Just changed my battery yesterday. Cost = $75. Taiwan made. Wanted the Japan original battery but the bike shop say no more.

Problem solved? Hell no... :(

This morning... the problem came back again.

Went to bike shop.... and they told me possible rectifier and coil problem.

To my understanding... if rectifier or coil is spoilt... there will not be any charging at all right from the beginning when I start my engine, but that is not true. When I started my bike, the volt reading is normal = 13.8-13.9v. The reading only dropped when I have travelled for a distance... est. time around 15-20mins riding... then the reading starts to drop. *pulling my hair out now* Really cannot trust the mech liao. Quote me $555 for rectifier+coil+gasket... wtf... what if that doesn't solve the problem... I'll be wasting that $555...

Anyway, will try my luck at the new Unique workshop at the West side... near my house.

Ok... I think I am treating you guys as "Uncle Agony" liao... haha. Thanks for hearing me out.

http://i127.photobucket.com/albums/p141/chrischan76/CyrixRacingTeam2.jpg
Just changed my battery yesterday. Cost = $75. Taiwan made. Wanted the Japan original battery but the bike shop say no more.

To my understanding... if rectifier or coil is spoilt... there will not be any charging at all right from the beginning when I start my engine, but that is not true. When I started my bike, the volt reading is normal = 13.8-13.9v. The reading only dropped when I have travelled for a distance... est. time around 15-20mins riding... then the reading starts to drop. *pulling my hair out now* Really cannot trust the mech liao. Quote me $555 for rectifier+coil+gasket... wtf... what if that doesn't solve the problem... I'll be wasting that $555...

Anyway, will try my luck at the new Unique workshop at the West side... near my house.

Ok... I think I am treating you guys as "Uncle Agony" liao... haha. Thanks for hearing me out.

Is you voltmeter connected directly to the battery? Maybe can monitor there? Coz the reading taken elsewhere might not be so accurate. Juz my 1 cent before the final verdict on the $555.

I dun think the voltmeter is connected directly to the battery. It is tapped to the ignition wiring.(I recalled the mech that fixed the meter told me.)

Anyway, the mech who checked my bike just now did use a volt tester and linked it directly to the battery. Both the reading from the tester and my volt meter is not far off(that shows my volt meter is working)... and it did proves that after the engine was started and after a few minutes of high rev.... the volt starts to dip and drop gradually to 12.++v. That is why he conclude that it is the coil or rectifier problem.

Just need opinion from experts here to tell me if this true that my rectifier or coil is gone case? I just dun trust bike shop mech...and I dun want to risk my money to test and see if it will solve the problem. Only worry is that what if I change liao.. the problem still arise.. then I will be wasting that $555 for nothing.

$555??? walau wei...$300++ can change timing chain, tensioner, valve clearance and gasket!!

U should get a multimeter 1st before buying battery.. check the voltage direct to battery on initial on, warm up and revving ...

In the RIDERS' veins there are drops of DIONYSIAN Madness,

Which are beautiful because they give the Heroes of Motorcycling the POWER to live life fully!

Ride among Riders, Race among Racers

T.R.I.B.A.L!

To Race In Battle And Life!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/group.php?groupid=24

I dun think the voltmeter is connected directly to the battery. It is tapped to the ignition wiring.(I recalled the mech that fixed the meter told me.)

Anyway, the mech who checked my bike just now did use a volt tester and linked it directly to the battery. Both the reading from the tester and my volt meter is not far off(that shows my volt meter is working)... and it did proves that after the engine was started and after a few minutes of high rev.... the volt starts to dip and drop gradually to 12.++v. That is why he conclude that it is the coil or rectifier problem.

Just need opinion from experts here to tell me if this true that my rectifier or coil is gone case? I just dun trust bike shop mech...and I dun want to risk my money to test and see if it will solve the problem. Only worry is that what if I change liao.. the problem still arise.. then I will be wasting that $555 for nothing.

if it drops within 12.++ V, it should be OK...if it drop to 12.++ V and when rev up it goes to 13.++V and it drops back whitout revving... its normal..

Which are beautiful because they give the Heroes of Motorcycling the POWER to live life fully!

T.R.I.B.A.L!

Nah improper listing initiator hahaha... I get myself 1 box by myself. By myself, to myself, get myself. hahahha...Selfish

To be fair, all turn up a day at LAB then bargain like hell. Then see how many can get. How? Idea? Good? no good?

thats fair!!! LOL!!!

T.R.I.B.A.L!

NEED TO DO CORRECTION!!!!

http://thumbnail.image.rakuten.co.jp/@0_mall/neonet/cabinet/pwc-p-a/ngk_spark-plug_case.jpg

NGKCR8EK:Sparks

Group Buy can get Cheaper

2.5 people secure one box.hehe

1)Ivikarazi:

2)Azee:

3)WaRRioR83 ( WOndering if 3 person, then how to share a Box? when there is only 10 piece?cos each will need 4 plugs right) (this is for gsr 400 right)

4)Lexanez

5)?

NGKCR9EK:Sparks

Group Buy can get Cheaper

2.5 people secure one box.hehe

1)Motofreak:

2)GBP: (BASKET, U ONLY USE 3 !!)

3)Dzal

4)Kazuma

5)?

5 people secure 2 box!!!

thats fair!!! LOL!!!

How does this Saturday sound? If kena different poison, confirm buy helmet...hahahahha

Hi Gsr Riders,

I have dug out my Mid Flame sliders from Motivation in my store room, selling at 35 dollars.

Sms me at 94787700 James.

2006 - Old School Vespa, Yamaha 125 Z, Bajaj Pulsar 180cc

2007 - Piaggio X8 200cc

2008 - Suzuki GSR 400cc

2009 - Piaggio X9 200cc, Yamaha R6 08, Piaggio MP3 400cc

2010 - Ducati 696, Bajaj Pulsa Ver. 200, Yamaha Fazer 8, Honda VFR 1200

2012- Phatom 200, CBR 150 R - 2012 Model

Once a Rider, Will always be...:thumb:

got a suggestion for the co-buy of the spark plugs

the one with the lobang foot out the money

and round up the price for coffee money for his trouble?

DIY day all collect from him and must honor the request. else he be struck with alot of spark plugs

Been there, done that. When comes to ordering, all Onz...when come to paying and collecting, its a pain in the ***. So the final words are

Be There Or Be Square!

So how about Saturday? Onz?

if it drops within 12.++ V, it should be OK...if it drop to 12.++ V and when rev up it goes to 13.++V and it drops back whitout revving... its normal..

The problem is that once it dropped to 12.+v it does not go up even if I rev the engine.

Anyway, I went to Unique new branch at Toh Guan and that place is really sparkling clean for a workshop. When I arrived, there are no bikes being serviced at that moment and the whole crew of about 6 people came to attend to me... I was feeling like being in a motoGP ... haha.

Ok, after inspection by the Mech from Unique, they came to conclusion that nothing is wrong because it's damn crazy... when I went there... the volt reading seems to be all ok.

I am quite impressed by their detail spot check. They even take out the rectifier and did a thorough check with all the wirings. Too bad in the end, only can conclude that the rectifier has a tiny crack and may need to be replaced. The mech even advise me not to change first because the volt seems to be reading fine... asked me to go straight there when the volt reading is unstable again. Two thumbs up for their service!:thumb::thumb:

Guest motofreak
The problem is that once it dropped to 12.+v it does not go up even if I rev the engine.

Anyway, I went to Unique new branch at Toh Guan and that place is really sparkling clean for a workshop. When I arrived, there are no bikes being serviced at that moment and the whole crew of about 6 people came to attend to me... I was feeling like being in a motoGP ... haha.

Ok, after inspection by the Mech from Unique, they came to conclusion that nothing is wrong because it's damn crazy... when I went there... the volt reading seems to be all ok.

I am quite impressed by their detail spot check. They even take out the rectifier and did a thorough check with all the wirings. Too bad in the end, only can conclude that the rectifier has a tiny crack and may need to be replaced. The mech even advise me not to change first because the volt seems to be reading fine... asked me to go straight there when the volt reading is unstable again. Two thumbs up for their service!:thumb::thumb:

Sorry for the late reply... But good thing they did a good service.. I was about to tell u to remove all those undertail lights for the moment. These few days rainy... Mite have some shorts sumwhere thats "leaking"... Another thing is to check that the cables is secure... Do a quick check of your groundings if u have any.....

U mind telling us which shop u went to that said u require to change rectifier and coil?

Sorry for the late reply... But good thing they did a good service.. I was about to tell u to remove all those undertail lights for the moment. These few days rainy... Mite have some shorts sumwhere thats "leaking"... Another thing is to check that the cables is secure... Do a quick check of your groundings if u have any.....

U mind telling us which shop u went to that said u require to change rectifier and coil?

probably that d*ck shop which treated me like the lowest class human being..

Been there, done that. When comes to ordering, all Onz...when come to paying and collecting, its a pain in the ***. So the final words are

Be There Or Be Square!

So how about Saturday? Onz?

saturday what time??

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y231/complicated89/moto/LVSBK56.jpg
saturday what time??

I am open to suggestion this Saturday, 24 Apr 2010. If no one Onz, I still Onz....like said before from previous posts....'sell fish' mode. So please put down your nick to the list. If no names means I am on my own so I go get them myself.

Meetup for Shopping at LAB & Regina

Date: 24 April 2010

Time: Open to suggestion

Meeting point: Park near Regina.

CLOSING DATE FOR THIS POST: 24 April 2010 @ 0000HRS

List

----

1. IvikaRazI

Time: Open to suggestion

CLOSING DATE FOR THIS POST: 24 April 2010 @ 0000HRS

List

----

1. IvikaRazI

2. Azee (anytime after 1230)

Good day to all... let me share my experience with my faulty rectifier... so in future whoever encounter such problem knows what to look out for. I'm not pointing directly straight to rectifier fault... but if you have the same symptom as me... it "Could" be rectifier fault. Dun get conned by any bike shop to change your coil+rectifier+etc....

Anyway, those who have not installed a volt meter... it's a good investment to add to your bike. It can tells whether if there is any fault in your electrical component. memorised the volt reading... and if one day the volt reading is not regular... then it's time to check ur electrical components(fuse box, battery, etc.) I had one incident where I noticed irregular voltage... and checked to noticed one of the fuse is burnt.

Anyway, my problem happened to me when my bike is travelling for a distance... until the bike is hot and the rectifier is hot...then the voltage dropped from my regular 13.8-13.9v to 12.+v. After which no matter how much I rev my bike... the volt will remain 12.+v. This problem is tricky because when I turn off my ignition and restart my bike... the volt reading goes back to normal 13.8-13.9v. Have to make the rectifier hot again by riding or revving for a few minutes then the problem will happen again. Because of this, it makes the mech hard to detect whether it's the rectifier fault. Now the mech at Unique learnt from my problem. Haha...

He found out the problem is on the rectifier because he took out the rectifier and rev my bike... (bike is on paddock)... when the volt starts to drop... the behind of the rectifier where the small crack is ... starts to bulk up. Voila... problem nailed.

Thanks for reading. Oh yeah... total damage for a new rectifier = $245. Definitely cheaper than the other bike bike shop which quote me $555 to solve my problem.

Thanks for sharing chris!!

Wow quite costly ah the rectifier.. No local ah?? Hehe

thanks to the nice gsr (red and silver with a box) for the nice ride back from clementi to the east along PIE.

i am the cbr rider. cheers. :cheeky:

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150202650682721&set=a.305411597720.154988.690332720&type=1&ref=nf

Time: 1300Hrs (1 PM)

List

----

1. IvikaRazI

Time: 1300Hrs (1 PM)

List

----

1. IvikaRazI

6 ppl on the list...

only 2 is buying the plugs....

Wish I could be in for the shopping today but I would not be avaliable for the whole day of sat. Any kind hearted individual could get for me first? =)

I'm a Tutor! Proud to be one!

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y88/lexanez/IMG_0008.jpg

Wish I could be in for the shopping today but I would not be avaliable for the whole day of sat. Any kind hearted individual could get for me first? =)

if u transfer the $$ first then we can get it for u..