UEFA Champions League

Originally posted by R.C@Jul 7 2005, 01:39 PM

don't think we'll have the glory days back... unless liverpool can bring some world class players... thr problem with pool these days is that they lack consistency... whenever they hold the ball, there is a tendency for them to lose it oso... :sian:

not necessary world class players..

all they need is to develop their youths..let them play together for 5 years..with a few experienced seniors to guide them...

most importantly..they must wear the liverpool jersey with pride...they will play every match as if its a final & fight for every ball with their life...like carragher..

• Replies 912

up and coming john welsh... i play CM4 and he became a very good player after 2 or 3 seasons.. so hopefully it'll be the same in real life... :cheeky:

Originally posted by archenemy@Jul 8 2005, 01:02 AM

not necessary world class players..

all they need is to develop their youths..let them play together for 5 years..with a few experienced seniors to guide them...

most importantly..they must wear the liverpool jersey with pride...they will play every match as if its a final & fight for every ball with their life...like carragher..

Yah lor.... they just hijacked Gunners' target, Hobbs. :help:

But tell you the truth, in his Valencia, all the current world-class (or close) like Aimar, Baraja are not bought by Rafa leh..... he is a very good organiser and tactician, but not that good a buyer.

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/mnt/media/image/launched/2005-05-21/1sportsindex_i.jpghttp://www.arsenal.com/images/wallpapers/s_facupfinal3.jpg
Originally posted by R.C@Jul 7 2005, 01:39 PM

don't think we'll have the glory days back... unless liverpool can bring some world class players... thr problem with pool these days is that they lack consistency... whenever they hold the ball, there is a tendency for them to lose it oso... :sian:

And Rafa has to understand the English games and names better.... kekeke. Why I said that is becos of the way he handled the English game and all the players he bought MUST be from the Spanish lge..... Arsene bought French but he knows Vieria was in AC, Henry was in Monaco and now Wenger is trying to raid Germany, Brazil, italy and France.

Sign.... but Chelski will be there to stay in the top two. The only good news is that it is paying too much for his targets, both transfer fees and wages.... kekeke. Essien for $26 mil pounds??? Siao......

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/mnt/media/image/launched/2005-05-21/1sportsindex_i.jpghttp://www.arsenal.com/images/wallpapers/s_facupfinal3.jpg
Originally posted by BikeLover@Jul 8 2005, 11:39 AM

And Rafa has to understand the English games and names better.... kekeke. Why I said that is becos of the way he handled the English game and all the players he bought MUST be from the Spanish lge..... Arsene bought French but he knows Vieria is in AC, Henry was in Monaco and now Wenger is trying to raid Germany, Brazil and France.

Sign.... but Chelski will be there to stay in the top two. The only good news is that it is paying too much for his targets, both transfer fees and wages.... kekeke. Essien for $26 mil pounds??? Siao......

How about 54.5 million pounds for Ronaldinho? :sweat:

Originally posted by BikeLover@Jul 8 2005, 11:29 AM

Yah lor.... they just hijacked Gunners' target, Hobbs. :help:

But tell you the truth, in his Valencia, all the current world-class (or close) like Aimar, Baraja are not bought by Rafa leh..... he is a very good organiser and tactician, but not that good a buyer.

now he's targetting Figo... world class player but too old for my liking... :smile: anyway, i do hope that he can bring aimar in... someone who can hold ball... :thumb:

Originally posted by R.C@Jul 8 2005, 12:38 PM

How about 54.5 million pounds for Ronaldinho? :sweat:

hahaha.... buy lor.... maybe we will see how a billionaire becomes a millionaire..... kekeke.

But Ron is quite priceless in my opinion.... he can be equal or better than Zidane.

Nowadays chelski very pai-kia..... so many tapping in broad daylight.... but still better than RM.... both do tapping but chel pays but rm wants cheap cheap.... :lol: look at robinho.

Originally posted by R.C@Jul 8 2005, 12:39 PM

now he's targetting Figo... world class player but too old for my liking... :smile: anyway, i do hope that he can bring aimar in... someone who can hold ball... :thumb:

Figo has no more fire leh, like Zidane and Giggs.

Aimar don't know how is he now..... injury prone and lost a lot of form...... if you are lucky u can be like Villareal getting Riquelme and Forlan.

Originally posted by BikeLover@Jul 8 2005, 02:04 PM

Figo has no more fire leh, like Zidane and Giggs.

