Hi alnz,

welcome!

Qn: At which mileage was the last full servicing done?

Reason: If the bike was maintained according to x8 manual (I assume you have that), then your engine would have gone through

1) First 1000km (count by mileage meter) servicing (engine oil change, oil filter change, hub oil change, air filter clean, coolant topup, brake fluid/pads check, battery water level check, carburettor tuning/check), change spark plugs

2) 2000km (check for sufficient engine and hub oil, brake fluid, coolant and battery water)

3) 4000-5000km servicing (no. 1) and maybe alignment + suspension checks

So at 8000KM, should be just routine check on the necessary parts.

Nearing 10000KM should be servicing + maybe check/change belt, tyres, variator rollers, clutch(if found to be worn out), bearings, mounting... scooter shops should be able to advise you on correct maintenance schedule.

So answer to your question, if maintenance schedule is followed (at least, after first 1000km, Engine oil servicing is assumed changed accordingly every 3000-5000km), then you should be fine until about 10000km mileage.

But best first to check with shop or person you buy from whether servicing has been done and at what mileage. If not sure, then just go to a scooter workshop and do check and service.

(Hope the more experience x8ers in this thread can help to contribute)

And hope I was at least able to help with some rough pointers.

You may also want to check out the Scooterist handbook compiled by Horizoner (the last topic pinned in the main scooter forum) http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....showtopic=82107

• Replies 3.1k

Hi bro and sis,

i was't too please wif my no. plate (the numbers not very nice.... at least tat's how i look at it) which i intend to change 1. I hv searched the classified here but the no. seem to be a bit limit.

wondering any kind soul could suggest where else i can look for and wat's the procedure to go abt changing it and cost how much?

tks a million

yo bro, sis,

i still smelt the burning after some time of riding when i park my bike. i also feel that my engine heat up easily (maybe i being ignorance). Plus after some time of riding, when i try to accelerate from stationary postion (example picking up at the traffic light), my bike wil vibrate strongly for a while and aloud scratching noise produced. isit normal? any 1 can enlighten me? who and where can i get good bike servicing? in fact i only brought it a week ago from Ban Hon but when i push back to the mechanic, he seem unwiling to do anything and keep saying the bike is pretty new and shouldn't have any problem (sound like trying to smoke me). * BIG MINUS POINTS after sales service*

Desprately need help! tks!

Why not bring your bike to Future Scootering. At least there's where most X8 riders I know goes too.

Yours sounds like a clutch slip to me. :goodluck: If it's under warranty, then best go to PSC.

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Originally posted by wlning@May 2 2006, 01:16 PM

yo bro, sis,

i still smelt the burning after some time of riding when i park my bike. i also feel that my engine heat up easily (maybe i being ignorance). Plus after some time of riding, when i try to accelerate from stationary postion (example picking up at the traffic light), my bike wil vibrate strongly for a while and aloud scratching noise produced. isit normal? any 1 can enlighten me? who and where can i get good bike servicing? in fact i only brought it a week ago from Ban Hon but when i push back to the mechanic, he seem unwiling to do anything and keep saying the bike is pretty new and shouldn't have any problem (sound like trying to smoke me). * BIG MINUS POINTS after sales service*

Desprately need help! tks!

Hey wlning, i think scarab is corect. It sounds like u are experiencing clutch slip. Not only old bikes experience tat but it seems like even newer ones is getting that. If the scoot warranty is still valid I suggest you go back to PSC and explain your pedicament to Mr Yap. If the warranty is expired you can go to the shops list in the recommended bike shops thread.

If you want we can meet up and I will try my best to help you out :smile: juz sms me at 97378487

tks bro for your advices,

i finally got kenny to fix for me and he changed the crutch and bell (Pollini)+ crutch fan and O ring. i also changed my engine oil and spark plug.

but what i upset is the service from Ban Hon and the quality of bike (though is a 2nd hand bike). The boss "Ah San" from Ban Hon still dare to tell me he provide warranty for 2 weeks. I think there isn't much thing i can do now at least i like to share my experience with all of you here.

Originally posted by wlning@May 2 2006, 06:29 PM

tks bro for your advices,

i finally got kenny to fix for me and he changed the crutch and bell (Pollini)+ crutch fan and O ring. i also changed my engine oil and spark plug.

but what i upset is the service from Ban Hon and the quality of bike (though is a 2nd hand bike). The boss "Ah San" from Ban Hon still dare to tell me he provide warranty for 2 weeks. I think there isn't much thing i can do now at least i like to share my experience with all of you here.

Sorry to hear about how they treat you bro, but cheer up as now you can enjoy the ride of you new scoot :smile:

Originally posted by fatboy71@May 2 2006, 08:56 PM

You can check OneMotoring portal for info (cost I think you can check with LTA)

URL (General process): http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...bid_number.html

URL (Step-by-Step):

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...ml#MainPar_0016

Otherwise, you can check with bike shops to check, but if do thru them sure got admin charges one.

Hope this helps.

Fatboy71.

tks for info fatboy71! veri appreciate that!

where can i find colored rims ?

wat rim size is good for x8?

wat tyre is best for x8?

wat is pollini speed control?

where to install remote start? (like 100m away can start bike...)

wat kind of belt is available in the market?

how long can one belt last?

how often to service the bike?change EO?etc etc?

how to increase the bhp ?

help! fill me wif info...

thanks horizoner for telling me the below...

_______________________-

Remote start on X8 is not directly possible. It has an immobiliser. However, it has been done b4 on a x9 by cutting out the chip in the key and planting it permanently bebind the key hole. This way, it is as good as voiding the immobiliser.

Don't think you can find coloured rim but u can respray the rim. However, even with tyre changing machine, the sprayed rim can still be scratched.

If i am not wrong, the only reliable belt will be kevlar. I have heard enough horrer stories about the Mitusbishi belt ...

If i remember correctly, the manual recommends that the EO be changed every 6000km. But with the local hot weather, the EO, however good it may be, will degrade fast. Normally, I will change every 4000km for my X9 (same engine as X8). Use good EO!!! I recommend Maxima and 300V

Adding a voltage stabiliser can increase your horsepower slightly.

hi I'm new to this website

I need help

decide to disconnect the battery last night be'cos going off to long holiday.

but once i done it and put the seat, notice that i cannot reopen the seat and the petrol cover! can anyone advise me what can i do beside taking the bike to the shop please, is there another way to get into the battery ?

many tks!:cry:

Originally posted by jyy@May 5 2006, 08:56 AM

hi I'm new to this website

I need help

decide to disconnect the battery last night be'cos going off to long holiday.

but once i done it and put the seat, notice that i cannot reopen the seat and the petrol cover! can anyone advise me what can i do beside taking the bike to the shop please, is there another way to get into the battery ?

many tks!:cry:

open up the fuel cover by pressing in the place where u insert ur key n use the manual lever to open up the seats....hope this help... :smile:

http://img134.imageshack.us/img134/8246/untitlednb3.jpg

The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing

The only thing that makes life possible is permanent, intolerable uncertainty; not knowing what comes next.

Originally posted by jyy@May 5 2006, 11:51 AM

tks for the advice!!

having problem opening the fuel cover as well!! hm.....

for the fuel cover its easy..juz press in the area where u put ur key to start ur bike..the fuel cover will flip up..hehe...its like how u always want to top up ur bike... :cheeky:

The only thing that makes life possible is permanent, intolerable uncertainty; not knowing what comes next.

Originally posted by jyy@May 5 2006, 02:01 PM

yea i know, but somehow it stuck cannot get it open...:giddy:

oh...encounter tat once..i kept pushing the fuel cover n move move it..finally it open...But after closed it stuck again..so fed up took a screwdriver n forced it open...then put some oil on the spring n ok liao..hehe... :cheeky:

Originally posted by jyy@May 5 2006, 05:06 PM

Much appreciated!

will try your method!

tks!!

No prob..But becareful Not 2 scarch ur bike though.. :cheeky:

Hope anyone else like to share or help out ivy here if ever experience the same prob as us... :thumb:

Originally posted by jyy@May 5 2006, 05:06 PM

Much appreciated!

will try your method!

tks!!

No prob..But becareful Not 2 scarch ur bike though.. :cheeky:

Hope anyone else like to share or help out ivy here if ever experience the same prob as us... :thumb:

Originally posted by alnz@May 3 2006, 05:36 PM

wat tyre is best for x8?

help! fill me wif info...

thanks horizoner for telling me the below...

_______________________-

Remote start on X8 is not directly possible. It has an immobiliser. However, it has been done b4 on a x9 by cutting out the chip in the key and planting it permanently bebind the key hole. This way, it is as good as voiding the immobiliser.

Don't think you can find coloured rim but u can respray the rim. However, even with tyre changing machine, the sprayed rim can still be scratched.

If i am not wrong, the only reliable belt will be kevlar. I have heard enough horrer stories about the Mitusbishi belt ... 

If i remember correctly, the manual recommends that the EO be changed every 6000km. But with the local hot weather, the EO, however good it may be, will degrade fast. Normally, I will change every 4000km for my X9 (same engine as X8). Use good EO!!! I recommend Maxima and 300V

Adding a voltage stabiliser can increase your horsepower slightly.

Hi alnz,

Like horizoner said, spray painting you rims might be the only option.

You want to have bigger or smaller rims other than the originals? Not sure you can

wat tyre is best for x8?

Michelin Gold Standard (my own opinion la, but many forumers have given very good remarks on this)

Alternative to your speed variator (the one that determines the optimum power that drives your bike at various RPMs... i think so)

There's also Malossi Multivar 2000 you can consider. Having the after market variators improves your pickup i think.

I don't think it is recommended and easy to do that. Our x8 has an immobiliser unit that needs to be disabled and bypassed to allow the remote start. Not good as the immobiliser was put on x8 for basic theft prevention (x8 key has a computer chip which is unique and upon factory assembly the immobiliser is programmed to accept only the key assigned). You can go to scooter specialist to ask for this, but process is long and complicated and maybe not guaranteed to work. And probably will cost $$

Think below has been answered by horizoner:

Just to add, there are after market performance enhancements that enable you to increase bhp (exhaust kits, carbs, big bore kits) depends on your wallet and expectations.. Malossi and Polini stuff comes to mind. Check with the scooter shops you see mentioned in this forum.

You can find out more to get ideas on how to optimise and improve your x8 performance by reading this (basics of CVT by FASS):

URL : http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....showtopic=81879

Maybe we can arrange for kopi and discuss further.... this calls for an x8ers meetup!! :lovestruck:

Originally posted by chua_chee_keong@May 6 2006, 01:30 AM

Dunno if i got the reliable new that X8 is coming out with 400cc. :confused:

Anyone heard of this too :confused:

Hi CCK!

Remember me... we met at wonderful moto sometime last year? The fat guy on the Red Amalfi you help to push out :cheeky:

Yes, I read in Piaggio magazine (APRIL - JUNE edition page 8.... last few lins of the Gilera Nexus 250 PREVIEW) x8 400 come out in Jun/jul...

I just got x8 200... aiming to get the x8 400 after passing 2A la. Maybe in 1/2 years time when current x8 paid up a bit more (then got value to trade in)...

Originally posted by fatboy71@May 6 2006, 01:52 AM

Hi CCK!

Remember me... we met at wonderful moto sometime last year? The fat guy on the Red Amalfi you help to push out :cheeky:

Yes, I read in Piaggio magazine (APRIL - JUNE edition page 8.... last few lins of the Gilera Nexus 250 PREVIEW) x8 400 come out in Jun/jul...

I just got x8 200... aiming to get the x8 400 after passing 2A la. Maybe in 1/2 years time when current x8 paid up a bit more (then got value to trade in)...

What i heard of is Gilera Nexus 250 launching in August and X8 400cc in somewhere in December. :smile:

Sorry that i can't remember who are you already? Maybe we shall meet up one fine day and shall intro again. :cheeky:

Originally posted by chua_chee_keong@May 6 2006, 01:57 AM

What i heard of is Gilera Nexus 250 launching in August and X8 400cc in somewhere in December. :smile:

Sorry that i can't remember who are you already? Maybe we shall meet up one fine day and shall intro again. :cheeky:

No worries ... i am a very forgettable person anywayz :cheeky:

Anyway, the info I got is from the latest Piaggionale magazine. But these things sometimes not very confirmed oso. So maybe you might be right :smile:

Sure, next outing we go to will make sure i come look you up. :thumb:

Originally posted by fatboy71@May 6 2006, 02:17 AM

Sure, next outing we go to will make sure i come look you up. :thumb: