Teepeephobe come to R6 thread le, got something to ask u.

About my bike, i think ask u will be the best person liao.

Need u to also teach me how to change oil filter, i know how to change but dun know where to buy the tool, n like wat to take note when changing.

Cos u see the mech do u will not know wat they r looking out for.

N WW u kuku le, come here so exciting nv tell me.

Come la dun jio wheelie, jio CS!

I teach u handgun then u can offically be the handgun kia, hehehehe.

-=*Xe'jsor*=- a.k.a A|aN

http://homepage2.nifty.com/lau_hongkong/exibithion-3/img/trexi-singapore-200510/s-45.jpg

• Replies 830

Originally posted by -=[PeNsKe]=-@Jan 18 2006, 01:20 PM

Maybe the other guy rides a R1 and goes out with 2b riders then he tot tat makes him a Big Bro..

i think this is totally out. i know ms personally too. maybe he was wrong postin crap on ww here. but what you trying to do here? wana start another fire going?

lets not stray off topic again yes? i feel its abit stupid if something starts again with another stupid comment. i'd like to read up on info on breaking in, not some crap flame war or sth.

'96 nsr250sp

'90 nsr250r

'18 yzf-r6

Originally posted by XejsorX@Jan 18 2006, 08:06 PM

Teepeephobe come to R6 thread le, got something to ask u.

About my bike, i think ask u will be the best person liao.

Need u to also teach me how to change oil filter, i know how to change but dun know where to buy the tool, n like wat to take note when changing.

Cos u see the mech do u will not know wat they r looking out for.

N WW u kuku le, come here so exciting nv tell me.

Come la dun jio wheelie, jio CS!

I teach u handgun then u can offically be the handgun kia, hehehehe.

I wnat to learn to be a camp sinper. Teach mi lei, than i be a sinper kia.

Originally posted by -=[PeNsKe]=-@Jan 18 2006, 06:59 PM

Lai la!! I also officially jio u wheelie!! :angry:

But behind my computer. :thirsty:

let settle it on the mahjong table man. KNN ,i going to do my 13one.

Back to topic, but recently i actually seen a lot of biker doing hard run in on their bike. Should be able to post the dyno graph next week on the 2 bike.

Originally posted by WW@Jan 18 2006, 09:26 PM

Back to topic, but recently i actually seen a lot of biker doing hard run in on their bike. Should be able to post the dyno graph next week on the 2 bike.

I'm certain that even if you post the dyno graph next on the 2 bikes, there will still be people who won't be convinced. Surely comments like "Yes, the bike runs fast but in the long run, won't last cos the wear and tear will be there," or something to that effect will be posted. You just can't win them all lah WW. No need to convince these non-believers. Just share what you have and the rest of our bikers will make their own judgements. :thumb:

I just want to share abit of my point of view.

1. Break-in is not equal to run-in. But break-in is part of the run-in process.

2. Break-in process is done at the first 40km, mainly for the piston ring to seal tightly. There are also proper steps, you need to warm up the engine, progressively load the engine.

3. Break-in doesnt mean after the first 40km, you can straight wack your bike to 299km/h.

4. There are many others parts in the bike will need time to run-in, example for cam, brake pad (bed-in), tyres (got wax), chain+sprocket, etc.

So, in my opinion, to run-in a bike properly :

1. Break-in the piston ring at first 40km, then change oil.

2. Run in within recommended RPM for 500km, then change oil.

3. Suqsequent change at 1500km.

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

Originally posted by MrLau@Jan 18 2006, 11:29 PM

I just want to share abit of my point of view.

1. Break-in is not equal to run-in. But break-in is part of the run-in process.

2. Break-in process is done at the first 40km, mainly for the piston ring to seal tightly. There are also proper steps, you need to warm up the engine, progressively load the engine.

3. Break-in doesnt mean after the first 40km, you can straight wack your bike to 299km/h.

4. There are many others parts in the bike will need time to run-in, example for cam, brake pad (bed-in), tyres (got wax), chain+sprocket, etc.

So, in my opinion, to run-in a bike properly :

1. Break-in the piston ring at first 40km, then change oil.

2. Run in within recommended RPM for 500km, then change oil.

3. Suqsequent change at 1500km.

Nicely put MrLau. In comparison the potential problematic long term effects of improper piston rings seal, the rest of the engine components hardly deserve or need special care for 'run in' or 'break in'. Take cams for example, they are designed to surf nicely on a cushion of oil at higher rpms, a phenomenon brought about by attraction of the oil to the metal and the rotation of the cams. It's like the oil is being rolled into the gap much like the sugarcane at the drinks stall. The effect is actually less pronounced with lesser rpm as the oil behaves much more fluidly and has time to flow out. The same with the plain bearings, they depend on oil flow and rpm to maintain the oil cushion. Metal to metal 'wear' typically occurs *gasp* at lower rpms or startup (insufficient oil pressure). You are absolutely right about warm up, without optimal oil temperature, the engine cannot handle the stress of full power operation as it is designed for. The oil needs to attain the right operating temp viscosity range and flow rate in order for all the above mentioned to happen. Yes, tyres and brakes need break in too, but that's more for rider safety.

