• Replies 1.3k

here comes another qn hor...

the bike under my fren name..

can i go insurance company. myself.. or do i hv to bring him along ... i transfer-ing the bike to myself .. do i hv to transfer name 1st.. or.. can jus go ahead buy the insurance 1st...

thx...

This is a computer generated msg, no signature is required :cheeky:

bro frm wat i noe... u hv to transfer the vehicle to ur name 1st... den u cn buy insurance under ur name as owner... cheers

http://i138.photobucket.com/albums/q255/punkchenko/1_540916461l1.jpg

yun leong ngo cheh yat sam pat kei fung chung ngoi chi yau

yau wui pat yau yat tin wui tit tow

Originally posted by PUNK@Nov 9 2006, 09:05 PM

bro frm wat i noe... u hv to transfer the vehicle to ur name 1st... den u cn buy insurance under ur name as owner... cheers

:slapforehead: how long have u been riding ???

without a valid insurance , no transfer allowed at LTA !

so must go buy insurance ( valid ) first b4 LTA side allow u to do transfer !

ALAMAk KKKKK !

Originally posted by Razgriz@Nov 9 2006, 08:46 PM

here comes another qn hor...

the bike under my fren name..

can i go insurance company. myself.. or do i hv to bring him along ... i transfer-ing the bike to myself .. do i hv to transfer name 1st.. or.. can jus go ahead buy the insurance 1st...

thx...

U can go urself to do the insurance first. The previous owner does not need to be present when u do the incurance. u just need the logcard(photocopy/prinited also can) and IC. :goodluck:

Apr '99 - Jun '00 --- TZR125

Jun '00 - May '01 --- Chauffeured by SBS & TIBS drivers

May '01 - May '02 --- Skipper125

May'02 - Nov '03 --- Steed400(VLX in VSE clothing)

Nov '03 - May '05 --- Wave125

Nov '06 - .......... --- Rebel125

Hi guys, I would like to know that, if I buy a bike now. After riding for 4-5 mths, I decided to sell the bike or trade in, how does the insurance goes about?

Since I pay the insurance for 1 year, I ride for 5mth, will they rtn the remaining 7mth of amt to me? And how does the trade in goes about? I top up the rest for the new bike?

Another qtn will be, if my dad is 43, I put him as Main rider and Im sub, age 26. Will the insurance be cheaper? I know that currently the insurance follow the youngest age. But I do not understand how my frenz manage to pay less then 1K for 25 yr old and riding R1 (sub rider)

The insurance company will refund the pro-rated. IF You have trade in, transfer the existing policy to your new bike and you may just need to top up the shortfall.

The insurance premium will be based on the youngest rider. As for your frenz, It will depend on several issues. Maybe it is the type of cover, the amt od NCD discount and other factors, so cannot comment much on it.

Shadow rider. Class 2A

The insurance company will refund the pro-rated. IF You have trade in, transfer the existing policy to your new bike and you may just need to top up the shortfall.

The insurance premium will be based on the youngest rider. As for your frenz, It will depend on several issues. Maybe it is the type of cover, the amt od NCD discount and other factors, so cannot comment much on it.

Shadow rider. Class 2A

Originally posted by josho@Nov 13 2006, 05:06 PM

Thanks wayne! Im wondering if I get the new bike, shall I add in my dad name as main rider. Wondering whats the diff if im the main rider. hmm...

dun tink there will be any difference

except that all the NCD (if any) will be accumulated under yr dad's (main rider) name instead of yrs

Guys, just to enquire if this is true. I heard that if you buy a brand new bike, insurance MUST be 1st party. Is this the same if you buy a brand new car??? Tks in advance for the info... :smile:

De@th is Cert@in, Life is Not. Live life, ride s@fely.

2003 - Aprilia Extrema (FN649J) scrapped

2005 - TZM 150 (FP398Y) sold Dec '06

2005 - SP 150 (FT3783B) sold Oct '06

2006 - Wave S 125 (FU9094M) sold Jan '07

2006 - Aprilia RS250 (FP1807C) sold Nov '07

2006 - Hyper Vtec (FR6993D) sold Dec '07

2008 - CBR 150

2011 - GSXR K9 1000

Originally posted by pencapchew@Nov 13 2006, 09:10 PM

Guys, just to enquire if this is true. I heard that if you buy a brand new bike, insurance MUST be 1st party. Is this the same if you buy a brand new car??? Tks in advance for the info... :smile:

Nope, not necessary. That is if you pay full cash.

If your bike is under hire purchase, then it is usually a must for you to get 3rd party with fire & theft coverage.

Originally posted by jeremyteo@Nov 13 2006, 10:24 PM

hi, i'm now 21...wat will my insurance be if i were to buy a r6 03 model or lesser ?

which one is the cheapest insurance company...

