes will slip by itself to 5th gear without clutching in and stepping down on the gear.

My bike is first hand, slightly over 10k mileage, and got go for regular servicing. Just changed air filter, spark plug and EO at 10k mileage. Can any kind soul help me? :sweat:

hello john, i'm not sure what's happening on ur bike. maybe u should bring it to a mechanic and have it checked out.

my CBR150R is 12k mileage now and doesn't have that problem before, only when i ride during heavy rain den the engine will feel choked up and doesn't rev up, during normal days it's perfectly fine.

gear slipping i experienced before but i discovered it's because i didn't shift up properly before releasing clutch. try shifting up slowly to allow the gears to engage properly.

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

Originally posted by j0hn@March 02, 2007 05:24 pm

i used to experience the problem of bike top speed = 100kmph (max RPM at 8K) and when comes to slight upslopes on expressways, the speed can fall to 80kmph even when i open full throttle

however, the bike could easily rev to 10K rpm when i clutch in

i suspected the clutch could be worn out but surprisingly, the mech traced the problem to the choke cable which was kind of stuck opened abit

got the cable fixed and all is well again

perhaps u can get yr carburettor and choke cable etc all checked?

as for the part about u repeatedly clutching in, opening full throttle and then releasing the clutch. i'm not too sure how much damage u have done to yr clutch plates and pads already. pls get a mechanic to rectify the appropiate parts soon before u cause more damage to other parts, which might not have been the source of your current problem.

:btw: im curious what brand of engine oil do u have in yr bike now?

Originally posted by d0n^@March 04, 2007 02:53 am

i used to experience the problem of bike top speed = 100kmph (max RPM at 8K) and when comes to slight upslopes on expressways, the speed can fall to 80kmph even when i open full throttle

however, the bike could easily rev to 10K rpm when i clutch in

i suspected the clutch could be worn out but surprisingly, the mech traced the problem to the choke cable which was kind of stuck opened abit

got the cable fixed and all is well again

perhaps u can get yr carburettor and choke cable etc all checked?

as for the part about u repeatedly clutching in, opening full throttle and then releasing the clutch. i'm not too sure how much damage u have done to yr clutch plates and pads already. pls get a mechanic to rectify the appropiate parts soon before u cause more damage to other parts, which might not have been the source of your current problem.

:btw: im curious what brand of engine oil do u have in yr bike now?

sounds logically, and it's more probable the choke cable rather than the clutch since his bike only 10k++ mileage. unless he always half clutch and drag. :cheeky: :cheeky:

is the choke another problem on this bike? my choke is stuck one, cannot even pull out, luckily until now bike has no problem starting even in cool temperature.

Thanks ozzar and don for your help~

I put Esso 4T Gold, because I change at Queensway there that time they say don't have Castrol R4. That time I went to HKL at Queensway to check out my bike (I bought my bike there) they say the fuel injection needle jam, then they help me change but the problem came back after a few days. I went to the mechanic there about 3 times already for that prob... But my bike is alright now surprisingly for the past few days don't know if the prob will come back again... :sweat:

And at slow speed I usually first gear half clutch, I only heard recently that this damages my clutch plates. But I'm too used to it already, how do you guys travel at low speeds like 5kph without half clutch?

Originally posted by j0hn@March 04, 2007 06:41 pm

Thanks ozzar and don for your help~

I put Esso 4T Gold, because I change at Queensway there that time they say don't have Castrol R4. That time I went to HKL at Queensway to check out my bike (I bought my bike there) they say the fuel injection needle jam, then they help me change but the problem came back after a few days. I went to the mechanic there about 3 times already for that prob... But my bike is alright now surprisingly for the past few days don't know if the prob will come back again... :sweat:

And at slow speed I usually first gear half clutch, I only heard recently that this damages my clutch plates. But I'm too used to it already, how do you guys travel at low speeds like 5kph without half clutch?

glad to hear the problem is solved for now. =)

as for low speed travel, i usually just accelerate normally then i'll just roll lor, practice balancing also. :cheeky: :cheeky:

How about when we gotta travel at slow speeds for like more than 5 mins? Like maybe at multi-story carpark at shopping centres or something? :cheer:

Originally posted by j0hn@March 05, 2007 01:33 pm

How about when we gotta travel at slow speeds for like more than 5 mins? Like maybe at multi-story carpark at shopping centres or something? :cheer:

ermm, dun think u should learn from me but this is how i ride in multi-storey carpark. :sweat:

i dun wait behind cars, i usually will insist on squeezing past them so i dun have to slow down. as for slopes i'll pick up speed before that then use 2nd gear go up lor. i'm can't stand indecisive drivers so if they dun go i'll go. i'm in 2nd gear most of the time in multi-storey carparks :cheeky:

hey ozzar.. becareful.. got alot of crazy drivers without skill wan.. always wan to bang us wan.. just now got taxi beat red light den nv see me den almost bang me sia.. i quickly turn and horn the taxi.. SMART Taxi.. sucks man.. still got passenger inside lo.. bad service..

Pride & Care

Originally posted by cusster@March 06, 2007 12:55 am

hey ozzar.. becareful.. got alot of crazy drivers without skill wan.. always wan to bang us wan.. just now got taxi beat red light den nv see me den almost bang me sia.. i quickly turn and horn the taxi.. SMART Taxi.. sucks man.. still got passenger inside lo.. bad service..

yeah i know. tt's why i said the other time that i stay away from cars cuz they're our road hazards. ride safely everyone!! :smile: :smile:

at gear 1 cannot let go clutch n ride meh in the carpark? anyway i usually maintain at gear 2 in multistorey, if haf to stop then go at gear 1 but tats usually the case isn't it even in jams?:confused: :confused:

CNY Resolution: Work hard and get promoted, study hard and pass all exams, Save more $$, Lose weight without cutting down on food intake, Exercise more *grinz*

Can...but gear 1 the engine brake very strong a bit irritating :sweat: at gear 2 below 10kph i find the bike no power lei, what if we gotta travel at speeds below 10kph?

Originally posted by cusster@March 06, 2007 12:55 am

Taxi ah, think of it also sian. Last time i ride bike give me problem. No chance point middle finger, now driving liao. Still give me problem, i been driving for the past month ah, kann problem with taxi driver until want to fight liao. Not once but a few times. Always anyhow cut here and there.

1)25th May 2005 - 14 Feb 2007 Cbr 150

2)14th March 2007 Toyota Vios

3)18th april 2008 NSR SP 150

MSN:[email protected]

Originally posted by j0hn@March 07, 2007 09:45 am

Can...but gear 1 the engine brake very strong a bit irritating :sweat: at gear 2 below 10kph i find the bike no power lei, what if we gotta travel at speeds below 10kph?

U speed up with gear 1 then clutch in and let it roll lor. If need power release and then throttle again lor.

Hey guys, I just got my new CBR150, 2006 model. Its really a beautiful bike, its my first time owning a bike so i am really excited about it. :)

Just giving it a wash:

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y96/dex911/Dansbike.jpg

Me on my bike:

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y96/dex911/TemporaryFile032.jpg

Thanks for looking,

dex

I Live for 2 Wheels

------------------

(Thats me in my Avatar, knee down on CBR125)

Originally posted by dextric_191@March 07, 2007 12:01 pm

Hey guys, I just got my new CBR150, 2006 model. Its really a beautiful bike, its my first time owning a bike so i am really excited about it. :)

Just giving it a wash:

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y96/dex911/Dansbike.jpg

Me on my bike:

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y96/dex911/TemporaryFile032.jpg

Thanks for looking,

dex

wooo.. nice paintwork.. i tink the new models' paintworks r very nice. that time i saw the all black version and the red black version (like dextric_191's).. very nice leh.. like i also want to change paintwork.. haha..

anyways congrats on ur new bike. take care n ride safe bro. remember to run in ur bike properly. oh ya, stock tyres r quite slippery, so take care on those corners ya.. :smile:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/aman47/SNC001921.jpg

Honda CBR 150R (Mar 2006-Mar 2008)

Yamaha X1-R (Mar 2008-?????)

Originally posted by j0hn@March 07, 2007 09:45 am

yesterday i was trying leh, i find the bike alright at low speed with gear 2. can accelerate smoothly but not really fast acceleration but to me will suffice.

Originally posted by kahhwee@March 07, 2007 10:04 am

Taxi ah, think of it also sian. Last time i ride bike give me problem. No chance point middle finger, now driving liao. Still give me problem, i been driving for the past month ah, kann problem with taxi driver until want to fight liao. Not once but a few times. Always anyhow cut here and there.

relax lah brother, taxi uncles usually drive the whole day de so naturally their reflexes and attention are very poor. it's true they do many dumb things especially when there's customers flagging them.

just maintain a good distance from taxi whenever u can ba. i usually make sure i stay behind or stay well ahead of them. :smile: :smile:

Originally posted by kahhwee@March 07, 2007 10:05 am

U speed up with gear 1 then clutch in and let it roll lor. If need power release and then throttle again lor.

agreed, that's what i do also, just that sometimes i use this method with gear 2 as well. even at low speeds at 5kph it's rather ok to use half clutch gear 2 to accelerate smoothly. hope this helps. :smile: :smile:

Originally posted by dextric_191@March 07, 2007 12:01 pm

Just giving it a wash:

Thanks for looking,

dex

cheers dude, welcome to the CBR150R family. is your bike color orange or red? looks orange to me but didn't know there's orange color available. whatever the case, i think it looks pretty. :smile:

do ride carefully cuz nowadays the roads seem to be rather on the dangerous side i feel, too many new drivers and vehicles.

stay a safe distance from the car in front k? the bike's brakes ain't too powerful to brake hard safely

i beg to differ about tires, me and adrain had been on stock tires since day 1 and i find it alright as long u do not speed. even in the rain i usually travel at 80- 95 kph without much problem, but must learn to anticipate problems along the way.

if u get caught in the rain and u find the bike having a choking sensation, dun panic also cuz it's a rather common problem with this bike. just clutch in and give the bike a few blows then should be fine le. i guess the rain must have got into the engine somewhere hence the problem.

lastly, do join us for outings if there's one ok?

Originally posted by ozzarhomb@March 07, 2007 02:15 pm

cheers dude, welcome to the CBR150R family. is your bike color orange or red? looks orange to me but didn't know there's orange color available. whatever the case, i think it looks pretty. :smile:

do ride carefully cuz nowadays the roads seem to be rather on the dangerous side i feel, too many new drivers and vehicles.

stay a safe distance from the car in front k? the bike's brakes ain't too powerful to brake hard safely

i beg to differ about tires, me and adrain had been on stock tires since day 1 and i find it alright as long u do not speed. even in the rain i usually travel at 80- 95 kph without much problem, but must learn to anticipate problems along the way.

if u get caught in the rain and u find the bike having a choking sensation, dun panic also cuz it's a rather common problem with this bike. just clutch in and give the bike a few blows then should be fine le. i guess the rain must have got into the engine somewhere hence the problem.

lastly, do join us for outings if there's one ok?

ex cbr rider welcome or not ah? Lets meet for meals ley.