Aimar don't know how is he now..... injury prone and lost a lot of form...... if you are lucky u can be like Villareal getting Riquelme and Forlan.

remember a gary mcallister? he was over the hill when he came to liverpool...but he provided experience & guidance to a midfield which lacked direction.

he added much needed balance to liverpool's midfield..and that was what won them the UEFA cup that season..

hopefully figo (if he comes) will provide such experience & control of the game if he comes. no doubt a world class player who can turn the game around with 1 moment of brillance.

Originally posted by archenemy@Jul 8 2005, 04:28 PM

remember a gary mcallister? he was over the hill when he came to liverpool...but he provided experience & guidance to a midfield which lacked direction.

he added much needed balance to liverpool's midfield..and that was what won them the UEFA cup that season..

hopefully figo (if he comes) will provide such experience & control of the game if he comes. no doubt a world class player who can turn the game around with 1 moment of brillance.

But McCallister came from Everton.... like an upgrade, so have some motivation. RM is top aldy, no more upgrade.

Now depends on pool and Figo and what he wants liao. He aldy did and won most liao..... including world and european player of the year. Hope he is not like Rivaldo, just trying to extend his career.

:smile: Sometimes, luck is important.

Originally posted by BikeLover@Jul 8 2005, 05:00 PM

But McCallister came from Everton.... like an upgrade, so have some motivation. RM is top aldy, no more upgrade.

Now depends on pool and Figo and what he wants liao. He aldy did and won most liao..... including world and european player of the year. Hope he is not like Rivaldo, just trying to extend his career.

:smile: Sometimes, luck is important.

he came from coventry city..no meh?

as a player in his twilight..i dont think moving to big club is the reason why he had the "motivation".

i believe its his attitude towards the game..to provide valuable experience to the youngsters..so slow down the game when necessary..

Originally posted by archenemy@Jul 8 2005, 08:07 PM

he came from coventry city..no meh?

as a player in his twilight..i dont think moving to big club is the reason why he had the "motivation".

i believe its his attitude towards the game..to provide valuable experience to the youngsters..so slow down the game when necessary..

Sorri, one of the mid to lower clubs at the time.

Actually when he played I can feel his motivation and fire. Very rare in such old players... Maybe in his twilight, you give him the last chance for glory and he will die for you!!! :thumb: That's a proven human psychology, bro. I think he did not have too much trophies as compared to others. Stuart Pearce and Bearsdly did it before but that was in HOT, HOT Keegan's Newcastle, not becos they were "providing guidance". Anyone can feel HOT for that Newscatle.... kekeke

(IN CASE) Pls don't compare McCallister to other twilight players like Zidane, Hierro and Rivaldo. Totally different class. The rest had seen and played it all. Figo belongs to this group as well.

BTW, he was not a coach and he was not the manager, so why so do you keep on saying this teaching as a motivation thing? Then he don't need to play very well mah.... you know teachers don't have to be the best practitioners, rite?

See ManYoo's Peter Schiemecal.

He just cannot play well in AV and ManCity as well as when he was in MU. (Don't tell me old, cos he was in twilight like Mac.)

He also have provides lots of guidance to young players, but that was not enough to lift his games.

Also look at Sheringham.He was old when he moved from Spurs to MU, but never reached the same level at West Ham. He also provided a lot of guidance, but never as good. If you say he scored 20 goals in the 1st division, but that is ONLY the first division mah.... kekeke. First division standard is very much lower to EPL. Darren Hukerby was always "god" in D1 but not even 12 goals in EPL.

Cheers bro. :thumb:

too early to judge yah? maybe he would like to scale the heights again? cos he is also considering coming out of international retirement..signs that he hasnt lost all that fire..

lets see if he does come to liverpool...

Originally posted by archenemy@Jul 9 2005, 12:54 AM

too early to judge yah? maybe he would like to scale the heights again? cos he is also considering coming out of international retirement..signs that he hasnt lost all that fire..

lets see if he does come to liverpool...

kekeke.... let's just hope luck is on Rafa's side. Let's hope he has the ability of Allardyce to be able to make old players play!!!! I saw him play in the Barca vs RM. He was slower and had a lower work-rate. He was like a billionaire running for his next 10 thousand dollars.....

Scale the heights? Question is how much higher(or close) is Pool's height compared to the height of RM and Barca...... let's be realistic, bro.

Coming out of international football has a lot of reasons lah , like the calling of coaches and political reasons. U know that rite?

Bro Arch, I am not against Pool lah..... don't get so defensive lah. Hope you are not like my Pool frens that keep on telling me that Pool was going to win the title for the last five years, Hamann was a good playermaker(!!!!) and Heskey was a super striker!!!!...... :help: (In the end I challenged him in 2003 if Heskey scored more than 10 lge goals, I lose a meal. He dare not take up the challenge..... kekeke... just 10 only wor) To them, everything abt Pool must be good and untouchable..... paiseh I am not those extreme(until blind) kind of fans and don't want to.

Anyway, if he comes to Pool... kekeke. BTW, how many LFC bros here supports him coming to Pool? I will not like him to come Arsenal, cos he will be on the bench :lol:

Originally posted by BikeLover@Jul 9 2005, 08:18 AM

kekeke.... let's just hope luck is on Rafa's side. Let's hope he has the ability of Allardyce to be able to make old players play!!!! I saw him play in the Barca vs RM. He was slower and had a lower work-rate. He was like a billionaire running for his next 10 thousand dollars.....

Scale the heights? Question is how much higher(or close) is Pool's height compared to the height of RM and Barca...... let's be realistic, bro.

Coming out of international football has a lot of reasons lah , like the calling of coaches and political reasons. U know that rite?

Bro Arch, I am not against Pool lah..... don't get so defensive lah. Hope you are not like my Pool frens that keep on telling me that Pool was going to win the title for the last five years, Hamann was a good playermaker(!!!!) and Heskey was a super striker!!!!...... :help: (In the end I challenged him in 2003 if Heskey scored more than 10 lge goals, I lose a meal. He dare not take up the challenge..... kekeke... just 10 only wor) To them, everything abt Pool must be good and untouchable..... paiseh I am not those extreme(until blind) kind of fans and don't want to.

Anyway, if he comes to Pool... kekeke. BTW, how many LFC bros here supports him coming to Pool? I will not like him to come Arsenal, cos he will be on the bench :lol:

i dont have high expectations of a 32 year old footballer..but i believe he is world class. no doubt about that. whether he can play to the standards that he used to set or not..doesnt really bother me. just having figo on a team definitely have a positive effect on them.

i will defend liverpool with everything i have got..just like what i have done for many years since mid 90s? they have underperformed..no doubt..but my blood still flows the red of liverpool..im not trying ot decieve myself that they are EPL champions..they are still way behind..but if they can win the EPL next season..something must be wrong wit hthe rest of the teams.

arsenal? watch out..your team is ageing. pires might have played his last game for them? viera might be on his way out. bergkamp is not going to be offered a 2 year contract. ashley cole kena bluffed by chelski & it seems that he is not committed to arsenal anymore. jens lehmann doesnt seem to get better with age like red wine..& julio batipsa might be coming.

arsenal's saving grace..world class thierry henry.

and by the way..whether figo comes or not..it doesnt really bother me lah..nothing has been confirmed anyway. if he does come..i welcome him with open arms.

if he doesnt..i wish him all the best wherever he goes.

Originally posted by archenemy@Jul 9 2005, 08:47 PM

i dont have high expectations of a 32 year old footballer..but i believe he is world class. no doubt about that. whether he can play to the standards that he used to set or not..doesnt really bother me. just having figo on a team definitely have a positive effect on them.

i will defend liverpool with everything i have got..just like what i have done for many years since mid 90s? they have underperformed..no doubt..but my blood still flows the red of liverpool..im not trying ot decieve myself that they are EPL champions..they are still way behind..but if they can win the EPL next season..something must be wrong wit hthe rest of the teams.

arsenal? watch out..your team is ageing. pires might have played his last game for them? viera might be on his way out. bergkamp is not going to be offered a 2 year contract. ashley cole kena bluffed by chelski & it seems that he is not committed to arsenal anymore. jens lehmann doesnt seem to get better with age like red wine..& julio batipsa might be coming.

arsenal's saving grace..world class thierry henry.

How come the way you talk (write) abt "defend LFC" in the same tone as my fren who told me that Hamann was playmaker??? Serious.... I heard him give this kind of speech before.

Sorry this style of defending is not what I like to do it. No worries, I saw a lot of frens only watch their teams only and sometimes their analysis a bit funny(in my opinion), becos they don't know what is happening in the other teams. But I still frens with them lah..... BTW do you watch real RM matches or not?CM and real games are very different hor.... and sorry "blind faith" is not what I admire. Different freq in this area.

hahaha.... bro Arch, u don't watch other EPL teams beside LFC rite??? :lol: Arsenal aging??? kekeke. Not fair leh... I can name your LFC first 11 but can you name Arsenal's first 11???? :lol: I even observe before your Traore, Carragher and Diao.... kekeke.

Do you know that Arsenal plays quite a bit of last season with 7(sometimes 8) of the first 11 below 22??? They siao rite?? And can win too. Too bad..... they no money mah.