:goodluck: your age will cost u a lot

Originally posted by josho@Nov 13 2006, 05:06 PM

Thanks wayne! Im wondering if I get the new bike, shall I add in my dad name as main rider. Wondering whats the diff if im the main rider. hmm...

No pt to put ur dad as main rider.

cos now insurance is counted based on the least exp n age rider.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v397/zelot/fighterplanenEarthsig.jpg

Guys sorrie to invade into this topic....i wanna ask whether insurance name can transfer to another person name? example i buying a bike frm somone than can i ask him to change his insurance to my name???

♡When gURLS stops being *****, I will stop being a *******!! Seriously that is impossible:angry:

ok,this'll b my first post.a noob i must say. so juz few questions bout insurance..

u HAVE to posess an insurance THAN u can ride?( cus thought of striaght away borrow daddys bike wen i pass this cuMin thurs.)

i msged this guy thts sellin his aprilia on e net and he said tht insurance for aprilia is $800?? y is it so ex cus normally i thought most to most it'll b $400 max??

LAST question...=) wen u wanna buy a bike..private...do u transfer name first at LTA or mus hav insurance first...??

thanks beforehand to any soul thts willin to advice man...for e first post im postin!!=)

may ***** grant you e serenity to accept the things that you cannot change, e courage to change the things you can, and the wisdom to know the difference....:cool:

Honda NSR SP

Honda Jazz

Yamaha 125Z

Kawasaki KR

Aprilia RS 125

Chevrolet Aveo

Vespa GT 200

Yamaha Jupiter MX

u HAVE to posess an insurance THAN u can ride?

yes/no. you have to have an insurance that contains ur name to a bike, then u can ride that bike.

i msged this guy thts sellin his aprilia on e net and he said tht insurance for aprilia is $800?? y is it so ex cus normally i thought most to most it'll b $400 max??

depends on which party of insurance and your age. his is 800, urs is most prob more.

LAST question...=) wen u wanna buy a bike..private...do u transfer name first at LTA or mus hav insurance first...??

You got to have ur insurance tied to the no. plate of the bike u are getting first b4 u can go to LTA to do the transferring of ownership.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v397/zelot/fighterplanenEarthsig.jpg
Originally posted by voodoopinko@Nov 15 2006, 09:20 PM

Guys sorrie to invade into this topic....i wanna ask whether insurance name can transfer to another person name? example i buying a bike frm somone than can i ask him to change his insurance to my name???

usually, the procedure will be for the seller to cancel the insurance for the bike under his name

then u go buy yr own insurance for the bike separately

Originally posted by -dUde@Nov 15 2006, 10:57 PM

ok,this'll b my first post.a noob i must say. so juz few questions bout insurance..

u HAVE to posess an insurance THAN u can ride?( cus thought of striaght away borrow daddys bike wen i pass this cuMin thurs.)

thanks beforehand to any soul thts willin to advice man...for e first post im postin!!=)

pls refer to this thread for more info abt ownership transfers

im wondering those X1 raiders their insur how much?

I'm sick of being treated like a crash helmet I soften the fall but on the way down I always get hurt

guys : another question.

i do not wish to travel to the insurance company to save time / petrol

i heard shld be can mail them a cheque then the mail u the insurance certificate.

which means u have to phone them to get the accurate premium.

then u send them a cheque and wait for the certificate to mail to ur house.

Any comments by guys who has done this?

save time save trouble to travel.

but will the cheque get lost or the insurance certificate not mail to your house?

cos they say want to send me by registered mail then must have someone at home to sign and receive.

i am a bit afraid wat if no one is at home then the mail go to where?????

Originally posted by YEN96@Nov 27 2006, 07:02 PM

guys : another question.

i do not wish to travel to the insurance company to save time / petrol

i heard shld be can mail them a cheque then the mail u the insurance certificate.

which means u have to phone them to get the accurate premium.

then u send them a cheque and wait for the certificate to mail to ur house.

Any comments by guys who has done this?

save time save trouble to travel.

but will the cheque get lost or the insurance certificate not mail to your house?

cos they say want to send me by registered mail then must have someone at home to sign and receive.

i am a bit afraid wat if no one is at home then the mail go to where?????

no, it should be the other way.

you call ins company, ask them to send you the quotation, you send them the cheque when you receive the quotation.

pay to the ins company, if lost the cheque, others also can't cash it...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

Originally posted by Sev@Nov 27 2006, 11:17 PM

no, it should be the other way.

you call ins company, ask them to send you the quotation, you send them the cheque when you receive the quotation.

pay to the ins company, if lost the cheque, others also can't cash it...

swee

registered mail is :thumb: