Originally posted by josh@Jun 16 2005, 11:24 AM

Oh, here's a photo of my voltmeter!

my voltmeter is also from autoguage..

its the one the has 7 colours interchangable...

but often, water goes into it when raining..

[Jan03 - NSR150SP]

[Mar04 - RVF400RT]

[Apr05 - PIAGGIO X8]

[sep05 - YZF-R6]

[May07 - SilverWing]

[Apr10 - VFR800 ABS]

[Dec10 - Tmax]

• Replies 3.1k

your battery is new one har? it seems to be quite good leh... can hold the voltage quite well...

no active trips since 2006

My X8 is only less than 3 months old, so you can say battery pretty new!

As for the voltmeter, my mechanic say this is the type that would spolit during rain easily. So if spolit, i'll just go back to him and ask him for explaination lor! Usually, last time got problems after fixing or changging stuff, he will either change it again for me but minus off the price out of my next servicing. So me not so worried! Mine definitely dun have 7 lights! Just slightly magnify with light based.. It is the brightest thing on my panel at night, so okie lah..

Scare.. Scare... Safety first!

Photo please. Thank you.

A car is a transport, a motorcycle is fun, but a scooter is the Romance Holidays on Wheels. ~Davis, 1997~

Hey fren.. i posted the photos in front liao! PLS read all post before asking questions... :mad:

Originally posted by josh@Jun 16 2005, 05:12 PM

Hey fren.. i posted the photos in front liao! PLS read all post before asking questions... :mad:

lol....

btw, last time u ride RVF??

cuz often see u @ tat thread...

[Jan03 - NSR150SP]

[Mar04 - RVF400RT]

[Apr05 - PIAGGIO X8]

[sep05 - YZF-R6]

[May07 - SilverWing]

[Apr10 - VFR800 ABS]

[Dec10 - Tmax]

Originally posted by sigg4@Jun 16 2005, 04:00 PM

your battery is new one har? it seems to be quite good leh... can hold the voltage quite well...

mine??

No leh..

my bike is 10 months old, don't think the batt has been changed b4..

But, normally, i'll off the lights b4 i stop, warm up the bike, move off then on my lights...

[Jan03 - NSR150SP]

[Mar04 - RVF400RT]

[Apr05 - PIAGGIO X8]

[sep05 - YZF-R6]

[May07 - SilverWing]

[Apr10 - VFR800 ABS]

[Dec10 - Tmax]

Originally posted by josh@Jun 16 2005, 05:12 PM

Where got?

Of course read-liao, before ask-mah :sian: :giddy:

A car is a transport, a motorcycle is fun, but a scooter is the Romance Holidays on Wheels. ~Davis, 1997~

went back to piaggio.. they change a hose for me.. as mine leak.. FOC.. phew.. lucky its not something major..

Ride Safe~~

Late is better than never Reach.

Originally posted by josh@Jun 16 2005, 01:17 AM

Okie, finally decided to go down to my old mechanic to fix my voltmeter and headlight switch!

Here are the prices:

Headlight switch - $23

Voltmeter - $80 (around there)

Voltmeter casing - $8 (around there, can't rem exactly what he said)

Workmanship - $20

Cost me a total of $131 in all..

As the rest mention, the light switch can only switch off the headlight and nothing else. Only good for starting up the bike without draining too much battery, but my mechanic remind me not to forgot to switch on even in daytime, illegal! Wait kana fine.. The light switch is fit on the right side below the E-stop button! By the way, he mention that the switch is from X9 250! And the new x9 oso dun come with it anymore.. But since the fitting is the same, they just use that one..

The voltmeter is pretty cool, the one i fix is analog! Light up only when the bike is on, think there is someone selling it in the forum too! The reading are usually around 12V to 14V for my x8... My mechanic also mention that it should not be lower than 12V or higher than 14V!

Anyway, know the prices above are not the cheapest, but i trust this guy and his workmanship is good! His the same guy who help me settle my old bike after my last accident! So let them earn a bit lor..

Oh, by the way, i service at belwin motors! Ah Wee is my mechanic...

i tink tat vote meter can b get at sunrise for $45 if im not wrong.. include install total for $70. tink u tio chop badly..

i try get a pic for u to c mine.. as i just got it done yesterday.

Ride Safe~~

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y6/potato_bread/bike/voltmeter010.jpg

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y6/potato_bread/bike/voltmeter009.jpg

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y6/potato_bread/bike/voltmeter006.jpg

Ride Safe~~

Warao eh!!!! Picture a bit too big leh :faint:

http://www.solidah.com/mystuff/dbsmall.jpghttp://www.solidah.com/mystuff/scootlogo.gifhttp://www.danasoft.com/sig/pharkee01.jpg

Too big... I am looking any small two columns seven segments voltmeter. Minimalist design :).

Originally posted by potato@Jun 16 2005, 07:26 PM

i tink tat vote meter can b get at sunrise for $45 if im not wrong.. include install total for $70. tink u tio chop badly..

i try get a pic for u to c mine.. as i just got it done yesterday.

Yours without casing, but it is exactly the same meter!

Agreed that i didn't get the cheapest, but never mind lah, next time go then i tell them other people do it only at $70 bucks, see what my mechanic said.. minus casing and plus workship of the lights too! I think they probably charge me $20 more.. Have always knew that they are not the cheapest!

But i think i won't go complain about $20 lah! Thanks for sharing me with your price anyway! Always good to know the market... :thumb:

Originally posted by leo_rider@Jun 16 2005, 05:18 PM

lol....

btw, last time u ride RVF??

cuz often see u @ tat thread...

no lah.. i never ride RVF! Dun even have 2A... Me use to ride a 13yr old GN125 for 2 years plus before my brakes fail me and i crash pretty badly..

So now get a new bike with double disk brakes and maintain it well! Dun have another shoulder bone to broke liao! :p

Originally posted by josh@Jun 17 2005, 02:08 AM

no lah.. i never ride RVF! Dun even have 2A... Me use to ride a 13yr old GN125 for 2 years plus before my brakes fail me and i crash pretty badly..

So now get a new bike with double disk brakes and maintain it well! Dun have another shoulder bone to broke liao! :p

thought i often see u last time..

btw, u add 1 more disc brake??

[Jan03 - NSR150SP]

[Mar04 - RVF400RT]

[Apr05 - PIAGGIO X8]

[sep05 - YZF-R6]

[May07 - SilverWing]

[Apr10 - VFR800 ABS]

[Dec10 - Tmax]

oohhh hoo... make full use of the handel bar space... ah potato... hhhmmm maybe can consider installing a tachnometer side by side with your vote meter...

Originally posted by sigg4@Jun 17 2005, 09:22 AM

oohhh hoo... make full use of the handel bar space... ah potato... hhhmmm maybe can consider installing a tachnometer side by side with your vote meter...

mine also fit this way..

but technometer, not easy to find cuz our bike need quite high RPM to move....

[Jan03 - NSR150SP]

[Mar04 - RVF400RT]

[Apr05 - PIAGGIO X8]

[sep05 - YZF-R6]

[May07 - SilverWing]

[Apr10 - VFR800 ABS]

[Dec10 - Tmax]

does anyone face this problem with your speedo?

if you are travelling at 60km, the needle will not stay at 60km but instead it is moving up and down between 60 and 62km.

does anyone know whether the speedo is KO? i dont remember this happening when i got it.

i don't have this prob, and don't think it should be serious..

maybe wire loose??

Go ask a mechanic to check it up, perhaps, i'll be better..

[Jan03 - NSR150SP]

[Mar04 - RVF400RT]

[Apr05 - PIAGGIO X8]

[sep05 - YZF-R6]

[May07 - SilverWing]

[Apr10 - VFR800 ABS]

[Dec10 - Tmax]

hhhmmm last time i heard kenny got lobangs with the tachnometer also leh but i dunno accurate a not leh...

Originally posted by leo_rider@Jun 17 2005, 09:17 AM

thought i often see u last time..

btw, u add 1 more disc brake??

Oppss... Using the wrong terms! I mean front and back both disc brakes... Last time my back is drum brakes.. :p

Originally posted by leo_rider@Jun 17 2005, 10:09 AM

i don't have this prob, and don't think it should be serious..

maybe wire loose??

Go ask a mechanic to check it up, perhaps, i'll be better..

Hmm....guess I will have to highlight this issue to the mech when I send it for servicing. Thanks for the reply thou. :smile:

Originally posted by josh@Jun 17 2005, 12:01 PM

Oppss... Using the wrong terms! I mean front and back both disc brakes... Last time my back is drum brakes.. :p

i see..

disc brake better...

[Jan03 - NSR150SP]

[Mar04 - RVF400RT]

[Apr05 - PIAGGIO X8]

[sep05 - YZF-R6]

[May07 - SilverWing]

[Apr10 - VFR800 ABS]

[Dec10 - Tmax]