i changed both too to the same ones 2 mths back. at 100km/h its ard 7.5rpm too..

[ :: w h i t e f a n g :: ]

for the love of the game, and the ride..

• Replies 34.8k

• collectees

• limbat

• Kenneth.C

• ozzarhomb

your clutch plates require changing. they are slipping at high RPMs.

Derrick is encountering the same problem.

Might someone please explain to me how to check if i need to change clutch plate? What do you mean slipping? And does anybody have any idea how much and where is the best place to get it changed?

i changed both too to the same ones 2 mths back. at 100km/h its ard 7.5rpm too..

Hey I'm having problems kinda trying to understand what is this 70/80 thing where tyres are concerned. Which number shows the width and which shows the height of the tyres.

Also I know that Battlax tyres are pretty decent but how does one judge decency of the tyres? Like chemical grip versus frictional grip. How leh?

Protegas Et Deleas

Might someone please explain to me how to check if i need to change clutch plate? What do you mean slipping? And does anybody have any idea how much and where is the best place to get it changed?

tell tale signs of slipping clutch plates is an increase of RPM with a constant or decreasing speed.

no info on costs, but Derrick was offered to have his modified in JB with a better spring so he can wheelie easier.

Hey guys... just curious... is there anyone of u here who owns 1523 ?

I sent my gf home just now and i saw it parked at bukit batok west ave 6 car park. just wondering ... =)

1527 would be me. 1523 beat me by 4 numbers, should have been more kiasu and went to queue earlier.

tell tale signs of slipping clutch plates is an increase of RPM with a constant or decreasing speed.

no info on costs, but Derrick was offered to have his modified in JB with a better spring so he can wheelie easier.

Oh dear, then it means that I probably have to change mine soon. Do you have an idea of how much that would be in Singapore?

Well, I shall go and ask the next time I go to the mech. May I request that whomever gets the info first to please let me know? I would love that very much!

(",)

Protegas Et Deleas

1527 would be me. 1523 beat me by 4 numbers, should have been more kiasu and went to queue earlier.

haha. alrighty. nothing to say liao =)

anyway the outing pics all damn nice lah.. haha

Hey I'm having problems kinda trying to understand what is this 70/80 thing where tyres are concerned. Which number shows the width and which shows the height of the tyres.

Also I know that Battlax tyres are pretty decent but how does one judge decency of the tyres? Like chemical grip versus frictional grip. How leh?

the first number refers to the width of your tyre in MilliMeters.

the second number refers to the sidewall of your tyre in MilliMeters.

in short, the bigger the number for 1st and 2nd.

the better you can go straight and cut the corner like Casey Stoner :goodluck:

here's a diagram for your reference

you owe me 1 drink :shades:

http://www.kwik-fit.com/assets/jpg/graphics/tyre-sidewall.jpg

***btw different threading patterns of the tyre serve different purposes.***

refer to the site below for information

http://www.ctyres.co.uk/tyre_info/tyretreaddesign.html

kifakw

Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car

and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car.

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall,

torque is how far you take the wall with you.

tyres information:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tire_code

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=131654

Clutch plates:

ok, changed mine @ planet @ $110(including change EO, Maxima red)

b4 change clutch plates > very very very hard to kick to neutral and gears changing was very stiff even after EO was changed(EO was brown-ish in color when drained out from my engine)

the mech took out my clutch plates and let me smell... ... ... Chao tar(burnt) smell... and also noticed that the groves on the clutch plates are already worn off badly...

Inherited Will.

The Age of the Destiny and The Dreams of the People,

These are the things that will not be stopped.

As long as people continue to pursue the meaning of freedom,

These things will never cease to be!

tyres information:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tire_code

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=131654

Clutch plates:

b4 change clutch plates > very very very hard to kick to neutral and gears changing was very stiff even after EO was changed(EO was brown-ish in color when drained out from my engine)

the mech took out my clutch plates and let me smell... ... ... Chao tar(burnt) smell... and also noticed that the groves on the clutch plates are already worn off badly...

well done on the research guys!

each of us does a little bit, and everybody learns!

Clutch plates:

power la! so fast go change.

did it solve the problem you were facing. is gear changing much smoother now? how long was the entire process? what did they dismantle?

Clutch plates:

bro

how many KMs did yr bike do when u went for the clutch plate change?

mine seem to have this issue with clutch plates not apart completely when i clutch in. can hear a minor tak tak tak sound sometimes when slowing down and fully clutched in. cfm its not coming from loose chain, etc.

however, if i were to make minor adjustments to the clutch cable biting point, it will help for that 2mths or so before the issue pops up again. as a result, my biting point is kind of far out frm all that accumulated adjustments.

when first bought bike... mileage is already @ 70k+++

den changed alot of things...

1 thing i noticed is that neutral super hard to kick... either gear 1 or gear 2... neutral like almost impossible to kick to... that is when i change clutch plate... wat u say i also got encounter currently... i think it's either ur speed too slow when u r @ high gears... shouldn't be a issue bah...

Inherited Will.

The Age of the Destiny and The Dreams of the People,

These are the things that will not be stopped.

As long as people continue to pursue the meaning of freedom,

These things will never cease to be!

Hey Thanks dude for the info! I really appreciate it!

:popcorn: This one can? (",)

Ok lah I'll buy you your next teh peng...

Protegas Et Deleas

guys i'll be at simei for a mth while celina is away. there is rare internet connectivity here cos i tap it from the neighbours. pls call me if there's any outing or short coffees k!

[ :: w h i t e f a n g :: ]

for the love of the game, and the ride..

guys, how long before you normally go and change the battery?

my battery died on me when i'm going off from work. Lucky i read somewhere here how to push start, and lucky i park at level 3, so can take advantage the down slopes :p

anyway, i immediately went to bikeshop, cost me 48.

There is no knowledge that is not power :bow:

so denniz, problem solved..? i am considering a clutch plate change also.. think my gears always slip.. well it did for a few times juz nw..=):bouncefire:

ride safe.. ride responsibly.. give way to me..! :shades:

guys, how long before you normally go and change the battery?

my battery died on me when i'm going off from work. Lucky i read somewhere here how to push start, and lucky i park at level 3, so can take advantage the down slopes :p

anyway, i immediately went to bikeshop, cost me 48.

Ah boy sells compatible ones ar $38, so not so bad la...

so denniz, problem solved..? i am considering a clutch plate change also.. think my gears always slip.. well it did for a few times juz nw..=):bouncefire:

wa, how come everybody suddenly want to change clutch plates?

how Derrick? Brembo clutch plates? =P

currently my bike does 120km/h @ 9k rpm. Is that normal?

and i also realise my fuel consumption drop lehhhhh. last time 40/41 km/L. and now its 38km/L. old birds care to enlighten?

must be keep opening throttle. once past 100 the FC will start to drop.

just last night i left home with about 300ml of petrol, normally enough to get me to JB from my place. i went to pick a friend from Alexander, went to Henderson, back to Alexander and then my place. all nearby stuff. i brought along 700ml of petrol in a bottle just in case. by the time i got home my tank was empty, so was my spare 700ml.

cause: once i reach 6th gear i open full all the way. i blame the fat friend.

currently my bike does 120km/h @ 9k rpm. Is that normal?

and i also realise my fuel consumption drop lehhhhh. last time 40/41 km/L. and now its 38km/L. old birds care to enlighten?

I am also currently getting those kinda figures. I shall change the clutch plate and EO and see if it changes. I used to be able to get 120km at 8Krpm so it's kinda worrisome. But my wounds are still hurting (i know i'm being a baby about it.. gei wo mian zhi can?) so I shall look at my bike when I feel less like a incompetent rider.

must be keep opening throttle. once past 100 the FC will start to drop.

just last night i left home with about 300ml of petrol, normally enough to get me to JB from my place. i went to pick a friend from Alexander, went to Henderson, back to Alexander and then my place. all nearby stuff. i brought along 700ml of petrol in a bottle just in case. by the time i got home my tank was empty, so was my spare 700ml.

cause: once i reach 6th gear i open full all the way. i blame the fat friend.

Is it possible also that your tyres weren't inflated at the proper pressure for pillion? Coz it's a small bike and any additional weight would affect the performance of the bike proportionally more than for the bigger boys. I try to increase the pressure of my tyres slightly more if I need to pillion. And when I pillion I am rather afraid of the chain tension, so I won't accelerate aggressively.

By the way, you carry a bottle of petrol around? Why not just top up a little bit before you ride off. (",) I rather have petrol in my tank than in my box. Or worse! Over my paintwork! Argh!!!

Protegas Et Deleas