Oil thins when heated and thickens when cooled. Choosing the proper viscosity grade for the ambient temperature of your geographic location is therefore vitally important.

A monograde is an oil whose viscosity is defined at only one temperature, either high or low. A multigrade must meet both high and low temperature viscosity requirements simultaneously.

This makes multigrades an easy and popular year-round choice for drivers who experience hot summers and harsh winters. Multigrades are easily recognized by the dual viscosity designation (i.e. 10W-30 where the 10W is the low temperature or winter designation and the 30 is the high temperature designation). It is the viscosity modifier additive that produces a thickening effect at high temperatures but is dormant at low temperatures.

Which viscosity grade is right for you?

SAE Viscosity Grade: 5W-30

Temperature Conditions: Below 0° F

Descriptions: Provides excellent fuel economy and low temperature performance in most late-model automobiles. Especially recommended for new cars.

SAE Viscosity Grade: 10W-30

Temperature Conditions: Above 0° F

Descriptions: Most frequently recommended viscosity grade for most automobile engines, including high-performance multivalve engines and turbo-charged engines.

SAE Viscosity Grade: 10W-40

Descriptions: The first multigrade introduced. A good choice for controlling engine wear and preventing oil breakdown from oxidation. Note: Always check your owner's manual or warranty requirements before using this grade.

SAE Viscosity Grade: 20W-50

SAE Viscosity Grade: 20W-50 Temperature Conditions: Above 20° F

Descriptions: Provides maximum protection for high-performance, high-RPM racing engines. Excellent choice for high temperature and heavy loads such as driving in the desert or towing a trailer at high speeds for long periods of time.

SAE Viscosity Grade: SAE 30 & SAE 40

Temperature Conditions: Above 40° F & Above 60° F

Descriptions: For cars and light trucks, where recommended by manufacturers. Not recommended when cold-temperature starting is required.

Note: It is important to consult your vehicle handbook to establish the correct grade for your car and environment.

taken from engine oil explained

hope this helps..

When you have walked my path of pain and suffering

you will understand my need for revenge and to inflict pain on those who have betrayed me

As a scorpion bides its time to strike so shall I wait for that moment to obtain my vengeance

And my mocking laughter shall be the last thing they hear. In The End, We Remember Not The Words Of Our Enemies, But The Silence Of Friendships

• Replies 9.8k

Originally posted by songweiqi@Aug 28 2006, 11:39 AM

thanks ppl...hey yoz_bikey...where u stay? I live at Bukit Batok West Ave 5....u?

Wah, my old house at west ave 4, blk 421. hehehe

You house there the multi story carpark damn big right?

Originally posted by BaMBiNo@Aug 28 2006, 12:55 PM

GUYS!!!! i am left with only 3 cdis!!!! hurry while stocks last!!! the first step to limitless power!!! cfm got pickup diff !!

at under 100bux... its definately a good buy!!!! illusions just installed it the his bike was vibrating to one side!!! its tt power!!

Eh friend... don saboh leh..... :help: :help:

Originally posted by CarroTT@Aug 29 2006, 02:35 AM

its such an irony,

malaysian bikers always bitching around about how dirt cheap it is to buy a bike and accesories in singapore .

and here in singapore forum i see its the way around .

haaiihhhh.........:sian:

:smile: The grass is always greener on the other side of the causeway.. :smile:

http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/5600/kuantan049596tc9.jpg
Originally posted by _wacko_@Aug 29 2006, 08:52 AM

Oil thins when heated and thickens when cooled. Choosing the proper viscosity grade for the ambient temperature of your geographic location is therefore vitally important.

A monograde is an oil whose viscosity is defined at only one temperature, either high or low. A multigrade must meet both high and low temperature viscosity requirements simultaneously.

This makes multigrades an easy and popular year-round choice for drivers who experience hot summers and harsh winters. Multigrades are easily recognized by the dual viscosity designation (i.e. 10W-30 where the 10W is the low temperature or winter designation and the 30 is the high temperature designation). It is the viscosity modifier additive that produces a thickening effect at high temperatures but is dormant at low temperatures.

Which viscosity grade is right for you?

SAE Viscosity Grade: 5W-30

Temperature Conditions: Below 0° F

Descriptions: Provides excellent fuel economy and low temperature performance in most late-model automobiles. Especially recommended for new cars.

SAE Viscosity Grade: 10W-30

Descriptions: Most frequently recommended viscosity grade for most automobile engines, including high-performance multivalve engines and turbo-charged engines.

SAE Viscosity Grade: 10W-40

Descriptions: The first multigrade introduced. A good choice for controlling engine wear and preventing oil breakdown from oxidation. Note: Always check your owner's manual or warranty requirements before using this grade.

SAE Viscosity Grade: 20W-50

SAE Viscosity Grade: 20W-50 Temperature Conditions: Above 20° F

Descriptions: Provides maximum protection for high-performance, high-RPM racing engines. Excellent choice for high temperature and heavy loads such as driving in the desert or towing a trailer at high speeds for long periods of time.

SAE Viscosity Grade: SAE 30 & SAE 40

Temperature Conditions: Above 40° F & Above 60° F

Descriptions: For cars and light trucks, where recommended by manufacturers. Not recommended when cold-temperature starting is required.

Note: It is important to consult your vehicle handbook to establish the correct grade for your car and environment.

taken from engine oil explained

hope this helps..

:thumb: :thumb: So bro, when are you 'tracking' yr spark?? :cheeky: :cheeky: Attempting a 1:59 on it si bo??? :sweat: :cheeky:

Originally posted by ^i||usiOns74^@Aug 29 2006, 09:16 AM

Eh friend... don saboh leh..... :help: :help:

:lovestruck: :lovestruck: Wa hei.. Bike so power!!!! So do you feel numb on one side since its vibrating on one side?? :sweat: :cheeky: :cheeky:

Originally posted by ^i||usiOns74^@Aug 29 2006, 09:18 AM

make it a dollar! :cheeky:

not worth so much lah..... :faint:

http://images1.wikia.nocookie.net/transformers/images/8/8f/Laserrave.gif

FROZEN...

Originally posted by stroker@Aug 29 2006, 10:27 AM

:lovestruck: :lovestruck: Wa hei.. Bike so power!!!! So do you feel numb on one side since its vibrating on one side?? :sweat: :cheeky: :cheeky:

No lah, siao, where got power sia... u think osim ball-squeeze ah, hahaha

Mine is nothing compared to cubs out there man... :faint:

all i can say is, its definitely better control on the road la. :sweat:

Originally posted by stroker@Aug 29 2006, 10:24 AM

:thumb: :thumb: So bro, when are you 'tracking' yr spark?? :cheeky: :cheeky: Attempting a 1:59 on it si bo??? :sweat: :cheeky:

wah..

1.59..??

i can barely hit 2min with my 250..

hehe...

if can make it to 2.30 is good enough..

wan is better..

can hit below 2 with his mito..

you will understand my need for revenge and to inflict pain on those who have betrayed me

As a scorpion bides its time to strike so shall I wait for that moment to obtain my vengeance

And my mocking laughter shall be the last thing they hear. In The End, We Remember Not The Words Of Our Enemies, But The Silence Of Friendships

Originally posted by Benguin46@Aug 29 2006, 01:57 PM

shah.. u also riding cub ah! wah.. cub power la!! haha

SHHHHHHH...... !!

wat? the arc ppl dono ah? hehe! i might be getting suit soon.. next time can play cub wit u on pg already.. haha! btw, cub wit spokey rims can go in n play rite?

http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/4760/presentation1re8.jpg
Originally posted by _wacko_@Aug 29 2006, 01:10 PM

wah..

1.59..??

i can barely hit 2min with my 250..

hehe...

if can make it to 2.30 is good enough..

wan is better..

can hit below 2 with his mito..

2:30?????????? :giddy: :giddy: :giddy: hahaha you jokin.. I think ride until :dozed:

hey guys wats the lowest range of suits u guys got? was quoted for less dan $400 for a budget suit anyone got any comments? price good?

anyway more infos la er its a 2pcs suit, minimum protections all i can say is its a budget suit dun expect much...

http://www.mototriti.gr/jpg/mtr/390/NEWS/1809093.jpg
Originally posted by stroker@Aug 29 2006, 03:27 PM

Why not??? Cub without rim also can play-- play with the handlebar at the pits.. hehe :cheeky:

stroker.. u from AMS ah.. dono ive seen u b4 or not.. haha! i also go there.. :smile:

$400 is cheap.. But for tat price, I dun think you're gettin real leather are you? If its real leather (even cheap quality hides) then its :thumb: .. Cos only real leather offers the abrasion protection. Faux leather is like swiss cheese on the tarmac.

Protection minimal is ok la.. Can wear afternarket backprotector and guards. But gotta becareful of 2-pcs suit. Especially cheaper ones.. Cos they tend to tear at the seam. Not quite a sight when the seam splits at a getdown... Ouch....

Originally posted by Benguin46@Aug 29 2006, 03:40 PM

get gmax one peice.. $500 i hard.. much better.. im getting tht.. top up another 100 only.. y not?

Ya, gmax I heard is pretty decent for its price.. Another brand is the Xstrom or something like that... Not bad too..

Me? Me's a kachang putih from nowhere.. Not from AMS :smile: But do know some kool dudes there..

Cheers!~

hmm.. in that case im not sure abt the leather tht they are using.. have to check wit wacko already.. ahah! WACKO GET YER VENOM ASS HERE!!

Gmax is oso a budget suit with the minimum standards thus can go dat price anyway still considering as well most important is i like it 2pcs ah not so much a hassle like 1 pcs suit...

ooo... stroker i dun wanna have dat picture in my mind... had once bad encounter in PG enough i guess... haha mayb i try dat as its like a choice btw the 3rd party insurance for u to go OTR or u wan to claim something getting the 3rd party fire and theft...

haha if not mayb i'll get the nankai suit...

ya Xstorm is good oso but think now not much on the market liao last time i had their jackets... i would say nice standard budget suit but previously the guy dun have my size so never bought...

http://www.mototriti.gr/jpg/mtr/390/NEWS/1809093.jpg
Originally posted by y0s_bikey@Aug 29 2006, 03:45 PM

Gmax is oso a budget suit with the minimum standards thus can go dat price anyway still considering as well most important is i like it 2pcs ah not so much a hassle like 1 pcs suit...

Eh?? :confused: I tot you already got a suit? Or you in the process of buying it? Or is this for the benefit of others who doesn't have one?

BTW, when are you guys organising a trackday to pg?? Can I join? :cheer: