• Replies 193

Keppel shipyard pay is good!!!!!!!!!

my company is world no. 2....... damn rich!!!!!!!

basic is so-so lah i think depending on ur rank. but bonus is shiok. last year their bonus was 8 point smth or 9 point sumthing. woooooo!

dark mode, or light mode?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v241/one8tytwo/125ziblack.jpg

125zi

shipyard life bleah.. everyday have to wake up farking early and it's grey life man (was in attachment in keppel drydock)

got a classmate working down at keppel now >> shakes head

if you have the courage to lose sight of the shore, go sailing. it's way much better than jailing in a drydock. pay's much better as you have more gold bars on your epaulette. anw, i sailed on young vlcc, automated engine room, so can sin nang a bit lah..

hahaha raphael is actually my DMR classmate, we went same company but different ships..both VLCC but his was slightly more modern...

anyway just to share my story:

After my o "levels" , came out from victoria school but did not want to go JC--Uni way as everyone is going there...decided to take something challenging (heard stories of piracy and all, must be the damn Johnny Depp and Master and Commander movie lol ) so went for Diploma in Marine Engg from Singapore Poly... anyway went onboard a VLCC , sailed internationally for 6 months to japan,africa,UAE,egypt,US,holland (my last port call was at rotterdam, took SIA back from amsterdam)...

Pros: Experienced a lot of wonderful things...catching baby sharks off africa / watching dolphins freely in the big ocean / smelling the great fresh sea air... / managed to see some fantastic sights ( went through the Suez Canal 3 times :x) got to know some very dedicated honest sailors...

Cons: Worked like a slave...7am to 6pm , in charge of OWS ( marinefloc system was a ***** to operate, alarms everytime) , sewage system , incinerator ( carrying 20kg cement packs to rebuild the furnace is no fun job..neither is clearing the waste/sludge left afterwards) , in charge of maintaining both lifeboats, keep them charged and fueled.....sailing is a hard life so bound to have tempers flaring...mine got so bad that the 3rd mate and 2nd engineer punched our chief mate until he got so scared locked himself in the cabin till we docked and US coast guard had to come in heli and escort him off the ship...2nd engineer was discharged and replaced at the next availiable port even though the fault was seriously with the chief mate..and the best part is they fought due to not enough paint for both deck and engine departments......i myself came close to fighting with the 2nd mate cause he kept forcing us cadets to drink beer...the 2 deck cadets drank but i did not, he keep thinking i did not want to give him face.....but i already promised to keep myself clear from booze/drugs and whoring and i managed to do it.

Summary : Even though the work could get very tough (cried once during sailing...it was on my mum's bday and i called her via the satellite phone...she cried and so did i ...only then does one understand the meaning of home)

I still enjoyed working with the crew members especially the filipinos as we all worked our asses off together...will never forget our toils...cleaning the boiler...cleaning the sea-chests..entering the massive engine to check for scratches on the pistons...practising in the fire drills...learnt a lot about showing people respect and being sensitive to others..as well as being honest and hardworking..

Now in NS...my friends all ORD going uni liaoz i still here unsure of my future...some of my friends remarked that i have wasted 6 months of my life since i not going back sailing anymore...but i disagree...it was an experience like no other and i enjoyed it however brief it was...life is full of uncertainties but most important is to make the best out of your situation...be true to yourself and live free.

12 Jun 2008 - Class 2B

28 Jun 2008 - Honda Phantom TA 200 (COE 11/3/17)

17 Jan 2009 - Class 3

27 Oct 2009 - Class 2A

28 May 2016 - Yamaha Fino 115 (COE 04/8/24)

9 June 2017 - Honda CB400 Spec 2 (COE 02/1/23)

from DMR too! doing final year.

i understand what ur talking about bro, sailing it fun and its tough. depends on what kinda ship u get, what kinda mates u have. with the right combination. it will turn out just right.

dark mode, or light mode?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v241/one8tytwo/125ziblack.jpg

125zi

Hie Guys,

My company is looking for a person who can lead a team in the MARINE INDUSTRIES.

We deal mostly on FPSO(Floating Production Storage and Offloading)

Prefebaly those with UT(Ultrasonic) experience,Working in FPSO,QA/QC in marine,Coating Inspection and it will be a bonus if you know how to accquire certifications for marine inspection,report procedure and marine inspection procedure.

Salary shall be indicative according to your experience

Those who have experience in the field(at least 3-4years)in the industries may contact me

[email protected] or call me @ 65152681 Shahrul

bros. fresh dip grad here. am interested in shipping line but i major in biz management. Will i have any probs with e companies seeing tt im a biz grad?

dream, decide, do it...

still not many ppl here...

btw, now any compy affected by recession already?

Four Wheels Move the Body, Two Wheels Move the Soul.

Honda Phantom TA200 || Kawasaki ZXR400 || Yamaha YZF-R6 http://badges.fuelly.com/images/smallsig-metric2/443649.png

sorry to interrupt, but my friend wants to get into the Marine Industry, she is about to enrol with ITE for the Marine engineering course, she qualifies for Higher NITEC. I'm not sure if it is a good idea as she is a gerl and almost 3o! any advice to give her? up to what i read it is hard work... :(

why drink and drive when you can smoke and fly..

sorry for interupt..

wanna check with u guys in sg izzit any private Diploma in Marine Engineering course..??

my result cannot go into SP as for higher nitec i m waiting for their reply...

hope to get u guys reply asap..

thanx in advance..

hi residents of the marine industry!

juz to share wif you, i got a job wif keppel in a few mths time, and the co. had assigned me to engineering dept (the HR told me). anyone here in this dept? hows life there? i look forward to serving there tho,

frankly speaking, i do have negative thoughts, but am trying hard to keep positive ;-)

http://sg.geocities.com/wannavaro6m9g/bikes3.jpg

Come, as you are, as you were, as I want.... you to be....

sorry for interupt..

wanna check with u guys in sg izzit any private Diploma in Marine Engineering course..??

my result cannot go into SP as for higher nitec i m waiting for their reply...

hope to get u guys reply asap..

thanx in advance..

never heard of it in private schools, if ur result not as good, y not try nautical studies in SP? juz a suggestion...

http://sg.geocities.com/wannavaro6m9g/bikes3.jpg

Come, as you are, as you were, as I want.... you to be....

never heard of it in private schools, if ur result not as good, y not try nautical studies in SP? juz a suggestion...

bro now the entrance to nautical studies not so easy. i personally o level l1r4 got 12 points and i'm doing my last year in diploma in nautical studies now. quite a few of my classmates got at least 16 points, some 9 points fella also kena reject during the interview.

ohh.. icic.. thanx alot for ur advice..

hmm.. realli keen for the course but nv get accept..

better stick with my current job at the moment as its tough time outside.. :)

bros. fresh dip grad here. am interested in shipping line but i major in biz management. Will i have any probs with e companies seeing tt im a biz grad?

A technical role, nope.

Administrative role, yes.

I not fresh grad been working as an service engineer for SMT & Semi cons equipment for 5 yrs... Holding a mech Diploma.. Any lobang for me? I want to switch industries since my clients are all dying off here in spore....Have tried interview with Jurong Shipyard but cannot get in...:cry:

A technical role, nope.

Administrative role, yes.

Are monkeys allow in SBF?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=208575&d=1308762964

hi residents of the marine industry!

juz to share wif you, i got a job wif keppel in a few mths time, and the co. had assigned me to engineering dept (the HR told me). anyone here in this dept? hows life there? i look forward to serving there tho,

frankly speaking, i do have negative thoughts, but am trying hard to keep positive ;-)

Hi SweetChild, which Keppel Yard U go to? I am also in the Engineering Dept of Keppel Tuas.

Hi all, I'm a newbie in this thread. Just a brief intro abt myself. I am working in Keppel. Well, have been in the Marine industry for 6 years. Used to be the operation team as a ship charging engineer for 1 year then the rest was in the Engineering dept as a Piping/Mechanical engineer.

Currently, I am seeking for a career advancement. Well, I enjoy working in the yard but would like to step into the oil/gas industry. Anyone got lobang in the oil/gas industry? I am looking for any technical job in the Marine,Oil/Gas field. The area I am specialise is at Piping/Pipeline Design. Would also like to take on new role in commissioning, surveying (Class Socieities), superintendent (...think only la), or working with those ship owners or any reputable oil/gas giant.

So anyone out there to recommend?

Been Onboard again and just sign off recently....Just to share....Taken in Port Klang(West and North Port) Indian Ocean, Indian ( Chennai and Yz ) and Cabin....DSC01074.jpg

DSC00005.jpg

DSC09874.jpg

DSC09889.jpg

DSC09895.jpg

DSC09935.jpg