sorry can someone tell me what't a new CBR150R machine price cost? still can get it and where is best place to buy? also want to know what is a reasonable price for a 2 years old 2nd hand one. Thanks.

• Replies 34.8k

• collectees

• limbat

• Kenneth.C

• ozzarhomb

my recommendation, change:

1) spark plug (stock NGK CR8E) $8

2) air cleaner (probably never change before) $7

3) air filter (if you don't remember changing before) $11

want to change should change both together, cos need to take out the tank anyways. come my motordiam change, i give you 10% discount from Cpt.ZR price!

50% of his $65, so is about $30. i still make. ok on!

must be after monday. maybe Hari Raya holiday so we can celebrate also?

so is it a change of items 1 to 3, all DIY and at zed's place? i'm interested.. but the tuning.. how ah? (or did i get lost inthe conversation somewhere)

[ :: w h i t e f a n g :: ]

for the love of the game, and the ride..

so is it a change of items 1 to 3, all DIY and at zed's place? i'm interested.. but the tuning.. how ah? (or did i get lost inthe conversation somewhere)

Bingo. I get u. LOL

Yeah, what is the best timing for u? Dont wait till ur exam finish ya, too long. After Monday coz Zed got exam on that day. We will do it at Zed's Motordiam. Finish all alrdy, we can wash bike together. :cheeky:

Tuning only be done if u did something on ur carb lar. We only change air filter & cleaner and possibly plug, not for me as I just changed recently. :angel:

Guys, ride safely. Road is not for playing.

CBR150R :thumb: :shades:

Bingo. I get u. LOL

Yeah, what is the best timing for u? Dont wait till ur exam finish ya, too long. After Monday coz Zed got exam on that day. We will do it at Zed's Motordiam. Finish all alrdy, we can wash bike together. :cheeky:

Tuning only be done if u did something on ur carb lar. We only change air filter & cleaner and possibly plug, not for me as I just changed recently. :angel:

ya my exam is finished in mid nov lor. super long.

i thought got dunno what carb needle to change also, that's why need tuning?

when u all propose? tues noon or wed evening gets my preferred votes. what abt u guys? best to do in the day i feel.. got natural light to see..

[ :: w h i t e f a n g :: ]

for the love of the game, and the ride..

ya my exam is finished in mid nov lor. super long.

i thought got dunno what carb needle to change also, that's why need tuning?

when u all propose? tues noon or wed evening gets my preferred votes. what abt u guys? best to do in the day i feel.. got natural light to see..

The thing is, so far only u & me. LOL

About the carb thingy, Zed & I joking only. :cheeky:

Anyway guys.. jjust to ask.. how much does it cost to wash and tune the carb of our bikes?

There is no replacement for displacement, except for Ah Seng

Anyway guys.. jjust to ask.. how much does it cost to wash and tune the carb of our bikes?

They didnt wash ur carb when they change ur carb needle? :giddy:

nvr lor... they charge $$ de lor.. what to do... I wanna DIY, but later scared when i DIY the bike got prob. Cos now i use my bike daily to go attachment.. 1 day no bike uber hard to get used to it...

So.. anyone ? how much and where to do is better? and also my rear brakes wearing out soon lo! :giddy:

nvr lor... they charge $$ de lor.. what to do... I wanna DIY, but later scared when i DIY the bike got prob. Cos now i use my bike daily to go attachment.. 1 day no bike uber hard to get used to it...

So.. anyone ? how much and where to do is better? and also my rear brakes wearing out soon lo! :giddy:

I was told by some old birds here, there is no need to wash our carb. Just pump V Power once awhile, as it will clean our carb by itself. :cheeky:

wash carb should be quite a cheap job. that time went JB they did it for RM25.

since they're going to remove your tank to access your carb, consider also changing both your air cleaner and filter.

U study till blur2 alrdy ya? He just changed both of them. :cheeky:

aie aie... i see... cos now my bike idling that time... the rpm damn unstable one.. awhile at 1500rpm.. then go down... then go to 1800 then go down.. abit worrying. then sometime after expressway cruise le stop at traffic light the rpm will be at 2... cos everyday i will warm bike for at least 3 min b4 moving off..

but still same leh the idling like V unstable.. worries me. :cry: Me love Me bike... :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

U study till blur2 alrdy ya? He just changed both of them. :cheeky:

ya i chged le ... now 1 week le.. now running well only the carb abit worrying .. cos i want he carb to be properly done so the fuel efficiency is there and it wont get choked or what.. and somemore my bike hi mileage le... 61K le.. i think the owner bo service one..

I was just told that my bike is running a little rich... Is there any way to solve that?

Anyways, I had the problem of "unstable" RPM as well, but I noticed that if I were to warm the bike up for slightly longer the RPM is a little bit more stable. I normally take about 5-7 minutes to warm up. But then again, my bike is pretty old compared to some of them here.

It cost me only about $10 to wash carb in Singapore. And although I know V Power does clean the carb, I would still wash carb if I feel like my throttle response is sucky.

Oh and does anyone know how much is it to overhaul our engine? And will it take a long time to complete the overhauling process?

Protegas Et Deleas

I was just told that my bike is running a little rich... Is there any way to solve that?

Anyways, I had the problem of "unstable" RPM as well, but I noticed that if I were to warm the bike up for slightly longer the RPM is a little bit more stable. I normally take about 5-7 minutes to warm up. But then again, my bike is pretty old compared to some of them here.

It cost me only about $10 to wash carb in Singapore. And although I know V Power does clean the carb, I would still wash carb if I feel like my throttle response is sucky.

Oh and does anyone know how much is it to overhaul our engine? And will it take a long time to complete the overhauling process?

Your bike running rich means there is more fuel coming into carburator than needed. you can adjust this by turning the air fuel adjustment nut on the left side of the carb. When your bike is running in the correct mixture your plug should contain a brownish look. If your plug is black that means you are running too rich

the RPM needle on my bike do fluctuate a little on idling

the range is smth like between 1 to 1.5K depending on weather condition and what nots.

cause i notice that idling seems to be lower during cool or rainy weather.

as long as it is not excessive fluctuations, then i suppose it is fine.

usually excessive RPM fluctuations are due to carb tuning or inner components, choke, fuel hose or pump, etc. basically that includes any component supplying air &/or fuel to the engine.

IMHO, fuels like techron and vpower do contain additional additives to aid in the cleaning of accumulated stuff in our engine. however, to expect such fuel to somewhat remove or dissolve things like rust particles, etc which somehow got trapped in our fuel tank or got fed into the carburettor seems quite an impossible task.

as such, assuming the bike is left in good condition, i wouldn't think we need to wash carburettor too frequently. doing it once every 15,000 or even 20,000kms seem pretty much acceptable.

for air intake, modifications like removing air filter, air box, etc are likely to introduce more unwanted particles into the system.

for fuel intake, rust on the inner sides of the tank or unwanted particles that dropped or are mixed with the petrol we pump including rain water that sips past the fuel cap are pretty much the few items i can think of.

for overhaul, i think denniz can give u a pretty gd cost estimate. the bikeshop that he went to was the same shop where i got them to do my top servicing - Planet. the way planet works is that they only recommend u to change parts which deserve to be changed. and this is problem, cause they can only give u an estimated quote until they strip the engine apart.

You can easily clean the carb yourself. Just buy a carb cleaner. Remove the tank and air box. (so that the input of the carb is visible). Get a small bottle to supply fuel to the carb and block the suction line (the vacumn line from engine)

Then spray the carb cleaner to all the holes in the input of the carb. Each of these holes are connected with jets. If you carb is not badly blocked this will work just fine. After this you have to tune up the carb if the air fuel mixture is not correct. If you want I can send you some links that describe how to properly tune the carb.

You can easily clean the carb yourself. Just buy a carb cleaner. Remove the tank and air box. (so that the input of the carb is visible). Get a small bottle to supply fuel to the carb and block the suction line (the vacumn line from engine)

Then spray the carb cleaner to all the holes in the input of the carb. Each of these holes are connected with jets. If you carb is not badly blocked this will work just fine. After this you have to tune up the carb if the air fuel mixture is not correct. If you want I can send you some links that describe how to properly tune the carb.

Hmmm... i see i see thanks for the heads up leh! But its the tuning part.. but i think the entire life of my this cbr nvr clean b4.. so just clean clean tune tune. make the bike abit happpier.. and hopefully to improve my fc... my bike is 5YO lo.. how abt yours? does anyone's CBR is over 5 yo? :thumb:

aie aie... i see... cos now my bike idling that time... the rpm damn unstable one.. awhile at 1500rpm.. then go down... then go to 1800 then go down.. abit worrying. then sometime after expressway cruise le stop at traffic light the rpm will be at 2... cos everyday i will warm bike for at least 3 min b4 moving off..

but still same leh the idling like V unstable.. worries me. :cry: Me love Me bike... :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

the amazing thing about the CBR150 is that it's a very simple bike. no need until so complicated remove this open that and change all.

for example, the other time my revs way fluctuating in the region of 3K-4K, and my top speed max out at 100. i also thought what major problem of carb dirty or something worse. but 2 different people (mechnic at Lee Huat of 10+ years and people at Everfit) advise is most probably air cleaner, they both told me CBR150 very simple bike. in the end was not air cleaner, was spark plug incompatible.

my advice is to change cheap thing first (air cleaner, filter, spark plug). problem persist then look at other parts. don't one shot change one expensive part then find out is just a $7 spark plug problem. or even worse open engine liao introduce other new problems.

the amazing thing about the CBR150 is that it's a very simple bike. no need until so complicated remove this open that and change all.

for example, the other time my revs way fluctuating in the region of 3K-4K, and my top speed max out at 100. i also thought what major problem of carb dirty or something worse. but 2 different people (mechnic at Lee Huat of 10+ years and people at Everfit) advise is most probably air cleaner, they both told me CBR150 very simple bike. in the end was not air cleaner, was spark plug incompatible.

my advice is to change cheap thing first (air cleaner, filter, spark plug). problem persist then look at other parts. don't one shot change one expensive part then find out is just a $7 spark plug problem. or even worse open engine liao introduce other new problems.

thats what i love. hassle-free :thumb:

U want to change ur air filter & cleaner? Shaun & me hve confirmed that we will be changing them this coming Wednesday 10AM @ Zed's Motordiam. Parts will be supplied by Zed. If u want, u need to confirm b4 10 30 tmrw morning.

Btw, its not totally hassle-free lar, we need to change few parts regularly in order to maintain our lovely CBR. :thumb:

Pump Caltex all the way & hopefully u got nothing to do with ur carb. :cheeky:

U want to change ur air filter & cleaner? Shaun & me hve confirmed that we will be changing them this coming Wednesday 10AM @ Zed's Motordiam. Parts will be supplied by Zed. If u want, u need to confirm b4 10 30 tmrw morning.

Btw, its not totally hassle-free lar, we need to change few parts regularly in order to maintain our lovely CBR. :thumb:

Pump Caltex all the way & hopefully u got nothing to do with ur carb. :cheeky:

I totally agree with what he say. No offence to Zed, but i have seen many many motorcyclist having the mind set of

"honda bullet proof.. sure ok one.. " they keep having the sure ok one sure ok one.. mindset..

I'm a quite a newbie in this motorcycling world, so i guess sometimes what i say people will think am crapping, but i have seen people who has those mind set, end up their bikes are as crappy as nonsense that you suddenly pity every single thing on the bike. My mind set is when the time is up, you gotta do it.. Dont because you can save some cash then dont do... To me i think mechanical stuff also need some care and attention.. Wait till the day when u are rly in need to go home where.. suddenly your piston seize due to neglect .. So when ever got problem.. DIY then DIY, do those must do one... dont over do it lo... also, i believe all bikes in the world dont have such thing call bullet proof... every machine is vulnerable..

I went to wash and service my carb today.. The mech opened up the carb and washed and tuned. the throttle is much better now... so must do one do... and dont forget the regular maintenance and servicing. :p