hi nid some advise from u guys! i have been riding my bike for 1yr 6mth and my its almost 15000km already. would like to knw if there is any majo servicing i nid to do?

A very well used bike indeed! Don't mind me saying, is it first hand? Seems like it, given the mileage if its from 0...haha

In any case, a bike that has been ridden for close to 15000km, regular serving is way overdue! First off, you need to change engine oil and oil filter (depending on your style of riding and your personal preference, these needs to be changed regularly at 4000km-5000km). There are so many brands of EO(Engine Oil) for you to choose from, like Liqui Moly, Maxima, Castrol, Amsoil, etc! Just remember to use Fully Synthetic oil and the OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) Oil Filter for maximum performance.

Some people also like to change their spark plugs with it too. I personally, for one, changes them at 10000km and checked them at every 5000km. You could try Iridium plugs or any other plugs but it seems many people prefer the stock plugs from NGK which are models, NGKCR8EK for GSR 400 and NGKCR9EK for GSR 600.

Next, your coolant. You'll need to check whether the amount of coolant is enough for your bike at regular intervals, top it if not until 10000km where you'll have to change it. You can do it yourself or authorizing a shop to do it for you. However! You need to ensure the old coolant is flushed away properly before inputting the new coolant. I have read somewhere that using water and vineger to a ratio of 50:50 really helps in removing all the unwanted particles in the engine. There are many choices of coolants such as Maxima Cool-aid, Engine Ice, Waterwetter (To be mixed with Distilled water) and others, all infomation can be found here.

Your brake fluid. Check out the level of brake fluid you have on your bike through the small window on the black box mounted on the right of your handlebars for front brakes, and remove the right cover (The black piece in the middle) to reveal the one for the rear brakes. Bleed your brake lines and put in fresh DOT 4 brake fluid if the level of the fluid is lower than the line indicated on the box. Information for DIY is here if you wish or you can just go down to your preferred workshop.

Next, brake pads. These little guys saves your life in an event of a accident so do check them if they are worn out and change them. EBC seems to be a popular choice but there are other brakes such as Goldfren and others.

Tyres. I'm sure you don't want to slip when doing your corning. Do check the small indicator lines on your tires along the grooves to see if they are worn out, if so, change your tyres at a recognized bike shop, you don't want to get into any accident due to improperly balanced tyres. Pump them regularly too! The information about your tyre pressure can be found on your chain guard. I'm sure you'll be able to recognize some of the lettering even though it is japanese.

Chain and sprocket, you will need to check if your chain is worn out/rusted/loose even though you have tighten it, if so, then it is time to change it. Better to change both the sprocket and chain together to prevent any accident due to faulty sprocket/chain. The size for sprockets are 14T/47T and chain is 520 for 400 and 17T/46T for sprockets, Chain is 530 for 600. Get reputable brands such as DID and AFAM for a peace of mind. You will need to oil your chain regularly to maximise their lifespan, if you are too busy to do so, get Scottoiler or DIY one yourself here using the information provided.

Last but not least, air filter. You will need to change them, if they are your OEM paper filters or get a reusable airfilter such as BMC, Pipercross or K&N and wash them regularly. I'm not really sure when to change as I wash my Pipercross filter at every 10000km.

That will be for regular stuffs but if you are not looking for these types of servicing, do tell us so the bros here could give you more information about it.

Correct me if I'm wrong, guys.

I'm a Tutor! Proud to be one!

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y88/lexanez/IMG_0008.jpg

had just gotten my gsr400 this week and hope to join you guys for any DIY or it shud be Do It Myself while i learn from you old birds.

At the same time now that i am here, do have a query to clear. Is there any particular reason why the light for the Fuel Injector does not light up at all regardless if i am at high rpm or low?

had just gotten my gsr400 this week and hope to join you guys for any DIY or it shud be Do It Myself while i learn from you old birds.

At the same time now that i am here, do have a query to clear. Is there any particular reason why the light for the Fuel Injector does not light up at all regardless if i am at high rpm or low?

Hey hi! First of all, a very warm welcome to SBF and the GSR community here. Hope you enjoy your ride and taking care of her!

There are DIYs going on from time to going, do check out and join when it is on! (Shameful to say, I haven't been to any of those...oh well, I'll join the next one!)

