recently i bought myself a pair of roller blades. anyone here loves to roller blade?

i am just starting to learn only. any pointers? it would be best if u could teach me how to roller blade.

• Replies 70

I used to Roller Skate as a kid..........haven't done much of inline skating though. I purchsed a pair of inline skates 2 yrs back and tried a bit but ended up with leg cramps. Did not give a try again after that and my skates are now biting dust. I was very good at speed skating on Roller skates and was a State Champion in 5km speed skating for under 17 catergory (Mini State Olympics) in India.PM me if you want to organise an event gathering, thanks.

batli

Originally posted by batliwala@Dec 20 2005, 06:41 PM

I used to Roller Skate as a kid..........haven't done much of inline skating though. I purchsed a pair of inline skates 2 yrs back and tried a bit but ended up with leg cramps. Did not give a try again after that and my skates are now biting dust. I was very good at speed skating on Roller skates and was a State Champion in 5km speed skating for under 17 catergory (Mini State Olympics) in India.PM me if you want to organise an event gathering, thanks.

batli

i tink u r abit too pro for me. :sweat:

wanna look for those blade for fun to teach me keke

i am a skater....

first... learn to fall.... its stupid as it sound... but its important to learn to fall without serious injuries....

Second learn to brake.... use the wall to stop.. or if u cant find a wall and u are wearing protection u can drop to ur knee guards to stop.... otherwise learn the proper stopping technique....

third u can learn to move off liao... for starter... try to push off the wall.... u will glide slower then practise balancing.... then u can try walking like a duck, pushing and gliding at the same time.... slower u will get the hang of it and skate faster liao... :goodluck:

last try at ur own risk.... follow a motorbike... pull it as it move off.... hahahaa :cheeky: :sweat:

Don't be deceived by appearance;

Know the true essence that lies beneath,

This is what is the most important.

Originally posted by paiseh@Dec 20 2005, 06:44 PM

still a beginner on Roller Blades dude (Inline) as things are not the same as they are with the roller skates.

batli

Originally posted by redhotchilli@Dec 20 2005, 06:53 PM

i am a skater....

first... learn to fall.... its stupid as it sound... but its important to learn to fall without serious injuries....

Second learn to brake.... use the wall to stop.. or if u cant find a wall and u are wearing protection u can drop to ur knee guards to stop.... otherwise learn the proper stopping technique....

third u can learn to move off liao... for starter... try to push off the wall.... u will glide slower then practise balancing.... then u can try walking like a duck, pushing and gliding at the same time.... slower u will get the hang of it and skate faster liao... :goodluck:

last try at ur own risk.... follow a motorbike... pull it as it move off.... hahahaa :cheeky: :sweat:

nicely put there... but I believe Inline skates were much easier for me as I could balance and start running on them. My fitness levels are much poorer now though, as I am in mid thirties now.

I too rollerblade once in awhile at east coast park on weekdays...

Recently too busy to go over..Will go one of this days...

Originally posted by paiseh@Dec 20 2005, 06:44 PM

no problem in teaching (F.O.C),but I had learnt to skate the hard way without any protective guards. I even thought a friend of mine to skate after being a state champ and used to skate with him every morning training for the next mini games competition. The beauty is he beat me in the Speed Skating competion to clinch the first place in the next years mini state games. LMAO I was totally demoralised and was placed third this time. My methods of learning were primitive as I learnt to skate myself with my brothers . It is a good idea to learn through an instructor getting to pick up the right techniques..

batli

Originally posted by paiseh@Dec 20 2005, 06:21 PM

recently i bought myself a pair of roller blades. anyone here loves to roller blade?

i am just starting to learn only. any pointers? it would be best if u could teach me how to roller blade.

teach u?

btw,u are f/m?

if u are f,i dun mind teachin u for free. . :sweat:

Riding isn't my hobby.When i ride,i feel at one with my bike.It's a passion,a way of life. .

Unlike a car driver,a biker is exposed to the wind,rain,heat,flying insects and vehicle fumes,all which make the ride a total sensory experience.

The control and foucs needed on the road remove all cares from my mind,while negotiating sharp bends is the most exhilarating and exciting. . .

Originally posted by paiseh@Dec 20 2005, 07:42 PM

ya, im female

You Female??? o_O

All along i thought u male... :lol:

Originally posted by MC28@Dec 20 2005, 08:04 PM

You Female??? o_O

All along i thought u male... :lol:

i tink he kae siao one. .all along i also tot he male. :giddy:

Riding isn't my hobby.When i ride,i feel at one with my bike.It's a passion,a way of life. .

Unlike a car driver,a biker is exposed to the wind,rain,heat,flying insects and vehicle fumes,all which make the ride a total sensory experience.

The control and foucs needed on the road remove all cares from my mind,while negotiating sharp bends is the most exhilarating and exciting. . .

i female ma.. haha

i got a female fren who joined SBF for a few days.. posted here once.. den immediately the next day.. many many ppl added her in msn.. hmm.. :confused:

Hey u guyz go roller blade , pls call me leh .... (PM :lol: )

Itching to learn and not afraid to try (provided got kakis to teach me )

Anyway this shd be at the Hobbies thread ...... and there is a similar one there already but dat topic there is quite inactive .

http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c213/orangefazer/untitled-2.jpg
Originally posted by orangefazer@Dec 21 2005, 02:48 AM

Hey u guyz go roller blade , pls call me leh .... (PM :lol: )

Itching to learn and not afraid to try (provided got kakis to teach me )

Anyway this shd be at the Hobbies thread ...... and there is a similar one there already but dat topic there is quite inactive .

ya... similar thread.... i post there once in a while also.... :sweat:

got organise blading pls pm me.... would always be game for blading.... need to lose some weigh u see... hehee :cheeky: :sweat:

Don't be deceived by appearance;

Know the true essence that lies beneath,

This is what is the most important.

Originally posted by paiseh@Dec 21 2005, 01:42 AM

i female ma.. haha

i got a female fren who joined SBF for a few days.. posted here once.. den immediately the next day.. many many ppl added her in msn.. hmm.. :confused:

Isnt that the SOP for SBF??? :lol:

Originally posted by EX-GSXR@Dec 21 2005, 09:28 AM

:slapforehead: :slapforehead: :slapforehead:

one could even change sex just to get free stuff

free stuff mah... :sweat:

1995 - 1996 ~ Yamaha TZR125

1996 - 1999 ~ Honda CBR400RRK Hurricane

2005 - 2006 ~ Honda TA150 Phantom

2006 - 2010 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 1

2011 - 2013 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 2

2013 - 20** ~ Ducati Monster 796 ABS + Sym GTS200

Dude. A number of guys in my regular group of biking buddies are into blading. Some at the learning stage, others at the more advanced level. I'll sms you next time we're going for a blading session. It's been a while.

I'm ICP level II

http://www.iisa.org/icp/

My ride for 2012 - Yamaha WR250X 2008

Previous rides:

ROAD/FUN: Honda Sonic, VTR250, Kawa Z1000 & Kawa KSR110, Suzuki Savage

SPORT: Kawa ZXR400, Suzuki SV650, Honda CBR600F3 & CBR929RR, Aprilia RS125 & RS250,

DIRT: Honda XR200 & XR600L, DRZ-400SM, DRZ-400-S, GasGas EC200, KTM 200 EXC & 250EXC-F, Tricker

Pics @ http://www.bikepics.com/members/axxis/

Originally posted by paiseh@Dec 21 2005, 01:42 AM

i female ma.. haha

hi ALEX..... i also female wor.....

tua liap + tua kee!

haha.. i will try get a newbie rollerblading session soon at ecp?

Originally posted by Pauche@Dec 21 2005, 09:49 AM

hi ALEX..... i also female wor.....

tua liap + tua kee!

Alexander = male's name

Alexandra = female's name

Alex = male or could be female. so im female :D

Originally posted by MC28@Dec 21 2005, 09:27 AM

Isnt that the SOP for SBF??? :lol: