just change my fork seal today, myself :cheeky:

bought the seal from boon siew about $15, for 1 side only

bought the fork oil from ah boy

after struggling for about 1.5hrs, i manage to change it.

no more leaking, yeah!!!

my fork oso feel stiffer now, with more oil in it.

• Replies 4.2k

its ah hai !!

one of the best mech ard.

he services my other bike ( cbr400 ) for 10 over yrs liao.

couldn't have charged 13 for a normal plug..

my repsol cost 22. plug is a few dollars.

my tachno cost abt 100 in total... ( can't remember exact price )

or you could be cheapo and change EO yourself...

i did that in the 1st yr, then got lazy...

SB ain't everyone's cup of tea.

i go for mech, cost is secondary.

you pay for workmanship as well...

Have to order the ebc brake pads la....

normally, i call mech before going down to inform what i want..

when you pop down then, bingo !!!

i had my tyres changed when i got the bike too !!

believe it a not, my stock chain lasted me 55,000 kms.

spockets are still stock too !!

talk abt china made stuff !!

ok, its Ah hai, i have heard about him, I know that he is good but the guy who over charged me was the boss, the hands on one, not the one that sits in the office. One thing about them is that their PR is good.

After riding for more than 10 years, I do not believe that newbies should DIY even for EO change, though it might seem easy but I think for a few extra dollars, let someone else get his already dirty hands more dirty. many of us have therotical knowledge but few have "hands on" experience, I mean as compared to the mechanics who do it day in, day out.

I know SB since their days in Yishun Industrial estate, but seldom frequent them. but this time I know I was overcharged. A handful of my ex-touring buddies still frequent them. All of whom still riding big bikes.

I would pay to get a good mechanic to handle my bike even if it was a small bike but once they start to "smoke" me that is when I look for a another place. Being a little technically inclined and having a father who was an engineer and enthusiatic mechanic, I've learnt a few nuts and bolts here and there.

Any way Stevoo, need your help, where did you get the tacho? everywhere i go there is only voltmeter, common excuse, " normally people don't fix tacho, so they don't carry"

Also did you notice the brake pad no for your EBCs?

Edited by Biposto

:dot:TRUST is good,CONTROL is better,

ever heard of MECHANICAL FAILURE?:help:

just change my fork seal today, myself :cheeky:

bought the seal from boon siew about $15, for 1 side only

bought the fork oil from ah boy

after struggling for about 1.5hrs, i manage to change it.

no more leaking, yeah!!!

my fork oso feel stiffer now, with more oil in it.

wah steady....... time i should take out the clover and spray wd40, how to open the cover, from the metal part of the fork or from the outside

Monster Energy......CBF150........

"'Chances Favored The Prepared Mind"

"Your Ambition outweighs Your Talent!"

Looks like the Tiger is set to take over the CBFs, just got let behind at the traffic by a 50++ yrs old rider with a Tiger. The guys just took off effortlessy, within a few seconds he was out of sight.

Then again, I was fully loaded with side boxes and a pillion.

The damn bike has 6 speed, anticipate it to be a smooth transition through the gears.

ok, its Ah hai, i have heard about him, I know that he is good but the guy who over charged me was the boss, the hands on one, not the one that sits in the office. One thing about them is that their PR is good.

After riding for more than 10 years, I do not believe that newbies should DIY even for EO change, though it might seem easy but I think for a few extra dollars, let someone else get his already dirty hands more dirty. many of us have therotical knowledge but few have "hands on" experience, I mean as compared to the mechanics who do it day in, day out.

I know SB since their days in Yishun Industrial estate, but seldom frequent them. but this time I know I was overcharged. A handful of my ex-touring buddies still frequent them. All of whom still riding big bikes.

I would pay to get a good mechanic to handle my bike even if it was a small bike but once they start to "smoke" me that is when I look for a another place. Being a little technically inclined and having a father who was an engineer and enthusiatic mechanic, I've learnt a few nuts and bolts here and there.

Any way Stevoo, need your help, where did you get the tacho? everywhere i go there is only voltmeter, common excuse, " normally people don't fix tacho, so they don't carry"

Also did you notice the brake pad no for your EBCs?

Yes i totally agree with you...

however, i love my mech, hence i stick to him.

i'll most prob quit riding if he retires....haha

can't find another mech with whom i have chemistry with.

And yes, a lot of touring and big bikes often look for ah hai..

One thing you could do is to order the tacho from the net...

then ask a trusted mech to install...

i had mine done at SB.

Err... didn't notice the brake pads no....think can order online too.

I'm not bothered by what other ppl says...

if i want something, i just get it..

how can a bike shop claim not to have a digital tacho?

unless O.O.S

can try motoworld.. they have a few multi meters.

some are quite cool too !!

wah steady....... time i should take out the clover and spray wd40, how to open the cover, from the metal part of the fork or from the outside

use a flat blade screw driver

slide in slowly and carefully between the black cover and the fork leg

once in, twist the screw driver and it should pry open easily.

Yes i totally agree with you...

however, i love my mech, hence i stick to him.

i'll most prob quit riding if he retires....haha

can't find another mech with whom i have chemistry with.

And yes, a lot of touring and big bikes often look for ah hai..

One thing you could do is to order the tacho from the net...

then ask a trusted mech to install...

i had mine done at SB.

Err... didn't notice the brake pads no....think can order online too.

I'm not bothered by what other ppl says...

if i want something, i just get it..

how can a bike shop claim not to have a digital tacho?

unless O.O.S

can try motoworld.. they have a few multi meters.

some are quite cool too !!

You're right, used to frequent a shop along Mayo street, the mechanic had major attitude prob with customers but he took care of me well, when I was riding a big bike, before every trip I would pay him a visit, just to get an OK for my bike, travelled about 200k++ km without any trouble at all.

Went down to motoworld just last week and looked around, they have tons of stuff, saw the mutli meters that you are talking about, think its a little overkill for our beloved CBF, but as you mentioned am looking out for any lobangs to buy the original meter for the hong kong version with the tacho.

Anyone out there have any kakis in Hong Kong???

You're right, used to frequent a shop along Mayo street, the mechanic had major attitude prob with customers but he took care of me well, when I was riding a big bike, before every trip I would pay him a visit, just to get an OK for my bike, travelled about 200k++ km without any trouble at all.

Went down to motoworld just last week and looked around, they have tons of stuff, saw the mutli meters that you are talking about, think its a little overkill for our beloved CBF, but as you mentioned am looking out for any lobangs to buy the original meter for the hong kong version with the tacho.

if we can buy the console from hk then our CBF will be complete.

hmm..... overkill ???

It all depends on individual la.

i'm looking for a EO temp sensor.

can't find one yet.

would like to travel to malaysia with the cbf,

but since its air cooled, i wanna have a EO temp...

so i know if i'm overworking the engine in long distances.

Serves as a gd guide for stops,

instead of having perodic stop every 100km...

Yes, the hk meter console completes our bike !!

but i think we need a list of riders willing and confirm would

like to have it...

then ordering it would be easier and cheaper.

The lconnection side i think i can sort it out...

hmm..... overkill ???

It all depends on individual la.

i'm looking for a EO temp sensor.

can't find one yet.

would like to travel to malaysia with the cbf,

but since its air cooled, i wanna have a EO temp...

so i know if i'm overworking the engine in long distances.

Serves as a gd guide for stops,

instead of having perodic stop every 100km...

Yes, the hk meter console completes our bike !!

but i think we need a list of riders willing and confirm would

like to have it...

then ordering it would be easier and cheaper.

The lconnection side i think i can sort it out...

count me in if the price is less than 300

When you said "connections" meaning you can get lobang for the meter or connecting the meter when we get them.

Pika, I don't think it will be that expensive. I have changed the front cover (S$35) and the rear base holder of the meter (S$38) so I think the in between maybe S$100++ Best part this is Boon Siew prices after a 25% discount.

I'm in too, It is going to be very difficult to get a response out of our forumers.

The last time I asked about wanting to upgrade our fork springs, there was zero response.

Personally, I feel that a few minor tweaking and the CBF will be a perfect ride for a smal bike. To me it is definitely, the best looking 2B street fighter bike on SG roads, neat and clean lines. The others look like they tried to squeeze items on the bike at the last stage of designing.

1. Fork springs upgrade to firmer ones

2. Rear suspensions

3. Meter upgrade

4. Handle bar (hong Kong version)

5. Brake hose to steel braided

6. Tyres

7. Brakes pads and shoes to aftermarket if available.

8. Finally, change of attitude, "THIS IS NOT AN AH PEK BIKE"

just kidding!

Edited by Biposto

When you said "connections" meaning you can get lobang for the meter or connecting the meter when we get them.

Pika, I don't think it will be that expensive. I have changed the front cover (S$35) and the rear base holder of the meter (S$38) so I think the in between maybe S$100++ Best part this is Boon Siew prices after a 25% discount.

I'm in too, It is going to be very difficult to get a response out of our forumers.

The last time I asked about wanting to upgrade our fork springs, there was zero response.

Personally, I feel that a few minor tweaking and the CBF will be a perfect ride for a smal bike. To me it is definitely, the best looking 2B street fighter bike on SG roads, neat and clean lines. The others look like they tried to squeeze items on the bike at the last stage of designing.

1. Fork springs upgrade to firmer ones

2. Rear suspensions

3. Meter upgrade

4. Handle bar (hong Kong version)

5. Brake hose to steel braided

6. Tyres

7. Brakes pads and shoes to aftermarket if available.

8. Finally, change of attitude, "THIS IS NOT AN AH PEK BIKE"

just kidding!

wahaha....

i'm been inactive on this thread too long to know anything.

After a failed meet up with fellow riders,

kindda left this thread...

Installation is not a problem.

I could definitely ask my hk contact for the meter,

but there won't be discount thou...

hence i asked if you did have lobang.

my personal view is that is worthwhile getting the fork spring...

No need to change rear suspension. Just turn it to hard.

Tyres definitely !! Duro are the worst tyre makers man !!

You should never change to steel braided hose.

Its dangerous for street use !!

There are a lot of sports/motard riders who changed to steel braided hose

but not knowing the dangers and use of it on street.

Do they know how steel braided hose works?

It will actually lock your front wheel !!

If you want stiffer brakes,

can try bleeding the hose and use a synthetic brake fluid.

And change the brake pad of course !!

Its not necessary to get EBC ( unless anal of course ),

there are other decent makers as well !!

If could get rid of the ugly exhaust, i would !!

That is why i'm v.interested with the cbf racing !!

underseat exhaust !!

Too bad huh...

2 cents worth.....hopfully of your time.

Local and HK's CBF150 have some differences such as speedo consoles (tacho) and the handlebar

http://www.ibike.com.hk/02_mc/09cam/01a/honda/cbf150/s1_4.jpg

http://www.ibike.com.hk/02_mc/09cam/01a/honda/cbf150/s1_3.jpg

I'll ask my hk conact for the speedo console and handle bars.

But i'll need to know the number first so

i could hopefully try to get a cheaper price by mass ordering.

Should anyone have a better lobang, pls feel free to help !!

Price wise, i'm not sure.

Maybe in the region of S$100 for the speedo and S$80 for the bars.

( My estimate )

Add yourself to this list if you are interested.

The date line is 2nd Dec.

This gives you like ten days to ponder.

INTERESTED LIST FOR SPEEDO CONSOLE

1. pikapika

2. Biposto

3. stevoo

INTERESTED LIST FOR HANDLE BAR

1. pikapika

2. Biposto

Edited by stevoo
wahaha....

underseat exhaust !!

Too bad huh...

Glad you're back to the thread, your inputs have been most enlightening, we are planning to meet at Kallang KFC tonight for a chat up, care to join us?

my rear suspension already click to max still not good, my bike already 34k km on my 2nd rear suspension already and also click one time already. Probably because i'm about 95kg, have 3 boxes behind. Seriously sourcing for a good aftermarket suspension at this point of time.

I also hate the exhaust, but no choice, but most of the aftermarket exhaust importers I spoke have no interest to bring in one for our bikes. Even if we modify, other pipes it's going to be street illegal.

Me too had a failed attempt couple of weeks ago trying to organise an outing.

Don't have the habit of buying on line cos dun have a credit card to make purchases.

Edited by Biposto

( My estimate )

1. pikapika

2. Biposto

3. stevoo

1. pikapika

2. Biposto

thanks dude for adding my name. Definitely very keen to get the items.

( My estimate )

1. pikapika

2. Biposto

3. stevoo

1. pikapika

2. Biposto

Wow, very interesting! But I've got no money cos I'm not working.

:slapforehead: N0OB
Wow, very interesting! But I've got no money cos I'm not working.

bike belongs to your brother, rite? slow talk to him, lah. Or do some favours for him then sure got $$$, saw the pics of the meter, cool rite, its a must have

wahaha....

underseat exhaust !!

Too bad huh...

arh...i am using steel brake hose.....haha

( My estimate )

1. pikapika

2. Biposto

3. stevoo

1. pikapika

2. Biposto

can the handle bar really fits our bike... from the construct seems abit differrent from our bike

from the looks of it I think can fit, shouldn't be a problem

bike belongs to your brother, rite? slow talk to him, lah. Or do some favours for him then sure got $$$, saw the pics of the meter, cool rite, its a must have

Haha, bike is mine. But I am still schooling and need bike to go from east to west and back everyday. So not into upgrading to such an extent..

But you're right, it is a must have if have $$.

:slapforehead: N0OB

1. pikapika

2. Biposto

3. stevoo

4. wertdeviruz

1. pikapika

2. Biposto

3. wertdeviruz

:thumb: LIVE TO RIDE.........RIDE TO LIVE LONGER.....JOY is BMW :thumb:

Disaster ride : Piaggio ><8

Ne><t ride : HONDA CBF150

Current ride : BMW GTS

Future ride : HONDA CBF1000

1. pikapika

2. Biposto

3. stevoo

4. wertdeviruz

1. pikapika

2. Biposto

3. wertdeviruz

thanks for the support dude,