Gov is promoting miritimes....cheers for the mariners...im in shipping line in campany: PIL

been speaking with alots of seafarers in diff internationality

one word: INTERESTING

2003 - 2005 - KR150

2005 - 2011 - No ride

2011 - Current - Piaggio Fly

• Replies 193

Guest tookara

there;s a reason y most singaporeans do not want to work at the shipyards. dont believe go take a tour. most of their staff esp jurong shipyard are foreigners.

Hi there! Used 2 sail on merchant ship oso.. Now Harbour Pilot.. Glad 2 see no. of ppl here from marine industry.. :thumb:

Life is Short...... Ride Hard!!!

http://www.intertanko.com/tankerfacts/sizes/images/t11.jpg

I was wif PCL, IMC n Maersk. Harbour pilot comes from deck department only.. We noe nuts abt engine.. But my interest in motorbikes taught me a lot abt engines. The principles of engines r same same...:thumb:

dusty, hot, noisy, dangerous ,long hours,not enough sleep, no life.. all these are the key words. kekekee

VAR-A

Varadero Adventure Riders-Asia

V1KINGS

Originally posted by Jahre Viking@Feb 3 2006, 10:24 PM

I was wif PCL, IMC n Maersk. Harbour pilot comes from deck department only.. We noe nuts abt engine.. But my interest in motorbikes taught me a lot abt engines. The principles of engines r same same...:thumb:

Habour pilot.. U got captain ticket liao?

Good money not?

VAR-A

V1KINGS

Originally posted by Varas@Feb 24 2006, 04:18 PM

Habour pilot.. U got captain ticket liao?

Good money not?

I got chief mate ticket only :weep: Short of sea time 2 get capt ticket.. $$ can do lah.. Still can't afford ferrari.. :cry:

wah piang... unless u dock master for Oil rig then can .. kekke Heard one of the old timer doing this drives rolls royce to work..

But even captain also can't afford ferraris...

but coming back, y dun wanna get captain .. since u already chief mate liao

VAR-A

V1KINGS

Yah.. This old timer is an ex-pilot as well.. Certainly he can afford to buy a rolls royce.. but he's not driving one.. He's driving a jaguar.. bought de car in cash.. no instalments. My company presently cldnt release me to go back to sea to get my master's.. However I'm still fighting hard 4 it..:thumb:

wow....really glad to see so mani peeps from MAERSK. seems like everyone from sea here comes from APmoller huh. well...MEE too!!! i did my Nautical studies back in 2000 and got my COC 3. but...sorry...i loved that life when i was doing my sea time for 20 months but...now i'm a reg in the army. one of the hardest choice for me to sign on in the army was to leave the maritime industry!

peeps working in the industry... :thumb:

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2009/11/09/bikepics-1826024-full.jpg

anione heard of GBLT shipmanagement, subsidiary of BLT.?

i currently have an offer from them,still considering.

but wld like to noe wat are the prospects/advancement like from pple who are in the same industry.

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition

Originally posted by fooz@Oct 12 2006, 01:01 PM

anione heard of GBLT shipmanagement, subsidiary of BLT.?

i currently have an offer from them,still considering.

but wld like to noe wat are the prospects/advancement like from pple who are in the same industry.

Yes. It's an indonesian tankers company.. Gd prospect i shld say. They are expanding rapidly.. However requires plenty of hardwork.. Gd luck!

yea... tts wat the interviewer oso said..

but den agn, which job doesnt require to work of hardwork? haha

yea... tts wat the interviewer oso said..

but den agn, which job doesnt require to work of hardwork? haha

viking> i presume ur in the marine industry as well, judging frm the pics. wats ur profession thr?

wat's roughly e job scope for a shipyard draftsman do?

how's e pay range like, like say a fresh dip?

been offered a job as a draftsman in JSL (Jurong Shipyard PTE LTD)

Originally posted by LollyPoP@Oct 28 2006, 11:19 PM

wat's roughly e job scope for a shipyard draftsman do?

how's e pay range like, like say a fresh dip?

been offered a job as a draftsman in JSL (Jurong Shipyard PTE LTD)

Yo,congrats on getting yr dip and thinking of been a draftsman...

Just bear in mind,starting will be low in pay(should be less than 2k,but if see gt Ots or not)

More works( Junior mah,sure kana makan)

Just start then job first,gain the experience and move on from there.

Good luck.

Past rides are already history....

Current ride: FW VFR 800 ABS

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s254/james9295/DSC_0200.jpg

wah so many seniors here i am a first year cadet in 2001 with imc.. now awaiting ns enlistment before going back to v-ships msi.. i am a chemical tanker boy for all 18 mth haha i just got my coc 3 eh mr pilot is psa marine still providing scholarship??

im in the chartering / boat building dept .. considered marine industry or not ?

mau Jumpa?

Jumpa pat TRACK LAHHH !!

http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a350/Niki25/Niki69.jpg

keppel shipyard.

ani comments?

juz went 4 interview...

saw another forummer (xiao_p) bike, phantom.

ru working thr? or oso interview?