So much blame is put on hard break in, but can MS and crew guaratee that all their 'examples' follow proper warm up procedures in the first place? Given typical Singapore style 1 smoke and considered warm, is it enough? No. Where is MS? Since he like to ask me so much questions which have been settled, now he has alot of questions to answer himself. He also taught me new thing, DOHC, the D for Dual apparently doesn't mean 1 exhaust and 1 intake cam :thumb: Got more than 1 exhaust CAM! Must be a Suzuki or lacer thing.

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11161/yamaha.jpg<span style=\'font-family:impact\'>I go 60 nia

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1478.jpg

For Sale: Arai Gunmetal gray side cover for RR4, right side (Still in packaging)

Guys, been nice seeing these postings... just a question.. wats TPS??? And anyone riding a K6 here?

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

Originally posted by retro@Jan 19 2006, 06:46 AM

Guys, been nice seeing these postings... just a question.. wats TPS??? And anyone riding a K6 here?

TPS=Throttle Position Sensor. As to what TPS problem is, you have to ask the experts here. My knowledge on bike technicalities is very limited... :cheeky:

Ya think i need to know more about TPS? Sorry new to bikes... TPS only for EFI or both carb and EFI??? Sorry again to go out of topic for awhile or is there another thread on TPS??

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

Originally posted by retro@Jan 19 2006, 06:46 AM

Friend , if you riding a k6 1000, dun worry about it, cos gixxer does not have this problem yet. Not for mi yet. or other old gixxer.

But look out for your slipper cluth, if you cluth slip at now, cos new bike, you need to get it adjust. Dun need to replace.

Originally posted by TeePeePhobe@Jan 19 2006, 05:49 AM

....Where is MS? .....

..... He also taught me new thing, DOHC, the D for Dual apparently doesn't mean 1 exhaust and 1 intake cam :thumb: Got more than 1 exhaust CAM! Must be a Suzuki or lacer thing.

:slapforehead: :slapforehead:

so the exhaust is via transfer ports ah? hahahaha

Now , that's a funny one....

shite... this break in thing is showing a lot isn't it....

Some good points Mr. Lau.

As for tyres, yup, I've seen disastrous results from people who don't clear of the "wax" (actually it's the release agent so that the tyre doesn't stick to the moulds during manufacture)... one easy way to "accelerate" getting rid of tyre "wax" is to use a very rough grit emery paper and sand it down.... I always do that... especially the the outer edges (not side walls lah)

Originally posted by retro@Jan 19 2006, 07:24 AM

Ya think i need to know more about TPS? Sorry new to bikes... TPS only for EFI or both carb and EFI??? Sorry again to go out of topic for awhile or is there another thread on TPS??

OK, gonna "frighten" you with some big words... haha... kidding...:offtopic:

Yup, TPS is typically for EFI engines.. the switch/sensor is basically a potentiometer (big word for variable resistor)... er..correct me if I am wrong here.. it sents a signal, via resistor values, to the ECU to let it know the throttle flap position (hence the amount of air coming in) and that allows the ECU to monitor/regulate the fuel rate (via injector duration)....

And WW is correct.. the TPS has been set at factory... doesn't need adjustment unless someone has tried to adjust it and didn't do it properly... doesn't spoil easily... unless maybe... due to sparking/arcing and has carbon deposits making the resistance go crazy... that's why TeePeePhobe has "modded" the R1 TPS (am I "betul" here??)

haha... and some people think that the TPS is rocket science... sorry.. I am a rambling old man....:offtopic: paiseh...

Looks like we've about covered break-in methods, no?

Originally posted by johntan@Jan 19 2006, 09:53 AM

haha... and some people think that the TPS is rocket science... sorry.. I am a rambling old man....:offtopic: paiseh...

If you are a rambling old man, johntan, then you are a rambling old man who makes perfect sense... :thumb: :cheeky:

Originally posted by johntan@Jan 19 2006, 09:53 AM

Yup, TPS is typically for EFI engines..[b/] the switch/sensor is basically a potentiometer (big word for variable resistor)... er..correct me if I am wrong here.. it sents a signal, via resistor values, to the ECU to let it know the throttle flap position (hence the amount of air coming in) and that allows the ECU to monitor/regulate the fuel rate (via injector duration)....

TPS is also used in some carb engine. The purpose is to "adjust" the ignition timing based on the throttle position.

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

Originally posted by ravenSP@Jan 18 2006, 08:18 PM

i think this is totally out. i know ms personally too. maybe he was wrong postin crap on ww here. but what you trying to do here? wana start another fire going?

im no supporter of ww or anyone in this forum....im a supporter of track.....i went thru the all the posting...it look like it is ur friend(which is the MR MS) that started the war of words....since he started it....maybe he should come out n clear all these sh*t himself...not call his friends out to support him or help him clear the sh*t that he created(this is what i think...FLAME me if u wan....i dun give a damm...) i also wish to add that i go do the hard run in when i get my new bike....so this wont be my last post.....

Originally posted by ravenSP@Jan 18 2006, 08:18 PM

Oh!! So u are Mr MS fren. Where's MS now? U said he's wrong to post crap here abt WW. Dun u think he owes WW a public apology since he called him names in here?

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h308/introspect7/JsRacingRear-1.jpg

http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/899/mainlogoir1.jpg

FB 39 H - Traxxion Dynamic Fork Kit , Traxxion Titanium Preload Adjuster , Penske Rear Shock Absorber , M4 Full Titanium Full System , Pc 3 USB , Factory Pro Velocity Stacks , BMC Race Air Filter , Gilles Adjustable Rearset , Sprint Damper , Brembo Master Cylinder , Floating Pins , Swage Steel Braided Brake Lines , AFAM Rear Spocket 47" , DID 'O' Rings , Akrapovic Titanium Slip-On , Puig DB , Powerbronze Rear Hugger - End Of R1 05 Era ( 14/7/06 )

I think there has to be a decent attitude to be maintained. Stay as humble as possibly could, and at the same time not try to sound too conceited. In this manner maybe there will be lesser flare?

Like many had mentioned, this is a forum for discussion on point of views. Accept or beg for differ on your own facts amicably.

Interesting topic to read on. Well i'm doing up on the CC of my bike currently, still undecided on the breaking in method. Not too technically well verse, but hope to receive some valuable information. My bike is not new, but the heart is gona be new.

Originally posted by MS@Jan 13 2006, 12:39 PM

Gerard, WW

While reading back, I feel that I really took it personal by relieveing my bottled up feelings about WW. I apologise for that. I dun wan you to feel like you're in the middle meat in sandwich. The last thing i want is a flame thread.

Oh!! So u are Mr MS fren. Where's MS now? U said he's wrong to post crap here abt WW. Dun u think he owes WW a public apology since he called him names in here?

there.

Maybe the other guy rides a R1 and goes out with 2b riders then he tot tat makes him a Big Bro..

seriously, whats up with this?

ms didnt ask me to post. im just asking WHY is there a need for more provocation?

btw, im considering both methods to run in my bike too. thats why i bothered to read this.

'96 nsr250sp

'90 nsr250r

'18 yzf-r6

Originally posted by BlueWarrior77@Jan 20 2006, 12:15 AM

I think there has to be a decent attitude to be maintained. Stay as humble as possibly could, and at the same time not try to sound too conceited. In this manner maybe there will be lesser flare?

Like many had mentioned, this is a forum for discussion on point of views. Accept or beg for differ on your own facts amicably.

Interesting topic to read on. Well i'm doing up on the CC of my bike currently, still undecided on the breaking in method. Not too technically well verse, but hope to receive some valuable information. My bike is not new, but the heart is gona be new.

Nice V-tapered back on your siggy. Is that a picture of you, BlueWarrior77? :confused:

By the way, congratulations on the success of your bike's heart transplant... :cheer:

Originally posted by ravenSP@Jan 20 2006, 05:09 AM

ms didnt ask me to post. im just asking WHY is there a need for more provocation?

No more provocations... :D Let's just be civilized and posts our opinions without a need to call people names or thumbing them down. Even if they do not agree with your stand. :thumb:

Originally posted by ravenSP@Jan 20 2006, 05:09 AM

there.

seriously, whats up with this?

btw, im considering both methods to run in my bike too. thats why i bothered to read this.

Anyway, it over, and i had knw where to look for him, if i want. But i am not intrested in him, rather want to find out more of his top local racer friend.

And his wheelie buddy.

Originally posted by WW@Jan 20 2006, 09:29 AM

But i am not intrested in him, rather want to find out more of his top local racer friend.

And his wheelie buddy.

And the hunt is on... :cheeky:

Originally posted by Aie@Jan 20 2006, 10:31 AM

And the hunt is on... :cheeky:

Nope, not going to do that,just see if got chance to meet up with them and chat with them. And sure alot will ike to meet up with MS in person,rather behind a computer.

I am been use to be suan by my friend, so i treat it as other suaning session , but just with a person i dun know..