Originally posted by lifeless99@May 19 2005, 12:44 PM

no lah, read up and my cousin over there did tell me. Drag race is X1 fast, then boasting power is wave-i.

Your cousin got lobang to get the CDI for Wave i??? :help:

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

• Replies 543

Originally posted by silversurfer2012@May 20 2005, 07:24 PM

So far i havent heard of a ECU remap in Sg. My friend in Thailand says there is a aftermarket ECU chip that is red in colour.. also dont know what brand is it.

Could your fren help source the CDI for Wave i too??? :help:

Went down to check out the CDI.......

Wing Yap's mechanic told me their foreman is an expert with modifying Wave. Including removing the powercut......but he's on MC yesterday, so I never got to ask him about it.....

Went Jalan Bersah that shop, they do sell the original CDI for $70 only......but the boss not very sure can solve the 1st batch problem or not......he told me the CDI he's selling, all are the same model and part number for Wave i.

Went LAB, so many ppl.......Ah Boy no time to entertain me.....

Went B Plus, was told there isn't lacing CDI for Wave i yet.......oh, they are very bochap and rude.

So far, WingYap and Jalan Bersah Plaza are the most friendly.......

Maybe u can try Wing Yap first. If the cost is $70 then no point I think better get the Jalan Besar Plaza one. More worth it.

Yeah.....tomorrow I'll go WingYap first and talk to the chief machanic (foreman) to see what's his take......

I assume trying out the CDI from Jalan Bersah is a gamble, cuz not sure will solve the problem or not.....

Just pushed in my Wave i to WING YAP this morning.

Will be installing a booaster (some electronic stuffs) and programming the booaster. So this thing is almost like a Power Commander, ha ha!!! :cheeky:

Booaster $60plus, and whatever labour charges. But the bike must leave at the shop as it's not a fast job.....need to ride and program, so takes time. Cannot hurry. Also because they got no dyno lah, I think, ha ha ha...... :D

According to the chief mechanic, changing the CDI might not solve the problem. The booaster, according to him is the most effective solution. Since he convinced me, I'll give it a shot. CDI's from Thailand are also quite erratic in quality, and we have no control over it. Booaster can be reset and set again.....Damn, that means I can even have it dynoed if I'm crazy huh??? :lol:

Once I collect the bike, will give a review and the actual $$$ I paid.

Originally posted by silversurfer2012@Jun 8 2005, 07:56 PM

This booaster sounds like some box thing about the size of a match box. If it is, i think i know what it is. But anyway good luck!!

So what's your take??? Work or flop??? :cheeky:

Please enlighten....... :smile:

Ha ha ha......went down today, the mechanic told me that the booaster dun work. He's working on tuning the FI......so far so good, but not good enuff. He's gonna need abit more time to get it right and satisfactory.

Also mentioned something like the fuel booast pump is not strong enuff.....whatever, I'll let him figure it out. Can say I'm kindda comfortable with him playing around with my Wave i and getting it right....... :smile: Just hope the bill dun make me faint :cheeky:

Once I get the bike back, I'll feedback on what exactly he did and what's my take on it.

Fault confirmed.......INJECTOR is bad......

Chief mechanic told me over the phone that he swapped a fren's problem free Wave i INJECTOR, problem solved. But he hestitate to change it for me as it's $300plus!!!!! Called me last Tue, but I was still sleeping. Only got to know on Fri 1500hrs when I decided to call him and enquire.

Item in stock, hope I get the Wave i back on Mon late afternoon. Will DEFINATELY try the bike on CTE first before confirming it's good, and pay money.

Will post again when fault CONFIRM SOLVED. :thumb:

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@Jun 19 2005, 03:17 AM

Fault confirmed.......INJECTOR is bad......

Chief mechanic told me over the phone that he swapped a fren's problem free Wave i INJECTOR, problem solved. But he hestitate to change it for me as it's $300plus!!!!! Called me last Tue, but I was still sleeping. Only got to know on Fri 1500hrs when I decided to call him and enquire.

Item in stock, hope I get the Wave i back on Mon late afternoon. Will DEFINATELY try the bike on CTE first before confirming it's good, and pay money.

Will post again when fault CONFIRM SOLVED. :thumb:

Hey Da Ge, how your wave man?

Originally posted by Dafanshu@Jun 19 2005, 02:36 PM

Hey Da Ge, how your wave man?

Tor, still at WingYap lor......now waiting for them to get the in jector and fix it up. Then put in PowerCommanderIII and DYNORUN the bugger, ha ha ha!!!! :lol:

No lah, just the injector only lah, ha ha...... :cheeky:

Dun put the love love sign leh......ha ha ha!!!!

Originally posted by ewanktm@Jun 1 2005, 11:09 PM

no lah. my wavei is also a spare bike for me. my ktm is weekend offroad use only. neways, sianz ah with the wavei powercut. but please let me know ya if u solved it....

Problem SOLVED!!!!! :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

By Ah Lih @ Wing Yap AMK. Fuel injector change.....it's the electronic thingy fused with the Fuel injector that's bad.....but the electronic component comes as a whole assy with the Injector......

:btw: Ah Lih's is friendly towards me, and he really did tried lots of options. I mean, he has never done this before and my Wave i was the 1st for him to try. 2 weeks to finally solve and rectify..... Oh, did I mentioned that he ONLY ordered the Fuel Injector after getting my consent as it cost $300plus??? This is what I like, instead of installing it then charging me until I :faint: . To me I find Ah Lih very steady, and honest. Will deal with him in future, definately!!! :clap:

$400 inclusive of labour. Yup, it's a bit ex, but it's perfectly solved, and he test ride the bike before handing it back to you. And my bike was washed too...... :D I rather pay abit more to solve it there and then, rather to bring it all over Sg and in the end, cannot fix and spend more $$$.

Now can go top speed at my will, not the bike's will........110kph, that's cool. :thumb: Can overtake vans and lorries liao, ha ha......

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@Jun 22 2005, 06:38 AM

Problem SOLVED!!!!! :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

By Ah Lih @ Wing Yap AMK. Fuel injector change.....it's the electronic thingy fused with the Fuel injector that's bad.....but the electronic component comes as a whole assy with the Injector......

:btw: Ah Lih's is friendly towards me, and he really did tried lots of options. I mean, he has never done this before and my Wave i was the 1st for him to try. 2 weeks to finally solve and rectify..... Oh, did I mentioned that he ONLY ordered the Fuel Injector after getting my consent as it cost $300plus??? This is what I like, instead of installing it then charging me until I :faint: . To me I find Ah Lih very steady, and honest. Will deal with him in future, definately!!! :clap:

$400 inclusive of labour. Yup, it's a bit ex, but it's perfectly solved, and he test ride the bike before handing it back to you. And my bike was washed too...... :D I rather pay abit more to solve it there and then, rather to bring it all over Sg and in the end, cannot fix and spend more $$$.

Now can go top speed at my will, not the bike's will........110kph, that's cool. :thumb: Can overtake vans and lorries liao, ha ha......

yo! bro, thanks for the info...neways, its ah lih from wing yap ang mo kio..rite? so its just the fuel injector change. thanks .... a lot..but the 400 thing......wow!

Originally posted by ewanktm@Jun 22 2005, 10:48 AM

yo! bro, thanks for the info...neways, its ah lih from wing yap ang mo kio..rite? so its just the fuel injector change. thanks .... a lot..but the 400 thing......wow!

Yup....it's Ah Lih the cheif mechanic of Wing Yap @ AMK. He's a bit plump, with curly hair. You can't miss him unless he's not working of course.......

Go solve your prob too man, and enjoy the full power of a Wave, ha ha ha......

Congrats for haveing your efi thing problem solved. :cheer: :cheer:

Ha ha ha......like that also kana congrates!!! :cheers: Thanks anyways.....I'm happy still. So...did my Wave i make history by being the 1st problematic EFI Wave to be solved??? :lol:

:thumb: Shiok ah!!!!

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@Jun 1 2005, 02:24 AM

Maybe a CDI from the 2nd batch Wave would solve this problem???

Or the CDI from Innova I????

hi nologic one!

Can you explain to me what is "power cut" becoz i''m experiencing some probs.

i'm a newbie here. just got my ''05 thailand made wave S one month ago. although it's a wave S model, the exhaust is from innova type and the bike has the same kind of key system as wave i. i''m duno if it's fuel injection in the first place. dunno how to check.:sweat:

The bike problem i experience is that whenever i hit constant 80-90km/h for some time on expressway, my bike will always engine cut off on idle speed on the first exit from expressway (eg. at first traffic light from exit). Be it on neutral or first gear. is this wat u mean? I have run-in and at around 1.4k already with proper oil change as recommended by wavers here....

hope maybe someone can help out? thanks!

Originally posted by multiexposure@Jul 9 2005, 11:43 AM

hi nologic one!

Can you explain to me what is "power cut" becoz i''m experiencing some probs.

i'm a newbie here. just got my ''05 thailand made wave S one month ago. although it's a wave S model, the exhaust is from innova type and the bike has the same kind of key system as wave i. i''m duno if it's fuel injection in the first place. dunno how to check.:sweat:

The bike problem i experience is that whenever i hit constant 80-90km/h for some time on expressway, my bike will always engine cut off on idle speed on the first exit from expressway (eg. at first traffic light from exit). Be it on neutral or first gear. is this wat u mean? I have run-in and at around 1.4k already with proper oil change as recommended by wavers here....

hope maybe someone can help out? thanks!

hi! as far as i know, the wave S are running on carburetor. dunno bout the Wave S 05 thailand made like what you describe. neways, if you wanna knoe whether your bike is Fuel injected or not, the should be the PGM-FI written on the frame and the FI blinker/signal on the speedo when the ignition is switch on for fuel injected waves.

as for the problem, you can know by revving full throttle on neutral gear. if engine feels like dying or no power when you full open throttle, means there's the power cut thing we are talking about....

neways...cheers and good luck..

Originally posted by ewanktm@Jul 9 2005, 12:59 PM

frame and the FI blinker/signal on the speedo when the ignition is switch on for fuel injected waves.

as for the problem, you can know by revving full throttle on neutral gear. if engine feels like dying or no power when you full open throttle, means there's the power cut thing we are talking about....

neways...cheers and good luck..

hi ewanktm!

hmmm ... like that i think my wave is not fuel injected coz no blinker and no f1 on frame! just needle jump for pattern oni :sweat:

however from your describtion, my bike did have that same prob. After running "hot" from expressway at high speed, when i suddenly need to stop at traffic light, the bike will die at idle speed. will check out the solutions and hope the prob will go away soon. aniwae, thanks! :smile:

Maybe yours is tuning only......if you see from your right hand side "fairing" (right at the bottom where ppl put their basket) there's a hole for you to put a screw driver in to turn a screw, then yours is a carburator Wave. EFI Wave have some "stylo unless" plastic air vents to cover that hole and we cannot access the idling screw easily.....

I still dunno where to adjust the idling on my EFI Wave....... :sian: Gee......