• Replies 5.7k

Originally posted by Lass@Aug 19 2006, 11:13 AM

indeed....only thing is that when u hv nice things on ur bike, u will invite alot of unwanted attention as well resulting in eventual theft....sheesh...

Depends :smile:

Some biker once said " If u haven't been to Gerik, U haven't been touring in Malaysia".

Originally posted by PK Leong@Aug 17 2006, 07:51 PM

Does anyone know which shop selling this wind sheild, I saw this at http://www.nihonbike.com/en/

Can it use on our 400cc Boldor ? Thanks.

I would be interested to get one too for my poseur Mugen bold'Or! :sweat:

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii193/khookahkiat/DSC00352-501.jpg

Missing my Super 4 Bold'Or FBA1859D always... (22nd Feb 2006 ~ 17th Feb 2009)

Hi bro kinz,

I've experienced such similar problems as well. It seems that whenever you got a new bike, the new brake pads will start to "polish" off the new disc-plate, resulting in the brake pad to sort of collect much more "brake-dust" in it's brake pads...

Solution is to change the brake pads after 2-3 months of riding your new bike. I done that and no more squeeking sound, though now I'm kind of "itching" to change to a better brake pads such as EBC... :cheeky:

Gaofar p(^.^)q

"Something new is in the air.. I think my 2nd wind is here..!"

Originally posted by Panther@Aug 19 2006, 10:55 AM

Lazz: That is why we have advanced alarm systems defending our bike. Along with neighborhood watchdogs.

And I collected my SBF polo tee yesterday. Good stuff.

yeah seems like more ppl r having alarms installed on their bike.

hehe saw TT at motoworld again today and showed me his voltmeter and newly installed LEDs hehe

_________

Kinz : could it be dust on ur brakes or on the brake disc itself? pretty unusual for a new bike though :confused:

Originally posted by Lass@Aug 19 2006, 08:59 PM

yeah seems like more ppl r having alarms installed on their bike.

hehe saw TT at motoworld again today and showed me his voltmeter and newly installed LEDs hehe

_________

Kinz : could it be dust on ur brakes or on the brake disc itself? pretty unusual for a new bike though :confused:

:cheeky: hehehe, so co-incident to see u again...

Panther: Today I asked Muji about perimeter sensor for the Scorpio alarm. $70 bucks. Works by beaming microwave around & sensing reflections from incoming objects ( like radar), so best put under the seat. Can adjust sensitivity from 1 feet up to 10ft. I suspect it will sucks battery power alot, coz it got to beam microwave around. Must confirm this with peeps in SBF who installed this. But the perimeter sensor can be disabled separately from the remote control, while still keeping the shock & tilt sensor active.

I might want to install this also, after checking out the battery consumption.

John 15:7 (New International Version)

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

-- it's true & it really works for me. :)

Originally posted by tt6389@Aug 19 2006, 11:16 PM

:cheeky: hehehe, so co-incident to see u again...

Panther: Today I asked Muji about perimeter sensor for the Scorpio alarm. $70 bucks. Works by beaming microwave around & sensing reflections from incoming objects ( like radar), so best put under the seat. Can adjust sensitivity from 1 feet up to 10ft. I suspect it will sucks battery power alot, coz it got to beam microwave around. Must confirm this with peeps in SBF who installed this. But the perimeter sensor can be disabled separately from the remote control, while still keeping the shock & tilt sensor active.

I might want to install this also, after checking out the battery consumption.

hehe yeah, u r a frequent motoworld visitor

Hmm.. maybe find one day go change brake pad...

btw.. today i went motoworld to check out the voltmeter... they intro to me a type water resistance... stainless steel i suppose... cost $90 with installation.. if that a good brand of voltmeter?? btw its not autogauge... the brand got many jap word one...

No spare battery add-on? The 40-bucks one Tim. Supposed to have it, we will need that if we want the sensor. :smile: When do you want to go get the sensor? We can probably go together.

The Blue Hellrider

The BP HPG

<span style=\'color:navy\'>卍解 - 瞬神 四楓院 夜一

これは私の卍解。

Originally posted by Panther@Aug 20 2006, 12:41 AM

No spare battery add-on? The 40-bucks one Tim. Supposed to have it, we will need that if we want the sensor. :smile: When do you want to go get the sensor? We can probably go together.

oh yah...forgot to add the spare backup battery for the scorpio not available yet.

