Wave is still a popular bike despite being quite old on the market already. Look at the wtb section, ALOT of people are looking for waves.

waves are slower yes, but importantly, wallet fatter. whats the point of riding big bike, when every week must go bolehland pump petrol, want to makan outside so must think two or three times.. ride a wave and anytime you want to watch a movie, or makan buffer, maybe treat ur friends to teh or kopi, u easily can.. ahahahaha

Slower is safer n I like tat. :cheeky:

How time flies...

Big is certainly a warning but small can be downright scary! Never underestimate the effectiveness of small.

• Replies 7.8k

i got 42km/L yesterday when i pumped... lolz... now reaching 500km liao... next few days going to change oil when im free...

anyway im using denso iridium plug... anyone got comments?

i also feel that should give the bike good e.o and good spark plugs.. altough not much diff in FC for our wave.. But most importantly... how much more do u wanna save? already on the most savvy bike! that is wave! lolz...

when the engine break down... it is not the money that hurts me most! it is the hassle to find tow or stuck in the middle of road side.. and lastly waiting for it to be done in the workshop! days without your transport its headache!!!

so just spend a little bit more on the e.o and spark plug... since u only need to change them once in a while..

for iridium spark plugs i can confirm that u only need to change them after at least 7000-8000km... actually can last till 15000km or even longer but just to be safe than sorry... how much more only??? lolz

for e.o u only need to change about once in 6months? or 3000km? whichever u like la... so how much more is that?

lol just my views dun flame me! :)

i love wave!!!!~~~~~~~~

Better is not = lotsa saving. I feed my bike with better "food" like better oil, better fuel n better plugs. I think all these things not significant but wat they really do is to better protect my bike. Btw, u din mention your usage. Factors affecting is vast. To each of his own.:cool:

Now u are going off topic.

I'm not asking how to better protect ur bike.

I'm asking u, how do u justify that a fully syn engine oil give u better fuel consumption than a bike using mineral oil ?

Provided using the same drain time, how much savings do u actually get ?

Ok....now let's talk about what u said above.

What makes u think u can better protect ur bike by using better fuel, better oil and better plugs ?

I would like to hear ur views.

Oh and dun tell me to each his own.

We are all here to share. If there is a product which can actually reduce FC and also save costs at the same time, i would love to purchase it.

Dun just bluntly tell all here that using fully syn oils will actually reduce FC.

Over to u. :thumb:

when the engine break down... it is not the money that hurts me most! it is the hassle to find tow or stuck in the middle of road side.. and lastly waiting for it to be done in the workshop! days without your transport its headache!!!

If u dont want hassle, just follow your Wave owners manual and follow the periodic maintenance faithfully.

Honda engineers know what they are doing when they designed the engine.

Follow their guidelines and u will never go wrong.

U can use the best oils and best plugs money can buy.

But that doesn't mean it's the best for the bike.

Every product out there is manufactured for a certain usage range.

For example the tires with the most grip will be racing slicks.

Why not use that for daily road use ?

It's the best that money can buy and the stickiest u can get.

U can't cuz it must be heated to the optimum temp before u can make full use of it.

This does not mean i dun love my bike.

Why do i change oil/plug every month ?

Cuz i want the bike to experience fresh oil/plug every month regardless of the mileage.

If possible i would want to change it every week.

I change my tires every 6 months so that my tires are always fresh.

Did u know rubber gets hard and crack after some time ?

I change my brake pads with every tire change too.

And also the bearings in the wheels.

Think about it......:thumb:

hey easy bro! i dun think anyone here or myself actually said u dun love ur bike... im just saying i love my bike cuz i do and not trying to say anyone else doesnt...

hmmm i have read ur views... im no big guru but also sharing my comments cuz im always monitoring FC on any veh i have since day 1 when i start owning a veh. lol

okies.. for the E.O issue... fully syn oil does actually protect the bike better... with the oil being more thin but more lubricating properties - in turn it is lighter load for ur engine.. have u tried the difference of using a 15w-50 e.o and a 5w-30 e.o? with the heavier the e.o the more sluggish the engine..