Pires? kekeke. So funny, got Quincy, Reyes, Ljunberg and Persie to take his place lah. All these are midfielder/striker types can play left. But Pires lost a bit of the fire. Old liao, like Figo.

Do you know that Campbell was forced to sit on the bench despite him being fit for FA Cup? Campbell wor!!! Too bad got this 21 yrs old central defender called Senderos keeping out one of the top 3 English defenders.

Ashley Cole? As troublesome as your Diouf and Baros lor..... he siao lah... anyway got Clichy standby.... observed this young french a lot of times(maybe 2 seasons liao)... exactly like Cole!!!! Just that he unlucky, got Cole to block him from being a regular left-back. Anybody what to buy Ashley Cole? Welcome.... kekeke.

Bergkamp stay will be over soon leh.... sad.... but he old liao leh. Sorry hor, I don't say blindly say he is world-class now just becos he "was" really good. Actually sometimes I don't want him to play so that I can observe Persie more in matches and be able to see whether he is good enough (provided he don't get jail)..... but Bergkamp's style is very difficult to find in this world.

For Jens, no comp for him leh.... quite worrying. Hope Arsenal will buy someone to challenge him. But actually I did observe him specifically for a lot of matches.... like you, I doubt him. Not fair to say he is a bad wine, just a wine that goes sour sometimes... :lol: Not world class but better than Roy Carroll.

Batispta.... never seen him before. Wenger buy players very special.... no fame one.

how liverpool play doesnt bother me at all..i love the club.not because of the way they play or what they win..even if they are relegated to D1...my blood still flows liverpool..

diao, diouf, cheyrou..all mistakes by houllier.all 3 have left anyway. but that by no means diminished my love for liverpool. i seriously dont care if gerrard left. i want carragher to stay cos he is what liverpool needs..a committed scouser who will fight tooth & nail for his club.

im not sure if reyes has arsenal at heart. remember he wants to go to Real in a radio interview??

Ljunberg? how many matches he played last year?

Van der Persie? still not acquitted of rape yeah?

and by the way..i dont even play CM.

& yes..i defend liverpool with all my heart. im proud of their tradition & im proud to support the most successful british club in history. no one comes close.

yes i admit liverpool was lucky to have won the CL last year. i was watching it in my hotel room. my heart sank when they conceded the 2nd goal. no way back i thought. i was ready to go sleep by half time..but i thought to myself..this will not be doing justice to my beloved liverpool. i smoked...drank coffee to witness probably the most dramatic comeback in soccer. lucky they may be..but in soccer..only results matter. 5 european cups is no mean feat. 18 top flight titles is no bull.

catch up..the rest of you..

U really funny.... u have not answer my qn. Do u watch other matches beside LFC's?

Ljunberg played quite a lot actually.

Persie.... don't know whether he guilty or not, but wat has it got to do with anything? :lol: ur point?? Arsenal coallapsing???? kekeke. I don't enjoy condemning others' clubs without facts or reasons.

Sorry then, you love LFC and not football. i talk more on football. Diff freq.

Cheers bro.

Originally posted by R.C@Jul 13 2005, 10:40 PM

are they showing liverpool vs TNS tonight???

no... but my fren said 2nd-leg will be shown LIVE..

Originally posted by BikeLover@Jul 10 2005, 01:33 AM

U really funny.... u have not answer my qn. Do u watch other matches beside LFC's?

Ljunberg played quite a lot actually.

Persie.... don't know whether he guilty or not, but wat has it got to do with anything? :lol: ur point?? Arsenal coallapsing???? kekeke. I don't enjoy condemning others' clubs without facts or reasons.

Sorry then, you love LFC and not football. i talk more on football. Diff freq.

Cheers bro.

is the amount of soccer you watch equilivent to the amount of football knowledge? if it is, then the ah peks sitting down at the kopitiams drinking tiger must know hell a lot.

is it always the case?

whether i watch matches or not, be it liverpool or not, is not a factor. there are always other sources to know about football.

Ljunberg played a lot? how many matches did he play the whole of last season?

i dont love football? why not join me every alternate saturdays & see if i play football? surely i dont play something that i dont love right?

will you go play cricket if you dont love cricket?

Originally posted by newbie@Jul 13 2005, 11:12 PM

no... but my fren said 2nd-leg will be shown LIVE..

dang... how come they only show the second leg? mmm... tonight no soccer to watch..sianzz... at anfield somemore...

Originally posted by R.C@Jul 14 2005, 12:27 AM

dang... how come they only show the second leg? mmm... tonight no soccer to watch..sianzz... at anfield somemore...

dats y.. so bored liao... somemore 2nd-leg i will be at chalet, Aloha, doubt there's SCV there...