hi, got a few questions:

1. where will this switch be installed?

2. how to tell they use the original one?

3. anyone got pic?

4. my head light beam seem to be pointing abit hi, vehicles always think i hi beam them. anyone got same problem? can adjust?

Biking History :

Class2B Pass Oct 1995

Class2A WIP

1995 to 1997 - Yamaha RXZ 133

1997 to 2005 - Honda Rebel 125

2005 current - Piaggio X8 200

Next Bike In Mind - dun knw yet :p

• Replies 3.1k

Hey guys..

thinking of getting a used x8..

what's the average price for an x8 at motordiam.. possible to get one below 2k or even 1k?

and also what is the fuel consumtion of an x8?

thanks for sharing

Originally posted by cktang@Jun 6 2005, 12:19 AM

what's the average price for an x8 at motordiam.. possible to get one below 2k or even 1k?

bro,

2 k ~ 1k for downpayment ?:sweat:

Getting a 2nd hand x8 is pretty hard in the market now, since the earliest plate i think is FW! Last year June i think! Less than a year, most people haven't even finish installments, so sell oso bo hua...

Not to demoralise you, but just letting you know! Me heng heng got mine from one of the forumers who buy liao but parent dun allow, so sell me in less than a month old. 1k to 2k definitely enough for downpayment, the full sum for the bike should be around 8K lor..

Frankly, if you are keen, should buy first hand... me ride 2nd hand bikes for 2 year plus, and now this x8 (oso second hand but feel like first hand) now! It is a world of difference man.. Feels damn shiok! Oh, my fuel consumption is currently 30km/l... Think most of the mates here are going at aorund the same, so this should be quite accurate!

Scare.. Scare... Safety first!

Originally posted by ronins@Jun 3 2005, 10:21 PM

hi, got a few questions:

3. anyone got pic?

4. my head light beam seem to be pointing abit hi, vehicles always think i hi beam them. anyone got same problem? can adjust?

Hi ronins,

1. the switch is installed at the right side of the handle bar, there is an empty slot for the light switch.

2. the light switch fits exactly to the emplty slot, and the mechanic pass the wrapper to met, which states Piaggio. The light switch is similar shape to the signal lights swtich on the left of the the handle bar.

3. sorry i got no pic

4. better ask a bike shop to do for you if you are not sure how to D.I.Y

If you want to see it, pm me your contact number and name, and we can try to arrange a meet up

the light switch is the same as X9 or runners head light that previously installed by piaggio. yes usually it will be in piaggio wrappers if it is a original parts.

for the headlight there is a screw for you to adjust the high and low of your low beam. that can be adjusted. just go to the bike shop and tell them to adjust can liao. if you want to open it yourself also can but if you are not very familiar with the bike i will not advise you to do so. opening the front faring of X8 need to remove quite some screwa also... than also the mirrors got 2 small screw very easy to lost it one...

no active trips since 2006

Originally posted by josh@Jun 6 2005, 11:35 AM

Getting a 2nd hand x8 is pretty hard in the market now, since the earliest plate i think is FW! Last year June i think! Less than a year, most people haven't even finish installments, so sell oso bo hua...

Not to demoralise you, but just letting you know! Me heng heng got mine from one of the forumers who buy liao but parent dun allow, so sell me in less than a month old. 1k to 2k definitely enough for downpayment, the full sum for the bike should be around 8K lor..

Frankly, if you are keen, should buy first hand... me ride 2nd hand bikes for 2 year plus, and now this x8 (oso second hand but feel like first hand) now! It is a world of difference man.. Feels damn shiok! Oh, my fuel consumption is currently 30km/l... Think most of the mates here are going at aorund the same, so this should be quite accurate!

just to correct info > X8 oldest plate is FX :smile:

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

There is no use in friendship with an ungrateful person.

Anger comes as a result of intolerance.

One who can maintain peace of mind is happy.

Happy is he who killed his own anger.

hi all, just wondering how much for second hand x8 now? heard auto bike resale price no good, any info?

Biking History :

Class2B Pass Oct 1995

Class2A WIP

1995 to 1997 - Yamaha RXZ 133

1997 to 2005 - Honda Rebel 125

2005 current - Piaggio X8 200

Next Bike In Mind - dun knw yet :p

not too sure..

brand new one, i heard is 8k+

[Jan03 - NSR150SP]

[Mar04 - RVF400RT]

[Apr05 - PIAGGIO X8]

[sep05 - YZF-R6]

[May07 - SilverWing]

[Apr10 - VFR800 ABS]

[Dec10 - Tmax]

Originally posted by ydleong@May 24 2005, 05:28 PM

For X9 or X8 engine, it is very similar to car, 4-stroke, oil sump, dip and splash fly wheel. There is no wet clutch plate, like normal road bike. The gear box dont share the oil sump with the crank and flywheel, like cars as well, the transmission is separated with a thicker 30W-70 lubrication. Where as X8-X9 engine recommends 5W-40. I am using car lubricant now, Mobile One 5W-50. as compare to the castrol R4, it feels alot smoother now. Engine is very very quiet, i am very happy as well. When i use the Castrol R4, the timing chain and piston use to be very noisy. After changing to Mobil One, the engine is very quiet, been running for about one month now... no regrets...

We share the same view.

I am using ESSO Full Sync 5w-40 RM40/L or Mobil 1 tri sync 5w-40 RM54/L car engine oil.

Not much difference of the performance, and save me hell a lot of money.

My bike once a while do long distance ride from KL to Penang to KL, with travelling speed around 120KM/H.

Hmmm... should be no problem all the while.

Mileage: 26+K.

A car is a transport, a motorcycle is fun, but a scooter is the Romance Holidays on Wheels. ~Davis, 1997~

You can put golf stick there, what's more a tennic racket? :D

A car is a transport, a motorcycle is fun, but a scooter is the Romance Holidays on Wheels. ~Davis, 1997~

Originally posted by DAViS@Jun 12 2005, 09:21 PM

You can put golf stick there, what's more a tennic racket? :D

ya i heard of that before, but i am not worried about the length i worried about the width:smile:

http://www.tones4u.net/wap/pics/sweet.jpg
Originally posted by PANZER-X9@Jun 12 2005, 09:26 PM

ya i heard of that before, but i am not worried about the length i worried about the width:smile:

no prob..

it can fit in..

it should be wide enough...

[Jan03 - NSR150SP]

[Mar04 - RVF400RT]

[Apr05 - PIAGGIO X8]

[sep05 - YZF-R6]

[May07 - SilverWing]

[Apr10 - VFR800 ABS]

[Dec10 - Tmax]

errmm.. guys, problem problem.. anyone can help? my X8 water has dry up 3 time tis month.. will b going down botah for a check later after the rain.. just wanna prepare for the worst.

if its pipe burst = how much?

if its radiator spoil = how much?

any idea wat is possible to spoil other den i mention? if its radiator spoil, tink i can go back piaggio? its not under warrenty already as i cover 12K km. but dun tink new bike so fast spoil rite? sigh sigh..

Ride Safe~~

Late is better than never Reach.

gave piaggio a call.. give them detail bout it. Mr yap say most likely its pipe leak.. as they r pretty busy tis week, n my bike is no more under warrrenty, suggest me to go outside bike shop check. if its some other major spoil > radiator or so.. get back to him n he c wat he can do..

Ride Safe~~

Late is better than never Reach.

Okie, finally decided to go down to my old mechanic to fix my voltmeter and headlight switch!

Here are the prices:

Headlight switch - $23

Voltmeter - $80 (around there)

Voltmeter casing - $8 (around there, can't rem exactly what he said)

Workmanship - $20

Cost me a total of $131 in all..

As the rest mention, the light switch can only switch off the headlight and nothing else. Only good for starting up the bike without draining too much battery, but my mechanic remind me not to forgot to switch on even in daytime, illegal! Wait kana fine.. The light switch is fit on the right side below the E-stop button! By the way, he mention that the switch is from X9 250! And the new x9 oso dun come with it anymore.. But since the fitting is the same, they just use that one..

The voltmeter is pretty cool, the one i fix is analog! Light up only when the bike is on, think there is someone selling it in the forum too! The reading are usually around 12V to 14V for my x8... My mechanic also mention that it should not be lower than 12V or higher than 14V!

Anyway, know the prices above are not the cheapest, but i trust this guy and his workmanship is good! His the same guy who help me settle my old bike after my last accident! So let them earn a bit lor..

Oh, by the way, i service at belwin motors! Ah Wee is my mechanic...

maybe you can put this post at Recommend good repair shop too.:smile:

Originally posted by ronins@Jun 3 2005, 10:21 PM

hi, got a few questions:

3. anyone got pic?

Hi ronins,

My answer to your Questions:

1. left handle bar near to your throttle

2. Only original can fix in the hole nicely

3. I can show you my, outing on SAT

4. It can be adjust. How to adjust > there's 1 logo infront your front panal, take it out, you just a screw-driver to do the job. If you still need further information, call me for faster reply :smile:

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

There is no use in friendship with an ungrateful person.

Anger comes as a result of intolerance.

One who can maintain peace of mind is happy.

Happy is he who killed his own anger.

Originally posted by josh@Jun 16 2005, 01:17 AM

The voltmeter is pretty cool, the one i fix is analog! Light up only when the bike is on, think there is someone selling it in the forum too! The reading are usually around 12V to 14V for my x8... My mechanic also mention that it should not be lower than 12V or higher than 14V!

around 14.5v without any light, 14v with pointer, and 13.5 with headlight...

this is my reading...

[Jan03 - NSR150SP]

[Mar04 - RVF400RT]

[Apr05 - PIAGGIO X8]

[sep05 - YZF-R6]

[May07 - SilverWing]

[Apr10 - VFR800 ABS]

[Dec10 - Tmax]

Waaa... Yours is so much higher than mine! I'll go ask mr yap what's wrong when i go down the next time, he oso told me should be around 14V if i'm not wrong, yet my only hangs around 13.5V when running.. And 12V when start! Never go above 14V at all actually..

Oh, here's a photo of my voltmeter!

Thanks leo_rider... :smile:

mine when u start the ignition, is 12.5v

once engine starts, it rises to 14.5v

when pointer light switched on, 14v

and headlight, 13.1v - 13.5v

[Jan03 - NSR150SP]

[Mar04 - RVF400RT]

[Apr05 - PIAGGIO X8]

[sep05 - YZF-R6]

[May07 - SilverWing]

[Apr10 - VFR800 ABS]

[Dec10 - Tmax]

Originally posted by josh@Jun 16 2005, 01:44 PM

And the photo of the headlight switch if you are interested!

headlight switch i think it's the same, cuz from the pic, it looks exactly like mine...

[Jan03 - NSR150SP]

[Mar04 - RVF400RT]

[Apr05 - PIAGGIO X8]

[sep05 - YZF-R6]

[May07 - SilverWing]

[Apr10 - VFR800 ABS]

[Dec10 - Tmax]