FC gains on this are not really significant on wave.. but on other bikes and esp for cars... it is quite a significant diff.. just like my getz 1.6M last time.. when use 5w-30 the power u have is diff from using 10w-50 and the fc really increases with the 5w-30 engine oil about average of 2km/L... ya not much lol... but it saves

as for the honda manual.. do u have one? can let me see? lolz im trying to find one...

anyway full syn oil if compared to a mineral oil confirm protects any engine better... thats all in the properties of the oil itself. because they have higher lubricating properties which in turn lubs the gears and the piston well in the engine to handle stress on daily road usage..

if u can do a test with your bike running on mineral oil and with a bike running on any fully syn oil... go to a long bumpy road... where u ride and feel super lot of bumps and vibrations... keep on riding on that and see which bike breaks down 1st haha...

haha this sound a bit crappy... but yeah if ur bike constantly having alot of bumps and vibrations from the road... the gears and pistons which are moving inside the engine needs good lubrication in order to handle that "stress" ... therefore u shall see the difference in that way...

but what our other bro has said isnt wrong oso wad... each to its own... wad's wrong with that? dun get so worked up la...

ppl have diff views... just like there's a thing called "butt dyno"...

some ppl changed something modded something on their car/bike then use their butt to feel the change in power or improvements... sumtimes there isnt any improvments but the rider/driver just feels it...

just like a heated broquet fuel charger from uk... vtec88 is selling on this forum...

i am his loyal customer lolz... used broquet for all my veh... and everytime test the FC on every single pump... so to me it works.. cuz based on my calculations... i have increase of about 4-5km/L on my getz 1.6... and 3-4km/L increase on my aprilia rs125 on both 2005 version and 2007 version rs125...

though now on my wave i didnt use the product... cuz i dun think wave need it as the fuel tank is too small... if put in the broquet... lolz might not be worth it at all haha..

ok tok too much... i dono if i got answer ur questions la... but gd day bro! just relax k dun create quarrels here... peace!

Now u are going off topic.

I'm not asking how to better protect ur bike.

I'm asking u, how do u justify that a fully syn engine oil give u better fuel consumption than a bike using mineral oil ?

Provided using the same drain time, how much savings do u actually get ?

Ok....now let's talk about what u said above.

What makes u think u can better protect ur bike by using better fuel, better oil and better plugs ?

I would like to hear ur views.

Oh and dun tell me to each his own.

We are all here to share. If there is a product which can actually reduce FC and also save costs at the same time, i would love to purchase it.

Dun just bluntly tell all here that using fully syn oils will actually reduce FC.

Over to u. :thumb:

So are you talking about money savings here or are you talking about better FC here? Read between my lines, I say better FC, I din say better savings in dollars?! You are the one asking about dollar sense here, I am just telling you my point, exactly wat sorrie4u mentioned, better oil gives better protection and adding on to this, i mentioned better FC. The true fact is that syn oils do reduce FC, agree? If syn oil doesn't reduce FC, wat else does it do?

I have said these points/views (better products) over and over again thru'out the years, if u don't believe in syn oils, ok lor... u cont use mineral oils, i cont to use syn oils. I don't need justifications as to wat i use. That's why to each of his own. And oh........ and what's your point?

How time flies...

Big is certainly a warning but small can be downright scary! Never underestimate the effectiveness of small.

i got 42km/L yesterday when i pumped... lolz... now reaching 500km liao... next few days going to change oil when im free...

anyway im using denso iridium plug... anyone got comments?

i also feel that should give the bike good e.o and good spark plugs.. altough not much diff in FC for our wave.. But most importantly... how much more do u wanna save? already on the most savvy bike! that is wave! lolz...

so just spend a little bit more on the e.o and spark plug... since u only need to change them once in a while..

for iridium spark plugs i can confirm that u only need to change them after at least 7000-8000km... actually can last till 15000km or even longer but just to be safe than sorry... how much more only??? lolz

for e.o u only need to change about once in 6months? or 3000km? whichever u like la... so how much more is that?

lol just my views dun flame me! :)

i love wave!!!!~~~~~~~~

My mech says 10000km for iridium plugs. :cool:

How time flies...

as for the honda manual.. do u have one? can let me see? lolz im trying to find one...

I'm sure u can find it at ur local Honda dealership.

if u can do a test with your bike running on mineral oil and with a bike running on any fully syn oil... go to a long bumpy road... where u ride and feel super lot of bumps and vibrations... keep on riding on that and see which bike breaks down 1st haha...

The bike that is not maintained properly will break down first regardless of the grade of it's engine oil.

haha this sound a bit crappy... but yeah if ur bike constantly having alot of bumps and vibrations from the road... the gears and pistons which are moving inside the engine needs good lubrication in order to handle that "stress" ... therefore u shall see the difference in that way...

U need better suspensions. Not better oil.

ppl have diff views... just like there's a thing called "butt dyno"...

some ppl changed something modded something on their car/bike then use their butt to feel the change in power or improvements... sumtimes there isnt any improvments but the rider/driver just feels it...

U are so right about that. There isn't any factual evidence that there is an improvement.

ok tok too much... i dono if i got answer ur questions la... but gd day bro! just relax k dun create quarrels here... peace!

I'm cool bro. Not here to stir ****.

Just sharing facts. This is a forum right ? :thumb:

Ok lah.....let's stop this here.

If u guys really swear by

1)having 4000-5000km periodic oil changes with fully syn oils is better than having 1000km mineral oil changes

2)fully syn oils protect ur engine better in daily road usage

3)ur butt is cybernetic

4)snake oils

so be it.

Thanks for the friendly conversation.

Cheers ! :thumb:

my bike tells 15,000km.... hahahaha!!! i think i changed like ONCE only... anyway i really wonder does syn oil make significant difff compared to mineral oil.. i dun noe...

anyway does iridium plugs really gives u guys more power??? actually i feel alot of pple do too much for hteir bikes.. either that or they are rich...

i'm curious, guapo u change ur tires every 6 mths? what brand u use???? u use ur wave to tour?

Life is not the amount of breath u take, but the moments that take ur breath away.

It is not how hard you fall, its how fast you get up.

nsr150 : december 2004 - 16th March 07

S4 Vtec1 : March 2007 - March 2008

cbr1000rr '04 : March 2008 - June 2011

wave125 '03 : July 2009 - ????

If u dont want hassle, just follow your Wave owners manual and follow the periodic maintenance faithfully.

Honda engineers know what they are doing when they designed the engine.

Follow their guidelines and u will never go wrong.

U can use the best oils and best plugs money can buy.

But that doesn't mean it's the best for the bike.

Every product out there is manufactured for a certain usage range.

For example the tires with the most grip will be racing slicks.

Why not use that for daily road use ?

It's the best that money can buy and the stickiest u can get.

U can't cuz it must be heated to the optimum temp before u can make full use of it.

This does not mean i dun love my bike.

Why do i change oil/plug every month ?

Cuz i want the bike to experience fresh oil/plug every month regardless of the mileage.

If possible i would want to change it every week.

I change my tires every 6 months so that my tires are always fresh.

Did u know rubber gets hard and crack after some time ?

I change my brake pads with every tire change too.

And also the bearings in the wheels.

Think about it......:thumb:

Not everyone has got a manual here.

Following the guidelines won't go wrong, sure thing about that. But what is not right that if we spend a little more to give better things to our bike?

Products not always best for the bike? If the products are higher specs than recommended, to me is, then be it.

Racing slicks are bad for wet weather, who uses that for a daily-use wave?

Well, I guess it's your own way of loving your bike that you even change bearing and brake pad with every tyre change. I really wonder how much you travel to change tyres every 6 months? Are you saying if low mileage rider like me, also need to change tyres every 6 months to keep tyres fresh? Logically not sound leh~

Now, think about that.... :cheers:

How time flies...

aiyah, some pple say R1 fastest, some pple say cbr fastest... everyoen thoughts are different... depending on different usage pple use diff things...

anyway, although i'm for syn oil due to lesser wear and tear... i also use mineral oil in the end coz its cheap and i ride like a chicken... so... lets respect each other decisions and leave the sacarsm in the toilet bowl la ah....

Life is not the amount of breath u take, but the moments that take ur breath away.

my bike tells 15,000km.... hahahaha!!! i think i changed like ONCE only... anyway i really wonder does syn oil make significant difff compared to mineral oil.. i dun noe...

anyway does iridium plugs really gives u guys more power??? actually i feel alot of pple do too much for hteir bikes.. either that or they are rich...

i'm curious, guapo u change ur tires every 6 mths? what brand u use???? u use ur wave to tour?

For me, when I had 2 bikes, My S4 got the better treatment, fully syn Motul oil, iridium plugs, K&N Filter, Pirelli tyres, etc... My Steed gets hydro-crack oil, copper plugs, orig air filter, never change the tyres though they are like 4 years old. Back to Needs and Wants theory again lah~

How time flies...

aiyah, some pple say R1 fastest, some pple say cbr fastest... everyoen thoughts are different... depending on different usage pple use diff things...

anyway, although i'm for syn oil due to lesser wear and tear... i also use mineral oil in the end coz its cheap and i ride like a chicken... so... lets respect each other decisions and leave the sacarsm in the toilet bowl la ah....

Hahahahhaaaaa.... I like that. Ya, leave it in the toilet bowl. :lol:

:btw: GSXR1000 is fastest. :cheeky:

How time flies...

For me, when I had 2 bikes, My S4 got the better treatment, fully syn Motul oil, iridium plugs, K&N Filter, Pirelli tyres, etc... My Steed gets hydro-crack oil, copper plugs, orig air filter, never change the tyres though they are like 4 years old. Back to Needs and Wants theory again lah~

sounds familiar somehow.... but i aint that crazy to use e tires for 4yrs!! hahahah!! but i second that!!! maybe my bt39 wear out faster than ur steed tires i guess....

dis 1 HONDA wave tread... so just say HONDA cbr fastest la....

btw... what cheapo helmets are u guys using??? any recommendations?

lol... yeah cool it guys... no need fight over these... wave riders are frendly right? haha!

anyway the diff in mineral oil and syn oil is in the way they produce the oil and the additives added inside... the difference is the "smoothness" or "oiliness" of the e.o... u can feel it with your hands too! and also u can try pour some in and out of a container and see how it flows... i dono how to describe properly here but u'll see it if u do the experiment..

and about manual... last time when im all into my aprilia rs125... i read and read the manual over 10times... but i can tell u... bike manuals are not actually 100% correct... because they dont factor in enough for the rough road usage and extra road stress the bike need to handle... therefore to be safe than sorry change the spark plug and e.o earlier than mentioned in the manual.

for iridium sparkplugs they claim that can change even 30000km lo... its up to u actually.. 10000km is not a problem defitnitly... but provided u take out the plug and clean it periodically to maintain the condition and clear awy the carbon deposits...

so for how long it can be used.. it varies with each own use... see how much u do to take care of ur bike... if u the lazy kind like me... just use iridium and change every 5000km or 6000km thats good enough... its already like almost 4-6months 1 $20bucks spark plug... not much really..

i bought helmet from helmetboys.sg from sgbike forum here oso... really is cheap quality haha... $65bucks for the helmet TRAX with sun visor one... quite cool la but abit low quality inner padding and outer shell! lolz which is the whole helmet i guess lolz!!!

sounds familiar somehow.... but i aint that crazy to use e tires for 4yrs!! hahahah!! but i second that!!! maybe my bt39 wear out faster than ur steed tires i guess....

No lah~ i only had my Steed for about 8 mths, tyres were changed by last owner. I feel the grip and condition still good, so I never change them.

Okok, CBR fastest here! :lol:

How time flies...

lol... yeah cool it guys... no need fight over these... wave riders are frendly right? haha!

anyway the diff in mineral oil and syn oil is in the way they produce the oil and the additives added inside... the difference is the "smoothness" or "oiliness" of the e.o... u can feel it with your hands too! and also u can try pour some in and out of a container and see how it flows... i dono how to describe properly here but u'll see it if u do the experiment..

and about manual... last time when im all into my aprilia rs125... i read and read the manual over 10times... but i can tell u... bike manuals are not actually 100% correct... because they dont factor in enough for the rough road usage and extra road stress the bike need to handle... therefore to be safe than sorry change the spark plug and e.o earlier than mentioned in the manual.

for iridium sparkplugs they claim that can change even 30000km lo... its up to u actually.. 10000km is not a problem defitnitly... but provided u take out the plug and clean it periodically to maintain the condition and clear awy the carbon deposits...

so for how long it can be used.. it varies with each own use... see how much u do to take care of ur bike... if u the lazy kind like me... just use iridium and change every 5000km or 6000km thats good enough... its already like almost 4-6months 1 $20bucks spark plug... not much really..

No, nobody's fighting. Long enough and mature enough in the forums to be neutral. :angel:

I just ask my mech to re-gap the iridium plug at 3000km. So I guess, for me, will change it at 6000km. The 30000km claim is BS lah~

Edited by MUSHA

How time flies...

Honestly, I feel that wave is a bike designed to be abused and take a beating. Have you seen how people less in developed countries like Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam ..etc treat their waves? In some places, a Wave is like a family car - mom, dad and two kids riding on a 110cc cub.

I think when Honda Thailand designed this bike, they have low cost of usage in priority first. So they made sure the bike can thrive in sub-standard stuff, low grade EO, overused sparkplug, chain that can last for years (if u use the stock chainguard)... afterall, wave is the decesdant of the Honda C50/70 aka the original Honda Cub. Some people have ran this bike on nothing but from used cooking oil.

There is nothing wrong in using iridium's, shell v-power, motul 300v, OWS engine protector etc.. but it can also sits well with honda ngk plug, SPC 92 and $6.00 semi sync castrol Power1 EO. For me, I chose the latter because wave is my spare bike and I honestly feel it doesn't need much pampering. The rest are free to use top grade stuff, it's their money afterall so their pasal :cheeky:

Oh yes, I went to Ah fook Motor in AMK industrial park 2 as I was in the area. Asked him to take out my carb, clean the insides, clean the airfilter, change fuel filter, open drumbrake and air the inside, change pillion footrest, change some faulty wiring, tune carb and change relay for horn etc.

I drew out $100 from my account, guessing its gonna cost around $80. Was surprised to know that everything cost less then $50. Upz for Honda Wave ok!

lol i just changed my speedo to a brand new one at hua chin oso... same stuck at 999999 lol... cost me 110bucks... quite cheap alrdy include installation...

if u wan 2nd hand i have mine but it is stuck at 9999 too haha! can sell u at 10bucks lolz

Mine is already stuck at 9999, you want want to sell me ur meter which is also stuck at 9999? Funny lah you.. ever heard of selling snow to an eskimo? :cheeky:

I'm using HJC scambler full face $119 for short trips or pillioning.

OGK FF5 $250 for solo trip and long trip.

OGK FF5 cant pillion.. i scare pillion smash the spoiler...

'08 Leo-Vince Wave S

The day i quit riding,

Is when those whom I love,

Cry every time I get on my motorcycle.

wah FF on a wave! upz la u!

hehe sorry la the meter thingy i just joking la... LOL

hmmm bro arsonist wanna enlarge fuel tank on wave ah? at the kranji there? 200bucks leh... i feel like not worth it lei... cuz after u enlarge... the FC sure decrease cuz of the weight... but really much less trouble la to go pump every time.. lolz... i very tempted!!!! BUT need to leave bike there for 2days!!! which i cant! so too bad... sighz...

pls let me know if u did it and share with us the result :)

wah FF on a wave! upz la u!

I will never make fun of any1 wearing a FF helmet. Even on a cub. There's nothing funny about safety.. but those people wearing half caps or some no brand helmets... damn nothing to say

hehe sorry la the meter thingy i just joking la... LOL

haha relax2, i wuz also joking

hmmm bro arsonist wanna enlarge fuel tank on wave ah? at the kranji there? 200bucks leh... i feel like not worth it lei... cuz after u enlarge... the FC sure decrease cuz of the weight... but really much less trouble la to go pump every time.. lolz... i very tempted!!!! BUT need to leave bike there for 2days!!! which i cant! so too bad... sighz...

Ok, there was a point of time where I pillioned a friend from changi to khatib every day until full tank gone. Realized FC only dropped 3-4km/L? And my friend is quite heavy at 80kg+. So compare that with 6L of extra petrol, don't think will affect FC much. Plus, average wave is 45km/L. One bro here is getting 66km/L. x10L is 660km full tank.. or in the average fc case, 450km/tank. Worry about FC for what?

Only thing is.. I really, really like wave's ubox. It basically the only con of expanding the tank la. Anyway this tank mod is good for despatch or delivery.. no need to waste money buy ybr/en/cbf haha

btw.. i am gonna take the plunge soon.. maybe visiting the guy tml or fri. Coz i am starting work soon and pumping every 2 days is not fun.