Originally posted by fruitcakepablohoney@March 27, 2007 11:06 am

For those that is still thinking......

Seeing double on that wobble?

Tank slappers can be fatal, so here's how you can minimise danger By Zaihan Mohd Yusof

October 01, 2006

WHILE exiting a corner and accelerating hard, your front tyre hits a bump.

Suddenly, all hell breaks loose. Your handlebar starts to wobble uncontrollably.

You realise that wrestling the possessed handlebars only makes the shaking a lot worse.

What's going on?

Well, this is a classic example of a tank slapper, or headshake.

If you survive this scary phenomenon, it would make an excellent story to tell your mates at the coffeeshop.

A tank slapper usually happens when your front tyre briefly lifts off the tarmac, then regains traction outside the rear tyre's alignment.

When the front tyre touches the road again, it will start to bounce and deflect quickly. Unless your bike's steering geometry is able to damp-out the oscillations, the wobbling will only get stronger.

In some cases, your hands could be ripped off the handlebars.

In others, your feet could be flung off the footpegs.

Either way, the chances of crashing your machine are great.

What to do? Start praying.

Seriously, pray that you keep a cool head and not do something foolish like accelerating.

According to a race manager, accelerating increases the vibrations.

Said Mr Andrew Morrice, 38, from Team Mezzo (a road-racing team): 'You can get tank slappers coming out of corners or on straight roads. When it happens, you would need to ease off the throttle. With less speed and power, it will be a matter of time before the shaking becomes less violent.'

JUST DON'T PANIC

If you watch motorcycle races on TV, like The Isle of Man TT or MotoGP, you will notice that headshakes are common.

Yet, the talented racers don't seem to panic or crash.

Call it experience. Or it could just be because of the steering dampers on their race bikes.

Steering dampers, sometimes no bigger than a magic marker, help to take the punishing shakes from the handlebars.

One part of a steering damper is bolted to the bike's frame, while another is attached to the fork.

Dampers do all the work of damping out deflections. But they're not the final cure for tank slappers.

You would need to adjust the stiffness of the steering dampers to get the right amount of damping.

You can get a decent steering damper for as little as $400, minus the mounting kit, said Mr Shah Oli from BikeTech 21.

On some motorcycles, steering dampers come standard.

AN UNFORTUNATE INCIDENT

Said Mr Shah: 'You can't fight a tank slapper on your own, no matter how strong your hands are.

'A steering damper minimises the shaking, but will not stop it immediately. You would need to slow down your bike's speed.'

Mr Shah, 46, was one of the unfortunate souls who experienced a violent tank slapper.

He was riding at 200kmh at the Pasir Gudang race circuit when his throttle jammed.

Instinctively, he pulled hard on the brakes. But with the rear tyre still spinning and pushing, it caused the already compressed front suspension to wobble.

Mr Shah added: 'My handlebars went left, right, left, and that was it. I was thrown off the motorcycle and I kept sliding for about 100m. I fractured both feet and my bike was destroyed.'

sheesh... "If you survive this scary phenomenon, it would make an excellent story to tell your mates at the coffeeshop." Think I did that right after i came back from m'sia with the slap.. :sweat:

Eeeks.. didn't know Shah had suck a fatal slap man.. OUCH!

Ride hard & safe...

• Replies 29.8k

Originally posted by fruitcakepablohoney@March 27, 2007 03:01 pm

Hey HamsterZ, saw your TBR Part 1/2.

Go all the way there to see birds & makan only ah?

Where's the gals?

eh... the girls part is all RA mah...

Hows to have massage n take pic at the sam,e time *wink* :sweat:

That one wasn't songkran by the way hehee...

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by fruitcakepablohoney@March 27, 2007 03:01 pm

Hey HamsterZ, saw your TBR Part 1/2.

Go all the way there to see birds & makan only ah?

Where's the gals?

fruitty.... u r so mann.... so macho!

hang 2 weights on your neck while watching TV...... :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

hi guys. I got a weird encounter with my bike today.

I rode halfway then my meter suddenly off by itself. But i still can throttle and move. When i shut my throttle completely, the bike suddenly stalled. So at that moment, i clutched in all the way and signal left to road shoulder. Halfway rolling, my meter rpm needle keep on going from 0 to 17 then back to 0.

I stopped at road shoulder, off and on my switch and crank the bike. Nothing happened. Then again i repented and managed to crank start. After all, its back to normal. There's light in my meter and everything goes fine again. But there's 1 thing i noticed was that my km/hr changed to mile/hr.

Anyone experience this before? Is it because the battery or sensor stuff? Yesterday i rode pass a small hole on the expressway and got a huge impact on my front suspension. Did that impact shifted my sensor or something else?

"When you use your index finger to point at a problem, there are 3 fingers of yours, discreetly pointing at yourself"

Originally posted by Pauche@March 27, 2007 07:55 pm

fruitty.... u r so mann.... so macho!

hang 2 weights on your neck while watching TV...... :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

haha... that weight thing is to bluff people one lah!

I'm cute on tv right? kekeke :cheeky:

http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m87/fruitcakepablohoney/DSC02554-1.jpg
Originally posted by fruitcakepablohoney@March 27, 2007 11:24 pm

u said u hang weights on your neck to train your neck muscles.....

so what do you hang to stiffen your 'little bro'?? :confused:

Originally posted by Shawn--@March 27, 2007 11:23 pm

I rode halfway then my meter suddenly off by itself. But i still can throttle and move. When i shut my throttle completely, the bike suddenly stalled. So at that moment, i clutched in all the way and signal left to road shoulder. Halfway rolling, my meter rpm needle keep on going from 0 to 17 then back to 0.

I stopped at road shoulder, off and on my switch and crank the bike. Nothing happened. Then again i repented and managed to crank start. After all, its back to normal. There's light in my meter and everything goes fine again. But there's 1 thing i noticed was that my km/hr changed to mile/hr.

Anyone experience this before? Is it because the battery or sensor stuff? Yesterday i rode pass a small hole on the expressway and got a huge impact on my front suspension. Did that impact shifted my sensor or something else?

check your battery connections....

it could be due to some loose wirings that caused your electronics to 'reset'.

Originally posted by Pauche@March 28, 2007 12:45 am

u said u hang weights on your neck to train your neck muscles.....

so what do you hang to stiffen your 'little bro'?? :confused:

Same thing... but smaller weights lah! kekeke :cheeky:

So how, got new bike already?

haha nice 1 JK

http://img120.imageshack.us/img120/3593/e0fs0995lj4.jpg

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

jun 04 - mar 05------>Yamaha Wr200 FQ3550Z

jun 05 - sept 06------>Honda RVF 399cc NC35 FP 658 Y

sept 06 - may 08------>Yamaha R6 600cc '06 FBA8609M

may 08 - dec 08 ----------> Honda CBR600RR '08 & Honda Wave I

Originally posted by fruitcakepablohoney@March 28, 2007 12:55 am

Same thing... but smaller weights lah! kekeke :cheeky:

So how, got new bike already?

i waiting for u to sell leh!

i think pauche have ans ur question . you should check your battery voltage as well.

Looking For R6 08 anyone selling?

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i177/luthertoh/PGsepang.jpg

Originally posted by fruitcakepablohoney@March 27, 2007 11:24 pm

sh*t man i miss the show.

Gregg's flushmount housings are CNC machined 6061 aluminum works of art. See pull down menu for available colors. The lights are 6 chip L.E.D.'s with a 100,000 hour life. No drilling or grinding required. Simple "bolt-in" installation .

Will fit on 03-05 R6 Amber Signals .

Price : $100

Retail in US $ 99.95 US dollar

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i177/luthertoh/CIMG7080.jpg

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i177/luthertoh/pic_06.jpg

Watsen Design flushmount are made from CNC Billet Aluminum.

This are a used set in matt black . I will upload the pic on the watsen flusmount by this weekend.

Will fit the following models.

04/05/06 R1

03/04/05 R6

0607 R6S

04/05/06 FZ6.

Price : $120

Retail in US : $126.95 US dollar

Pauche is almost dead on correct. its a symptom of "no power supply". Its either a connection from the mains (battery) that got losse momentarily, or some other live wire that leads to the meter got momentarily "loose". Shouldn't be a BIG problem, but just requires some time to trace/check it if you are DIY-ing.

Ride hard & safe...

hi guys here a pic on watsen flushmount signal lights.

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i177/luthertoh/04R1_matteblack.jpg

Originally posted by R46@March 28, 2007 11:41 am

wow.. looks chio leh.. 120bucks ah ?

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

I want these please! :lovestruck:

Originally posted by natureboi@March 28, 2007 12:16 pm

hi guys do ur r6 backfire when u high rev in neutral gear. pls advice. btw i am a new r6 rider and would like to join u all soon.

Backfire is normal when high rev on neutral!

Originally posted by fruitcakepablohoney@March 28, 2007 12:25 pm

Backfire is normal when high rev on neutral!

Wrong..backfire sometime cos by fuel too rich or din tunning proper ...:sweat:

seems like good stuff....can fix on my 954? :confused: :smile: