hm...may i somewhat link yr aftermarket CDI to the failing of coil after reading yr post?

unstable RPM at the end of the day has got either to do w/ unstable feeding of petrol or air.

but it takes hell of a work to determine the exact area causing the issue...

filters, carb jet, a/f tuning, fuel pump, stability of power output frm charging system, etc...

Don, u r right too many points to isolate ..........another point I forgot to ask is Y is his battery weak in the 1st place ? Old battery, insufficient charging or overload of electrical add-on ?? :cheeky:

HP: 93891138 :angel:

• Replies 34.8k

• collectees

• limbat

• Kenneth.C

• ozzarhomb

then u are pretty near to uncle lim's place mah

can always bring along a helmet la

some kind bro here sure will give u a lift home on his cbr150.

Haha nvm lah.. Still got other chance :)

Subaru Impreza 1.6i (SGU) [2006 - ???]

Honda CBR150R (FW) [2009 - 2009]

Honda NSR150SP (FT) [2008 - 2010]

Yamaha T135 (FBE) [2010 - ???]

CBR125/NSR125/CBR150/NSR150/T135 Manuals --> http://www.scribd.com/xbfish

In that case - I wouldnt miss u .............. but if u make it ......... I might miss u ............... :cheeky: :cheeky:

I will miss you if I have met you :cheeky:

I dun think a weak battery affect the idling of a bike. Better check your recent modification or increase the rpm setting or better get a LBS to tuned the bike.

hmm okay. my battery is ok, as far as i am concerned till now, my battery still stand strong will write a story after this post.

hm...may i somewhat link yr aftermarket CDI to the failing of coil after reading yr post?

unstable RPM at the end of the day has got either to do w/ unstable feeding of petrol or air.

but it takes hell of a work to determine the exact area causing the issue...

filters, carb jet, a/f tuning, fuel pump, stability of power output frm charging system, etc...

well i dont think the CDI is the cause of the problem

Don, u r right too many points to isolate ..........another point I forgot to ask is Y is his battery weak in the 1st place ? Old battery, insufficient charging or overload of electrical add-on ?? :cheeky:

my battery for now is not weak leh. though i got no voltmeter to test, but it can crank and crank and crank with all my headlights and hazard light on without a problem.

There is no replacement for displacement, except for Ah Seng

Well, after fixing the coil, and switching back to stock CDI and tuned to a very high idling, i went and meet some of my AGL buddies to tune and fix the bike.

went in and the mech immediately know whats the problem after riding it. So he cleaned the carb, and he diagnosed it. At the end of the day this is what he replaced.

-NGK cr8E sthg sthg GP plugs.

-Cleaned my carb.

-tuned carb

-i bought new lever. [ok just aesthetics.]

-change back to HRC CDI, not stock

I went to AGL and tested, pick up, hill climb, slow hill climb on a warmed up engine and HRC cdi. All was well and i was very happy because i can go touring again soon. So after that we went to petronas and filled up and headed home. Was very happy... because bike can run smoothly again.

AND THEN it happened, cough cough, died. Lucky was near customs and i pushed it over the flyover to meet my friends which escorted me home. On the way home, the same problem kept on happening, cough cough died. I must rest for a while after the cough cough. the whole process repeated itself from JB all the way to Singapore and all the way to home. I have to push start and keep on starting.

So please can someone help me. I was sweating like mad when i got home. and luckily i was with my friends.

items i have done:

-New coil [the one with many copper wires at the left side of our engine]

-New plugs. NGK cr8e sthg sthg GP.

-Washed carb

-Tuned Carb

-HRC cdi.

-new levers. [okok just wanna be complete.]

oh well, i am a little out of wits end here. My friend who have experienced same problem told me might be the spark plug cable prob. But i duno the mech at my LBS tried it can spark.. if it cant spark why can i still whack for abit then nvr stall?

and when i close throttle, sometimes it will cough and die, sometimes it wont.

i don't know who to trust now, hou heng only solved my problem for awhile. My LBS solved my problem abit, but persisted coughing.

so help? :faint::(

zr. why are u not in bed. u dun think u hit the number 2-0 then u can anyhow liao ah i tell u.

i tell ur mother.

[ :: w h i t e f a n g :: ]

for the love of the game, and the ride..

i typing my story la.

i think my bike more jialat then yrs.

I am Willie and I live in Bedok Reservoir. Anyone same as me? :shy:

By the way, the bike shop called me and confirmed that I cannot get my bike this Saturday. I guess I 'll have to give the meeting session a miss. :cry:

if u really want, i can give u a lift. i live in the east. and will be coming from simei direction.

i typing my story la.

i think my bike more jialat then yrs.

i know. i just read. it seems like u have to shelf all ur plans for these two days at least. its too unreliable at this point in time to make any appts.

my battery for now is not weak leh. though i got no voltmeter to test, but it can crank and crank and crank with all my headlights and hazard light on without a problem.

hint hint Uncle Lim, he also want to install voltmeter.

Well, after fixing the coil, and switching back to stock CDI and tuned to a very high idling, i went and meet some of my AGL buddies to tune and fix the bike.

went in and the mech immediately know whats the problem after riding it. So he cleaned the carb, and he diagnosed it. At the end of the day this is what he replaced.

-NGK cr8E sthg sthg GP plugs.

-Cleaned my carb.

-tuned carb

-i bought new lever. [ok just aesthetics.]

-change back to HRC CDI, not stock

I went to AGL and tested, pick up, hill climb, slow hill climb on a warmed up engine and HRC cdi. All was well and i was very happy because i can go touring again soon. So after that we went to petronas and filled up and headed home. Was very happy... because bike can run smoothly again.

AND THEN it happened, cough cough, died. Lucky was near customs and i pushed it over the flyover to meet my friends which escorted me home. On the way home, the same problem kept on happening, cough cough died. I must rest for a while after the cough cough. the whole process repeated itself from JB all the way to Singapore and all the way to home. I have to push start and keep on starting.

So please can someone help me. I was sweating like mad when i got home. and luckily i was with my friends.

items i have done:

-New coil [the one with many copper wires at the left side of our engine]

-New plugs. NGK cr8e sthg sthg GP.

-Washed carb

-Tuned Carb

-HRC cdi.

-new levers. [okok just wanna be complete.]

oh well, i am a little out of wits end here. My friend who have experienced same problem told me might be the spark plug cable prob. But i duno the mech at my LBS tried it can spark.. if it cant spark why can i still whack for abit then nvr stall?

and when i close throttle, sometimes it will cough and die, sometimes it wont.

i don't know who to trust now, hou heng only solved my problem for awhile. My LBS solved my problem abit, but persisted coughing.

so help? :faint::(

please confirm ACTUAL spark plug model.

my personal suggestion to check the following in order of:

1. spark plug (take out the plug to examine for any obvious & unnecessary signs of engine oil, carbon buildup, etc) i am less concerned w/ wrong plug rating since ZR mentioned it is CR8E variant. GP is probably the one w/ fine platinum tip. ensure the plug cable head is properly connected w/ the spark plug.

2. ensure EO level & coolant level are sufficient

3. get yr hands on a voltmeter/multimeter to test out the voltage across the battery. note that the voltage should be ard 12 - 13V when bike is not started & slightly higher when engine idling. when u throttle the bike to a certain rpm & maintain throttle, voltage shouldnt fluctuate too wildly.

4. try out the choke to ensure it works fine. i am always paranoid abt choke cable being stuck opened cause this issue has come to haunt me twice so far.

5. test the fuel suction pump found right under the fuel tank. give the air suction tube a blow & ensure fuel flows out smoothly.

if u dont observe any abnormailities based on the above, i have a feeling u may have the 'common' carburettor problem.

NGK-CR8E-K is our stock spark plug.

there are 2 scenarios now.

1) David once used NGK-CR8E-GP once and complained about the same fluctuating problem. Changed back to NGK-CR8E-K and problem disappeared.

2) Zed was also having this problem of a fluctuating RPM. So much to the extent that if he were to be travelling at gear 2 or 3 and pull clutch (meaning no power to the wheels), the engine will just die off. And since his spark plug was due, he changed to NGK-CR8E-GP. I think he hasn't mentioned about the problem ever since.

So now u have a case of 1 person using GP and encounter problem. Another person change to GP and solved his problem. :confused:

if u really want, i can give u a lift. i live in the east. and will be coming from simei direction.

Haha it's all right lah. Really appreciate.

I'll meet you guys on the next session because I know how to pick up from you guys when I get my bike. :angel:

hint hint Uncle Lim, he also want to install voltmeter.

shawn sold me her voltmeter this saturday collecting.

NGK CR8E- GP

my personal suggestion to check the following in order of:

1. spark plug (take out the plug to examine for any obvious & unnecessary signs of engine oil, carbon buildup, etc) i am less concerned w/ wrong plug rating since ZR mentioned it is CR8E variant. GP is probably the one w/ fine platinum tip. ensure the plug cable head is properly connected w/ the spark plug.

all connected properly already. fully inserted.

2. ensure EO level & coolant level are sufficient

just checked its enough

3. get yr hands on a voltmeter/multimeter to test out the voltage across the battery. note that the voltage should be ard 12 - 13V when bike is not started & slightly higher when engine idling. when u throttle the bike to a certain rpm & maintain throttle, voltage shouldnt fluctuate too wildly.

tonight will get one. The bike just keep coughing non stop.. when i rev and hold. it just goes like vroooooooooom-cough-vrooooooom.-cough-vrrrrrooooom

4. try out the choke to ensure it works fine. i am always paranoid abt choke cable being stuck opened cause this issue has come to haunt me twice so far.

choke is ok i didnt pull out.

5. test the fuel suction pump found right under the fuel tank. give the air suction tube a blow & ensure fuel flows out smoothly.

havent try yet. but mech at JB and SG did that already so fuel should be fine.

if u dont observe any abnormailities based on the above, i have a feeling u may have the 'common' carburettor problem.

carb problem? but the mech took out the carb and serviced it yesterday already.

1) David once used NGK-CR8E-GP once and complained about the same fluctuating problem. Changed back to NGK-CR8E-K and problem disappeared.

2) Zed was also having this problem of a fluctuating RPM. So much to the extent that if he were to be travelling at gear 2 or 3 and pull clutch (meaning no power to the wheels), the engine will just die off. And since his spark plug was due, he changed to NGK-CR8E-GP. I think he hasn't mentioned about the problem ever since.

So now u have a case of 1 person using GP and encounter problem. Another person change to GP and solved his problem. :confused:

now, ytd when mech fixed in the GP plugs. its damn smooth no more fluctuation. so good tat i tot its ok liao. i even test the bike.

then problem comes back again.

Our stock should be CR8E for NGK plug. No K, no GP, no nothing. :angel:

choke is ok i didnt pull out.

carb problem? but the mech took out the carb and serviced it yesterday already.

now, ytd when mech fixed in the GP plugs. its damn smooth no more fluctuation. so good tat i tot its ok liao. i even test the bike.

Just to make it clear, in my case when I changed to GP, my problem solved immediately. But after a day, the problem came back. Then I changed to CR8EK until now no problem. So, this might be the same problem u r facing Zong Ren.

Where do u stay exactly? I hve CR8EK unused, if u know how to change the plug urself, u can come to my place & give it a try. Anyway, Im going to switch back to Denso Iridium.

For the choke part, I think what Don meant is that, eventhough u didnt pull up the choke, but due to the choke cable problem, it might had been pulled up by itself. Hope u understand me. :)

Not that I dont trust JB mechanic, but after tuning problem solved & come back immediately, the carb can be the real problem. Who knows human error while tuning or installing back. Sg mechanic also sure make careless mistake 1.