But I thought the backup battery 's purpose is to supply power to the alarm unit; even if someone tries to disconnect the battery to disable the alarm system - it will still activates.

The backup battery is just a tiny little capsule. The perimeter sensor sucks power from the main battery. Don't think backup battery will help prolong the main battery's life, if the perimeter sensor sucks too much power.

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

Last friday after fixing the LEDs at Dr. Guru's place, went straight to the Dam. :cool:

Found the Dam very packed. Hardly got space to park my bike. Got more cars than bikes, I think the place is getting over crowded on weekends.

Got lots of frienldy stares also as I slowly cruise down the road with my LEDs on....

Meh, but I still want it. People do like to play around with alarms. And yeah, I will get unfriendly stares at the dam with my lights on at the dam lol. Saturday is always a jam-packed night at the dam.

When will be a good time for you?

The Blue Hellrider

The BP HPG

これは私の卍解。

ur bike lights very nice leh,,, red colour very match ur bike colour , fierce fierce. As u mention u slowly go the dam and a lot of ppl see ur bike, that is normal. I also will look and admire ur bike if i at the dam too and not knowing u,hee hee

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n62/anric79/5073085f-2c95-4b2c-937d-c905dcca4fdb.jpg
Originally posted by Panther@Aug 20 2006, 11:25 AM

Meh, but I still want it. People do like to play around with alarms. And yeah, I will get unfriendly stares at the dam with my lights on at the dam lol. Saturday is always a jam-packed night at the dam.

When will be a good time for you?

good time for installing Perimeter Sensor? Think I'll ask around first with peeps who installed - on the battery consumption. I worry if I dun start engine for 2 days, the perimeter senor will suck my battery juice dry. Coz its using microwave.

Originally posted by Metal_Jawa@Aug 19 2006, 01:09 PM

thanks bro kennethy for e info...

anyway anyone of u guys have removed e powercut from e bike yet?

if so wat r e pros n cons?

cost of removing it?

the so call power call is really actually to restrict your RPM from going into the red zone.

you can try it out on your bike... just continue to drag on every gear can you will see once you drag till 13k RPM, it will automatically 'jump' back to below 11k RPM.

this feature is to ensure that you dun 'accidentially' operate your engine to the danger zone... however there are products like redrev that is suppose to remove the block at the red zone...

after telling you what they princinples behind... i guess you will understand what are the pros and cons already... :smile:

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/7720/dsc00157a.jpg

All Must Work Hard!

Originally posted by Lass@Aug 20 2006, 12:33 PM

btw, will u b penalise by TP for having LEDs?

:cheeky: I don't see why TP will bother with my bikes LED , coz it doesn't blink or flashes distractively. I think a pretty gal on a sport bike is even more distracting to other drivers ...kekeke :cheeky:

Originally posted by Metal_Jawa@Aug 19 2006, 01:09 PM

thanks bro kennethy for e info...

anyway anyone of u guys have removed e powercut from e bike yet?

if so wat r e pros n cons?

cost of removing it?

the so call power cut is actually a delimiter to your engine RPM. it prevents your engine from going into the red RPM zone...

you can do a simple test... on every gear, you can drag it will the red zone and see the RPM will automatically drop to around 11k RPM when it is being drag into the red zone...

the idea of this delimiter is to protect your engine from going into the danger zone and over rev your engine...

however, there are products like redrev with is suppose to remove the delimiter and allow you to go rev into the red zone...

after this explaination... i believe you will understand what are the pros and cons already... :smile:

All Must Work Hard!

Actually, no one asks you to switch on the perimeter sensor Tim. It only drains the battery, as I recall, if you leave it on, which obviously is not going to happen since in SG we are jam-packed for space in parking. It should only be used when you enter Malaysia, or a remote place, especially alone.

Also, LEDs are illegal. They still are a distraction. I believe Silverturtle's escape detection because they really shine totally inwards, without any bright distraction to other riders, whereas ours will shine and reflect onto others.

The Blue Hellrider

The BP HPG

これは私の卍解。

Originally posted by Gaofar@Aug 19 2006, 07:58 PM

Hi bro kinz,

I've experienced such similar problems as well. It seems that whenever you got a new bike, the new brake pads will start to "polish" off the new disc-plate, resulting in the brake pad to sort of collect much more "brake-dust" in it's brake pads...

Solution is to change the brake pads after 2-3 months of riding your new bike. I done that and no more squeeking sound, though now I'm kind of "itching" to change to a better brake pads such as EBC... :cheeky:

Gaofar p(^.^)q

actually, all brake pads will have this problem with brake dust. it is how you take care of it...

what i usually do is the following:

1. while washing bike, squeeze the sponge to deliver some foam onto the brake callipers and let the foam soak into the brake callipers and later rinse with water to clear the brake dust that is trapped by the foam... should be able to see the blackish water when you rinse off

2. when going down to service your bike, use the air gun to spray into the brake callipers... certainly will see the back dust being forced out...

with that, i actually used my stock brake pad all the way and yet never have any sound no matter how hard i brake... :thumb:

anyway, i have a pair of EBC rear brake pads which i previously bought for my S4... not that it has been sold... if you are interested, i can sell to you at cost i bought $30... i should suppose the pads are the same for boldor and the nake S4 spec III

All Must Work Hard!

Originally posted by tt6389@Aug 20 2006, 02:40 PM

:cheeky: I don't see why TP will bother with my bikes LED , coz it doesn't blink or flashes distractively. I think a pretty gal on a sport bike is even more distracting to other drivers ...kekeke :cheeky:

anyway when i see bikes w LEDs at nite, it looked really nice and once i argued w my hubby about whether it was allowed. he said it's not and i wasn't convince so i had to get an ans hehe.

i mean just LEDs and doesn't blink ain't distracting at all though.

Originally posted by Panther@Aug 20 2006, 03:44 PM

Actually, no one asks you to switch on the perimeter sensor Tim. It only drains the battery, as I recall, if you leave it on, which obviously is not going to happen since in SG we are jam-packed for space in parking. It should only be used when you enter Malaysia, or a remote place, especially alone.

Also, LEDs are illegal. They still are a distraction. I believe Silverturtle's escape detection because they really shine totally inwards, without any bright distraction to other riders, whereas ours will shine and reflect onto others.

Panther: good reasoning, I think I'll get the perimeter sensor. And switch it on only when I parked in quiet places in JB. Some of the basement carparks like the one in Perlangi plaza is very quiet. Probably next saturday I'll fix it.

Lass: I took the opportunity to consult a police sergeant who had join us to that last Segamat trip - whether LEDs is illegal. He say it is illegal, but most TP will close one eye if it is not distracting or brightly blinding the drivers' eye behind.

Actually my bike pic look glarish because of the way I took the photo shot. The bike was leaning on side stand and camera was at waist height, so LEDs bulb can be seen. But when bike is straight vertical, bulbs are not visible. Furthermore, the LEDs are encased in a plastic holder with side shields to block the light going side ways.

Also, my exposure time of 6 sec makes the pic look more glarish than in real life.

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/bikes/LED_04.jpg

Originally posted by tt6389@Aug 20 2006, 11:49 PM

Panther: good reasoning, I think I'll get the perimeter sensor. And switch it on only when I parked in quiet places in JB. Some of the basement carparks like the one in Perlangi plaza is very quiet. Probably next saturday I'll fix it.

Lass: I took the opportunity to consult a police sergeant who had join us to that last Segamat trip - whether LEDs is illegal. He say it is illegal, but TP will close one eye if it is not distracting or brightly blinding the drivers' eye behind.

Actually my bike pic look glarish because of the way I took the photo shot. The bike was leaning on side stand and camera was at waist height, so LEDs bulb can be seen. But when bike is straight vertical, bulbs are not visible. Furthermore, the LEDs are encased in a plastic holder with side shields to block the light going side ways.

Also, my exposure time of 6 sec makes the pic look more glarish than in real life.

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/bikes/LED_04.jpg

tim! so finally you've got ur LEDs done dude! :smile:

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii193/khookahkiat/DSC00352-501.jpg

Missing my Super 4 Bold'Or FBA1859D always... (22nd Feb 2006 ~ 17th Feb 2009)

Originally posted by khookahkiat@Aug 21 2006, 12:14 AM

tim! so finally you've got ur LEDs done dude! :smile:

:cheeky: yup, i simply love the red glow...

Well I obviously cannot switch on mine thanks to the strobe lights lol. Instant catch. :smile:

Anyway this coming Saturday I got the modsters BBQ (which if you can go, Tim, please contact Genez, would have to fork out money but I believe it will be worth it for you to meet the rest too) at night at the dam. Not sure if we should go this Saturday, maybe next?

The Blue Hellrider

The BP HPG

これは私の卍解。