• Replies 34.8k

• collectees

• limbat

• Kenneth.C

• ozzarhomb

hi another update for the bulb my one also blow liao my left side one now back to stock one so one side white one side yellow

Mine has also blown one side, the other bulb still working fine. Hopefully it wont blow too xD

I guess my cbr is destined to be a one-eyed jack...has never had both eyes light up together for longer than a week..hahaha :giddy:

alamak,

how come so fast bulb blown?

does that mean, it is not suitable for our bike??

CNY Resolution: Work hard and get promoted, study hard and pass all exams, Save more $$, Lose weight without cutting down on food intake, Exercise more *grinz*

oh my god..

naruto, thisisme, fad's bulbs all 1 side blow liao..

those who chg left me..

help!! i dun wan it to blow also..

haiz.. wonder how come uncle lim one can last so long..

haha gd luck to u lazy1000

CNY Resolution: Work hard and get promoted, study hard and pass all exams, Save more $$, Lose weight without cutting down on food intake, Exercise more *grinz*

those who are changing back to normal bulbs do check if the bulb's wattage is the correct one. Honda orginal is 17.5W and it's actually quite expensive de. i bought straight from FJT before and it cost 9 bucks. so shops who sell those 5 or 6 dollars bulb may be aftermarket 30 watts type. so be careful, u dun wanna melt ur bulb holders or lamp casing. :smile: :smile:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

oh my god..

those who chg left me..

uncle lim is driving more than riding.. most of the time his bike juz park at his shop that all.. juz fyi that y i was first to test it out.. but guess mine also last the longer consider 2 other person have blown bulb..

all 3 of us changed together the other day in actual fact..

damned.. i guess it will soon be my turn eh??

btw.. can anyone of u bros out there do me a favour..

after a normal ride, can u just touch ur bulb casing on the outside and see whether its very hot??

cos when i touch mine.. its very hot.. is it meant to be like this?

or is it the halogens thats producing so much heat??

after a normal ride, can u just touch ur bulb casing on the outside and see whether its very hot??

outside should be mean the part where our light pass through the headlight cover towards the front of our bike rite.. later i test it out ba.. i also duno.. i only try bulb mah cos i like white haha..

it'll be hot de, no matter using halogen or normal bulbs, even my HID feels warm. Halogen will be hotter of course, it's normal. as long it doesn't melt i guess it's ok. :smile: :smile:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

let me try an explain the workings of a fuse in simpler terms. lets take it that:

supply (battery, in this case)= SG checkpoint

load (all the electrical stuff that draw power)= JB checkpoint

fuse= 1st link causeway

current (power)= CBR150

let's say that JB always wants 10 bikes at their checkpoint at all times, because that is the minimum requirement for all your electronics to function. if you send too many bikes over, it will cause damage to your electronics. SG side can send them an unlimited number of bikes, but if SG keeps sending uncontrolled number of bikes over, the battery will overheat. so who will regulate to make sure SG side don't sent them too many bikes?

the 1st link bridge acts like the fuse. meaning to say that the bridge can only take the weight of max 10 bikes at a time. if suddenly 11 bikes go over, the entire bridge will collapse, so as to protect JB side. thus when a fuse blows, it means that there is too many bikes(current) coming over from SG side.

when you put a fuse that's larger than the previous one, it just means that the bridge can now hold more bikes. in normal cases, if the difference in amperage is not too large compared to the original, JB checkpoint should be able to handle this small difference. however, if you change for a fuse with a much larger difference, say original 10amps to replacement 50amps, the bridge can now hold much more bikes, but the JB checkpoint won't be able to 'tahan' the large influx of bikes(current), thus causing damage to JB checkpoint.

if you change to a lower amperage than previous, the bridge now holds less bikes, but JB side still expects 10 bikes to come over, because this is the minimum requirement for your electronics to function. so what happens is that they will 'force' 10 bikes to come over from SG, and when that happens, the bridge collapse (fuse blow) again.

the 2nd part also holds true when you add more load (x'mas lights) on your bike without changing the fuse. so what happens is that JB checkpoint now needs 20 bikes sent over, but your fuse is still the previous 10 bike one. so when JB calls for 20 bikes to come over, the bridge collapse!

the above is just a rough illustration. in actual electrical fact, the battery doesn't 'force' or 'send' current over to the load. it's the load that draws current from the battery, and the fuse is a protection to prevent the load from over-drawing current from the battery, thus causing overheating and stating electrical fires. i apologize for being such a nerd. hope this helps!

Thanks for the detailed explanation but i still hate it when you called my lights x'mas light... you a**. :cheeky: :cheeky:

To have a normal life, you work for what you need.

To have a great life, you work for what you want.

hey wankidal, ur bike macam bumble bee eh...cool laa beb.

yeah but now this bumble a lot of problem this blow that blow.

hey wan the horn u change it in singapore or jb and where is it

I changed the horn at H L Cycle (Singapore). Like i've said, nowadays can can behave themselves. No one dare to cut lane. Until now no oppurtunity to use my horn.

wow fierce, rain still ride 120KPH. :faint: u ride slower then not so pain lor. :smile:

not fierce la brother but just want to reach home asap. And because of that, i yesterday kena fever. cannot ride, cannot talk, cannot even bikeforum. sianzz... thought wanna go jb yesterday but sick.

what i have is a half cast. which means only the back part is cast, and the rest is wrapped up by bandage. so everyday when i get up i will kaypo go open and see whats going on. all of the abrasion have stopped bleeding and mostly dried up, so thats good. only thing left is all the blue black and swelling, which is taking a while to go away. still, i thank everyone for their concern. =)

yeah take care ok. drink more bird nest or tonic or something like that. now i very lonely everybody busy. no one to go jb with. :cheeky: :cheeky:

oh my god..

those who chg left me..

you better go and pray everyday so the bulb won't blow. lol.

Errmm, after one day of being inactive i can see that the topic of blown bulbs is very hot...:)

hi everyone,

On behalf on Limbat:

All bulbs have their own MTTF (mean time to failure) timing. eg. each bulb is able to last 2000 man hours. But, that is the MTTF. which means some bulbs may still last less den 2000 man hours. However, 90% of them shld be able to last more den 2000 hrs.

He will still honour his promise. Pls drop by for a full refund or 1 to 1 exchange :cheer:

Wow he will provide an exchange, that's good. But he did warn us before fixing the bulb, not to touch the blue part else it will blow cos our fingers are oily etc. And mine looks like the bulb he showed us before which has blown due to touching that part.

I'm wondering if it's possible i may have accidentally touched it, therefore casuing it to blow.

hey wankidal...u got a fren name ari?

bro, whats the full name? Never heard before but if got full name and from where maybe i know.

hi everyone,

On behalf on Limbat:

All bulbs have their own MTTF (mean time to failure) timing. eg. each bulb is able to last 2000 man hours. But, that is the MTTF. which means some bulbs may still last less den 2000 man hours. However, 90% of them shld be able to last more den 2000 hrs.

He will still honour his promise. Pls drop by for a full refund or 1 to 1 exchange :cheer:

Wah Uncle lim got spokesperson. lol jk only ah