The problem with what u r doing is that, u did so many things at the same time. So u not sure, which 1 solve ur real problem, which lead u to this situation. Just my 2 cents. Dont get offended pls.

Im not expert, but I believe the problem lies in either plug or carb.

Btw, just a gentle remimder guys. Went to IU inspection just now. So I asked the guy whether our Mustafa horn legal or illegal. He said, inspection staffs will let u go, but NOT TP. So I asked him again, that means this horn is illegal? He answered, "u guess?"

Guys, ride safely. Road is not for playing.

CBR150R :thumb: :shades:

ooh. when i went for inspection, no one said anything to me. lol..

if got lessons dont skip hor.... that time i fix my box... i skip my lesson cos the thing delay and delay and delay... and c0ck up and c0ck up and c0ck up.

but zed was nice enough to go the extra mile to help me sort things out.

my school very near .... i eat lunch le chat chit awhile then go class ... shouldn't be a problem

Our stock should be CR8E for NGK plug. No K, no GP, no nothing. :angel:

Just to make it clear, in my case when I changed to GP, my problem solved immediately. But after a day, the problem came back. Then I changed to CR8EK until now no problem. So, this might be the same problem u r facing Zong Ren.

Where do u stay exactly? I hve CR8EK unused, if u know how to change the plug urself, u can come to my place & give it a try. Anyway, Im going to switch back to Denso Iridium.

For the choke part, I think what Don meant is that, eventhough u didnt pull up the choke, but due to the choke cable problem, it might had been pulled up by itself. Hope u understand me. :)

Not that I dont trust JB mechanic, but after tuning problem solved & come back immediately, the carb can be the real problem. Who knows human error while tuning or installing back. Sg mechanic also sure make careless mistake 1.

The problem with what u r doing is that, u did so many things at the same time. So u not sure, which 1 solve ur real problem, which lead u to this situation. Just my 2 cents. Dont get offended pls.

Im not expert, but I believe the problem lies in either plug or carb.

Btw, just a gentle remimder guys. Went to IU inspection just now. So I asked the guy whether our Mustafa horn legal or illegal. He said, inspection staffs will let u go, but NOT TP. So I asked him again, that means this horn is illegal? He answered, "u guess?"

i thought the NGK series comes in NGK-CR8E-(something)

u mean there's such spark plug as NGK-CR8E ? hmmm.....

regarding the horn, lets not forget that mustafa sells 2 types of horns - electro-magnetic and electro-pneumatic.

the former uses magnetics to produce a sound and the latter uses AIR (pneumatics) to produce a sound. i think the pneumatic ones are illegal... the ones we use are magnetic.

I am Willie and I live in Bedok Reservoir. Anyone same as me? :shy:

By the way, the bike shop called me and confirmed that I cannot get my bike this Saturday. I guess I 'll have to give the meeting session a miss. :cry:

maybe if u want u can BMW go... it near ur house... shouldn't be a problem:angel::angel:

maybe u should try getting the CR8E-K from david. who knows it, just like for him, might just solve all that fluctuating rpm problem.

maybe is coz his bike got alarm ...u got try disconnect ur alarm and ride... see got this problem ma....

Edited by Tdks
maybe u should try getting the CR8E-K from david. who knows it, just like for him, might just solve all that fluctuating rpm problem.

ya true. :thumb:

i thought the NGK series comes in NGK-CR8E-(something)

u mean there's such spark plug as NGK-CR8E ? hmmm.....

regarding the horn, lets not forget that mustafa sells 2 types of horns - electro-magnetic and electro-pneumatic.

the former uses magnetics to produce a sound and the latter uses AIR (pneumatics) to produce a sound. i think the pneumatic ones are illegal... the ones we use are magnetic.

NGK & Denso come out with hell lot of series that surely will confuse the end users. LOL

Erh... the converstaion isnt complete. I did tell him, this 1 not air, its magnetic type. :cheeky:

Erh... Let me warn ZR first. Im not really sure how to replace our bike's plug. Labour 2or3 bucks only + 1 year change 2 times the most + too complicated makes me no mood to know. LOL