You could DIY if you have the confidence in doing it, after reading up on the necessary information and asking on this forums. Warning though! DIY is addictive, I went on from change EO, Spark plugs to replacing faulty LED strips and doing up a DIY oiler, mostly elementary stuffs though.

What do you mean Fuel Injector light? Do you mean the F1 light just below the high beam indicator light? If so, you...better pray that thing doesn't light up at all!! If it does, it spells major trouble for you as it means that there is something seriously faulty with your bike and you got to stop riding, call a tow truck to send your bike to the workshop for repairs.

Never ride with the F1 light on!!

You mean the red circle with the word FI that lights up? If that is it, then its OK, if it lights up, means something wrong...need to get the error code to know what is causing it. Only Dealer Mode can show the error code.

If there is a malfunction of one of the sensors, not to worry, it should go to default settings so the bike can still run. Unless major issue then no choice.

Hi, Lexanez and IvikaRazI

thanks for the reply. Ok got it and shall take note of the F1 light indicator. :)

btw lexanez, in the event if u r servicing ur eo n spark plugs and dun mind a newbie tagging along and learn from u, let me know as for such servicing i wud wanna try it hands on as kinda had bad experiences with some workshops tat i had went whom kept asking me to change this and that even though its obvious that it aint necessary. :) so till i able to find a good trustworthy workshop for very technical and complicated services :) i shall service my wife personally :)

Okay, maybe I overreacted bout the F1 light thingy! :D

Sometimes stuffs happened like while I was trying to adjusted my primary TPS, I slot in the key without the immobliser, there the F1 light up and an error code shown, (after I short the dealer plug), I panicked and kept on checking on what's wrong, took me 10mins to realised that its the immboliser thing that I didn't slot in the key with.

There is also another time when I accidentally shorted the whole bike while I was repairing my LED strips, put 2 connector wrongly and gone is the ignition fuse. Again I panicked for bout 20mins before I managed to recovered and found out that it is the ignition fuse thats blown. Luckily there is a spare one in the fuse box...phew. Scared the daylights outta me! Learned my lesson and label the connectors and proceed with the fixing.

On a side note, anyone knows where to get the fuse?

In any case, bout DIY, I'm still a newbie too, learning as I go. In any case, my next change is bout 3000km away so that will be for quite sometime. The GSR 600 manual proves to be a great help when doing DIY as it provides most of the information you need! The soft copy can be found here but beware that not all information applies to the GSR 400. I learned most of my DIY from this little baby here.

There are DIYs going on from time to time, so I strongly suggest that you go down and ask tons of questions from the old guys so you can learn and remember to get down and dirty! Me too, I need to go down for these DIYs to learn more! Apologies to all the lao jiaos here if I made any mistakes in anything that I wrote here, hope you can kindly correct me!

There are many reputable bikeshops that people trust, such as Unique motors, Motoworld, Planet motors, Equipment Extreme, etc. Read around the forums for reviews of these bikeshops, some are also online here and may have offers and promotion that suits the GSR 400. Check them out!

Edited by Lexanez

A very well used bike indeed! Don't mind me saying, is it first hand? Seems like it, given the mileage if its from 0...haha

In any case, a bike that has been ridden for close to 15000km, regular serving is way overdue! First off, you need to change engine oil and oil filter (depending on your style of riding and your personal preference, these needs to be changed regularly at 4000km-5000km). There are so many brands of EO(Engine Oil) for you to choose from, like Liqui Moly, Maxima, Castrol, Amsoil, etc! Just remember to use Fully Synthetic oil and the OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) Oil Filter for maximum performance.

Some people also like to change their spark plugs with it too. I personally, for one, changes them at 10000km and checked them at every 5000km. You could try Iridium plugs or any other plugs but it seems many people prefer the stock plugs from NGK which are models, NGKCR8EK for GSR 400 and NGKCR9EK for GSR 600.

Next, your coolant. You'll need to check whether the amount of coolant is enough for your bike at regular intervals, top it if not until 10000km where you'll have to change it. You can do it yourself or authorizing a shop to do it for you. However! You need to ensure the old coolant is flushed away properly before inputting the new coolant. I have read somewhere that using water and vineger to a ratio of 50:50 really helps in removing all the unwanted particles in the engine. There are many choices of coolants such as Maxima Cool-aid, Engine Ice, Waterwetter (To be mixed with Distilled water) and others, all infomation can be found here.

Your brake fluid. Check out the level of brake fluid you have on your bike through the small window on the black box mounted on the right of your handlebars for front brakes, and remove the right cover (The black piece in the middle) to reveal the one for the rear brakes. Bleed your brake lines and put in fresh DOT 4 brake fluid if the level of the fluid is lower than the line indicated on the box. Information for DIY is here if you wish or you can just go down to your preferred workshop.

Next, brake pads. These little guys saves your life in an event of a accident so do check them if they are worn out and change them. EBC seems to be a popular choice but there are other brakes such as Goldfren and others.

Tyres. I'm sure you don't want to slip when doing your corning. Do check the small indicator lines on your tires along the grooves to see if they are worn out, if so, change your tyres at a recognized bike shop, you don't want to get into any accident due to improperly balanced tyres. Pump them regularly too! The information about your tyre pressure can be found on your chain guard. I'm sure you'll be able to recognize some of the lettering even though it is japanese.

Chain and sprocket, you will need to check if your chain is worn out/rusted/loose even though you have tighten it, if so, then it is time to change it. Better to change both the sprocket and chain together to prevent any accident due to faulty sprocket/chain. The size for sprockets are 14T/47T and chain is 520 for 400 and 17T/46T for sprockets, Chain is 530 for 600. Get reputable brands such as DID and AFAM for a peace of mind. You will need to oil your chain regularly to maximise their lifespan, if you are too busy to do so, get Scottoiler or DIY one yourself here using the information provided.

Last but not least, air filter. You will need to change them, if they are your OEM paper filters or get a reusable airfilter such as BMC, Pipercross or K&N and wash them regularly. I'm not really sure when to change as I wash my Pipercross filter at every 10000km.

That will be for regular stuffs but if you are not looking for these types of servicing, do tell us so the bros here could give you more information about it.

thanks bro for ur hlp!! ya its a first hand bike tat i got it. i do did my regular servicing like engine oil, filter n also my coolant. i also change my air filter pass 2 mths back. than when do i need to service other things like fuel injector, changing of timing belt, throttle body snyco. N is here still other thing that is needed to be service? i'm changing my tire soon any gd recommand?

I have some interesting news for you guys,Leovince Pipes 400/600 ,now can be legalized through GMAX, we can Strike a deal with this Burly Australian man,that if there is 5 interested lucky Gsreans gunning for leovince exhaust like the one below.He will need 5 guys to get everything done by only 1.1k and yes he will make it legal.....???

Interested???

Conditions,once all 5 people are interested,we will fix a date to come down to G-Max to make a payment.Oh yaaa Homologated LV exhaust for 400 arrives in 2 weeks time...........

Aluminium LV Pipes....

Price of Exhaust ~ $***

LTA Inspection ~$90.00

Labour for fixing exhaust ~ $**(Will Be done by Approved Shops)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUeekM9dR_8

The Exhaust price will be revealed if we can get 5 people who are interested

1) EJ (if got carbon fiber better)

2)NazAdidas

3)Azee

c'mon guys!!

TwO MoRe tO Go :cheer: :bounce: :cheer: :bounce:

169383_451657501512609_265105153_o.jpg?dl=1
thanks bro for ur hlp!! ya its a first hand bike tat i got it. i do did my regular servicing like engine oil, filter n also my coolant. i also change my air filter pass 2 mths back. than when do i need to service other things like fuel injector, changing of timing belt, throttle body snyco. N is here still other thing that is needed to be service? i'm changing my tire soon any gd recommand?

Thats really very good! I'm not really sure bout those but from what a member here, Orleng have told me. Throttle body synchronisation only needs to be done when your idling sounds very irregularly like when there is pop sound from time to time.

I'm not too sure about what tires are good because mine is not yet time to change and I have never changed before...haha. Anyway, do check out the thread for unique motors as they got on-going promotion for tires.

Juz need to correct something.......Its FI and not F1.....FI = Fuel Injector, while F1 maybe = Formula 1.....that happens every year over a few countries racing for victory. Hehehe

Oh, thanks for the correction, haha!

Lol, so when the F1 lights up, it means you're in turbo-charged mode? :D

How did u get the headers to shine like that.. Sigh mine dont even come close to yours..

Thats really very good! I'm not really sure bout those but from what a member here, Orleng have told me. Throttle body synchronisation only needs to be done when your idling sounds very irregularly like when there is pop sound from time to time.

I'm not too sure about what tires are good because mine is not yet time to change and I have never changed before...haha. Anyway, do check out the thread for unique motors as they got on-going promotion for tires.

i see!! thanks for ur hlp!! so u jus got ur gsr not long ago?

hi there is there someone can hlp me with this?? when do we service our bike fuel injector, changing of timing belt, throttle body snyco n is here still other thing that is needed to be service?

How did u get the headers to shine like that.. Sigh mine dont even come close to yours..

haha, new bike maybe? is there any way to keep the headers shiny? i always thought they'll corrode anyways.

:thumb: WaWaWeeWa! :thumb:
haha, new bike maybe? is there any way to keep the headers shiny? i always thought they'll corrode anyways.

Juz use metal polish. U need to maintain else will corrode overtime. Tender luvin care iz all what it takes. :)

I have some interesting news for you guys,Leovince Pipes 400/600 ,now can be legalized through GMAX, we can Strike a deal with this Burly Australian man,that if there is 5 interested lucky Gsreans gunning for leovince exhaust like the one below.He will need 5 guys to get everything done by only 1.1k and yes he will make it legal.....???

Interested???

Conditions,once all 5 people are interested,we will fix a date to come down to G-Max to make a payment.Oh yaaa Homologated LV exhaust for 400 arrives in 2 weeks time...........

Aluminium LV Pipes....

Price of Exhaust ~ $***

LTA Inspection ~$90.00

2)NazAdidas

3)Azee

4)WaRRioR83 ( If can wait till July 7th lor, if before that cannot do,BOnus ma :)(if can wait for me till that date, i confirm also )

c'mon guys!!

TwO MoRe tO Go

Edited by WaRRioR83

Honda NSR SP150- FP 564* Z - Since 26 Sep 07 - 09 june 09

Suzuki GSR 400- FBB 753* K -Since 03/ 06 / 09 - 11/03/11

Yamaha R1 08- FBC 19** T - till 00 Apr 2012

kawasaki Versys 650

btw the clip hor, the pipe sound is really like this? or that clip the pipe got mod ar ?

Honda NSR SP150- FP 564* Z - Since 26 Sep 07 - 09 june 09

Suzuki GSR 400- FBB 753* K -Since 03/ 06 / 09 - 11/03/11

Yamaha R1 08- FBC 19** T - till 00 Apr 2012

kawasaki Versys 650

Interested???

Aluminium LV Pipes....

Price of Exhaust ~ $***

LTA Inspection ~$90.00

c'mon guys!!

Bro, carbon fiber will become yellowish after sometime o_O

http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/1/26/1720945/3M-CarbonFibre-Vinyl-GTR1400.jpg

Ride safe, Live to ride another day !

Juz use metal polish. U need to maintain else will corrode overtime. Tender luvin care iz all what it takes. :)

haha, thanks. okay set! autosol here i come! :bouncefire:

:thumb: WaWaWeeWa! :thumb:
haha, thanks. okay set! autosol here i come! :bouncefire:

Ohh ya try not to use Autosol...it eats into the metal. Use other metal polish...those high quality ones from Autoglym or Maguire.

ANd some riders said we are ignorant...Where was this info when some **** needed one....tisk...tisk...tisk....

and y'all know what im talkin' about...

cheerio mates...:faint:

Suzuki B-King 2008 specifications

GSX1300BK -

www.suzuki-bk.com/en/index.html

Engine: 1,340cc

4-cylinder DOHC 16-valve

183.6 hp (137 kW)/ 9,500 rpm,

146 Nm/ 7,200 rpm.o_O

Bro, carbon fiber will become yellowish after sometime o_O

Really? Damn..

Anyway if not enough 5 people i'm still going there myself.. I cant wait anymore.. And i dont want them tri-ovals!! No offense hehehe